You are here: HomeNews2015 05 13Article 357913

Teachers angry over directive to stop extra classes

Read Comments Comments (41)

• OMANBA 8 years ago

These teachers use the extra classes to make extra money which no taxes are paid on them.By their action they put more financial burdens on the parents of their students.

• Think 8 years ago

Relax, but ask yourself why should your child need extra classes? It is your choice to let them attend abi?

• Prince Massachusetts 8 years ago

Yes Omanba . Cuz u know what ? Ur government can't paid them. They have to do this to survive. And secondly every parents want a better future for his or her kids. This dumb ass government and his cronies brought their kids h ...

• JOE 8 years ago

The teacher's shirt and trousers are too big for his size.The belt too is too big for his tiny waist.

• Yeboah 8 years ago

There's absolutely no need for any extra classes. It's just another way to extort money from parents. In fact, play is as important as work as far as our pupils are concerned. Sometimes they even learn more by playing than by ...

Did I read this right?

• Jalil SA 8 years ago

It must end now. I supportthe idea, teachers must be at post and teach well. Circuit supervisors must monitor them eeffectively. Most of them charge money for which they are supposed to stay in classes and do the job. If it i ...

• asante 8 years ago

Teachers end up paying more attention to extra classes than normal hours of duty.
    Extra classes must stop so all students can benefit from same tutor at the same time.

• amadzi kwame 8 years ago

madam Naana Opoku Agyemang are you the director general of Ghana education service? Go and read your job description

• Maksen 8 years ago

new teachers are not been paid since they starts teaching, u there talking from ur outside mind

pay new teacher including their arears.

Countries ranked on maths and science
    1. Singapore
    2. Hong Kong
    3. South Korea
    4. Japan (joint)
    4. Taiwan (joint)
    6. Finland
    7. Estonia
    8. Switzerland
    9. Netherlands
    10. Canada
    11. Poland
    12. Vietnam
    13. Germany

• Okesse 8 years ago

In South Korea parents spend $16 Bn a year on extra classes
    In Ghana most children don't have the basic reading skills in education because there is only a period a week on reading skills so pupils are promoted to the upper ...

• worla 8 years ago

okesse,send ur children to korea n u wil benefit frm thm ok

• Think 8 years ago

Charity begins at home. Korean parents also teach their kids at home. People argue that teachers use extra classes for money and teachers say they are not paid on time. Let's solve those problems first!!

• Think 8 years ago

I wonder what you will achieve with your sarcasm? I wonder what you are doing or going to do now that you have this information. I don't even think you knew such a study was being undertaken till you read it on BBC no be so? ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

Physics Teacher: “Isaac Newton was sitting under a tree when an apple fell on his head and he discovered gravity. Isn’t that wonderful?”

Student: “Yes sir, if he had been sitting in class looking at books like us, ...

Love your stories, but what is the morale behind this one?

• Einstein 8 years ago

I am not the biggest fan of the education minister, but I think this is the best decision EVER.
    Listen to BBC news today.
    Ghana scored LAST in a ranking of our education system.
    Despite all the so called "Extra Classes" ...

• Lartey. Tema. 8 years ago

If these teachers are saying the syllabus are such that they can not cover it on time and therefore need extra classes to complete it, why then are they charging such fees? Why are they extorting money from innocent parents? ...

• Serah 8 years ago

This NDC people don't know what they are doing. Just go on strike until you are paid. Woyome alone can pay so why waste the time talking

• Atule 8 years ago

Nonsense talk

• Nana Gyetuah 8 years ago

for teachers nt to do extra classes is a loose statement frm d minister.
    she shld go to secondary schools n c hw teachers struggle to finish d syllabus despite extra classes dey organize. shld dis action b ceased, students w ...

• Kay Agyapong 8 years ago

Dumb lose thinking,when people gets to a position of power,they forget where they started from.As a primary teacher for instance,u need to teach not less than 4-5 subjects a day.Teach,give exercises and mark them,lead the pup ...

• Worfa Yao 8 years ago

When it comes to matters concerning teachers, everybody wants to say something against them. Do we take the trouble to research into both the good and the bad parts of their actions? We mustn't forget that some school childre ...

• ADE 8 years ago

WE NEVER HAD WHAT IS CALLED EXTRA TUITION YET WE PASSED AND PASASED WELL FOR BOTH O LEVEL AND SITH FORM TO GAIN ADMISSION TO UNIVERSITY.

• Mike 8 years ago

You are right, but not all children need extra classes. Some also need classes for some specific subjects. I have kids in the UK I only pay for the subjects the kids are weak at. I am in Ghana, the "extra classes" doesn't hel ...

• kweku 8 years ago

i would have agreed with many of the comments here if i have never taught before. However,after five years in the classroom,i know better.
    First of all,many parents rather come asking for extra classes because most of them h ...

• ADE 8 years ago

YOU CHEATS. YOU DO NOT WANT TO USE OFFICIAL TIME TO TEACH BUT WANTING EXTRA TIME TO CHEAT PARENTS.

• Nii Lante 8 years ago

This is the best decision of the year. Very good madam minister

• Dj lanre 8 years ago

The minister is a waste,and shd tell us when was the last time she completed the syllabus when lecturing at ucc? Wher ar her children?after u sent dem to study outside,u ar here spoiling the ghanaian,education with dose fooli ...

• Dessie 8 years ago

Sit down with parent and teachers association and discuss the issue; teachers complain could be credible given the fact that number of student per class way out of proportion

• Openueyuai 8 years ago

Look at confusion from people without vision. From top to down.
    Brains are becoming warm, I don't wan to attribute it to the dumsor.
    I have these questions for the minister
    1. What scientific research can the minister use ...

• Ghanaian 8 years ago

What the minister had wanted to say was this: "Stop charging for extra classes." This is not the first time teachers had felt the need to organise extra classes. When I was in middle school, and for several years both before ...

• PRINCE 8 years ago

WHY DO U WANT TO SEND NDC TO OPPOSITION. SO SO SAD.

• Oshigo 8 years ago

i am surprised people are blaming teachers for the falling standard of education in Ghana, its rather the way education has been politicised in the country. was there any sense in changing the 4year SSS back to 3years?on the ...

• avumegah ditto ananse 8 years ago

see oooo private schools are doing extra classes at high charge but parents are paying why this one with just a token charge to help our pupils you trying to stop it why?

• Solomon 8 years ago

it is funny, they are saying teacher should stop extra class but the same people have private teacher teaching there children. ha ha just deceiving the public

• joe 8 years ago

THEY ARE JUST MAKING MONEY OF OUR CHILDREN.

• jojo 8 years ago

these teachers are just as corrupt as our politicians stealing from the poor students with BS extra classes because of their greed and not lack of time. stop making students waste time taking notes written on the black board ...

• jojo 8 years ago

who needs extra classes when GES or examination counsel sells you the answers to the text during 'A' and 'O' exams? all of them are corrupt and they are doing it for your money not because they care about your education. secr ...

• Efo Koku 8 years ago

Hey Kwasiakwa Ablakwa, when will you ever make sense? You challenge almost everything sensible. Ghana was dead last in that study. Just accept it and figure out how to improve the system. We all know that we are churning ...