its about time the goverment stop educating this idiots this is not done anywhere in the world let them educate themselves and the can choose to work in ghana or not they are just taking advantage of the system we use tax payers money to school you which your parents can't do and trying to pay back by striking let them go when the come to the US they still can't do anything
GOGEIMN 10 years ago
LISTEN TO THESE FOOLS AGAIN: AFTER GHANA SPENT TAX PAYERS MONIES TO EDUCATE YOU; YOU ARE NOW BLOFFING
SARPONG 10 years ago
They have employed ten new Doctors, I guess these Doctors are going to work for free since they terminated the other Doctors who demanded to be paid.
kululu 10 years ago
These new recruits are going to wait and be paid after nine or some more months without any complaints.
DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago
Sarpong, do you honestly believe this cock-and-bull story before you to even comment cheerfully on it? Now, doctors are not factory workers out there whereby one can employ and "fire" at will. Well, I guess the new doctors don't know a thing about their colleagues who were discharged for demanding their 9-month unpaid salary arrears, huh?
HAHA 10 years ago
Ghana lost 10 highly trianed professionals. Send me the names and contacts of these doctors. I'll fly them to America, where they are wanted and it's ILLEGAL not to pay people on time( for even a month).
NA 10 years ago
Doctors not trained in the US can not come and practice as MDs without passing the board exams and doing 3-4 years intenship. You are hyping.
Qw 10 years ago
You said it, you take the exams. You pass, you take up residency( internship), and get paid while doing your residency( more than Senior doctors in Ghana) $50K to $90K depending on your specialty. The exam is not easy though.
PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 10 years ago
DO YOU KNOW WHY THE JEWS IN GHANA HAVE BIG NOSE?BECAUSE THE AIR IS FREE.
NOTHING IS FREE IN THE WORLD AND IF THE BANKRUPT GOVERNMENT HAS THE MEANS TO SELL AIR,THEY WILL.
ROMANO 10 years ago
SLAVERY IS OVER, NOTHING IS FREE ON THIS PLANET APART FROM THE AIR GOD GAVE US TO BREATHE.
Dx 10 years ago
Sacking the Jr docs is just dumb. Spend precious resources to highly train people, and you just let them go? DUMBEST MOVE!
And you wonder why people leave. We dont have enough doctors, and then you don't pay them even the p ... read full comment
Sacking the Jr docs is just dumb. Spend precious resources to highly train people, and you just let them go? DUMBEST MOVE!
And you wonder why people leave. We dont have enough doctors, and then you don't pay them even the pittance you owe them? WTF!
America will grab them fast, you dumb ass...
point 10 years ago
We rush $3 million to Brazil to pay footballers,bonuses for weak leaders,luxury cars, Chinese furniture instead of paying people who help save lives.
Kofi Pratt 10 years ago
Which other country in the civilised world is it acceptable not to pay a professional for 9 months?
tan90sin90cos90. 10 years ago
is arrears not monthly salary. know the difference between arrears and salary.
MenayeAFUAforiwa 10 years ago
These Doctors are not idiots as you think. It is the government that is. Have you ever in your useless life seen an idiot person become a doctor. Only in your hopeless house. How can you work for nine months without receiving the benefits that goes with your work? You see the fallacy of your stupidity, Kofi? You not being Idiot why didn't go to medical school and after finishing come and work without salary for nine months. It is only senseless people and your ilk who would support the actions of our useless government for sacking these doctors. You forgot to ask your useless self where the country is going to replace them. And those replacements do you think they will last on their post for nine months without their emoluments? You and your stupid friends who are enjoying in the dismissals of these poor doctors should think again. Ask the recently recruited Cuban doctors how much is their salary? Almost 100% higher than what our locals are receiving. And if any of them have their salaries in arrears? as they are doing to our young doctors. Kofi, seek wisdom.
CARL MARX 10 years ago
I WISH ANY OF THOSE SCREAMING AT THESE DOCTORS HAVE A WARD OR TWO AT ADMITTED AT THE MEDICAL SCHOOL AND PAY REGULAR FEES FOR THEM. LET THEM PASS OUT AND BE DENIED PAYMENT OF THEIR SALARIES FOR EVEN SIX MONTHS ANS STILL BE DEMANDING THEIR DAILY FROM THEM..... THEY'D UNDERSTAND HOW PAINFUL IT IS TO BE THAT DOCTOR OR THE GUARDIAN OF THAT DOCTOR.
Kwabena, London 10 years ago
So what are you saying they should not be paid for nine months and that is right.
I studied in England and your view that its not done any where in the world. I find its strange. I have lived in England for 44 years and stud ... read full comment
So what are you saying they should not be paid for nine months and that is right.
I studied in England and your view that its not done any where in the world. I find its strange. I have lived in England for 44 years and studied here and worked here and I come home a lot, but the British Government pay their junior doctors. I don't know where you are getting these ideas from that doctors should go for 9 months without pay, but just feeding and transport allowance.
Is it just one of those stupid thinking that goes on in Ghana that I find very difficult to understand when ever I come home.
OP 10 years ago
Stupidity will kill you. You seems to be the most useless and unreasonable being l have heard. Which part of the world will one work for 9 months without salary
OP 10 years ago
Stupidity will kill you Kofi.In fact you are the most useless and unreasonable being l have heard.Tell me which part of the world will one work for 9 months without salary.
J. D Mahama 10 years ago
Not all Drs in ghana are educated free as some of these people seemed to imply. There are fee paying medical students in the nation's medical schools. Their parents pay for the medical education.
GHAECF 10 years ago
LET THEM PAY ALL THE MONEY WE USE TO MAKE THEM WHAT THEY ARE TODAY AND LET THEM GO:
GREEDY BASTARDS: WHO MADE YOU DOCTORS? THE STATE:
LET THEM PAY ALL THE MONEY WE USE TO MAKE THEM WHAT THEY ARE TODAY AND LET THEM GO:
IVY 10 years ago
AFTER THE GOVT USES TAX PAYERS MONEY TO EDUCATE YOU; THIS IS THE PAYMENT BACK??
SARPONG 10 years ago
Idiot, who are the taxpayers? Are they and their parents not taxpayers too? Do you idiot expect them to work for free because taxpayers money were used to educate them?
Your own education in Ghana was subsidized by taxpaye ... read full comment
Idiot, who are the taxpayers? Are they and their parents not taxpayers too? Do you idiot expect them to work for free because taxpayers money were used to educate them?
Your own education in Ghana was subsidized by taxpayers money but you get paid.
How can you expect them to work for nine months without getting paid, you stupid moron.
YAW 10 years ago
YOU ARE A DONKEY!!YOU SIT IN YOUR RACIST AMERICA AND WRITE GARBAGE. HOW MUCH TAX HAS EACH OF THEM PAID?
GOD SAVE GHANA,. 10 years ago
Hope you have one of the Doctors as a family member.
GHAA 10 years ago
WHAT YOU WISH FOR IS WHAT YOU GET:
THE NEW WHAT THEY WERE GOING TO FACE TO BE A DOCTOR: AS A DOCTOR YOUR RULES AND LAWS ARE NOT THE SAME AS A BANKER: YOU WORK ALL TIME ANYTIME THE NEEDS ARISES: YOU ARE A SOIAL WORKER NOT A MONEY MAKING WORKER:
Ivy should know that the Virgins in Bishop Herman Mills church in Cape Coast will not give pussy free to the junior doctors because they all want to be paid.
Ritewing 10 years ago
Ivy, look around your family, you will certain find quite a lot in there and the idiots in your village, send them to be trained as doctors so that when they qualify, they can work free for the government. Dr. Daniel Asare, the Acting Chief Executive of the Cape Coast Teaching Hospital may do well to forfeit nine months salary and live with his family, on feeding and transport allowance.
GHAA 10 years ago
MY FAMILY ARE EVEN FATHERS ; WHO DO NOT TAKE PAY BUT THEY ARE SURVIVING; THESE DOCTORS NEW THAT; AS A DOCTOR YOUR JOB IS WITHOUT CEASING; ANYTIME ANYDAY LIFE IS IN PLAY YOU MUST REACT VERY FAST: SO WHY WILL THEY GO ON STRIKE WHEN PEOPLE ARE DYING AT THE HOSPITALS? DIDNT THE SIGN A BORN OR READ THE THE REGULATIOSN ON HOW TO BECOME A DOCTOR AND WHAT IT TAKES TO BE A DOCTOR??
dk 10 years ago
kwasiya......we are in this country the ndc gov't imported sanitary pad for school children. these doctors have worked for 9 solid months and you do not want to pay them, God save ghana.
play 10 years ago
dr asare were you not [paid for nine months? you will grow old to come and meet some of these doctors and they will treat you but you will only get well after confession. watch out
Honsa 10 years ago
When your politicians pay themselves 2.7billion cedis exgratia after 4yrs, you don't see a thing wrong with it but rather find something wrong with doctors fighting for their 9 month salary.
SARPONG 10 years ago
Idiot, who works for nine months without getting paid and you call that as no reason to strike?
Cry for yourself because these Doctors are in a profession where the services they provide is in high demand and will be emplo ... read full comment
Idiot, who works for nine months without getting paid and you call that as no reason to strike?
Cry for yourself because these Doctors are in a profession where the services they provide is in high demand and will be employed in private hospitals in no time.
There will soon be the Doctor brain drain.
Jew 10 years ago
brain drain to which country. They can't fit in because they are too proud, heartless and value money over human life.
United Ghana 10 years ago
Is 9 months unpaid salaries "no reason" to strike? You must be sending your comments from flagstaff house. Only heartless employers fail to pay their employees for 9 months.
The Mentor 10 years ago
If you weren't paid for 9 months wouldn't you strike?
DANNI 10 years ago
CAN YOU ASK FOR THE MPS IN PARLIAMENT AND THE PRESIDENT NOT TO PAY THEMSELVES FOR 6 MONTHS AND CARRY ON WORKING. WOULD THEY LIKE THAT? HOW STUPID CAN YOU BE?
Kofi Pratt 10 years ago
Kwasia if you had the difficult job they had to do you would want to get paid. How are they meant to survive and pay for their living expenses. you're a bush man
koo 10 years ago
U can strike if you're not paid. But to continue striking after negotiation with your employers is just laziness and the unrepentant attitude of Ghanaians to sleep and get paid.
SAMO JEWELERY 10 years ago
If u need yellow n white gold rings for your wedding n engagement...then call or whatsapp us on 0244717600 for latest pictures to choose from.....we have offices in HO,KUMASI, KASOA AND ACCRA SPINTEX ROAD.....u can contact us on facebook/samojewellery or samojewellery.blog.for more pictures of our already made product s....link up for yr customise n neat gold rings...
???? 10 years ago
I'm sorry, whoever u are...but I think u're a great big idiot. I really hope u never get ill...fool.
fela 10 years ago
Another judgement debt
Jeff 10 years ago
How would you feel if u work for 9 month without salary. These young men are humans too. Do you know of any government aid who has not been paid for 1 month.
Nurudeen 10 years ago
Please, let's stop being too emotional about this, if you read the article in full, their monthly allowances are paid. Moreso, the government have concluded negotiations with them. This happens in all government departments. They are only trying to make the government unpopular at the expense of health seekers.
Ben 10 years ago
Sack Them? Can you work on empty stomach? I wonder what you do but I am not naïve to think the decision is right.
gretchy 10 years ago
ur a dumb buggr.No man in his right will work for nothing when u have a useless President hording all da funds in his own account.I support all workers to have the right to strike for payment over wages.My friend is still waiting to be paid as a nurse after 18months da bastards.
OP 10 years ago
Stupidity will kill you.You are the most useless and unreasonable guy l have ever heard.Tell me which part of the world will one work for 9 months without salary.
HUMANISM 10 years ago
INSTEAD OF PAYING PEOPLE YOU OWE, YOU ARE DISPLAYING YOUR POWER OVER PEOPLE WHO NEED TO FEED THEIR FAMILIES, PAY RENT, PAY FOR TRANSPORTATION TO WORK ETC ETC.
WHERE ELSE ON EARTH, WILL A GOVT. REFUSE TO PAY SALARIES TO TH ... read full comment
INSTEAD OF PAYING PEOPLE YOU OWE, YOU ARE DISPLAYING YOUR POWER OVER PEOPLE WHO NEED TO FEED THEIR FAMILIES, PAY RENT, PAY FOR TRANSPORTATION TO WORK ETC ETC.
WHERE ELSE ON EARTH, WILL A GOVT. REFUSE TO PAY SALARIES TO THEIR WORKFORCE AND BEHAVE THIS WAY.
THE COURT SYSTEM ALWAYS WORK IN D FAVOR OF GOVT., OTHERWISE THIS WOULD BE A CLEAR CUT LOSS FOR ANY GOVT. IN ANY MEANINGFUL COURT OF LAW ..... WHERE D LAW AND ITS APPLICATION IS EQUALLY APPLIED.
KWADOW A 10 years ago
Once government is paying for their education, government has the right to take any action it deems fit to recoup its money.
Sigma, London 10 years ago
Check your facts before commenting. Medical school education is not free me-bro.
Jeff 10 years ago
How do u mean government is paying for their education? Are u saying medical students do not pay fees. ? Is it not the same universities the parliamentarians attend ? Do u expect a hungry doctor who has not bn paid for 9 months to give u the best service when u fall sick? How would u feel if one of these doctors were ur close relative or if u were one of these doctors.
NPP SENIOR CITIZEN 10 years ago
Good one,Include the senior ones
Kofi Pratt 10 years ago
Then who would look after you when you're sick?
ROMANO 10 years ago
DO U KNOW HOW MUCH IT COST GHANA GOVERNMENT TO TRAIN EACH DOCTOR AND WHAT WE ARE LOOSING AS A COUNTRY? THIS DR ASARE MAN IS AN EDUCATED IDIOT. THESE YOUNG DOCTORS HAVE NOT BEEN PAID FOR OVER 9 MONTHS AND U ARE TELLING THEM TO SHUT UP WHILES U AND GREEDY SEMI EDUCATED POLITICIANS ARE GETTING THEIR SALARIES EVERY MONTH AND LOOTING GHANA, FUCK HIM WHAT KIND OF RESPECT IS HE TALKING ABOUT? RESPECT IS LIKE A TWO WAY TRAFFIC HOPE GOD HELP THOSE DOCTORS GET A VISA TO BETTER PLACE.
LIZ DAMOAH 10 years ago
YES THEY CAN GO. TELL E THE QUALITY OF THEIR WORK PERFORMANCE TO JUSTIFY THEIR SENSELESS CLAIM IN VIEW OF THE BAD CUMULATIVE CIRCUMSTANCES IN GHAN OVER THE PAST YEARS. THEY ARE INCOMPETENT, FULL OF SELF-IMPORTANCE, ARROGANT WHO HAVE NO FEELINGS AND SHOW NO UNDERSTANDING TO THE POOR AND SICK PATIENTS UNDER THEIR CARE. THEY CAN GO INTO THEIR SO CALLED LUCRATIVE PRIVATE PRACTICES. NYWAY THEY WOULD HAVE NO MORE EASY ACCESS TO RIG AND STAEL GOVERNMENT FACILITIES I.E MEDICATION, CLINICL EQUIPMENTS AND MATERIALS. TELL THEM A BRICLAYER IN EUROPE AND OTHER WESTERN COUNTRIES EARNS MORE THAN A DOCTOR. ABOUT TIME THEY BECOME REAL WITH LIFE AND REALISE IT DOES NOT PAY BEING EGOTISTICAL.
Agya Kwame 10 years ago
THEY HAVE NOT BEEN PAID FOR 9 MONTHS!!! WHAT DO YOU EXPECT THEM TO?
United Ghana 10 years ago
Would you be happy to go unpaid for 9 months? I'm sure you wouldn't, but you wish it on others. You're typical of this NDC regime under useless Mahama - heartless
Onetribe 10 years ago
Pure abuse of power. They will sue and win
Stoway 10 years ago
The are currently being paid. What is out standing is their 9 months arrears yet to be paid. They are also receiving and were receiving transport and feeding allowance.
Jeff 10 years ago
Get ur facts right.
Kofi Pratt 10 years ago
Amen ooo
Amen ooo
Wofa, USA 10 years ago
See who is "FULL OF SELF-IMPORTANCE, ARROGANT, HAVE NO FEELINGS AND SHOW NO UNDERSTANDING. My young neice com
john dramani mahama 10 years ago
I've never come across such a big bunch of dumb useless idiotic mofo fucktwits who support the action of sacking the junior doctors.
It is not as if there are enough doctors in Ghana in the first place. Secondly, these peo ... read full comment
I've never come across such a big bunch of dumb useless idiotic mofo fucktwits who support the action of sacking the junior doctors.
It is not as if there are enough doctors in Ghana in the first place. Secondly, these people have not been paid for months. Those criticising and happy they were sacked would scream if they were not paid for 2 months. Last but not least, all these doctors will gain full employment elsewhere, open up private practises and be wealthy.
Who loses out??? Ghana of course.
To all those who supported the move of sacking the doctors,...danduruwa kwasea ba
ROMANO 10 years ago
THANK YOU FOR HITTING THE NAIL AT THE RIGHT POINT.
Sammy 10 years ago
Yes, indeed Doctors play a role in the lives of humans but I am afraid, God is the ultimate Healer. Even the devil uses some of them to destroy.
kk 10 years ago
Then why don't you sack all doctors, save their salaries and let God heal all the sick in the country
Kpenyo John Ralph 10 years ago
Prez, you are too doll, pls please pay unannounced visit to places to see things for yourself. Don't sit in the flagstaff house for selfish people to be deceiving you. Prez Rawlings & Mills did it, why not u the younger one. I know u are not lazy! Why Mr Mahama? Pls God's sake Ghana now is under your care. Fire the lazy nd greedy ones. I am even more disappointed in our party executives for not helping the president to do succeed
Amidini 10 years ago
Please dialogue for amicably solution
.USMAN. 10 years ago
Go and see how Prez Mahama of Ghana has transformed Gonjaland with Ghana money. I weep for Ewes.
HULK 10 years ago
SO WHAT? WHIPPING UP ENVY, INSULTS, NAME CALLING, THREATS AND SUCH ILLS ARE NOT THE WAY TO WIN POWER. THERE IS GRACE THAT FLOWS FROM ON HIGH AND IT FLOWS TO THOSE WHO GO ON THEIR KNEES AND HUMBLY SERVE OTHERS.
BY THE WAY, A ... read full comment
SO WHAT? WHIPPING UP ENVY, INSULTS, NAME CALLING, THREATS AND SUCH ILLS ARE NOT THE WAY TO WIN POWER. THERE IS GRACE THAT FLOWS FROM ON HIGH AND IT FLOWS TO THOSE WHO GO ON THEIR KNEES AND HUMBLY SERVE OTHERS.
BY THE WAY, ANY DOCTOR WHO WALKS AWAY FROM A PATIENT UNDER ANY GUISE HAS NO PLACE ON A PUBLIC PAYROLL. BETTER TO GO START YOUR OWN CLINIC, THEN YOU CAN WALK AWAY FROM YOUR CLIENTS AND YOU'LL KNOW WHAT REALITY MEANS.
JA 10 years ago
Be careful, Dr Asare! That's not the way to go. Please dialogue with them, they seem to have a point. In the end, patient care is what suffers, and I am sure you don't care too much about that. Stop trying to please your bosses. Nine month work without pay is insane.
Jn Doctors Association 10 years ago
Sacking doctors for non payment of salaries is the highest form of injustice. this govt is the most unjust for Ghana. We shall see whta we will resort to
Cool 10 years ago
You need to complete ur houseman ship to be registered. Fools
Jeff 10 years ago
You are the greatest fool.go to the emergency units of the various hospitals and see how these same doctors u are insulting have been helping patients.
GADIDIMGADAM 10 years ago
Do you know what this means? Overworked staff, disgruntled staff, doctor-patient ratio in the tanks, and more casualties with deaths of patients now a common phenomenon.
As a result of failure of the Mahama NDC gov't to pay ... read full comment
Do you know what this means? Overworked staff, disgruntled staff, doctor-patient ratio in the tanks, and more casualties with deaths of patients now a common phenomenon.
As a result of failure of the Mahama NDC gov't to pay the salaries of junior doctors for almost a year from the looting of state funds, Ghanaians will ultimately pay with their lives. That is the e dey bee k3k3 happening live, feeeli, feeeli.
When thievery rules....
Emeka 10 years ago
Thats a good move....teachers shld be the nxt.
JINAD 10 years ago
ALWAYS STRIKING FOR NO REASON: DOCTORING IS NOT A MONEY MAKING BODY
ANABA 10 years ago
STUPID FOOL!!!NO PAY FOR 9 months JUST BECAUSE YOU ARE UNFORTUNATELY A DOCTOR?THE IDIOTIC MPs ARE GETTING THEIR FAT UNDESERVED SALARIES EVERY MONTH AND SOME OF THEM DROPPED OUT OF SECONDARY SCHOOLS AND VARSITY!!!
AA 10 years ago
KUDOS. MORE OF THAT WANTED TO INJECT DISCIPLINE.
Pin 10 years ago
When people work for you they have to be paid.no doctor is your property.they are humans and have their individual needs.Dr Asare should rather be sacked.How do you expect them to survive?
A. Kubi 10 years ago
How can a worker go unpaid for nine months and is expected to discharge his or her duties faithfully? It is a disgrace for workers to continue working without pay for nine months! That is why corrupt practices in the workplace are so rampant. How many doctors do we have in the country? We cannot afford to fire these junior doctors. Workers deserve their pay! Don't let the sick suffer.
Nana 10 years ago
TEE, Salary is different from arrears.They deserve to be sacked as we are tired of them.
Naaba kugri 10 years ago
Kubi don't have ears or eyes ? It's salary arrears as the are being paid their salary now. This is what every doctor know from time immoraial every doctor will have salary arrears after your training and houseman ship. Every doctor under training is only giving allowances until you are registed before one will recive all his or hers areas , if the doctors are sacked now it serves them right because they just being mischief and playing npp politics
Bomber 10 years ago
Teachers and other civil servants work for up to two years before being paid. Ask the teachers, nurses, etc. Why do doctors feel so special. Ghana needs order and equal treatment for its workforce. Strikes must be stoppec by all means, especially the GMA which feels it is the Alpha and Omega. Bring in Cuban and Indian doctors on contract. Salaries will be paid ultimately but the dead will not resurect. No work, no pay. The doctors should go and work in the private sector or leave to work abroad. It's a free world!
Columbus GA 10 years ago
I agreed more to your intake. But most of this so called doctors. Which I alway prefer to call them their right name medical officers can't even pass medical board exams here in the states, for that matter can't practice medicine overseas
Dr.Shamrock 10 years ago
Stupid fool we have more than half of our batch practicing in USA now. I decided to stay after passing my PALB to work in UK but when God touched me,I quit abt moving abroad just to help my own kind so decided to stay n was working for two yrs without pay cos there was no financial clearance from ministry of finance for me to be paid. This becos some lady want me to grease her palm before she does the processing so was going to MOH back n forth. Is it done in the state? U Ghanaians immigrants in state thinks u know but some of u never even finished ur JSs talk stupidly. They have worked for Nine months without pay. The feeding allowance is Ghc10 a day excluding weekend n fuel is 20gallon a month(4.5litres x 20 x 3.33=300gh per month) and can u live on that in the state per month? Pls talk wisely or shut that manhole mouth of urs fool.
fela 10 years ago
And we will wait when there are more cuban doctors and they begin to hold the country to ransom there u will see ur foolishness,they can seek redress in another country or even confiscate ur assert abroad .The best is to solve the situation where on has to work for a long time before receiving his first pay.maximum probably in ghana should be 3 months but ideally it should be a month.Another situation is the case where one works for so.many months and is paid only 3months r we waiting dor someone to seek legal redress win his or her case then all others will follow.The long and short is the country is fucked up ,bankrupt .The country can't me all of it obligations full ,its doing it piece by piece.I can say we are in a big MESS. GOD HELP US ALL.
TEE 10 years ago
MAHAMA IS NOT COMPETENT TO RULE GHANA, IS REALLY DANGEROUS, MAHAMA IS NOT GOOD FOR GHANA
TEE 10 years ago
THE EBOLA VACCINE
Joe Turkey 10 years ago
The pay for "honorable" MPs, the NDC activists and all those who hang around the Castle, the Flagstaff House and the $20 million NDC headquarters is never in arrears. Since when have strikes in demand for arrears owed (not even salary increase) become a crime in Ghana.
its me 10 years ago
thats a good move. this an professional jokers think they are there to make money only. how mant times have they not killed pipol bcos o their foolishness. sack them if they misbehave
Edwin 10 years ago
For What,Why,Why,Why!!!
Ghanaman THE REAL 10 years ago
Very short sighted and stupid action by this acting Chief Executive indeed! How can you have the nerve to sack these much needed staff when you have broken their contracts by not paying their salaries for 9 months or have I got this story wrong? Oh Ghana, what lawlessness and impunity is this??
Kofi - USA 10 years ago
I don't subscribe to strikes but at the same token it seems like the only time Goverments in Ghana listen to their people is by going on strike. How can somebody work for 9 months and not be paid. Don't they pay the MPs and the folks at the presidency. To sack these Junior Doctors is stupid and idiotic. Are the senior doctors going to be sacked when they embarked on strikes which happen frequently. The Govt needs to have a contract with these doctors and stop this nonsense of these allowances. Pay them and let them find their own accommodation, cars, food and the rest like we do here in the USA. Do you here doctors here going on strikes? Never, because you are just paid and they expect you to be at work to perform. No bungalows, vehicles, food allowances and the rest. Pay them monthly. Sacking them will not solve any problems because it costs a lot to train a doctor.
Abeeku Mensah 10 years ago
You are not missing the jest or details of the story but on the relative morality therein.
It is tax payer money that pays for the majority of the actual fees and charges associated with professional education in Ghana or an ... read full comment
You are not missing the jest or details of the story but on the relative morality therein.
It is tax payer money that pays for the majority of the actual fees and charges associated with professional education in Ghana or anywhere in the world. Anyone who thinks they can bear the true cost of their professional education need a reality check. Furthermore there lots of civil servants who are owed by the broke Ghana government but still go to work religiously; are they not worthy?. What do you think would happen if everyone on government payroll should strike because of arrears in paychecks? Should people be left to die or rot on hospital tables because of physician paycheck issues? Are you not advocating for professionals to hold government hostage because they hold sway in society? What about security agencies, fire service departments and staff of other state institutions; are they not worthy?
Kofi - USA 10 years ago
Is the GOVT not paying their ministers and MPs. So if the GOVT can find money to pay these non performing people why cant the GOVT find money to pay people that are protecting the health of its citizens. This shows the incompetence and the priority of the this administration. It is the same tax payers money that the GOVT is wasting on their communicators who do not do anything for the citizens. It is only in Ghana that a worker is not paid for several months. What a shame and it is really shameful. That is the more reason why most of us are not in Ghana to work and help. Govt should use the money it is borrowing wisely instaed of giving them to party members to build Gas Stations.
Kofi 10 years ago
Abeeku, why not go to a medical school to become a doctor since the taxpayer will fund your education? How many of your family members have availed themselves of the free medical education in Ghana? The person at fault is the one who broke his end of the bargain. If the nation is broke, doesn't the president receive his salary every month?
SARPONG 10 years ago
You are an idiot. You live in USA, tell me what company doesn't pay its workers every week, every two weeks or month.
The fact that other employees have not been paid is not an excuse.
You are an idiot. You live in USA, tell me what company doesn't pay its workers every week, every two weeks or month.
KING PROMOTION 10 years ago
ATTENTION KING SOLOMON THE BEST GOSPEL MUSICIAN IN GHANA,AFRICAN AND THE WORLD WANTS TO CONTEST FOR GHANA MUSIGA PRESIDENT, ALL MUST SUPPORT HIM AND VOTE FOR HIM.
JAMES PIO 10 years ago
THIS IS A VERY GOOD FIRM AND MORALLY RIGHT DECISION CAPECOAST. THEY HAVE THEIR RIGHTS TO WITHDRAW THEIR LABOUR AND EQUALLY THEIR EMPLOYER HAS THE RIGHT TO NOT TO HIRE THEIR LABOUR IF THEY CNNOT AFFORD IT AFTER ALL THE DOCTORS PROVIDE NO SERVICE TO THE PATIENTS WHILST ON STRIKE AND THE POOR AND VULNERABLE PATIENTS SUFFER PAINFULLY WITH THEIR ILLNESSES. SOME EVEN DIE SADLY. ABOUT TIME SOMEONE TOLD THESE UNPROFESSIONAL AND INSENTIVE AND GREEDY DOCTORS TO PCK UP AND GO. ENOUGH OF HOLDING THE NATION TO RANSOME. WEALL NEED TO HELP THE NATION BY MAKING OUR CONTRIBUTIONS AND COMMITMENTS AND SACRIFICES IN ALL TIMES OF DIFFICULTIES. THESE LAZY, POMPOUS, ARROGANT, UNINTELLIGENT, UNPROFESSIONAL, CORRUPT, INDISCIPLINED,THIEVES AND INCOMPETENT DOCTORS MUST BE GOT OUT OF THE SYSTEM.
+
Maxwell Afrifa 10 years ago
Stupid fool Dr Asare, you get paid every month right? You feed yourself and your family well right? During your time you did the same thing right? Fire burn you and your family. These junior Doctors will not die foolish Man.
Adaku 10 years ago
EXCELLENT MOVE,LONG OVERDUE AND I SIMPLY DONT UNDERSTAND WHY WORKERS ON STRIKE HERE ARE PAID. GO TO BRITAIN AND YOU'LL FIND ONE DOES NOT GET PAID FOR EVEN HALF A DAY'S STRIKE. COMMON SENSE SHOULD REIGN,BUT UNFORTUNATELY IT IS NOT COMMON WITH MOST PEOPLE. AND THAT SINGLE SPINE SALARY SHOULD ALSO BE GOTTEN RID OF AS MOST WORKERS DO NOT DESERVE IT.INCENTIVES SHOULD RATHER BE INTRODUCED TO ENCOURAGE PRODUCTIVITY.
Senior citizen Bs Germany. 10 years ago
Dr Daniel Asare, I was flabbagasted and saddened when I read the action you took against the striking junior doctors, the treatment which looks like the proverbial motherless child.In every situation there is a common groung,unfurtunately,you took the extrime desicion with the simple reason that you are the boss of the hospital and that,you have the prerogative of attorney and more so a Judge and the Jurry to settle the matter in your own way,which smacks of a jungle Animals farm.This matter is very sad and juvinalistic childish which does not commensurate with the country,s current system of law and order and labour regulations which may obviously fight you to reassign the junior doctors to their positions and pay them their due emmoluments according to the International Labour laws.I finally and candidly wish to advise you to be circumspect in terminating appointments of junior doctors working under your care.
Jojo 10 years ago
Strange times! If you sack doctors who have not been paid for 9 months and engage new ones, will you pay them when their first month ends? There is something missing in Dr Asare's logic.
NKANSAH 10 years ago
NO PAMPERING, THEY HAVE TO LEARN TO BE RESPONSIBLE CITIZENS
Illiterate graduates and presidents o 10 years ago
Judgement debt is in the making again oo you did similar thing to doctor at kofo anokye hospital in kumasi the man won the case at court we all heard the compensation he took from the hospital ? . You idiots want to do the same thing to young doctors take advantage? Asem beba dabi oo
S.K 10 years ago
Is a good direction, nowadays we have more doctors siting at home and some are managing with private hospitals, so if there misbehave on duties no need to live them.
Wisdom Katakiti 10 years ago
This indeed is wonderful.Ghana is in tumoil both political and to the economic lifes of the people.money have indeed thrown our traditonal beliefs and norms into oblivion.
Two wrongs dont make things right.its wrong to fire the Junior Doctors.
Can Dr Asare work and never get paid?
What is feeding and transport allowance,what about rent money,money for their own responsibility and other things.
We always talk about brain drain and its our cause.
Soon some of the doctors may end up leaving the country because they are not treated well.
GOGEIMN 10 years ago
IT NOW THE HABBIT OF OUR DOCTORS TO BE ASKING OF MORE MONEY OR ELSE THE WILL STRIKE
aso 10 years ago
They have free accommodation. They only lack patience. For a young person money not paid is money saved for better use. I support the sack.
Kofi Gbagbladza 10 years ago
Very very very gud one there.
This shld send a signal to the rest of doctors who take us for granted.
The next time they embark on nation wide strike their salaries shld be blocked and govt arrange for Cuban doctors/specialists to be imported to replace them.
God bless our homeland Ghana...
Fred 10 years ago
They will learn from that
Kunado 10 years ago
So the ten new doctors will not be paid. Oh Ghana.
Kwesi, USA 10 years ago
Thank U, my brother!
nii nii niiiii 10 years ago
Shame shame.I told you guys to go to work as nobody will take you serious.You cannot bite,you are weak,and you have not proven yourself for the govt to be scared so you've got what you deserve.You wanna strive,be bold, decisive to earn respect..Weaklings.
joe 10 years ago
POTAG and UTAG especially, take a cue from this and be advised!!!
zombi politician. 10 years ago
Doc Asare made a wrong decision.The young shall grow.You will meet them one day and apologize.Nine months no salary and sacked ?How,how,why!!
James K. Adams Tamale 10 years ago
What I want to ask is will the new doctors transferred there, will they be paid and giving all which is due them?What about other expenses who is going to pay.This will not work its completely foolish decision.
Kofi 10 years ago
The GMA needs to call Dr. Asare to order immediately!
JMK 10 years ago
Dr Asare is managing things for them. He said they are using Internally Generated Funds to pay them or help them so why can´r they also help the hospital to attend to the needs of the poor patients who go to that hospital? This is morality! In any case, the President and his Ministers do not go to where they work. I think they should have refused the internally generated fund if they know it wasn´t going to help them. How will they be registered as Medical Doctors if the same boss does not give them the Certificate of service? What they did is simply wrong!
Kofi 10 years ago
Do you think the doctors are not working because they have been paid but with IGF? You do not know what Dr. Asare has brought on himself. You watch how the matter goes. Being a doctor is not voluntary work. When you employ people, you pay them what they are worth. Asare has gone against labour law and he will regret it. He is lucky he may be retiring soon. Ghana is not under military regime. Stupid Asare's action will in no way affect the registration of the doctors because the medical and dental council can make out a fool when they see one.
Kofi 10 years ago
Whem someone is engaged to work, he is paid his due. He is not paid food and travelling allowances. Dr. Asare needs to be sanctioned immediately. Does he take feeding and traveling allowance? Why does he think other doctors like him deserve that?
Pensive 10 years ago
I m praying one day dat dis mp,s not paid for 9 mons n let c wat will happened gh here
DANYO DAVID DZIEWORNU TAGBORLO 10 years ago
Hmmmm my beloved c'tizens; let not politicise everything. Anger spoils a lot. No insult on media. Hmmmmm prof. Atta Mills rest in perfect peace. But I think warning and querry letters are to be served first before the dismisal.
Hope 10 years ago
Simple and Short,Dr. Daniel Asare perosnally for his inhumane treatment of these young Doctors. They were asking for their pay which has been in arrears for 9 months not your feeding and the allowances. Those do not add up to their pay Cheques.
To the new young doctors who replaced your colleagues, I say watchout, the same plight your predecessors faced is bound to come your way.
Cry of they been given free education by the country is a falacy. Do you know how much their parents have to input into thier education? Well if we trained them for free, then we must be fools to let go of them for other countries to benefit from the toils of mother Ghana in training them.
saaka 10 years ago
SACKING DOCTORS WOW.OUR COUNTRY IS FALLING. WE WILL SEE 2016.ppp will surely come to power and employed doctors r
c.stephen sackey. 10 years ago
At the height of a strike by air traffic controllers in the '80s, President Ronald Reagan fired all of them.
That action made him popular.
But he took that action on a firm constitunional grounds. He invoked the statutory ... read full comment
At the height of a strike by air traffic controllers in the '80s, President Ronald Reagan fired all of them.
But he took that action on a firm constitunional grounds. He invoked the statutory authority which barred civil servants from striking.
What is the constitutional basis for the firing of these residents by this manager?
Folks it's the rule of law or anarchy.
Africa ,you got a choice to make.
I pray for the African god to keep shinning on us, 'cos we got ways to go.
Nii 10 years ago
This is the way to go. Its true no employee is satisfied with what s/he takes home but our doctors are greedy and politically motivated. When the tax payers money were been used to feed them, transport, give them the bursaries that they need to complete their training, did they strike to say that they don't want those things? You come out and hold the country to ransom? This is an arrears that the government owe you. Dialogue. Done let that old political leader of yours mislead u. Unreasonable people. Which government employees in GH are happy but you doctors are far better.
Osei Yao 10 years ago
YOUNG MEN WHO RECEIVED FREE MEDICAL TRAINING PAYING BACK SOCIETY WITH STRIKE! SACKING THEM IS THE BOLDEST DECISION EVER TAKEN IN GHANA. MAKE IT A LAW FOR MEDICAL DOCTORS TO PAY BACK THE FULL COST OF THEIR TRAINING IF THEY GO ON STRIKE OR GO ABROAD.
Kofi 10 years ago
Which contract did they sign with government to work for free because they were educated free by the nation? With such stupid thinking why won't the politicians take you for granted?
Nii 10 years ago
I even forgot to add that the government should seize their certificates until they pay for the money used to train them. Shameless doctors.
CARL MARX 10 years ago
I believe lots of Ghanaians have this erroneous impression that the education of medical doctors in Ghana is either free or highly subsidized such as what exists in Cuba or the communist nations.
Ask trainees from the Univ ... read full comment
I believe lots of Ghanaians have this erroneous impression that the education of medical doctors in Ghana is either free or highly subsidized such as what exists in Cuba or the communist nations.
Ask trainees from the Universities of Cape Coast and UHAS. Similarly Ghanaian doctors who are not paying 'full fees' pay more fees than the mainstream average university student. The cost of their medical books, stethoscopes, white coats and all other accessories are fully borne by them. like all other university students they take care of their feeding and accommodation.
Why is it then that if they are aggrieved, and resort to their legitimate right to strike, we scream at them as if they are the most ungrateful people in the world.
I WISH ANY OF THOSE SCREAMING AT THESE DOCTORS HAVE A WARD OR TWO AT ADMITTED AT THE MEDICAL SCHOOL AND PAY REGULAR FEES FOR THEM. LET THEM PASS OUT AND BE DENIED PAYMENT OF THEIR SALARIES FOR EVEN SIX MONTHS ANS STILL BE DEMANDING THEIR DAILY FROM THEM..... THEY'D UNDERSTAND HOW PAINFUL IT IS TO BE THAT DOCTOR OR THE GUARDIAN OF THAT DOCTOR.
Kofi 10 years ago
I wish this was started some years ago. Doctors think they are tin gods and for that matter they do what pleases them. I have lost sympathy for doctors years ago. sack them if they dare.
MenayeAFUAforiwa 10 years ago
Get USA visas and come to New York where jobs are waiting for every doctor who passes the State Medical Exams. Do not again cry for Argentina for Argentina will never cry for you either. How on earth that some body would work for nine months without being paid? Should they go and eat rocks? Who in Parliament or the Presidency including the President and his Vice that their salaries are in arrears for even one hour much more nine months? If the country is broke it is broke for all not some of the citizenry while others enjoying. My advice for you gallant Junior Doctors is Pack your bags and migrate to any country in the world for jobs are waiting for you. Are an endangered species so do not waste your precious time in this bankrupt country and corrupt administration. Ask the President when was the last time his salary was in arrears? MY FRIENDS, PACK YOUR BAGS AND LEAVE for none of these stupid and good-for-nothing people who are keeping your wages in arrears have their children working in the country. Kwaseasem ara kwa.
Mankind 10 years ago
Be happy sacked doctors!!You received a free medical education. Go to South Africa, Europe or America where you will be paid $200,000+ a year. You will get your salary every month with NO delay. Thanks Ghana for free education!! If Mahama and his brother will stop pillaging Ghana, the doctors will be paid!! Everything is politics to some idiots!! Who will loose???
tan90sin90cos90. 10 years ago
government must appy the policy of no work no pay so that money will be deducted from the so call junior doctors salary for number of days being absent from work. professionla teachers dont get their salary for abt 11 months, no strike and you junior doctors financed by the state thro tax payer money embarked on strike forgotn the oat of secrecy to save live u hav taken. this is nonsense.
fela 10 years ago
U have Not paid the person for 9 months u protest and you r sacked .Hope the administrator retires and never falls sick.
Papa Yaw 10 years ago
Why
Why
Two couples were playing cards. Mensah a Junior Doctor accidentally dropped some cards on the floor. When he bent down under the table to pick them up, he noticed that Dave'a Senior Doctors wife, Sandy, was not wearing any underwear! Shocked by this, Mensah hit his head on the table and emerged red-faced.
Later when Mensah went to the kitchen to get some refreshments Sandy followed him and asked, "Did you see anything under the table that you liked?" Mensah admitted, "Well, yes I did." She said "you can have it, but it will cost you $100."
After a minute or two, Mensah indicates that he is interested. She tells him that since Dave works Friday afternoons and Mensah doesn't, that Mensah should come to their house around 2:00 PM on Friday.
Friday came and Mensah went to her house at 2:00 PM. After paying her the $100, they went to the bedroom, had sex for a few hours and then Mensah left.
Dave came home about 6:00 PM and asked his wife, "Did Mensah come by this afternoon?" Totally shocked, Sandy replied, "Yes, he did stop by for a few minutes." Next Dave asked, "Did Mensah give you $100?" Sandy thought, 'Oh hell, he knows!' Reluctantly she said, "Yes, he did give me $100."
"Good," Dave says. "Mensah came by the office this morning and borrowed the $100 from me and said that he'd stop by our house on his way home and pay me back. It's so good to have a friend you can trust."
GOOD NEWS,Sack dem all, including the 10 years ago
GOOD NEW, sack dem all including fucking teachers
dee 10 years ago
that's ridiculous . how can you sack them. on what grounds. another judgement debt in the making. poor leadership by the CEO . I don't blame him but the politically motivated system that appointed him. why do we do thinks only in the interest of the government and not it's citizenry
Agyei - Asante 10 years ago
Is what Dr. Daniel Asare doing not robbing Peter to pay Paul? The sacked doctors should take the matter to court for redress.
synyactic sugar 10 years ago
boss. I worked 18 months without pay. unlike the doctors who get accommodation n feeding allowances I didn't get some. I have degree in med lab tech from knust n I assure u I have colleagues at komfo anokye who have not been paid over two years. what's special about being doc? we are all in short demand
Paapaa-Puupuu 10 years ago
They think they are tin Gods and other hwalth workers aren't important as they are. They can move abroad immediately. No qualms.
koo 10 years ago
because your salary hasnt been paid for 18mnths doesnt mean it is right. why dnt you protest and force governments to do what is right. hypocrisy in the highest order. Have we asked whether the Mps and ministers hadnt been paid for that period. they who enjoy fat salaries are the first to be satisfied. let us join hands to change this injustice and stop being stupid and "fikkle" minded
Sam 10 years ago
Why employ them if you can not pay them?
back door director 10 years ago
Be careful with running to the media with administrative issues..
Wait until the same media put you on the carpet. Grow up
Dr.Asare will meet this doctor's one day when he is Old and they will attend to him for free. Wicked Doctor. The young shall grow.
back door director 10 years ago
Most of you do not even know the administrative and disciplinary procedures guiding the work of doctors yet you proceed to offer ignorant comments
Agyaaku 10 years ago
That is nonsense
kofi Nkrumah 10 years ago
I believe this government finds joy in the hardship of the citizenry otherwise I don't know why this is happening
Alberto 10 years ago
Teachers are even paid only three months after working for a year but they dont strike and u juniors doctors who are trained by teachers are striking. Thank God they have been sacked.
Fii- 10 years ago
This is another attempt to instill fear and divide your front as u seek not only for your betterment but also of de health sector. Keep de fight. You could have been sacked for any other reason aside asking for what is rightfully due you. Please pursue de authorities till you get what is due you and they had no point to Fire anyone. When you owe somebody and he doesn't want to pay respect just runs into the gutter
Mawuli George 10 years ago
Must workers always strike to resolve their grievances ;these doctors are being heartless; after the negotiations; they may claim their arrears anyway but what happens to the lives lost during their striking period ; money is in numbers and numbers has no end so the bible says he who delights in making money shall never be satisfied; after all the doctors are receiving their monthly salaries for now so they should exercise restraint ; hope you are aware government is not owing only doctors; he owes most teachers ; nurses and other civil and public servants more than two years arrears but they are working; even their job doesn't seem more delicate like that of these doctors; please politicians would always lie with greed; but think about the lives you save bcos we shall all leave one day and be accountable individually ; long live gh; long live doctors
E.K. 10 years ago
No where in the world would the government take the responsibility of taking care of medical students, nurses, and teachers. Only in poverty striken country like Ghana would do this. How will we move forward? We borrow and give to them, and then they turn around and go on trike because of salary arrears.
Even some big men took loan to attend college in the Western countries.
In the U.S. the only free eduction is the public schools; from Kindergthern to 12 grade.
If you are eligible for Financial Aid you can get finically aid, even that you need loan to be able to finish college. These are for low income group, and you have to prove that you are eligible. You would not get the money and stay home.
akas 10 years ago
FIRING THESE DOCTORS OVER NON PAYMENT OF EARNED COMPENSATION IS UNFAIR, ILLEGAL, AND THE DOCTORS HAVE A RIGHT TO SUE FOR COMPENSATION PLUS ADDITONAL RECOVERIES.
Ernest adiepena 10 years ago
Its very pathetic for Ghanaian to always support wrong things how can someone work over a year and you pay them 3month and they are demanding for the arrears and you sack them , this applied to some teachers and nurses meanwhile MP after 4years they received ex-gra..... is there any fairness in this country?
LOYD GEE 10 years ago
fools,u always take ur position as a yestick to fool.even the senior doctors r working how much more u,twaaaa doctors
Koranteng King 10 years ago
I worked for 4 straight years, and was paid only three months of salary arrears. in fact this government and its leadership are insensitive.
koo 10 years ago
let us join hands to push for a change in the system not sacking and making mockery of them
yao 10 years ago
They can not say they will sack them
Razak Debrah 10 years ago
l think discipline must work in all the Institutions in other to move the country forward.
OP 10 years ago
You English is very bad.You need to go back to class one.
ANDY 10 years ago
But in real sense the acting director can never sack them after he is not the one who employ them. They can sui the govt
BBC 10 years ago
Is not theiar Salary is allowance correction fools
Sack who ever on illegal strike
Lord Tennison 10 years ago
What commonsense it is to replace them?Should they work for 9 months and not be paid?How do you expect them to pay their bills?
Are John Mahama,Seth Terkper ,Dr Wampah and Alfred Oko Vanderpuije not drawing their salaries an ... read full comment
What commonsense it is to replace them?Should they work for 9 months and not be paid?How do you expect them to pay their bills?
Are John Mahama,Seth Terkper ,Dr Wampah and Alfred Oko Vanderpuije not drawing their salaries and allowances despite plunging Ghana into bankruptcy through sheer incompetence?Why should they suffer vicariously?
At a time when our doctor/patient ratio leaves much to be desired,is it prudent to sack them?Please think!
Do you prefer that they join the greener pasture band wagon?
Do not bully them for expressing a genuine concern about payment for work done.
Please give commonsense the chance to provide the answer.
The Ghana Medical and Dental Council should savage them from the bullies.
Killer 10 years ago
Fuck you all , the junior doctors are right to go on strik if they haven't been paid madafuckers Ghana leaders you should go to hell
sam 10 years ago
There is a place called U.S.A where you will be appreciated even though in Ghana you are made to believe as a doctor in abroad patients disrespects which is not true.
You will never have to think about basic things like food ... read full comment
There is a place called U.S.A where you will be appreciated even though in Ghana you are made to believe as a doctor in abroad patients disrespects which is not true.
You will never have to think about basic things like food, shelter, transportation because your salary will come on time and is good money, patients will appreciate you, you will be able to drive in the best cars, your kids will go to the best schools and your home will be like a five star hotel.
Learn hard past your USMLE with excellent scores and the sky will be your limit. After all if your own does not appreciate you, you go where you will be appreciated.
JH. New York 10 years ago
The worker is entitled to his/her Salary
/Wages,to manage his/her own affair.
No excuses entertained whatsoever !.
The Hospital admin did their part on humanitarian grounds and the effort is
appreciated ; but the Drs are ... read full comment
appreciated ; but the Drs are adults and not School Boys and Girls to be fed and given transport allowances instead of their legitimate Salaries, with no end in sight to the trend/ practice,despite repeated assurances or promises since Adam. Who continue to Wrk for 9 months without pay,and when industrial action is employed to retrieve the Salaries in arrears,they are sacked/fired.
This action by the Hospital admin is inhumane,diabolical to the Core and does not make Sense!,What the Head of admin do not know/envision is that
the Support group will also go on Strike after some unpaid Salaries.That 's one reason why the Drs should not be fired.Again,what Sort of Respect does this Clueless head of admin talk about!.Does he take the Drs to be his Children in the house or what ?.
I think the eyes of that Hospital admin has overtaken his eyebrows.He has not excuse to sack the Drs .His excuse of respect is Silly and very weak. Sue him and the Hosp to reinstate you and collect salaries for the period you stayed home.The Hosp Head is a big Joke;he sacked Drs without giving them their paychecks.Does he think he has really sacked the workers!P
In a Country where everything is measured by Political gains to be derived,if any,what do you think!.
No one forced late Atta Mills to rushed to introduce SSSS without due processes.I have said several times on this forum that degrees without the application of Common Sense approach could be dangerous to Society.The suffering and -embarrassment these Drs are going through is a good example of Degree without the application of Common Sense approach(intellect).
What Ghana need is people with wisdom in authority or leadership.
Pay them,pls.
Kofi 10 years ago
That fool of a doctor called Asare will run away. He is insane. He is approaching retirement and may be trying to win the favour of government. The GMA will chase him away. I cannot stand such idiots.
Fathullah 10 years ago
Hmmmm totally disgusting
Godhelp 10 years ago
That would serve as a deterrent to any such unwanted behaviour from such doctors.They fed very fat on the tax payers covers and as well taken the Hypotocritic oaths.They tend to be rather money ???? minded contrary to their calling as doctors while patients die needlessly.Show them the "RED"card out.Ghanaians are fed up.
akrofi 10 years ago
So you are saying that they should be content with feeding and transport allowances? Do our Ministers on the government payroll ever get salary arrears?
Sacking a doctor is very easy but you cannot recruit a doctor from the ... read full comment
So you are saying that they should be content with feeding and transport allowances? Do our Ministers on the government payroll ever get salary arrears?
Sacking a doctor is very easy but you cannot recruit a doctor from the Streets like you are recruiting cleaners to sweep the hospital.
Sadik 10 years ago
Government of Ghana is not fair.the doctor's should be call back to their duties. government should negotiate with them but not taking the decision of sacking them do you know how much it cost them and their and their families to be where they are now ?why do people take decisions without thinking of others.
Asamoah Forson 10 years ago
Why the government don't stop the MPS PAY and give to the Doctors.
abena-kwabena 10 years ago
This is INSANE, It would be a loss to Ghana and not the young doctors. They would have difficulties in the beginning, but in the end they would be the winners. Their services are needed every where in the world. A responsible gov. would negotiate with them bcos they have the right to strike.
ALBERT 10 years ago
How can some body work for nine month without pay,then when he complains he is sacked.Only in Ghana this will happen
osei kwabena 10 years ago
sometimes doctors should have patience.it be like they are working for the pleasure of salaries,it is indeed cheating,but how could you embark on strike after a discurssion with your officials on unpaid arears not whole salaries,you receive more dan teachers do,but some teachers have not been paid for almost a year and yet they go to classroom.that is very rude.but the ministry must place them back.
Dede 10 years ago
Don't settle for mediocre and stupidity. What prevents them from paying any worker for more than a month.
beautiful 10 years ago
Its a shame for a colleague medical officer to sack his colleagues knowing very well that they need to be paid simply because he is fine and he is enjoying fat 10% from suppliers aside his fat salary. God will judge everyone
Oheneba Quaye 10 years ago
What a crazy country. Sack workers who demand to be paid after working for NINE months without pay. What the newspapers should investigate is whether the CEO was paid during that period. Any of the doctors or dentists who will like to move to the US should contact me directly: mextex12 @ Hotmail.
My brother's keeper 10 years ago
If you're tired of the government and so called senior doctor taking you for granted, you should consider joining us here. Contact me directly at: mextex12 @ Hotmail.com
political 10 years ago
They are not talking about their salary, they are talking about their arrears. So re-read artcle again
gee 10 years ago
Massa! Every non fee paying student in gh is covered by govt subsidy ....so don't talk abt doctors as if they have some extra previledge...if u had to take care of HIV and tb patients for 9 months and u weren't paid, u wld strike too
Ewiase 10 years ago
Only Fools will write such comments. Just go and work for 9 months for free. U stupid foooooools.
Campus Ministry Report 10 years ago
I think, it should be possible to provide funds, from somewhere, for the Doctors.
An interim arrangement should be made concerning this.
The Doctors are not demanding anything extraordinary. They have not been paid fo ... read full comment
I think, it should be possible to provide funds, from somewhere, for the Doctors.
The Doctors are not demanding anything extraordinary. They have not been paid for 9 months. This is very unfair and unfortunate.
It is not enough for them to be given excuses, over and over again, as to why they have not been paid. Somebody somewhere is not doing his work efficiently with regards to the payment of the Salaries.
It is not about dismal at all, for it is not Biblical. The worker deserves his timely wages. Check from the Mosaic texts.
The Doctors should be recalled to duty and their Salaries paid with interest, not with simple interest, but compound interest, and the compounding interest should be continuous. Yes, this arrangement is fair and proper!
Even with the regular one month salary, it takes the Grace of God to cope and plan for the month. How much more 9 months. This thing should not have gone beyond 3 months, to begin with. The maximum tolerable and graceful limit should have been 5 months. This is unacceptable.
Good move
SACK THEM ; WHY ALWAYS STRIKES FOR NOMREASON
its about time the goverment stop educating this idiots this is not done anywhere in the world let them educate themselves and the can choose to work in ghana or not they are just taking advantage of the system we use tax pay ...
Sarpong, do you honestly believe this cock-and-bull story before you to even comment cheerfully on it? Now, doctors are not factory workers out there whereby one can employ and "fire" at will. Well, I guess the new doctors do ...
You said it, you take the exams. You pass, you take up residency( internship), and get paid while doing your residency( more than Senior doctors in Ghana) $50K to $90K depending on your specialty. The exam is not easy though ...
And you wonder why people leave. We dont have enough doctors, and then you don't pay them even the p ...
These Doctors are not idiots as you think. It is the government that is. Have you ever in your useless life seen an idiot person become a doctor. Only in your hopeless house. How can you work for nine months without receiving ...
I WISH ANY OF THOSE SCREAMING AT THESE DOCTORS HAVE A WARD OR TWO AT ADMITTED AT THE MEDICAL SCHOOL AND PAY REGULAR FEES FOR THEM. LET THEM PASS OUT AND BE DENIED PAYMENT OF THEIR SALARIES FOR EVEN SIX MONTHS ANS STILL BE DEM ...
I studied in England and your view that its not done any where in the world. I find its strange. I have lived in England for 44 years and stud ...
Your own education in Ghana was subsidized by taxpaye ...
THE NEW WHAT THEY WERE GOING TO FACE TO BE A DOCTOR: AS A DOCTOR YOUR RULES AND LAWS ARE NOT THE SAME AS A BANKER: YOU WORK ALL TIME ANYTIME THE NEEDS ARISES: YOU ARE A SOIAL WORKER NOT A ...
Ivy, look around your family, you will certain find quite a lot in there and the idiots in your village, send them to be trained as doctors so that when they qualify, they can work free for the government. Dr. Daniel Asare, t ...
MY FAMILY ARE EVEN FATHERS ; WHO DO NOT TAKE PAY BUT THEY ARE SURVIVING; THESE DOCTORS NEW THAT; AS A DOCTOR YOUR JOB IS WITHOUT CEASING; ANYTIME ANYDAY LIFE IS IN PLAY YOU MUST REACT VERY FAST: SO WHY WILL THEY GO ON STRIKE ...
Cry for yourself because these Doctors are in a profession where the services they provide is in high demand and will be emplo ...
If u need yellow n white gold rings for your wedding n engagement...then call or whatsapp us on 0244717600 for latest pictures to choose from.....we have offices in HO,KUMASI, KASOA AND ACCRA SPINTEX ROAD.....u can contact us ...
Another judgement debt
Please, let's stop being too emotional about this, if you read the article in full, their monthly allowances are paid. Moreso, the government have concluded negotiations with them. This happens in all government departments. ...
ur a dumb buggr.No man in his right will work for nothing when u have a useless President hording all da funds in his own account.I support all workers to have the right to strike for payment over wages.My friend is still wai ...
WHERE ELSE ON EARTH, WILL A GOVT. REFUSE TO PAY SALARIES TO TH ...
How do u mean government is paying for their education? Are u saying medical students do not pay fees. ? Is it not the same universities the parliamentarians attend ? Do u expect a hungry doctor who has not bn paid for 9 mont ...
DO U KNOW HOW MUCH IT COST GHANA GOVERNMENT TO TRAIN EACH DOCTOR AND WHAT WE ARE LOOSING AS A COUNTRY? THIS DR ASARE MAN IS AN EDUCATED IDIOT. THESE YOUNG DOCTORS HAVE NOT BEEN PAID FOR OVER 9 MONTHS AND U ARE TELLING THEM TO ...
YES THEY CAN GO. TELL E THE QUALITY OF THEIR WORK PERFORMANCE TO JUSTIFY THEIR SENSELESS CLAIM IN VIEW OF THE BAD CUMULATIVE CIRCUMSTANCES IN GHAN OVER THE PAST YEARS. THEY ARE INCOMPETENT, FULL OF SELF-IMPORTANCE, ARROGANT W ...
Get ur facts right.
Amen ooo
It is not as if there are enough doctors in Ghana in the first place. Secondly, these peo ...
Prez, you are too doll, pls please pay unannounced visit to places to see things for yourself. Don't sit in the flagstaff house for selfish people to be deceiving you. Prez Rawlings & Mills did it, why not u the younger one. ...
BY THE WAY, A ...
Be careful, Dr Asare! That's not the way to go. Please dialogue with them, they seem to have a point. In the end, patient care is what suffers, and I am sure you don't care too much about that. Sto ...
As a result of failure of the Mahama NDC gov't to pay ...
How can a worker go unpaid for nine months and is expected to discharge his or her duties faithfully? It is a disgrace for workers to continue working without pay for nine months! That is why corrupt practices in the workplac ...
Kubi don't have ears or eyes ? It's salary arrears as the are being paid their salary now. This is what every doctor know from time immoraial every doctor will have salary arrears after your training and houseman ship. Every ...
Teachers and other civil servants work for up to two years before being paid. Ask the teachers, nurses, etc. Why do doctors feel so special. Ghana needs order and equal treatment for its workforce. Strikes must be stoppec by ...
I agreed more to your intake. But most of this so called doctors. Which I alway prefer to call them their right name medical officers can't even pass medical board exams here in the states, for that matter can't practice medi ...
Stupid fool we have more than half of our batch practicing in USA now. I decided to stay after passing my PALB to work in UK but when God touched me,I quit abt moving abroad just to help my own kind so decided to stay n was w ...
And we will wait when there are more cuban doctors and they begin to hold the country to ransom there u will see ur foolishness,they can seek redress in another country or even confiscate ur assert abroad .The best is to solv ...
THE EBOLA VACCINE
The pay for "honorable" MPs, the NDC activists and all those who hang around the Castle, the Flagstaff House and the $20 million NDC headquarters is never in arrears. Since when have strikes in demand for arrears owed (not ev ...
For What,Why,Why,Why!!!
Very short sighted and stupid action by this acting Chief Executive indeed! How can you have the nerve to sack these much needed staff when you have broken their contracts by not paying their salaries for 9 months or have I g ...
I don't subscribe to strikes but at the same token it seems like the only time Goverments in Ghana listen to their people is by going on strike. How can somebody work for 9 months and not be paid. Don't they pay the MPs and ...
It is tax payer money that pays for the majority of the actual fees and charges associated with professional education in Ghana or an ...
Is the GOVT not paying their ministers and MPs. So if the GOVT can find money to pay these non performing people why cant the GOVT find money to pay people that are protecting the health of its citizens. This shows the incomp ...
Abeeku, why not go to a medical school to become a doctor since the taxpayer will fund your education? How many of your family members have availed themselves of the free medical education in Ghana? The person at fault is the ...
THIS IS A VERY GOOD FIRM AND MORALLY RIGHT DECISION CAPECOAST. THEY HAVE THEIR RIGHTS TO WITHDRAW THEIR LABOUR AND EQUALLY THEIR EMPLOYER HAS THE RIGHT TO NOT TO HIRE THEIR LABOUR IF THEY CNNOT AFFORD IT AFTER ALL THE DOCTORS ...
Stupid fool Dr Asare, you get paid every month right? You feed yourself and your family well right? During your time you did the same thing right? Fire burn you and your family. These junior Doctors will not die foolish Ma ...
EXCELLENT MOVE,LONG OVERDUE AND I SIMPLY DONT UNDERSTAND WHY WORKERS ON STRIKE HERE ARE PAID. GO TO BRITAIN AND YOU'LL FIND ONE DOES NOT GET PAID FOR EVEN HALF A DAY'S STRIKE. COMMON SENSE SHOULD REIGN,BUT UNFORTUNATELY IT IS ...
Dr Daniel Asare, I was flabbagasted and saddened when I read the action you took against the striking junior doctors, the treatment which looks like the proverbial motherless child.In every situation there is a common groung, ...
Judgement debt is in the making again oo you did similar thing to doctor at kofo anokye hospital in kumasi the man won the case at court we all heard the compensation he took from the hospital ? . You idiots want to do the sa ...
What is feeding and transport allowance,what about rent money,money for their own responsibility and other things ...
The next time they embark on nation wide strike their salaries shld be blocked and govt arrange for Cuban doctors/special ...
Thank U, my brother!
Shame shame.I told you guys to go to work as nobody will take you serious.You cannot bite,you are weak,and you have not proven yourself for the govt to be scared so you've got what you deserve.You wanna strive,be bold, decisi ...
Dr Asare is managing things for them. He said they are using Internally Generated Funds to pay them or help them so why can´r they also help the hospital to attend to the needs of the poor patients who go to that hospital? T ...
Do you think the doctors are not working because they have been paid but with IGF? You do not know what Dr. Asare has brought on himself. You watch how the matter goes. Being a doctor is not voluntary work. When you employ pe ...
Whem someone is engaged to work, he is paid his due. He is not paid food and travelling allowances. Dr. Asare needs to be sanctioned immediately. Does he take feeding and traveling allowance? Why does he think other doctors l ...
Hmmmm my beloved c'tizens; let not politicise everything. Anger spoils a lot. No insult on media. Hmmmmm prof. Atta Mills rest in perfect peace. But I think warning and querry letters are to be served first before the dismisa ...
Simple and Short,Dr. Daniel Asare perosnally for his inhumane treatment of these young Doctors. They were asking for their pay which has been in arrears for 9 months not your feeding and the allowances. Those do not add up to ...
But he took that action on a firm constitunional grounds. He invoked the statutory ...
This is the way to go. Its true no employee is satisfied with what s/he takes home but our doctors are greedy and politically motivated. When the tax payers money were been used to feed them, transport, give them the bursarie ...
YOUNG MEN WHO RECEIVED FREE MEDICAL TRAINING PAYING BACK SOCIETY WITH STRIKE! SACKING THEM IS THE BOLDEST DECISION EVER TAKEN IN GHANA. MAKE IT A LAW FOR MEDICAL DOCTORS TO PAY BACK THE FULL COST OF THEIR TRAINING IF THEY GO ...
Ask trainees from the Univ ...
Get USA visas and come to New York where jobs are waiting for every doctor who passes the State Medical Exams. Do not again cry for Argentina for Argentina will never cry for you either. How on earth that some body would wor ...
Be happy sacked doctors!!You received a free medical education. Go to South Africa, Europe or America where you will be paid $200,000+ a year. You will get your salary every month with NO delay. Thanks Ghana for free educatio ...
government must appy the policy of no work no pay so that money will be deducted from the so call junior doctors salary for number of days being absent from work. professionla teachers dont get their salary for abt 11 months, ...
Why
Two couples were playing cards. Mensah a Junior Doctor accidentally dropped some cards on the floor. When he bent down under the table to pick them up, he noticed that Dave'a Senior Doctors wife, Sandy, was not wearing any u ...
that's ridiculous . how can you sack them. on what grounds. another judgement debt in the making. poor leadership by the CEO . I don't blame him but the politically motivated system that appointed him. why do we do thinks ...
boss. I worked 18 months without pay. unlike the doctors who get accommodation n feeding allowances I didn't get some. I have degree in med lab tech from knust n I assure u I have colleagues at komfo anokye who have not been ...
because your salary hasnt been paid for 18mnths doesnt mean it is right. why dnt you protest and force governments to do what is right. hypocrisy in the highest order. Have we asked whether the Mps and ministers hadnt been pa ...
That is nonsense
This is another attempt to instill fear and divide your front as u seek not only for your betterment but also of de health sector. Keep de fight. You could have been sacked for any other reason aside asking for what is rightf ...
Must workers always strike to resolve their grievances ;these doctors are being heartless; after the negotiations; they may claim their arrears anyway but what happens to the lives lost during their striking period ; money is ...
No where in the world would the government take the responsibility of taking care of medical students, nurses, and teachers. Only in poverty striken country like Ghana would do this. How will we move forward? We borrow and gi ...
Its very pathetic for Ghanaian to always support wrong things how can someone work over a year and you pay them 3month and they are demanding for the arrears and you sack them , this applied to some teachers and nurses meanwh ...
Are John Mahama,Seth Terkper ,Dr Wampah and Alfred Oko Vanderpuije not drawing their salaries an ...
You will never have to think about basic things like food ...
appreciated ; but the Drs are ...
Hmmmm totally disgusting
That would serve as a deterrent to any such unwanted behaviour from such doctors.They fed very fat on the tax payers covers and as well taken the Hypotocritic oaths.They tend to be rather money ???? minded contrary to their c ...
Sacking a doctor is very easy but you cannot recruit a doctor from the ...
Government of Ghana is not fair.the doctor's should be call back to their duties. government should negotiate with them but not taking the decision of sacking them do you know how much it cost them and their and their familie ...
This is INSANE, It would be a loss to Ghana and not the young doctors. They would have difficulties in the beginning, but in the end they would be the winners. Their services are needed every where in the world. A responsible ...
sometimes doctors should have patience.it be like they are working for the pleasure of salaries,it is indeed cheating,but how could you embark on strike after a discurssion with your officials on unpaid arears not whole sala ...
What a crazy country. Sack workers who demand to be paid after working for NINE months without pay. What the newspapers should investigate is whether the CEO was paid during that period. Any of the doctors or dentists who wil ...
Massa! Every non fee paying student in gh is covered by govt subsidy ....so don't talk abt doctors as if they have some extra previledge...if u had to take care of HIV and tb patients for 9 months and u weren't paid, u wld st ...
The Doctors are not demanding anything extraordinary. They have not been paid fo ...