The biblical Mary and Joseph story Nungua elders used in defending marriage of 12-year-old

Read Comments Comments (102)

• Ghanabi Kofi 1 year ago

The English translation of the "role of the girl" in this ceremony is the problem. The spokesperson didn't also help the matter. It looks like he doesn't have the proper understanding of the traditional issues he is called to ...

• Ghanaians say YES to LGBTQ+ 1 year ago

LGBT is part of Ghanaian culture and values.

• P Djamgbe 1 year ago

No one needs to come closer to understand anything. If what they have done is not real marriage like what everyone else knows, if it is something else, then they are the ones that need to put the explanation forth and let the ...

• YSL @ 9 1 year ago

The one who was calling himself 9 or whatever yesterday,didn't I tell you it was a customary thing that chiefs,queens, elders,parents, families etc were complicit?See some stupid defense they are mounting,Lets assume Joseph w ...

• Aba Eninful 1 year ago

Thank you YSL, these Ga people are disgraceful.

• Tell us the truth, for once 1 year ago

This is a matter for DOVTSU and CHRAJ. Is the child bride still in school? She has not reached the age of consent, so her parents should be arrested first and charged. As for the man himself, he is just a glorified pedophile ...

• Tell us the truth, for once 1 year ago

This is a matter for DOVSU and CHRAJ. Is the child bride still in school? She has not reached the age of consent, so her parents should be arrested first and charged. As for the man himself, he is just a glorified pedophile h ...

• Jesus only 1 year ago

Ghana loves Christ and will always be protected by Him. Amen.

• Bagbin the frog and Sam silly George the fat hypocrite that’s obsessed with LGBTQ. 1 year ago

You mean to tell me the nasty hypocrites who had a problem with lgbtq aren’t outraged by this??? Ask fat Sam George if he would let his daughter get married and pregnant by a 70 year old??? Does he care about “family valu ...

• Mr. Ibu 1 year ago

They cannot even make that decision for the girl at that young age. When the girl grows her taste will change and she may chose the one she likes. This primitive people are occupying the capital city for nothing. The Ga peopl ...

• TYPICAL OF FOOLS REFERENCING THE BIBLE 1 year ago

When it comes to toto, the Wulomo and the Ga have every excuse to point fingers at Mary and Joseph. What about the thousand other strict customs and prohibitions that the Jews observe? Do the Ga follow them?

Mary and Josep ...

• RE: Ibu 1 year ago

There is no need to be insulting and condescending. Even though the Ga people haven't lived up to expectations as the native landlords of the capital city, due mainly to the manipulative interference by successive govts and ...

• GAS SHOULD BE GRATEFUL 1 year ago

Hosting. You nearly made me spill my copy. What a funny statement. Gas should rather be grateful for the Capital beeen brought to Accra.

• The Ga should be grateful: that's a good point 1 year ago

Ashanti would love to give us Kumasi and the Northerners could be killing each other in competition if Government were to think of moving the capital up North. As for Volta, thats the Ayigbe Dream.

So the Ga should appreci ...

• Ghanaians must open their eyes 1 year ago

Shut up! What do you know about northerners

• Cape Coast Boy 1 year ago

Apuu Pepe people? Who does not know your backwardness? You join in a fight before asking for the cause.

• Thompson Coker 1 year ago

Spare us that. Gratitude my foot! But for the capital, do you know how Accra would have been? Just one of those ordinary villages we have around. So who should be grateful here? In any case what has any of these got to do wi ...

• Aba Eninful 1 year ago

Show gratitude for what. Are they the only people whose region is full of nonindigenes? I'll say the Ashanti Region has the most nonindigenes than any other Region, but, Ill not spare them if they misbehave.

• Sam silly George the fat hypocrite that’s obsessed with LGBTQ. 1 year ago

How interesting..You mean to tell me the nasty hypocrites who had a problem with lgbtq aren’t outraged by this??? Ask fat Sam George if he would let his daughter get married and pregnant by a 70 year old??? Does he care abo ...

• EFO KOKU 1 year ago

I TOLD YOU SO
    These beach shitters willl always amaze me. Mary and Joseph. So the old must be allowed to penetrate this little girl. Because of Mary and Joseph. And who gave that beach shitter the age of Mary and Joseph? And ...

• Bagbin the frog and Sam George the fat hypocrite that’s obsessed with LGBTQ. 1 year ago

Grow the fu

• Nyansa 1 year ago

That is sexual abuse

• Andrews Owusu Fordjour 1 year ago

This is ......,

• Bagbin the frog and Sam George the fat hypocrite that’s obsessed with LGBTQ. 1 year ago

You mean to tell me the nasty hypocrites who had a problem with lgbtq aren’t outraged by this??? Ask fat Sam George if he would let his daughter get married and pregnant by a 70 year old??? Does he care about “family valu ...

• Donatus 1 year ago

Complete ignorance, the Bible does not dwell or mention the ages of Joseph and Mary.

• OBSERVERS WITHOUT BOADERS 1 year ago

GOOD COMMENT. Donuts

• Sukuuuura flamingo road sukuuukuura 1 year ago

Provide quotation that emphasize ur statement stupid man. Don't say nonsence to justify ur foolishness kwasea man

• AAA 1 year ago

Backward country.

• John 1 year ago

Why this people are not arrested by now? Where is that stupid Sam George? this and the LGBT which one should be criminal acts? Where is the stupid speaker Bagbin and all foolish parliamentarians? I want them to come out now

• Nobody 1 year ago

This is not a justification that LGBT is better. In the US a child as 12 years can be given puberty blockers, and gender transition without a parental consent. LGBT is far worse than this.

You’re disgusting! Why are you bringing up something else as a discussion?? Would you allow your 12 year old daughter to Marry and Lay down with a man that’s almost 70 years old??

• Selfmade KING 1 year ago

They cldnt give their traditional hello but rather taking about Mary and Joseph!

Man, this man makes it even bad

• HENRY, SPAIN 1 year ago

MADNESS. WHAT GOT TO DO WITH MARY AND JOSEPH STORY. YOU MARRY A CHILD LIKE YOUR GRANDDAUGHTER? CRAZY, CRAZY TRADITIONAL. HOW? SHOULD BE ARRESTED IMMEDIATELY. ARREST HIM.

• Vandal 1 year ago

That's why Nungua is moving backwards.The kids are smoking weed both girls and boys.12 year old girl smoking weed..no role model in Nungua

• OZYMANDIAS 1 year ago

Joseph did not impregnate Mary. The Holy Spirit did. Again, there was no Christianity during the time of Joseph and Mary. Christianity came after Jesus. These Gas should get lost with their nonsense. This is pure paedophilic ...

• Ghanaians must open their eyes 1 year ago

Great submission. The stupidity of some Ghanaians is getting out of hand.. Even where in the Bible did it say that Mary was 12 yrs and Joseph 60/63yrs. We try to justify our greed and stupidity anytime were caught in the neck ...

• Abroad 1 year ago

Ozymandias,thank you for your wisdom.
    Christianity cameby JEZUS himself.
    Joseph and Mary were not christians

• Selfmade KING 1 year ago

Drama unfolded at State House in Accra during the funeral rites of Dr. Joseph Siaw-Agyepong, Executive Chairman of the Jospong Group, as Ga and Ashanti chiefs clashed.
    An Ablade TV video obtained by GhanaWeb showed the commo ...

• AUTOMATED GATE SYSTEM. 233 1 year ago

Save the stress now. Remotely open your home gate or industrial gate with your phone anywhere. Make your life easier with Justrac Smart Gate Motors to open and close your gates the smart way. Visit: www.JustracAfrica.com 2S3

• Kwame Peter 1 year ago

Gender Ministry,DOVVSU please let the law bite.this is not tradition,thi is criminality most likely with the acquiesce of the parents.

• Kwan - the Bible and Quran are our traditional values. 1 year ago

1. Before the Bible and Quran came to Africa, we had no problems with our lgbtq Africans OPENLY living their lives.
    2. Then these two books came to Africa and were used to criminalise lgbtq in Africa. These two books then b ...

• Lohedau 1 year ago

On issues such as this, The Prophet of Islam comes to mine.

• Gringo 1 year ago

He did worse

• Zionism is racism 1 year ago

Marrying a child is criminal for whatever reason: christian, Islamic or pagan. Ghana is doomed. In the meantime, the racist, criminal, terrorist and zionist state of Israel is committing genocide in Palestine with the blessin ...

• Yok 1 year ago

Chief and traditional leaders are beginning to assume certain arbitrary powers, that absolute affront to democracy and rule of law. They make certain orders and pronouncements which are injurious to fundamental human rights. ...

• Farmer 1 year ago

True. Their interference in public life is not sanctioned anywhere in the country's laws. But the government is too weak to control this nonsense.

• Aba Eninful 1 year ago

Don't deviate from the issue. Your Ga priest is breaking law of the land and needs to be arrested, so don't think you can divert our attention from the issue.

• Code 9 1 year ago

We support it as Ghanaians.. no baga wire ...
    When LGBT issue came up hypocrate ghanaians are mute...
    We support GA traditions as long as its not against God will

• Gborlahn 1 year ago

I remember a child marriage issue involving a 13 year old came up in Nigeria years ago and there was this Muslim man on Facebook defending the whole shameful deed. His argument was that, once a girl starts menstruation, she's ...

• Gborlahn 1 year ago

I remember a child marriage issue involving a 13 year old came up in Nigeria years ago and there was this Muslim man on Facebook defending the whole shameful deed. His argument was that, once a girl starts menstruation, she's ...

• Joyce Larbi 1 year ago

A very primitive people, who tacitly support paedophilia .

• Peace 1 year ago

But frankly does the law of the land permit this diabolical behaviour all in the name of tradition. Will this 63 year old man allow his 12 year old daughter to marry his age mate ? I guess the answer is no. This is what pover ...

• Truth hurts 1 year ago

Sorry to disappoint you people because thing that you’re afraid of has been happening long time. Remember the girl has been going through the “rituals” for sometime now. Your man has been “chopping” and grooming her ...

• Joe 1 year ago

This can never be justified by any means. In the first place Mary was not 12 years old when he was engaged to Joseph. Secondly our lawa in ghana do not allow any one less than 18 to be married.

• Ignicious Ogude 1 year ago

This kind of marriages should be abolished asap, don't use bible in the wring context. The elders must be foolish allowing the 12 year old into that hideous marriage. The girl is under age and l am too ashamed now to see t ...

• Amagadon 1 year ago

Why is Ghana as a country at large allowing this nonsense of marriages to go on. This is not on. I am very angry about it as a citizen of the nation.

• Kramo kushasha 1 year ago

When l see where this chief and elders live in Accra heh, they will smell the pepper. I am not joking.

• Ghanaman 1 year ago

This is nonsense it's primitive

• Kanawu 1 year ago

No where in the Bible does it say Mary was 12. That is Vatican interpretation.

Stop glorifying pedophilia

• Kanawu 1 year ago

Sam George says LGBTQ is evil...what about this practice Sam George?

Will you let a 63 year old man chop your 12 year old daughter?

• Koti Boto 1 year ago

Muhammad chopped Aisha when she was just 9 years old.

Old men chopping children is evil

• Budu Ankrah 1 year ago

Who told you that? You play around like stupid person.

• Koti Boto 1 year ago

It's in the hadith..Muhammad chopped Aisha when she was 9

Narrated `Aisha:

that the Prophet (ﷺ) married her when she was six years old and he consummated his marriage when she was nine years old, and then she remaine ...

• Accra is dirty.com 1 year ago

Wulome is "awengaa"

• No way!! Arrest them!! 1 year ago

How could you deprive a girl's freedom!! Evil minds!! Arrest all of them!! It doesn't matter where you live, your civilization can be delayed!!! Nungua is in Accra, but the people are in a very ancient time!!!

• Joyce Larbi 1 year ago

#MOVEtheCAPITALbacktoCAPECOAST.
    These people are not evolved enough to host the capital.

• Y3 kasa s3 Oman. 1 year ago

3nti opnyin 3nte s3 butu 3nfie dumie nu ba so 3di no a won f3re. This something uncalled for. The chief or that 63 year old man must be arrested or stone to death. I out it that 63 year old nan that he will die soon for doing ...

• Y3 kasa s3 Oman. 1 year ago

3nti opnyin 3nte s3 butu 3nfie dumie nu ba so 3di no a won f3re. This is something uncalled for. The chief or that 63 year old man must be arrested or stone to death. I put it that 63 year old nan that he will die soon for do ...

• Martin 1 year ago

Thw government must step in. The guy talking is a hypocrite. He will not be happy if this was his daughter. Its wrong. She is a kid!!!

• AD 1 year ago

Be must be arrested period, he violated the laws of the country simple. Legal age for marriage is 18 and legal age for sex is 16. Let us not encourage people to disregard the laws

• Ken U.S. 1 year ago

Where is IGP to arrest this foolish 63yr old guy?Is it not against the law to sleep with under-age?The police service should do something about it before this senseless man starts sleeping with this innocent girl. Don't comp ...

• Koti Boto 1 year ago

Can Sam George come out and condemn this wicked practice?
    Is this the culture he wants to protect in Ghana? This wicked and barbaric evil practice?

• RADICAL DEMOCRAT 1 year ago

THANK YOU, KOTI BOTO! THIS OUTRAGEOUS PRACTICE IS PART OF OUR WONDERFUL TRADITIONS SAM GEORGE THE "CHARISMATIC CHRISTIAN", FORMER CHIEF JUSTICE AKUFO AND OUR KLEPTOMANIAC MEN OF GOD WANT TO PROTECT AND PRESERVE!!!

• Kwashea 1 year ago

Shame on all the elders. Opanyin bone na wo sh3 khaki pioto.

• Badas Nungua Elders. 1 year ago

The man must be arrested and that law must be sanctioned.

• Criminals arrest them now 1 year ago

Idiots

• Truth Seeker 1 year ago

Nonsense, arrest them all. I thought this man was coming to say something like it’s only ceremonial or symbolic and that nothing will take place between the child and the old goat. But I was wrong. IGP Damare should arrest ...

• Nii Adjetey 1 year ago

I'll put a bullet to his head.Gborbu Wulomo is a sick man.

• Akwasi Mensah 1 year ago

Is sad that the country call Ghana is still allowed this kind of child marriage to go on.we live in morden world now.The government should arrest him.shit hole country anyone can do what ever they choose to do.stupid.

• Nii Adjetey 1 year ago

The man make me make basaa self.he must be arrested immediately.

• Yaw, New Jersey - US. 1 year ago

Where is that loud mouth and fat MP Sam George with his moral superiority to condemn this. This is clearly not okay. But I reckon some idiots will defend this as some culturally acceptable norm. However, what two consenting L ...

• Baby 1 year ago

Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a change. Allow babies be babies. Why no comments? Shameless elders. This is absolutely shameful.

Give decency a chance and allow the girls to go to school.

Imagine ...

• Baby 1 year ago

You can quote the Bible for almost anything no matter how evil.

• Nii Sowah 1 year ago

I am sorry this isn't a Ga custom.the man is a paedophile. as a Ga man, I am very, very angry.

• Concerned citizen 1 year ago

Mary and Joseph era me and you were not there it's a story but this real and it's child abuse we are in the 21st century child marriage is a crime.

• Abena 1 year ago

Please put that foolish grand-father behind bars, nonsense

• Tintempa 1 year ago

The path of least resistance for there a much more factual cases of such Allah wakuba

• Jos 1 year ago

Christians must remember that Marry was only 7 years old when she got married to Joseph, and gave birth to Christian human god at age 11 yrs.
    Only God knows what Joseph was doing to marry at age 7 before the holy spirit also ...

• Asomani 1 year ago

Lawless Ghana descends into shameful pedofilia!
    We have laws on the books against pedofilia. Implement them! We have laws on the minimum age for marriage. There is only one law for all of us. What a shame! No women MPs spea ...

• Ghana pedophiles on display 1 year ago

WHAT A COUNTRY GOD HELPS UA CAN YOU IMAGENE THIS MAN WITH SMALL GIRL LIKE THIS AT NIGHT STEALING HER CHILDHOOD

• Thompson Coker 1 year ago

Aaaaaah! What rubbish! What stupidity! When did the bible become our constitution? In any case when did the bible become the reference material for traditional African religion?. Yet we have a ministry of gender sitting aloof ...

• Victor Kekeli 1 year ago

These Gas are always consumed by sex, alcohol, outdooring . They don't work, all that they know is to have sex and quarrel.

• Yansa 1 year ago

That’s sexual exploitation of children.That man should be arrested and sent to jail..

• Afram 1 year ago

Justification....?? THE INSANITY MUST STOP...!!
    How Could Any Right-Minded Person Condone Or Support Such Behavior...21st Century....?????

• Year of Potholes 1 year ago

The old man is bent on satisfying his libido, no matter the odds against him!

• Sukuuuura flamingo road sukuuukuura 1 year ago

Boooooookeytey wulomo wulomo wulomo kaaafe nakai maaba maaba maaba? Aooo so old man like you gonna this smaaaaal girl?

• Vivian 1 year ago

Such pedophiles. This people may be sexing their children. Now back to Mary and Joseph, was Mary been a virgin equate to she being a baby minor as this 12 years old? Mary was betrothed to Joseph, does it imply in anyway that ...

• Sheriff 1 year ago

Thé fact that the girl is wife to Wulomor does not
    Mean that the priest is going to have sex with the child
    It is about a virgin to perform female rituals of the shrine
    I hope the priest will give the girl good educati ...

• Sheriff 1 year ago

Thé fact that the girl is wife to Wulomor does not
    Mean that the priest is going to have sex with the child
    It is about a virgin to perform female rituals of the shrine
    I hope the priest will give the girl good educati ...

Screw that perverted child molesting chief. Ghana doesn't operate on biblical tales.

• CMR- A child should be groomed spiritually and academically 1 year ago

Every child should be groomed spiritually and academically. Spiritually in the sense that this world has a maker who has made us to understand that we just passing through this world, and after this world accountability await ...

• WEBSITE DESIGN/APP. 6GHFRESM 1 year ago

We DESIGN all kinds of Websites:
    - Business/Corporate Websites.
    - Real Estate Websites.
    - NGO/Donations websites.
    - Ecommerce website.
    We are running PROMO for 5 years domain and hosting (website). Visit: www.JustracAf ...