You are here: HomeNews2013 04 14Article 270964

Ghanaians Should Be Greateful To J J Rawlings!

Read Comments Comments (54)

• BJ 11 years ago

Ghana would have been among the worst countries in the region had it not bee the timely intervention of HE J. J. Rawlings.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 11 years ago

GHANA is in a mess today because of Rawlings... after 20 years of holding Ghana hostage

• Zoobie-Zoobie 11 years ago

20 years of Rawlings... only Rawings is a multi-millionaire ... check out the rest

• Justan 11 years ago

I AM SURE YOURSELF, MOTHER OR FATHER IS A VICTIM OF RAWLINGS. IT SERVES YOU RIGHT.MAY PEOPLE OF YOUR CATEGORY BE FORGOTTEN IN THE HISTORY OF GHANA.
    BEFORE RAWLINGS, CORRUPTION AT ITS HIGHEST PEAK IS CALLED 'KALABULE'.JUST GO ...

• AK 11 years ago

It was because of the stability that RAWLINGS BROUGHT TO THE GHANAIAN POLITICS THAT SOLD TO BRING INVESTORS TO GHANA. RAWLINGS IS THE SINGLE REASON WHY GHANA IS WHERE IT IS TODAY. IT IS THE TRUTH AND THOSE WHO DON'T LIKE THE ...

• Arthur Hayes 11 years ago

AK, you are right. I love you.

• BOLE 11 years ago

JJ CAME TO SAVE GH FOR VERY SHORT TIME HE CAME BECOS HE WAS POOR BUT WHEN HE SAW MONEY HE CHANGE INFACT ALL THE PROBLEMS GH HAVE NOW IS BY JJ

• Kwaku 11 years ago

As for you, I have been reading your comments and can tell you that your level of thinking is that of a dog

• Kman 11 years ago

I don't blame the Nigerians. Their system is so crap they will think JJ was ok. Ghana has just about survived inspite of JJ not becuase of him

Rawkings is the best whether you like it or not.

You are either a lair or did not know what happened in Ghana before Rawlings came to rescue us from extreme difficulties. He is a hero whether you like it or not.

• John 11 years ago

yeah Tony is's right you said everybody is entitled to his view.I would have appreciated it much if you didnt bring this into public domain. It is said that what history does not teach people is that people dont learn from hi ...

• Kojo T 11 years ago

The problem I have with the NPP is that they are always right. The writer is a NEUTRAL person . It is the same sad commentary on Kwame Nkrumah. The whole world has seen him as Africa's man of the millenium. NPP ?They see him ...

• KWASI IN EUROPE 11 years ago

GRATEFUL and not "greatful". WHETHER we like it or not...and not "weather" .
    CORRUPT politicians not corruption politicians. News ANCHOR and not ancour..etc etc. Oh, your English, Oga, is full of wahala.

• Randy 11 years ago

It's hard to understand why such mistakes were not corrected before bringing it into public domain?
    No editor at Ghanaweb? no automatic spelling checks? This is ridiculous.

• Obourtari 11 years ago

You have said it all Tony. Thay have been trying all tricks to find fault with him, but they have failed. Thay always repeat the same statement, "but he killed innocent lawyers" of which he didnt. It was some few guys. He dis ...

• Africa 11 years ago

This one will never be appreciated in life or otherwise.

• DYB 11 years ago

Who invited JJ Rawlings in the first place? If not for his military coup in 1981, Ghana would have by now had 8 successful elections. He never rendered accounts of his dictatorial regime till today and this moron wants to rew ...

• Balatunde 11 years ago

You have forgotten about the uneducated Ashantis or people of that tribe that infiltrated out government and plundered our national coffers. The thieves of the Ashanti and Brong Ahafo regions are the ones unhappy with Rawlin ...

• natty 11 years ago

Thanks Tony, Congrates

• ogidigidi, Sdy 11 years ago

I agree with you Tony. Plus or minus I would give this african politician a good 7 out ot 10. Imagine 10 JJs on the African continent. But how come you did not mention the intergration of west african states as an needed emer ...

• DYB 11 years ago

Would you support a coup today to wipe out the greedy bastards we have in govt today? Would you hail any soldier to tie up John Mahama and his corrupt greedy bastards to the stakes and shot for their wanton disregard for the ...

• Africa 11 years ago

Perhaps you should learn to spell GRATEFUL before you use. One thing that Rawlings can take credit for is bringing both the CPP/UP polical traditions to their senses and working to secure Ghana's future. Mr. Rawlings should ...

• Kojo T 11 years ago

Rags to riches that is the mark of a successful person . davis was a shepperd boy who became a King

• Obuotabri 11 years ago

Africa, am happy that you have at least admitted one of Rawlings "Goodness"

• pp 11 years ago

The writer is completely ignorance about the impact of Rawlings 20 years rule in ghana.I prefer Mutala Mohamed who came to move Nigeria forward than this Scotish bastard who came to enrich himself,his prostitute mother and hi ...

• WAR VETERAN 11 years ago

THAT IS A TRUE SON OF AFRICA. AFRICANS DESERVE THE BEST FROM OUR LEADERS AND IN SOME COUNTRIES, THE LEADERS ARE MORE CORRUPT THAN THEIR CITIZENS. GHANAIANS WHO WERE BORN IN 1960S TO 1970S WOULD BE MOST GRATEFUL TO JJ RAWLI ...

• ..Abokyi 11 years ago

Wonder the gospel reason WHY writers like this Oluwalogbo guy are allowed important platforms in Ghanaian Media to corrupt and/or poison the minds of those who were not lucky enough to read or hear about the people he mentio ...

• Areestau 11 years ago

Nkrumah returns in form of jj.

• TT 11 years ago

JJ saved Ghana. we would forever remember him.

• DYB 11 years ago

From what did this demon save us? Imagine your father being abducted in the middle of the night by some young soldiers and never returned. Imagine your business destroyed by someone all in the name of jealousy and house clean ...

• Areestau 11 years ago

Very grateful

• Randy 11 years ago

How could an educated person make such a glaring spelling mistake?"greatful"
    Please correct this despicable error.

• Warrior 11 years ago

You understood what he meant, did't you? Then cut the crap. FYI your nit-picking also says a lot about YOU. It shows you up as someone who majored in the micro (trivial) aka an empty barrel.

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

God BLESS YOU but WHY CAN'T Mr. Jonathan do the HOUSE CLEANING HIMSELF ??? Is he himself up to the shoulders in CORRUPTION ???I don't thik you NEED a military man NECESSARILY to do it!!! The LEADER is very important though .. ...

• gofu 11 years ago

I m sorry of your article. how can we be greatful to ghana into the den of robbers and thieves and murders. jj came all in the name to uproot corruption, he killed innocent people including men of God. did he and his people l ...

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

JJ gave us:

disrespect

insults

abduction and murder

curfew

tribalism

regionalism

Konkonmba-Nanumba wars

Akuapem conflict

Rawlings' chain

carting and burning archival materials

Socialis ...

• Nana Appiah 11 years ago

Rawlings will continue to torment You Until death.. What a waste of human Spicies like You...Hey, Akadu dont forget to get in line in your 15yrs waiting list to become an American Citizen...(PathWay to Citizenship..) Immigra ...

• Nana Appiah 11 years ago

Sorry, I meant a Waste of Human Species..

• Nana Hakim 11 years ago

Hello Akadu,

What did you give back to Ghana after she has paid for your education in The United States? NOTHING. Rather you deccided to give that little thing besides your anus to black and white Americans on the streets ...

• papillon 11 years ago

Yes anyone who hates JJ is likely to be ignorant, greedy or corrupt!! His enemies are not fit to hold a candle to his face that's why they hide and hurl insults. JJ was God-sent and it is a secret shared by all Ghanaians inc ...

• Kweku Erzuah Siam 10 years ago

A very good article. As it is said " a Prophet has place in his own home."

It is amazing how J.J Rawlings is admired all over the world but scorned in Ghana. I guess our collective memory has lost its force.

Hate him ...

• Kweku Erzuah Siam 10 years ago

A very good article. As it is said " a Prophet has no place in his own home."

It is amazing how J.J Rawlings is admired all over the world but scorned in Ghana. I guess our collective memory has lost its force.

Hate h ...

• Ben, U.S. 11 years ago

Rawl

• kofikofi 11 years ago

keep telling the youth truth, oga !

• Baah Accra 11 years ago

Rawlings gave Gh Atta Mills from Atta we got Mahama why do we have to be grateful

• PHILIP FROM LONDON 11 years ago

ONLY IN YOUR DREAMS THAT YOU CAN MAKE SUCH PRONOUNCEMENT, THAT GHANAIANS SHOULD BE GREATFUL TO A MURDERER,COUP MAKER AND THE MOST CORRUPT LEADER GHANAIANS HAVE EVER HAD(JJ RAWLINGS).IF THAT IS THE CASE THEN ACHEAMPONG NEEDS ...

• Mohammed Ibrahim 11 years ago

I agreed with your article about corruption in Nigeria.The oil wealth Nigeria has.Nigeria should not have to face Power,and water crisis.Corruption in Nigeria is like a Cancer.Nigerians can not completely stop the corruption ...

• NII LARTYEY NARTEY 11 years ago

I do not know where this Oluwalogbo guy is coming from and what he intend to gain with such a long scrap, but one thing I certainly know is he needs his head examine by a professional psychiatrist by trying to put the monster ...

• Sayoma 11 years ago

a good man is never recorgnized in his own yard....

• Nima Old Soldier 11 years ago

Rawlings came preaching transparency and accountability, can anybody tell me his responsibility of leading the way by ever accounting for his useless days in power, the huge monies collected by force from individual accounts, ...

Tolu Oluwa, you are perfectly right. Rawlings is a president I will vote for his come back into politics if the law allows him. He is so far the best we have had beside Nkrumah. He was not selfish and always fought for the po ...

• Kawbena boafo sarkwah 11 years ago

He did not do any tin for gh.from pnc to his time in ndc.what did we achive from his years.

• E.K 11 years ago

No one is perfect on these earth,but jj rawlings has done something better for Ghanaian.eg sanitation,protection, also from the greedy Ghanaian who wanted everything for themselves and because the man didn't allow them,they n ...