You are here: HomeNews2013 07 12Article 279280

Burning of seized cloths is inhuman - Nana Frimponmaa

Read Comments Comments (40)

• Dr King. 10 years ago

Well said Madam

• kabokabo 10 years ago

This woman is as bold as a lion. She is even more bold than Atuguba and Sir John together. We need more of these women in our system.

• ABIZZY BEY! 10 years ago

Madam, you were right to the point when you questioned the govt about the sluggishness of our border agents! We all know the Ghana customs and their counterparts---the Border Guards, are few of the most corrupt organization ...

• Nii Nortey, New York 10 years ago

Abizzy,
    Thank you for your contribution. You have said it all. Yes some may disagree with you, but all progressive people know you are right. Thank you again.

• MENSAH 10 years ago

YOU'VE NAILED RIGHT ON TOP OF THE TARGET.
    WHATEVER GHANA SHOULD DO TO THWART THE EFFORTS OF THESE CHINESE WICKED COMMUNIST TO PROSPER IN GHANA,AT THE EXPENSE OF OUR INNABILITY TO STOP THEIR MISCHIEVIOUS DEEDS,SHOULD BE ENCOU ...

• Kontoa 10 years ago

Problem 1:
    Majority of Ghanaians like foreign produced items.

Problem 2: Government rules expect huge duties on the foreign produced items.

Problem 3: importers make profits by smuggling the foreign imported items

• Albert 10 years ago

They did not import them into the country, yes. Why help the importer do the retailing? Whosoever will be supporting this woman will be unpatriotic as the importer and this nana frimponmaa. This woman was also expecting to h ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Lets avoid burning of clothes but with
    the imported cigarete yes, lt does more harm than good to the country,destroy them.

• Concerned 10 years ago

This is very simple.Do not buy illegal items. They cost jobs. Buy the Ghana made ones and no one will burn them.
    It's not as if they were not warned. If they continue to do it, well they will have no one to blame

• Moo 10 years ago

Well done Nana. Thank you

• THE GERMAN FACT 10 years ago

THE WOMAN POWER IS ALSO IMPORTANT

• OBIDEEABA, BELGIUM 10 years ago

Hmmmm Asem beba dabi, Ghana is turning into a bad country, if care is not taking smothing serious will happen to such a lovely and peaceful nation.

• LONTO-BOY 10 years ago

I couldn't agree more with Nana Frimponmaa. Seized items such as clothing and footwear and other harmless items could have been donated to the numerous Orphanages in the country instead of burning them.

• VOLUNTOR CONTRIBUTOR 10 years ago

They burned few of them in the public to showcase their morals,keeping the rest to be sold back for their own riches. T his Ghana I know, not new at all.During price controlled era of J.J.Rawlings, it was happening all over t ...

• CHIEF-USA 10 years ago

You hit the nail right on the head madam. Thank you.

• agbo 10 years ago

Give it to the poor is better

• agbo 10 years ago

give to the poor is better

• Worfa Yao 10 years ago

Madam It is our Ghanaian women (Mokola) who normally send samples of these cloth to China to be printed for them. If you dare me I will give you the name and addresses of the few I know. In any case it is better to give them ...

• ECOMINI 10 years ago

She gave you analogies of other items being seized. These items come though the customs border and the government shares them among themselves. Its okay to seize the items but it does not make sense to BURN them!

• Kontoa 10 years ago

One of the best comments to come from a public figure in Ghana. Very impressive criticism. same as the burning of Ivory in African countries as a show of compliance to CITES.

It is up to readers to add their comments in te ...

• CONCERN 10 years ago

LUXURIOUS SEIZED CARS ARE DISTRIBUTED AMONG THE CRIMINALS, BUT ONLY THE CLOTH THAT GET BURNT GET BURNT IN THE OPEN FOR EVERYONE TO SEE. FOR THE FIRST TIME A GHANAIAN WOMAN IN POLITICS IS TALKING SENSE. THE REST ARE THERE JUST ...

• Richard Philadephia 10 years ago

Great piece deal with those at the boarders not thoose selling the goods

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

Funny brand jokes - Peugeot
    Man says to his wife:
    - I will call you Eve. And you know why? Because you are my first woman.
    - So I will call you Peugeot, because I do not know whether you're the 205, 206 or 207

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

NOT EVERYONE CAN AFFORD FUBU. OTHERS HAVE TO ALSO WEAR FOSU SMALL SMALL BEFORE THEY GET TO FUBU LEVEL. EVERY RICH PERSON WAS ONCE POOR. ALLOW PPL THE CHOICE TO BUY THE FAKE N REAL TEXTILES....OBIAA NY3 OBIAA

• Kofi Ampaasem 10 years ago

In addition to targeting the masterminds behind fake products, market women and Ghanaian in general need to be educated about illegitimate goods. I do not envy whoever will be doing such education because it will be a test to ...

• ECOMINI 10 years ago

I listened to ABU SAKARA during the run up to the presidential debates. I really liked him. Indeed he seemed to have a lot of sense compared to this Mahama mumu

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A cab driver reached the Pearly Gates where he was met by St. Peter. After reading the entry for the cabby in his Big Book, St. Peter told him to grab a silk robe,clothes and a golden staff and to proceed into Heaven.
    Next i ...

• AZIZ 10 years ago

i read some news on myjoy online which dvla want to stop home used tyres to ghana ,what are country even here in germany dey export home used tyres to uk not talking about some europens countres ,and and also some ...

• KOFI JNR 10 years ago

THNAKS NANA FRIMPOMAA, THIS PRESIDENT IS CLUELESS.

• Yaw Amofa 10 years ago

We should by all means discourage piracy by educating those who engage in it. Seize the pirated goods and distribute it to mental hospital patients and the likes.

• Zegbete 10 years ago

That is the right way to go. It they buy from the wrong source they get destroyed as simple as that.

• Kwame 10 years ago

Naana Akosuah Frimpongmaa let us respect our laws. The fact is that a CPP member can not boast and gloat that he sees a contraband cloth and bought it because that is against the Ideology of the CPP. Naana a person who came a ...

• Concerned 10 years ago

CPP is about creation of jobs. The Chinese decide to steal our intellectual property and people don't seem to understand the full implication for our economy.If our leaders are going to be courting cheap popularity, we are do ...

• AMA 10 years ago

Burning is not the solution, the problem is from the top. Why not give to the poor? That was very bad mr. minister too bad.

• Jim Mensah 10 years ago

Absolutely. I agree with Madam because it is totally, completely and irredeemably untenable.

• Kwadzo 10 years ago

LAZY BLACK PEOPLE LET US REASON WE IMPORTED RICE, CHICKEN,TOOTH PICK & DISTROY THE IMPORTED CLOTHES IF THE TEXTILE INDUSTRY IS DIEING WHAT ABOUT THE POULTRY INDUSTRY. WE SIMPLY DON'T THINK.

• Kwame 10 years ago

No CPP member should justify social vices. Smuggling just like any other crime goes against the state and must be punished.

• MENSAH 10 years ago

THE BOEDER GUARD SHOULD STEP UP THEIR SECURITY MEASURES AGAINST THESE CHINESE CROOKS,WHO ARE BENT ON DESTROYING GHANA'S INDUSTRIES,ENVIROMENT AND TAKE OUR NATURAL RESOURCES FOR FREE.
    IF THE WOMEN WHO SELL THOSE INFERIOR CLOT ...

• CONCERNED GHANAMAN 10 years ago

Well spoken madam. They should leave the women alone and investigate to get to the main wholesale culprits,and auction all seized cloths at half price.

• MAMI 10 years ago

Burning these items doesnt make sense it can be used for a lot of things for the country the ophanage can use it