You are here: HomeNews2014 11 18Article 335464

Legon imports gowns from China

Read Comments Comments (68)

• PRIORITY 9 years ago

Just sell the country to the Chinese and let sleeping dogs lie, we love the cheap stuff why make a meal of it

• Ghfuo: Be Ruthless, hang nyantakyi, N 9 years ago

So becos you couldn't find a way to collect.the gowns back from students after they've graduated..u decided to outsource the gowns from china? Dats very stupid! Make the graduates put down a deposit for these gowns..once the ...

• Wayo 9 years ago

Even our carpenters (not and tailors)can make these gowns. Why rent them to grads, just sell it to them since they wish to own one each and make more each year for Ghanaians to make more money, please.

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

... And the value of our exports are declining, no wonder our currency is going down too.

• ATSU, HO 9 years ago

IF WE HAVE VALUE FOR MONEY WHAT IS WRONG WITH IMPORTING? WE HAVE TO START WITH AN INDUSTRIAL DRIVE BEFORE INSISTING ON MADE IN GH. GOODS.

• Senior Wisdom 9 years ago

If you want your poor country to develop then everything is wrong. You do it in Ghana and you create jobs, you stop the corrupt from making extra money from the the dubious contracts. Ghana is a really sick third world countr ...

• Shabi 9 years ago

When central govt in a 'Third World' country loses control of the economy to the private sector, this is the kind of limitless corruption and senseless chaos that happens.

Businessmen will 'lobby' politicians to outsource ...

• Wells 9 years ago

Why not let the students pay for the gowns and take them home after graduation?. Now you let a graduation gown be worn by more than one person. And you are proud speaking about it. Shameless people.

• Nat 9 years ago

Only the rank and files eat,drink,wear or even sleep on made in Ghana , food,clothes, refresher drinks and foreign beds. The Presidency is foreign furnished furniture, the parliament imported china made furniture and the Judi ...

• LARYEAH 9 years ago

IF YOUR HEAR THAT LOGIC, IT IMPLIES THAT OUTSOURCING TO CHINA WILL MAKE THE GRADUATE RETURN THE GOWNS.

• MENSA 9 years ago

THE YELLOW MAN IS IN CONTROL NOW

• KOFI LIESTER 9 years ago

Ghana government and people are stupid to be dealing China......We claim to be good artisans, why can't we produce our own gowns ohoo.

• OCCUPY GHANA - BNI Division 9 years ago

How did she (Ms. Nayele Ametefe) get to the VIP lounge without a diplomatic passport?

Though it is alleged she did not travel on a Ghanaian diplomatic passport, is she a current or past HOLDER of a Ghanaian diplomatic pass ...

• Ndoo 9 years ago

You can just be described as 'SICK-MINDS GHANA'. We are tired of your necked lies and fabrications. If you think you can win power through these means, be advised that 'SICK-MINDS GHANA' you have failed.
    DOOM MONGERS, DOOM S ...

• Kojo Barima 9 years ago

And we complain about unemployment in Ghana. You want to tell me there is no Ghanaian in Ghana who can make these gowns. Where is the university council? Is this in fact proof that even our academic institutions have no clue ...

• agyeiwa 9 years ago

Ghanaian artisans dont deliver on time, that is the hard lesson we must learn from the chinise. I gave 300gh advance to a carpenter to make a bed since june this year, the bed has still not been made, excuses everyday, a chin ...

• Samuel 9 years ago

CLEANSHIELD from USA, all Natural Liquid Supplement designed to stimulate the body to produce alkalinity, which helps the body balance it's PH levels and empowers the body to resist any chronic diseases

Such as HIV AIDS, ...

• Citizen 9 years ago

If this is the mentality of an academic institution that is suppose to prepare people for jobs in Ghana, then I can only say, God have mercy.

• onipanua 9 years ago

The NPP encouraged the use of foreign goods in Ghana.When it came to power it labelled itself as the 'party of business' but only encouraged the importation of consumer goods and the expropriation of state assets among its me ...

• Try Rawlings Now! 9 years ago

Ignorant lying twerp!

• Aku 9 years ago

THE WHOLE WORLD IMPORT FROM CHINA NOT GHANA ALONE TO CUT DOWN COST

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON. 9 years ago

HA,ha,ha!!!.Ghanaians are paying the price of overthrowing Osagyefo and abandoning his rapid industrialization policy for Ghana.On the advice of the IMF and the World Bank Afrifa and Busia abandoned all the factories establis ...

• Kojo Billy Duncan 9 years ago

Exactly, tell them again.

• Jimmy 9 years ago

Oh my Legon of all institutions? What is happening? As for this, heads must roll.

• Hp 9 years ago

Legon dey beee keke

• Ghfuo: Be Ruthless, hang nyantakyi, N 9 years ago

Encourage local industries to get the contract tonprodice these gowns, create jobs locally and pay taxes to aid development

• H. Tawiah 9 years ago

Even in the developed countries, almost everything we buy is either made in China, Bangladesh, Malaysia, Indonesia, Hon Kong, or Taiwan. It's hard to get made in USA clothing to buy in the America. Even American flags being ...

• KK London 9 years ago

Tawiah what you forget is that at least the US economy has an advanced industrial infrastructure capable of producing all its needs. We have nothing at all and therefore not the luxury of "outsourcing" the supply all our ...

• azantilow mumuni musah eureka yaw Isa 9 years ago

Legon being one of the most announced or popular university in the country importing common gowns.this is in a form of corruption. Poor Dean

• Alhaji Tanko 9 years ago

Fake clothes Legon.

• Talk n talk 9 years ago

Its made in china every where, all over the world made in china abounds and guess what you can get some quality stuff from the chinese,let learn from them ,let start producing some good brands that can attract and the world w ...

• USMAN 9 years ago

I know you are one of those useless university graduates.

• ALIMI YAO 9 years ago

@Talk n Talk dey talk true and you know nuffing, mate. Made in China all over the world be true talk. If Talk n Talk is a graduate, he is a good one bruv, cos he de talk sense. Me seen quality Made in China stuff in UK and Ne ...

• Kofi Mensah 9 years ago

I do not see the funny side of this.
    Gowns are rented for a day on graduation day and returned after the graduation ceremony to get your money back.
    That I know is the practice in British universities in Great Britain.
    Chi ...

• Hp 9 years ago

Is that so?

• perscoba 9 years ago

Those gowns from Chinas are insignias of our being enslaved by the Chinese. Do we not have shops in Ghan who could have made the gowns?? as well as the chairs at the parliament??? issue here are poor product qualities/ ...

• USMAN 9 years ago

Is that the reason why the over-pampered University of Ghana is busy fighting against anything technical education so that they will always have the leeway to import things from abroad at over-inflated prices? This is how far ...

• perscoba 9 years ago

That stupid school must be dissolved now for it is an embarasment to the conscience of the nation.

• RAYMOND NASH, LONDON 9 years ago

WHAT IS WRONG IN IMPORTING FROM CHINA WHEN IT IS CHEAPER THAN MADE IN GHANA, AND BETTER QUALITY.

A WHOLE LOT OF ITEMS IN THE UK AND US ARE MADE IN CHINA SO WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE.

GIVE THAT CONTRACT TO A GHANAIAN, THEY ...

• perscoba 9 years ago

Fool why does America control importations from CHINA?--they are of poor qualities and also take jobs from tHE americans..

• faithgrows 9 years ago

too bad. our self identity is lost. a whole university? what a heck is that?

• Pround pepeni. 9 years ago

THIS WOMAN DOESN'T EVEN KNOW WHAT OUTSOURCING MEANS. THIS IS THE CASE OF PUTTING A SQUARE PEG IN A ROUND HOLE-NEPOTISM IN ACTION. THE REASON SHE IS GIVING IS SO STUPID. AS SOMEONE SAYS, SELL THE GOWNS OR MAKE THEM PUT DOWN AN ...

• Aca Pompo 9 years ago

The University of Education, Winneba makes its own gowns. Self- reliance. Bravo to the VC and other decision makers of the University and all those involved in making the nice gowns.

• MATIGARI 9 years ago

WHAT A FLIMSY EXCUSE! WHEN IT CAME TO TOLLING OF ROADS YOU WERE ON YOUR OWN. NOW THAT THHAT IT IS PROCUREMENT ISSUE, YOU SAY YOUR ARE GOVERNMENT AGENCY. WHAT NONESENSE IS ALL THESE? THEY WERE ALL BARKING AS IF PARLIAMENT HAD ...

• Powers 9 years ago

Yes it is true that the University of Education, Winneba produces its own gowns. And they are as good as any you find in the world.

• SUSAN 9 years ago

nonsense article. and so what?
    is the computer he used to write his rubbish article ghana-made?

• Al Hajj AAA-RASHID(OH.USA) 9 years ago

Please, please, please don't kill Legon..lol. I would have done the same thing by crying foul if I were still in Ghana

If you guys think we have to kill Legon for importing "Aca Pees" from China, then wait till you hear th ...

• Gaba 9 years ago

Ghanaians should shut up and learn how to make things .shake your heads and make things .China here people don't go to P1 yet they invent many things .Ghanaians should make Good uses of computers .designs are on computers u c ...

• Obed Adore 9 years ago

Wow..." initially the gowns were produced in Ghana but due to some challenges with collecting them back after renting them out to students, the university decided to “outsource them to a company to handle it.”"
    Could non ...

• Benny 9 years ago

Dont you know Kwame Nkrumah was born in China. That is why we were Communist and the Americans never like it so he was overthrown by and with the help of Kotoka. This is what Kwame grew and that is the harvest. We cant do any ...

• Asem Kese 9 years ago

I think it will be cheaper to make them in Ghana. Besides, that will create employment and generate income locally. And it is one way of patronising "made-in-Ghana" goods. Finally, as a result of the outbreak of diseases such ...

• peace 9 years ago

these are the sort people who are leading the country. every blame is always President Mahama,s these imcompetent at all levels go scot free. that is ghana for you

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

HOW ELSE CNA THEY HAVE AND KEEP FOREIGN EXCHANGE FOR THEIR FAMILIES? ISN'T IT ABOUT TIME WE DID AWAY WITH IMPORTED FOREIGN CUSTOMS OF GOWNS AND WHAT NOTS? LEGON, THE BASTION OF COLONIAL MENTALITY, WILL CARRY ON REGARDLESS. TH ...

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

Legon, a prestigious or the premier post secondary educational institution which can boast of producing the best minds in Ghana has also shown why our education system lacks all the practical application of classroom learned ...

• Me 9 years ago

IS IT SURPRISING, WHEN EVERYTHING THEY WERE INCLUDING UNDERWEARS WERE IMPORTED?

• Aku 9 years ago

"Are the heads of Business Admin departments at our universities not capable of putting together private shops of esteemed tailors in Ghana and a promise of renewable contracts that would keep Ghanaians employed for as long a ...

• Lord Tennison 9 years ago

Outsourcing is not the solution to the problem.
    Ask the students for a deposit for the gowns or sell them to the students or tie them to their transcripts,degrees,diplomas and certificates such that failure to return the gow ...

• perscoba 9 years ago

The ndc and even the npp are so useless when it come to dealing with these Chinese.From the onset several global exoperts warn GHANA AND AFRICA OF TGHE DANGERS OF CHINESE INVOLVEMENT IN AFRICA. but foolish kufour and his id ...

• Shabi 9 years ago

Perscoba, all I can say is that please dont be stupid.

Those who you say warned Ghana and Africa of the dangers of involvement with China, are a thousand times more involved with China and the entire African continent than ...

• Xgh 9 years ago

Ha,ha Ghana stupid keep on.

• Akosua 9 years ago

Where r all these issues from. Its just cos Legon is the premier university. Whether our gowns r from China or not we r still the premier uuniversity

• truth 9 years ago

on their foreheads?

• perscoba 9 years ago

I am utterly disgusted over this.First Ata Mills sold Ghana to chins..then ndc parlaimnet went to order chairs that could easily be made in Ghana from China.nOW THE citadel and UTOPIA of Ghana has succumb to the Chinese.. ...

• Namjia 9 years ago

Made is Ghana too expensive

• perscoba 9 years ago

Those foolish gowns were sown in CHINA SO THE UMEMPLOYED CHINES GOT INCOME AND THE POOR GHANAIN KEEPS SUFFERING.

dID THE MANAGEMENT AT lEGON EVER THINK OF THE POSSIBLE CANCER CAUSING AGENTS THAT CHINESE ROUTINELY USE I ...

• hh 9 years ago

How can produce substandard graduates and expect the graduands to wear quality gowns?

• NOBODY 9 years ago

Thwe whole world is now importing from China, the same China Ghanaians accused Nkrumah of dealing with because it's a communist country. Most products sold in the USA, land of the free and the brave, are imported from China, ...

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

ARE GOWNS AND CAPS NECESSARY IN A COUNTRY IN THE MIDST OF POVERTY.

HAVE THESE FANCY SHOW OF ACADEMIC GOWNS MADE A ''DENT''' TO THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT OF GHANA.