You are here: HomeNews2013 06 03Article 275779

Ghana's super pastors

Read Comments Comments (36)

• Mediocrity Is-A-Sin. 10 years ago

It tells you that majority of Africans and Ghanaians for that matter are plain stupid; instead of holding their elected politicians accountable, they follow arch-criminal 'pastors and prophets' like TB Joshua.

• Rev Dr Kofi Akenteng, USA 10 years ago

HOW TB JOSHUA KILLED ATTA-MILLS

T B Joshua, the Nigerian conman and sakawa prophet has now packaged his " new improved anointing water " for people to buy, and has now released it to the Ghanaian market. But have Ghanaia ...

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 10 years ago

KOLA

You are brave 'mennnnnnnn'! Go on and say your mind after all Ghana is democractic, had independence since 1957 6th of March and thereafter every Ghanaian being and elephant or a Rat has freedom of speech.

Is ther ...

• Deacon Ankoma 10 years ago

MANY SAKAWA PROPHETS AND 419 CRIMINALS HAVE COME OUT NIGERIA. THE BIGGEST OF THEM ALL IS PROPHET TB JOSHUA.

KOLA

You are brave 'mennnnnnnn'! Go on and say your mind after all Ghana is democractic, had independence since 1957 6th of March and thereafter every Ghanaian being and elephant or a Rat has freedom of speech.

Is ther ...

LONDON PROPER

KOLA

Is ther ...

KOLA

Is ther ...

LONDON PROPER

• frank Osei Baffuor, UK 10 years ago

REV JIM JONES ASKED HIS FOLLOWERS TO DRINK POISON. THEY BELIEVED HIM AND REGARDED HIM AS AN ANNOINTED MAN OF GOD. NO ONE COULD CRITICIZE HIM CECAUSE YOU COULD NOT TOUCH THE MAN OF GOD. WHEN HE ASKED ALMOST 1,000 0F HIS FOLLOW ...

• Atuquaye Laryea 10 years ago

Sometimes I wonder if Jesus was walking the land of Jerusalem today if he would be on TV. Would CNN, Al-Jazeera, BBC and the other popular networks broadcast his ministry and miracles live? Would he be like Rev. Benny Hinn, d ...

• Investigator 10 years ago

Sir - I couldn't agree with you more. In addition, your post is extremely well written. What you have posted is an example of logic, correct reasoning, and clarity of mind. More grease to your elbows.

• Araba 10 years ago

Aaaaah w'akasa ama mebo ato me yem. Mo ne kasa obadwenbafo Atuquaye Laryea

• Euzilah 10 years ago

The African has been described as being notoriously and incurably religious and to me that explains our underdevelopment. We do not face realities and always think of a God who would solve our problems for us; just need to pr ...

• BREAD 10 years ago

This has been my deepest concern for years and the media is doing ABSOLUTELY nothing to address
    this. The government let these evil perpetrators to walk free with their ill-gotten wealth without paying any tax. IT'S JUST S ...

• BREAD 10 years ago

I was so moved that I did not take time to check the name of the writer.

• lili 10 years ago

It is truly sad that the people of Ghana are following after these pastors instead of Christ. Everyone seems to want the prosperity gospel (which is not the true gospel) and think that any man can help them. There is no suc ...

• Quansah R 10 years ago

Deaths occured over 'holy water' claimed to solve a variety of ailments. What has since happened to this church? Charges? Lawsuits? How does laws operated in ghana?

• sampson Oko 10 years ago

TB JOSHUA IS A PROPHET OF SATAN, GREED AND SAKAWA. ALL HIS MIRACLES ARE FAKE. ALL HIS PROPHESIES ARE BOGUS.

• Nima Boy 10 years ago

You've hit the nail right on the coffin. What is wrong with our fellow Ghanaians who are blindly following these con men? I think we have to start praying for them

• Jonathan Nukpezah 10 years ago

A sad reflection of the ineptitude of our minds. In a technological world, we still believe in brutish and idiotic things like holy water to cure sickness and make you prosperous. The Europeans who brought us Christianity do ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

You can write and scream all you want, this menace and stupidity will go nowhere as long as our leaders believe in these "super" pastors.

Have you forgotten so soon when Mills had to travel to Nigeria to give thanks to the ...

• Joe Boateng ---Dabaa . 10 years ago

Do we have super pastor in this morden world? Even Pope i dont have a single trust in him .Stop that nonsense and fuck all man made pastors they are all rapist,thives and family brakers.

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

Little Billy came home from school to see the families pet rooster dead in the front yard. Rigor mortis had set in and it was flat on its back with its legs in the air. When his Dad came home Billy said, "Dad our roosters dea ...

• FACTS ARE FACTS 10 years ago

Guys T.B. Joshua never really came to Ghana.Check your facts well.It was a rumour.THREE OF HIS seven pastors from Nigeria were the ones in town. who caused the mayhem.

• Leslie Taylor 10 years ago

Brilliant . Agree 100%

• Laud Tetteh 10 years ago

I never comment on Ghanaweb, but just this once I thought I'd commend the contributor for authoring one of the best-written pieces I've had the pleasure of reading on this website! Good grammar! What a liberating relief! A ge ...

• Debbie 10 years ago

Very well written!

• Investigator 10 years ago

Afua Hirsch is a writer who obviously has a great command of the English language. What a relief to read an article that could well have been written by Milton or Keats. None of the "articles" such as 'man electrocuted dead a ...

• KWEKU TWENEBOA 10 years ago

Religion's the opium of the masses.

• KAD 10 years ago

Ghana does have NHS (albeit not to western standards) and a pension scheme (the fund's investments are better than in most western countries). Ayodeji Balogun aka Wizkid is not Ghanaian he is Nigerian!
    Lets be serious, this ...

• ohemaa 10 years ago

Abi u wan make we know sey you too u dey London some?

• AFRICABI 10 years ago

ONE OF THE BEST PIECES I HAVE EVER READ ON GHANAWEB. KUDOS, AFUA.

• ohemaa 10 years ago

KAD, may I point out that this article is about the phenomenon of pastors being celebrities in Ghana. It is not about traffic jams or the nationality of musicians. No need to kick up a storm over the non-essential aspects.

• mensah abrampa 10 years ago

The trio of poverty, disease and ignorance cause ghanaians and most africans untold hardships.We are overly superstitious and believe everything that happens has some spiritual/magical/superstitious connotation and significan ...