You are here: HomeNews2014 12 18Article 339502

Police Service vows to sack officers caught extorting money

Read Comments Comments (87)

• Pelicles 9 years ago

We live to see if this warning will become reality. Our police is too corrupt. They behave as if they work for free.

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

The policeman relies on extortion to survive

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

The Ghana Police cannot stop collecting money from citizens or sack its members doing so. It is in their blood to collect bribes; this is a joke.

• RR 9 years ago

This is like the devil deciding to punish all demons who do wicked things.
    What a joke.

• RR 9 years ago

He has given his life to Christ. His demons are in trouble.

• kwasi 9 years ago

everyone in Ghana police take bribes and extort people for money

• oristo 9 years ago

You don't have to tell us, just do it. Have you heard Barclay's bank, say they will sack cashiers who steal money?

• FUNNY THAT 9 years ago

The the Ghana police does does notshow 'one iota of regret' for what he does.Oh Nigga you gonna Nig.
    Deflect and deny...a trait of the kipperatti. The policemen in Ghana are mentally unraveling.Now we just accept our lea ...

• Neutral Zone 9 years ago

Lies

• soooooo 9 years ago

Why is the police boss cosmetising the act by calling it spot fines. He knows that what the police extort from motorists is not spot fines but bribes. He should say it plainly that officers caught extorting money (bribes).. ...

• Owusu 9 years ago

Yes that proves how serious he is.He is going to sack officers who extort money and not the normal every day bribes that he approves

• 4 Year Old 9 years ago

Who will catch policeman for extortion when all of them are corrupt? We will live to see...

• CAPE COAST BOY 9 years ago

HAHAHAHAHA GHANA POLICE

• Patriot Ghanaian 9 years ago

All you have to do is get undercover officers from different regions in private cars and deliberately make wrong turns infront of them. You will catch a sackful of corrupt police officers..only if you are really seriuos in ta ...

• JJ's fan 9 years ago

Haha Patriot you are so smart! I like your strategy. Good one there and have a happy holiday

• Kwasi Asante , Providence, R.I. 9 years ago

That strategy would not work. The Police always cover for their own. No Police Officer in Ghana would file criminal offence against another Police Office. They protect each other remember. There is a way I am working on but w ...

• Agyaaku USA 9 years ago

A huge joke. The Ghana Police is the cause of lawlessness in our society. When will they prosecute the rich? When will they prosecute a politician in a ruling party? When will they stop taking bribe from accused and complaina ...

• EMMANUEL 9 years ago

Agyaako,you have hit the nail right at the top.Police service enforces the laws of the country,but all they do is to wear their uniforms, storm the streets to collect money from trotro and taxi drivers.
    The IGP,Regional Poli ...

• Military Man 9 years ago

I will only believe this if no policeman or policewoman asks me or any motorist for any "ice water money" on our highways police road blocks and check points!!!

So until that happens, I will only consider this as a joke an ...

• Amakom 9 years ago

Dreaming

• JAMES Y 9 years ago

Hope the statement is not hot air.

• YAW USA 9 years ago

YOU ARE NUMBER ONE BRIBE TAKER SO STOP AND YOUR JUNIOR OFFICERS WILL ALSO STOP.

• Driver 9 years ago

Any special numbers to call in case of such ?

• Alexander 9 years ago

Please the officer's rank is DCOP not DSP as it is in the story

• Kojo 9 years ago

Let the police carry out work this morning on the Dawhenya road, near the Tema Refinery (behind the Kwame Nkrumah's Silo) i.e. near the Tema Timber Market. It is not a secret the way extort money from motorists.

• kwame 9 years ago

"to wear police uniform na to collect money for road"

• Francis 9 years ago

Yate abr3! If the IGP hi mself is extorting money, who dey go sack him?

• abbey 9 years ago

The police have become addicted to bribe and under no circumstance will our shameless police stop taking money from innocent motorists. Let's have our peace.

• james 9 years ago

How can Ghanaian Police stop bribe. Police is a disgrace job and i will advice all my family members not to join. Disgrace people.

• Richard Amoah 9 years ago

If they are serious, let them employ mystery shoppers to out the officers that do this particularly at check points. At check point they operate a scheme so all the officers would be culpable

• Michael Kojo 9 years ago

DSP AWuni,
    Thank you very much for stepping your legs down to help develop our motherland Ghana...infect Ghana is getting behind..recently I came home and how some of the police personals treat some of us is really bad..my l ...

• Buga 9 years ago

it's not their fault. blame useless mahama n his corrupt gov

• ??? 9 years ago

they were taking bribes before mahama grandfather was born

• fire 9 years ago

stupid, useless, dirty ,street animal like you .when we are talking of important issues , you are bringing politics. the police have been extorting money from the poor and helpless people for a long time not now .even Rawli ...

• ??? 9 years ago

thank you

• kingboso 9 years ago

serious joke
    I don't see this thing becoming possible
    what?
    who will catch them?

• KODJO 9 years ago

Mr DSP
    STOP this cheap talk. DSP u even took part of this exortion money.

• everluv 9 years ago

All be Iie,

• Pumpuni 9 years ago

DSP Awuni Angwutobge ?
    When was he demoted?

• Wisdom 9 years ago

"Whenever a Nation Is Being ruled or governed by Fools, They create an enormous stupidity and laughter" For there isn't wisdom in the head of a fool.

• Nana Asamoa 9 years ago

Sport find should ne Pay in bank or post office and wold ne refrect gov account

• Solja 9 years ago

really? is that what this story is? a very useless and misleading headline. the fine is not effective yet so anyone caught demanding it would be sacked?

i thought you meant any officer caught taking anything at all whatsoe ...

• Nana Asamoa 9 years ago

Sport find should be Pay in bank or post office and would be refrect gov account

• citizen 9 years ago

let us also stop giving it to them when we are caught. we should let them process us to court and all will stop.we shouldn't be afraid of the court .

• soooooo 9 years ago

Oh citizen , try and get caught by the police and allow yourself to be taken to court. Then you will change your mind and decide to be a non-citizen. The system is too chaotic. Even before you are charged to court, you repor ...

• HONEST MAN 9 years ago

It is because of all this wahala that civilzed countries have instituted spot fines for minor road infractions. You are issued a ticket, you pay to the police or at the office or bank, whatever and carry on with your life wit ...

• Adam 9 years ago

police not be collecting cash from trafic offenders. police department should have a sort of ticket that can be issued to a trafic offender, and she or he must go to police department of motor vehicle department to make the p ...

• K.AMASS 9 years ago

NOT ONLY THE POLICE TAKES BRIBE
    IS WITHIN ALL THE GOVERNMENT ESTABLISHMENTS ESPECIALLY KOTOKA AIRPOT AND TEMA PORTS.
    IS A SHAME TO MOTHER GHANA.

• distress 9 years ago

then the police commander in sandema should b fired.he took alot of money from motorist in sandema last month.our DCE too is also complacent

• Abbas, london 9 years ago

MR ALHASSAN, ENAF OF THE EVIDENCE IS OUT THERE, PLS!!!!!!!!YOU MEN ARE A TESTIMONY OF THEMSELVES

• Bob Kumasi 9 years ago

Please instruct all your officers to BOLDLY AND CONSPICOUSLY wear their NAME AND NUMBER TAGS plus contact numbers for the public so that we can REPORT POLICE OFFICERS SEEN INDULGING IN SUCH ACTS. OTHERWISE YOUR PRONOUNCEMENTS ...

• KENDYMAN 9 years ago

I'M SURE THE IJP IS JUST JOKING WITH THIS STATEMENT. HE SHOULD COME TO CAPE COAST TO SEE WHAT HIS MEN ARE DOING

• ??? 9 years ago

accra t'di road is their market place

• Mike frm Ho. 9 years ago

Sack officers who extort money ? What a joke. A joke of the sentry. Is this man a joker ? As we speak, it is happening LIVE on our roads. This is incredible ! I feel scandalised as a Ghanaian.

• adani 9 years ago

Your lairing officer better sack so call Rose bio attinge. frist she is bad woman to be police officer.

• GORDON YEBOAH,USA 9 years ago

This man is just acting.did I hear him say they(police)receive information or they are aware.he is just sympathizing with the public.he is aware and part of the money being collected by Ghana police from the people.who others ...

• Kk 9 years ago

The are born with it. Then new blood transmission will solve it all

• Osman saakib 9 years ago

What a joke... They will have to start firing from the top. They are all in on it. Corrupt police

• Yaw 9 years ago

The police at the tollbooth check point are making millions milking motorists. Move on them now

• Atta 9 years ago

The police are really chopping there!

• benq 9 years ago

Go Tema every morning and see the game for yourself, one call major, he is the man.......

• Sam Richison, Accra 9 years ago

the IGP will be a very good Kumawood actor.

• USMAN 9 years ago

The IGP is a useless university graduate.

• Nana Ghana 9 years ago

Ghanaians rise up, we no go sit down let them cheat us everyday..No!!!. Every Ghanaians who loves this country should wake up. You see, it is not about which party you belong to, but it is about how much you love your country ...

• Sam Ayi-Kwabena Marfo 9 years ago

The state of a Nation Police shows how good or bad the police is doing. Every good Nation is build on the shoulders of the Police force, Customs and a well organised Tax Body .

• EMMANUEL 9 years ago

Go to these places between 5am and 6am from Monday to Saturday in Kumasi and arrest them;
    1.Aboabo No.1 Junction
    2.Manhyia Roundabout near ASANTEHENE'S Palace
    3.Prempeh Assembly Hall near Rex Cinema
    4.19 steps at Akwatial ...

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

Expand our prison yards so more offenders could be catered for because police are now going to enforce the law. No civilian should beg a police officer to temper justice with mercy. Corruption is at every place not police ser ...

• HAWA YAKUBU 9 years ago

This will make a huge impact in the society which will bring some honesty and discipline. This practices will by all means bring progress in the country.

• owuomposuro 9 years ago

Who is issuing this warning? Is it the fully fledged frog telling the tadpole not to metamorphose to frog?hahaha?why do people believe that only junior officers are corrupt? What was the last time enlistment into the police s ...

• DUNAMIS 9 years ago

end up sacking the entire Ghana Police Service

• Rogue Lawyer 9 years ago

The sensible Thing to do is peoples empowerment-an implementation that teaches the motorist not to give any Money to the Police but must have an easiest paymentpoints in the Country where by the Money must goes to governmen ...

• ABU 9 years ago

A DÉJA VU RANTINGS, FOR HOW LONG WILL THE POLICE KEEPS ON LYING? .WE HAVE HEARD THIS RHETORICS THOUSANDS AND ONE TIMES. AND POSTERITY WILL BE THE ONLY JUDGE

• Koku 9 years ago

This is a joke this police man cannot tell the Ghanaian populace that he is just getting to know of bribery and corruption and extortion in Ghana police. He's one of them, I bet he 's taken his share of it already. He's such ...

• Adam Badimsugru. 9 years ago

A great warning to police officers at the tamale airport junction.

• Bangbin Asuli 9 years ago

hmmm may be you are living in a different world and not ghana. do you say police extortion is illegal? is christmas season and no more 1or 2 ghana but 5 ghana everywhere in kumasi.

• ausie 9 years ago

are you sure????

• Efo Kwaku Canada 9 years ago

Is true that if police officers and judicial are discharging their duties faithfully corruption will be piece of cake to uproot from the system , not only officers who are collecting extortion money but open investigation on ...

• jojo 9 years ago

what about prison time? if goat and chicken thieves are getting imprison for ten to twenty years for such petty crimes then any police officer caught in the act of extortion should be imprisoned 20 to 40 years since they have ...

• a good citizen . 9 years ago

Where else in the world do they have a spot fine is Ghana soo broke that they hv to implement a new order fir spot fines wow!!!!! Dr. kwame we missed u a lot for over 50plus yrs they still can figure it out pls help.......... ...

• danis 9 years ago

Ghana police are corrupt since when did this man realize that police exort bribe? He is aware long time and whatever proceeds from hey got from it he has a share from it. If today, he has noticed that what they are doing is ...

• PATAPAA OBTT 9 years ago

THIS IS A BIG JOKE. GHANA IS ON THE VERSE OF LOSING THE WHOLE POLICE FORCE. HOW CAN THE GHANA POLICE DO AWAY WITH BRIBING. THIS IS INDUCTED INTO THEM DURING THEIR TRAINING PERIOD. THE INSPECTORS SIT IN THEIR OFFICES TO AWAIT ...

• Akuta prosper 9 years ago

Re:Correction The name of the officer incharged of MTTU called ACP AWUNI ANGWUTOGBE.

• abu 9 years ago

Hello How do we report them? you are going to the same police to report hahahaa. they are just too croupt. come to Tarkwa. they are just bullying us. if DSP means it kindly give us a hotline to call or send a whatsapp. all or ...

• FUFUO DADESEN 9 years ago

LIKE WE NEVER HEARD THAT BEFORE. THE DRIVERS.TRADERS,CROOKS,HUSTLERS,THUGS,THE SCANDALOUS--EVERYBODY HIDE THE MONEY{DI BI MA ME NDI BI} IN THE "PAPER WORKS",,,WHOM ARE YOU KIDDING.?

• The lone Prophet of Jehovah 9 years ago

Spt Dennis Abade is one of the criminal police officer at Headquarters in Accra.

• KAKANKO 9 years ago

SHAME ON POLICE OFFICER. THIS HAS BEEN ONGOING FOR YEAR WITH THE KNOWLEDGE OF TOP OFFICERS

• STILL LEAVING 9 years ago

Hotline now if you are serious about going after your criminals in the police service.