You are here: HomeNews2013 05 27Article 275087

Akan-Language Newsreaders are Pathetic Jokers

Read Comments Comments (53)

• Massa 10 years ago

You wish you could speak the Akan language, skin pain go kill you. You do have the right to turn your radio off if you feel is a waste of time.
    Stop hating.

This is not a case of his inability to speak Twi. The radio presenters can clean up their language and take the presentation a bit serious. It looks like some presenters take more to entertainment than information. There is t ...

• Azaa government 10 years ago

Sometimes I don't just want to listen to those news,they are boring and too profane especially Adom fm ,they need to edit and polish the language a little bit.It's really appaling.

• Boat 10 years ago

Are you from any of the 3 northern region?if the answer is yes then am sorry you are portraying tribalism and nothing more.

• SOLOMON AZIATI 10 years ago

IS THERE ANYTHING LIKE AKAN LANGUAGE? HAVE ALL THE LANGUAGES OF AKAN PEOPLE METAMORPHOSED INTO WHAT IS NOW BEING CALLED AKAN LANGUAGE?WHERE IS FANTE, ASANTE, AKYIM, NZEMA ETC. IN MY CHURCH THE AKAN SPEAKING PEOPLE WANTING TO ...

• GRANITE 10 years ago

Ewes have dialects just like Akans so whatb is your beef ?

• oppong k 10 years ago

Am sorry for you but the writer has Asante as his mother tongue Try to be objective at least for once. In the learning of every language, one of the sources to look for formal language is in the media(Radio, TV Newspapers.)I ...

• Ojatanaa 10 years ago

Kwasi, you must learn at a faster rate, open your eyes for this is tribalism act at it hifhest degree. I will tell the writer to stop listening to the akan news, I oersonally like the jokes along side the news since I listen ...

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

stop lying! News is read in other languages: Ga, Ewe, Dagbani, Hausa, etc. You are just pandering to anti-Akans on Ghanaweb! The fact of the matter is that Twi/Akan language is now spoken in every corner of Ghana! The spread ...

• kk 10 years ago

Nobody ask you to listen Akan News . Today u can listen to News from global network so just keep quiet

• GAWUKO 10 years ago

I wish we had listened to the author and made something out of his piece of advice. I have often listened to news broadcast and wondered why the so many proverbs but it seems mot of you the Akans enjoy it. So we maintain it.

• Ojatanaa 10 years ago

How do you know the akans dont enjoy the news, this tribalism, biggotry, nepotism nonsense will not fly, rather it will bring all the akans together. The writer must be ashame of his ideas behind this.

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

Akadu, please stop that rubbish. Akan is spoken mainly by those who own it and not those who do not own it. It is not spoken in my own corner of Ghana.

I think the next thing for you guys to do now is to make it Ghana's o ...

• REALITY 10 years ago

See how envying has made you show your stupidity on the forum. OOh thief nDC!

• GRANITE 10 years ago

Y ou are a very big ostritch in deed. Keep the pretence if it is a bliss for you. By the time you emerge from your slumber, you will be on your way to Togo courtesy of Ghana Immigration Service bcause you can not speak any AK ...

But who cares about that your Aflao.

• REALITY 10 years ago

And what about the bombarding Akan music ? Are Trokosis going to do something about that.

• Nana Addo 10 years ago

I have even stopped listening to News in Akan because of these unnecessary additions, insinustions and blatant insults to others.

• Fantassy 10 years ago

Listen to music.

• Paddy 10 years ago

Thanks for this highlighting because it's steadily becoming a menace on the airwaves.Hope the akan newscasters will take it in good faith and make real amends for the good and progress of journalism.

• Danny 10 years ago

THESE ARE PEOPLE WHO TRAIN AT " MEDIA SOLUTION " SCHOOL IN KUMASI FOR 3 MONTHS & START CALLING THEMSELVES JOURNALISTS.THIS IS WHY OUR AIR WAVES ARE POLLUTED WITH GARBAGE, DEVOID OF REASON & PROFESSIONALISM.THE WHOLE MEDIA LAN ...

• Talk True 10 years ago

They should learn from former Akan news readers from G B C and stop the unwanted noise

• Kojo T 10 years ago

NDC attacking the Akan language will bring Akans together to face the evil

• True Talk 10 years ago

Is just too bad esp.Adom Fm.

• Okofo 10 years ago

Mostly Kofi Adoma and The Vim Lady. They are pathetic. The way they indirectly insult politician and the government in power and exaggerate minor issues and elaborate on sexual issue, mostly Kofi Adoma, are extremely bad.

• btg 10 years ago

I agree. their news is laced with profanities.

• Kremkraker 10 years ago

Your hammer is right on the nail. These news readers are not only not doing justice to news reading but are also destroying the Akan language by their pronunciation. For instance, I've heard some of them say 'annumere' instea ...

• ghanaman 10 years ago

I agree 100%. Adom and Peace fm news readers are jokers and lack professionalism

• Floating Voter 10 years ago

The jokes,disrespect and abusive language and idioms the akan presenters in general but not only news readers use for the physically and mentally challenged is very pathetic.Sometimes these presenters seem to be enjoying them ...

• akora oteng 10 years ago

the problem with you in the minority tribes is your hatred of everything AKAN. You hide behind akan names as your pennames only to insult Akans. In Ghana, we have adopted ENGLISH, a foreign language, as our NATIONAL language. ...

• paa 10 years ago

writer,presentation of news is done in other languages too,u can watch tv africa or gtv bt whn it comes to the akan news readers,i will second u.we hv students trained at ucc,uew nd tech trained in various ghanaian languages ...

Fool, is Emmanuel Sarpong Owusu-Ansah from any of the Northern tribes, Ga or Ewe stock? Is he not one of your own? The fellow feels bad about your presenters and here you are talking trash instead of seeing some sense in what ...

• Akora Oteng 10 years ago

Hej, I know the guy who writes under that PENNAME just as the one who also uses Margret Jackson and they are from your flock.so again,you FOOLS,only know how to insult us. What has matrilineal got to do with this? Aflao, that ...

Useless being we don't need that your fucking aflao for anything,skin pain who invited you to this forum ,you envy Akans but you want to remain Ghanaians ,where would you be had it not been an Akan?(Osagyefuo)is he from aflao ...

• Kwabena Gyamfi 10 years ago

The writer is right on his observation. Most often the Akan newsreaders unnecessarily use phrases that make the whole newsreading a joke. The phrases they use clearly mark them out for taking sides when they should present th ...

• KND 10 years ago

Thank you Emmanuel for this article. I have also made these observations, and I think managers of radio stations should give their newscasters especially those who read Akan, in-service training. How on earth can you read a n ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

In this time and age, there are countless radio stations scattered all over Ghana and there is no need to listen to any Akan radio and spew garbage. Some of you hide behind Akan names and use that as a base to spew damning in ...

Pelicles, "Emmanuel Sarpong Owusu-Ansah (Black Power) is an Investigative Journalist, a researcher, an educator and the author of Fourth Phase of Enslavement (2011) and In My End is My Beginning (2012). He may be contacted vi ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Efo, I hope you are throwing punches? Don't mind that. I wrote that because the guy sounds as if Akan is the only language spoken on all the radio stations in Ghana. I believe GBC still goes with their usual Akan, Dagbani, ...

• Akora Oteng 10 years ago

You should go to LOME and speak your language there . They will appreciate it. In Ghana, Twi is what is SPOKEN.

Who cares about that your language in Ghana? No Akan is interested in that language we would prefer either Ga or Hausa.

• Horse Meat 10 years ago

Mr E A Owusu-Ansah I am not sure you will be in position to read my comments but if you do, well done. Africans have culture and the style and delivering of our language can never be second to a foreign language. Akans like p ...

• kwaku b 10 years ago

There are a lots of profane in Adom-FM 6pm newcast

• Dede 10 years ago

This is very true. I live at the states and loves to listen to news online but the way the Akan news is presented makes it boring with unnecessary proverbs. They should shake-up

• Ken Owu 10 years ago

Stop talking get a license and start your own "Professional" Akan CNN

• mensah abrampa 10 years ago

I think the English language presentations on radio and especially TV are the poorest. Wake up, Ghana!

• Acropolis 10 years ago

You got it all wrong, sir.
    What you call jokes actually constitute a highly innovative and creative way of combining the useful and the agreeable - information and entertainment.

By the way, have you conducted any researc ...

• MINOR CASE 10 years ago

love the way the news items are presented. They are entertaining and lighten the day for a lot of people. I only wish they can be read every hour like BBC or CNN. More grease to their elbows.

• Silvuple 10 years ago

They envy the Akan language which is spoken by majority of Ghanaians.

• BUSINESS DEVELOPER 10 years ago

You perfectly right that most Akan news readers particularly Twi is the worse of all ,the news readers have no manners and ethics of practice,untrained hence unprofessional,use profane languages in twi and jokers not fit for ...

• stepof, Bronx NY 10 years ago

Its through what you saying, compare to the olding days when Akwasi Donkor, Sekyere Boateng, Afia Konadu and others read news on our radois you will be delightful to hear from them, but now they do it like they on stage enter ...

• NTAMKESE 10 years ago

NEWS READING SHOULD WELL DEFINED AND IN SIMPLE TERMS AS IN THE DAYS OF AKWASI DONKOR AND CO- A LITTLE PROVERB TO SPICE IT UP BUT NOT THE COMEDIES AND DJING JOKES THAT COME WITH IT. HEAR ADOM FM 6AM NEWS AND YOU WOULD UNDERSTA ...

• E S D 10 years ago

With every radio receiver is an on and off button. The use of this button is obvious; if you are not enjoying what you a listening to, you have every right to turn it off....better still, use the other buttons to change the s ...