You are here: HomeNews2013 01 05Article 261243

Mahama's inauguration boycott by NPP is unfortunate - Rev. Asante

Read Comments Comments (94)

• JAMES Y. 11 years ago

Boycotts are normal practice of the NPP tradition. It's forerunner, the United Party (UP) did boycott parliamentary proceedings, when its leaders realised they could not compete with Kwame Nkrumah, politically. They ran and s ...

• ORIGINAL STRAIGHT-TALK 11 years ago

Thank you for the very briefed but good history about the inherited character on which the NPP was founded and it is my only one prayer that the youth will create a new image for the party that will suit the political climat ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 11 years ago

When Nana sees Tsatsu leading the NDC legal team before the SC, his mind will all mix up and he will start fumbling. He will be tempted to smoke a lot of marijuana before going to court and that will just worsen matters.

• things falling in line 11 years ago

THIS IS A CALCULATED ATTEMPT BY NPP TO DESTROY GHANA'S IMAGE, WITH THE BOYCOT AND ITS YOUTH DECISION TO DEMONSTRATE OF THE DAY OF SWEARING IN AN ELECTED PRESIDENT OF THE COUNTRY, AND AFTERWARDS THEY WILL COME AND ASK US OF OU ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 11 years ago

Because you did not get free SHS education to polish up your dark senses you can't see that it is Mahama's crooked political method employed in the elections has destroyed the unity and love one another in our beautiful count ...

• Bomfaboy 11 years ago

Prof by your statement " wish that all Ghanaians rallying behind a things of this nature to facilitate the legitimacy of our Presidency" How can people who are convinced that Mr Mahama was not legitimately elected rally behin ...

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 11 years ago

I have been listening to this man's speech since the election 2012 and I believe that he belongs to NDC.

He always talks about peace without refering to justice. He wants Nana Addo to say that he has accepted defeat. That ...

• AMA SERWAH 11 years ago

LET NANA BE PRESIDENT SO WE HAVE PEACE

• A' man 11 years ago

You must be dreaming. Coc sniffer and wee smoker Akufo Addo will never be a president of Ghana. He lost and no one can give him the presidency. No one!!!

• MATHS @MARS 11 years ago

My dear Sister and girl friend, this will not be. The worst that can come from SC is to nullify the elections of Dec2012. Then there will be another election and then Nana Dankwa Akufo Addo will know what HUMILIATION MEANS. H ...

• Gen. mosquito 11 years ago

If the SC rules that there shd be a re-run, then it means Mahama was not a true winner in the first run. He won because of the fraud. Everybody would understand that Mahama and the EC stole the elections. He would then lose i ...

• ERICUS-ERICUS 11 years ago

AMA SERWAH; STOP THIS RUBBISH POSTING!!!!

• AMA SERWAH 11 years ago

JUST GIVE NANA CHANCE TO BE PRESIDENT

• GARBAGES ALL THE TIME 11 years ago

JUST GIVE NANA ADDO CHANCE TO DIE FOR GHANA TO HAVE HI PEACE. ARE OKAY WITH THAT?

• HARDTALK 11 years ago

YOU HAVE TO SIGN AND ACCEPT THAT THE INAUGURATED PARTY OR THE PERSON IS YOUR GOVERNMENT OR PRESIDENT, SO HOW CAN YOU JOIN THE INAUGURATION AND AT THE SAME TIME CHALLANGING THE RESULTS AT THE COURT? NPP´s ARE NOT FOOL.

• TNC 11 years ago

Ama serwa,
    stop churning out that thrash !Ghanaians do not want him, thats all !!!

• Goza go toro 11 years ago

Nana has to EARN the chance to be president. Ghanaians have refused to 'give' him the chance.

• Gen. mosquito 11 years ago

Mahama and NDC are theives !!

• BJ 11 years ago

A party with leaders like Sir John, Awuku, Akomeah, Jake, and Anthony will never behave better than this.

• NANA KUFUOR 11 years ago

Fellow Ghanaians, let us analyze the performance of the two main political parties in this country. NDC’s philosophy is “dzie wo fie asem”. In opposition they allowed the Kufuor regime to mind its own business. As a res ...

• kelvin from kumasi 11 years ago

BJ or whatever u call yourself,you cannot and don't ever compare the likes of Fiifi kwetey, asiedu nketia,agyenim boateng and ablakwa to the men in helm of affairs at npp. apart from churning out propaganda to poor illiterate ...

• Paul Amuna 11 years ago

I have always taken the view that NPPleadership's decision was I'll-advised, unwise, unstatesmanlike, divisive and frankly has contributed to the so-called "young patriotI" playing the boffo nary. I respect the Re. prof Asant ...

• No Insults - let's reason as Ghanaian 11 years ago

With the Evil dwarfs waiting in the wings with thier sharp teeth. The NPP has no option than to choose the lesser of the two evils - that is not attending

• Sasu 11 years ago

Rev Asante, you speak from both sides of your mouth! What are your convictions? You cannot stand for peace and injustice at the same time . When you see injustice and don't speak up anything else you say falls on deaf ears!

• Jack Where are u 11 years ago

You think. its everyone who believe in that cock and bull evidence of NPP? Who told you the Reverend agrees with NPP that there is injustice. He is only respecting your rights to seek justice on an allegation you have made. Y ...

• OSEI AKOTO - TAFO KSI 11 years ago

UNTIL THIS YEAR ELECTION WAS OVER I NEVER KNEW THE NPP AND PEOPLE FROM THE ASHANTI REGION WERE SO ENVIOUS THAT A NOTHERNER IS GOING TO BE THE PRESIDENT OF GHANA. MY PEOPLE LET US CHANGE IF NOT WE WILL NOT GET ANY PRESIDENT CO ...

• Gbese 11 years ago

Who is envious of whom, ofui. You must be a fraudster and a thief to spew your non sense here, fool.

• kwame90 11 years ago

its rather tne Northerner and the ewes that hate ashantis. ashantis have nothing to compete with northers we are one but how would you feel if you know that he is not the one we(Ghana) voted for. do not bring this it is the o ...

• Sunkwa 11 years ago

Quintessential Ghanaian stupidity--rigging election & expecting NPP to be present?--its about time corruption,theft etc .in high places die a slow death--we're sick & tired of all those vices that have bedeviled Ghana---what ...

• Jack Where are u 11 years ago

You don't even understand the petition in court. What was rigging in that petition? NPP admits all presidential candidates benefited from the irregularities but Mahama largely benefited and you call this rigging or fraud! hmm ...

• adomba 11 years ago

oh Sunkwa i am sad that you and most of NPP followers had bought into the lies of our leaders that the elections was rigged. lets review our history and see when we (UP/PP/NPP) have accepted an electoral defeat without cryin ...

• adomba 11 years ago

1)what our leaders are doing
    2)in whose presence

• Vuvuzela 11 years ago

Tell him, he is always with this weird refrain, to which he is hooked as if it were a piece of bone.

I can't believe people could be so blunt in the head, and yet profess to be discerning and intellectual. Oh, what a wast ...

• Gbese 11 years ago

A priest endorsing fraud and theft under the camouflage of seeking peace. Shame on you.

• Wiafe 11 years ago

It seems, the NPP is against anyone or group which doesn't support them. The Peace council, journalists, and basically all Ghanaians who did not vote NPP.

Even Kuffour is seen as anti-NPP just because he wants to act as a ...

• sika 11 years ago

when a dog is a prez of a country, greedy bastards bark on every highway.

• Plain Truth, Texas 11 years ago

The NPP cannot attend Mahama's disputed inauguration to give the fraud a recognition. Change the CI to resolve all disputes before result6s are announced like it happened in the US in 2000 between Al Gore and Bush. That will ...

• Plain Truth, Texas 11 years ago

If this Rev Asante is the same who was friend of Mills YOU CAN'T EXPECT ANY UNBIASNESS FROM HIM t^HE GUY IS PLAIN Ndc.

• Atta K 11 years ago

What have you seen about NDc and for that matter Dramani Mahama.Infact you a bais towards one direction.I am a methodist but you have disappointed me.

• Kofi - USA 11 years ago

REV. ASANTE PLEASE STAY OUT OF POLITICS AND DO THE PREACHING. IT SEEMS LIKE YOU ARE NOT BEING EVEN HANDED HERE. IF NPP BOYCOTTS THE INAUGURATION IT WILL NOT BE THE END OF THE WORLD. YOU DID NOT SPEAK AGAINST MILLS, JJ AND ND ...

• Abban 11 years ago

Rev Asante, i want you to know i hate you,a priest endorsing corruption,thievery and fraud is no priest,you are fake,evil and a fool.

• Sankofa 11 years ago

What corruption,thievery and fraud is Rev Prof Asante endorsing?

He was asked to comment on the boycott of the inauguration by NPP, and he said it was unfortunate they would not attend, but respected their right so to do.

• Conventional Youth. 11 years ago

Would NPP Accept A Sponsored Coup?

• Terkpor, NY USA 11 years ago

Is the so called peace council chair aware of the crime of afari gyin-gyan? Rev. asante, u are unfortunate.

• Steve 11 years ago

What do y call crime?

• Wisdom 11 years ago

There are two candidates going to sit exam one cheated to get 50.7%, and one got 47%. Upon investigation submitted to the exam council it was asertained that the candidate who had 50.7% marks should have been reduced and the ...

• The Silent and Voiceless Majority 11 years ago

It is better to stay away from illegal things. If possible don't even watch the telecast. It will be waste of precious time given to us by the Almighty to do so.
    We must remember that truth always comes out no matter what. T ...

• Sankofa 11 years ago

Where is your evidence on a 'canker of dishonesty'?

Npp supporters are believing their own talk. You have talked yourselves up into believing you were robbed in this election.

Yet the EC released results which had been ...

• edem 11 years ago

I am CPP, the better Ghana agenda is not SmART. NDC is simply not helping Ghana. Thank the NPP for NHIS

• Steve 11 years ago

arrogance

• FRANK 11 years ago

Boycott or no boycott Mahama will be installed as the president and the nation will move on.The NPP can go to hell.

FRANK NPP IS NOT GOING TO HELL BUT RATHER GOING TO COURT. THESE LOSE TALKS BY NDC PEOPLE ARE NOT GOING TO BRING PEACE OR UNITY. INSTEAD OF NDC MEMBERS SAYING SOMETHING SENSIBLE AND ENCOURAGING THEY KEEP ON WITH INSULTS AND F ...

• Kofi Nti Mensah 11 years ago

Let us know that this is what NPP is capable of doing. They will live to regret come 2016.

• truth 11 years ago

hey Ama Serwah you are dreaming wake up

• nbangba 11 years ago

dis hypocrate rev.Asante still talk.we wont 4give him if anything happens in GH.Is unfortunate 2have such calibre as chairs.

• sika 11 years ago

this foolish man calls himself a man of God.

• OPANIN KWAKU ATTA 11 years ago

REV.ASANTE,PLEASE DI WO FIE ASEM,BECAUSE YOU GUYS ARE TURNING PEOPLE AWAY FROM GOD.YOU GUYS ARE CORRUPT,AFRAID TO SPEAK THE TRUTH AND GREEDY.YOU GUYS HAVE NO MORAL AUTHORITY ON ANY ISSUE IN GHANA.

• anna 11 years ago

pls is high time the truth stands.we are all looking up to our people who preach the word of God.truth must stand no peace without justice. we cant preach one thing and walk the other way.walk the walk,truth always stand!!!! ...

• ABK 11 years ago

REv.these idiots from the forest don't know what you are talking about.Because they are preparing to installe Akuffo addo as okyehene at akyem abuakwa the following day after the President has been sworn in.NPP boycott or no ...

• Ogyam 11 years ago

Sometimes NPP think´s everything that they do is perfect.they can also boycott paliament too.

• ManBelhomme 11 years ago

Calling a spade the name it is called would be the right thing to do. Reading your article gives me cause to ask you this pertinent Question. What would you have done had you been invited by your opponent to celebrate a victo ...

• Klovi 11 years ago

THIS [UP] NPP ARE DANGEROUS IN TROWING BOMBS.

• Adjoa 11 years ago

To Sika you can't say that to a man of God. Is u who is stupid.

• Kofi B 11 years ago

The NPP are really a disgraced party in Ghana politics.Why are they so desperate for power. This is not the end of the world. Four yrs is not far from the corner. Ghana needs people who cares for the coumtry not the party. Th ...

• DAN 11 years ago

Who cares if these criminals boycott the inauguration of the president elect by majority votes as their president? If they like they can boycott parliament as well. Foolish idiots.Come what may,the event will take place and G ...

• Owura Ntim 11 years ago

It is the legitimacy of the Presidency of a candidate in whose favor the election was massaged by the electoral commision. How can NPP accept the stolen verdict and be part of the innauguration of stolen presidency.

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

There is a proverb in Ewe....translated into English like..."the SHAME of the Crocodile IS ALSO the SHAME of the Alligator" This simply means...both are of the SAME STOCK though DIFFERENT!!
    NPP is plying the TRADE they know ...

• THOMSON 11 years ago

does NPP ever accept defeet, it has be comes thier sickness, so the whole world know how are, so this can even give opportunity, to any party the rig elections, and the world will not beleave NPP , coz the lack of many como ...

NDC FOLKS NEED TO GO BACK TO SCHOOL. THEY CANNOT READ, WRITE OR SPELL. THOMSON YOU ARE A DISGACE AND SHOULD NOT COME BACK ON THE NET UNTIL YOU GET SOME FREE SHS AND LEARN HOW TO SPELL SIMPLE WORDS LIKE"DEFEAT", "BELEIVE" AND ...

• KA AKYIRE 11 years ago

PLEASE REV. THEY ARE NOT OF GOD, HENCE, LOGIC AND WISDOM OF GOD HAD LEFT ANYBODY WHO CALLS HIMSELF NPP

• Whatever 11 years ago

NO! Its not right for lawmakers to boycott a national event that is required under the law.

• Nana Bawuah 11 years ago

Where in the constitution is it written, that a political party must attend the inuaguration of a president?

In the 2004 elections the NDC challenged the election results at the supreme court. Mills and Rawlings boykotted ...

• okukuseku 11 years ago

Rev. Asante's remarks seriously unfortunate. In the event of Supreme court ruling in favour of the NPP,it is it Asante's expectation that the NDC also boycotts the inauguration?

• ASEM WO MANO 11 years ago

They should go to hell.
    What A Nation?

• Nyame Ekuma 11 years ago

Thank u Rev. NPP is just seeking to discredit our cherished democracy. This attitude is deliberate to deter investors and making our econnomy bad so they can play on populism and per chance win power. But Ghanaians are disc ...

• kankama 11 years ago

if you as the chairman of peace council was able to advice Afari Gyan not to steal for Mahama , this problem will not arise at all. You need to blame yourself not NPP.

• Amanzuley Ackah 11 years ago

As the Chairman of the Peace Council, l did not expect him the man of God to say that it is their right.
    His statement is a suspect as a man of God and as the Chairman of the Peace Council.

• Akua 11 years ago

you are NDC so you cannot stay neutral.You pressured Afari Djan to declare Mahama the winner.Please leave NPP alone.

• YOWZA 11 years ago

Your most Reverend Asante you said the following"
    “But I must also say that it is their right, I don’t think that we can compel everybody to an event of that nature, we would have wished that all Ghanaians rallying behin ...

• william 11 years ago

The President respects the law. The law says he is to be sworn in!hE HAS NO POWER TO CHANGE THAT! Are trying to make him a dictator! By what law will he be waiting for the outcome? Surely you must be joking! Ask yourself why ...

• Sankofa 11 years ago

President Mahama is bound by the constitution to be sworn in on 7 January.

The EC does not impose a president on us. The EC only declares the results of elections. If any party is unhappy with the conduct of the elections, ...

• william 11 years ago

Right of dissent yes. But need to rise above partisanship on matters of national interest that serve to bind in our diversity! A time for everything, a time for every season, a time for every event, a time to contest/acampaig ...

• Paa Kodwo 11 years ago

NPP ARE A DISGRACE TO THE NATION.

THEY WERE REJECTED BECAUSE OF THEIR CORRUPT PRACTICES,EMZZELEMENT,MANIPULATION AND STEALING IN THEIR EIGHT YERAS OF ADMINISTRATION UNDER THE LEADERSHIP OF KUFFOUR.

WHATEVER THEIR PRIMI ...

• Paa Kodwo 11 years ago

SUBJECT TO MY SUBMISSION

• kooko 11 years ago

hahahahahaaha

• kooko 11 years ago

hahaha

• Dzifa 11 years ago

This man must be secretly investigated. He isso quick to sympathize with everything that has to do with NDC and their numb-skulled 'president'.

• OSEI 11 years ago

Why are you NPP people like this? The man was just speaking the truth and you are branding him an NDC man.

• KOFFI 11 years ago

Dear Re.Asante-Antwi, this is double-speak. Don't you honestly think so?

• ab 11 years ago

Nana Akuffo Addo and other NPP guys are going to watch this event live on TV afterall, so where is the boycott?
    Who is fooling who?
    They should have jettison out of the country before this time, nonsense and insult

• Peet 11 years ago

hi rev you visited mills when he was president .did you ever advice him to tell the ghanaian who voted for him on the true status of his health.you ....licker you are a disgrace to the methodist church

• awuni 11 years ago

even Attah mill didn't attend Kuffuof's second term inaugration so please Rev, please give us a break

• awuni 11 years ago

even Attah mills didn't attend Kuffuof's second term inaugration so please Rev, please give us a break

• Ama Serwaa 11 years ago

Rev Asante there can not be peace without justice. As a Rev Minister you hide behind politics to show your true colours