You are here: HomeNews2024 03 05Article 1920030

Anti-LGBT+ bill would’ve been rejected if MPs voted secretly – Afenyo-Markin

Read Comments Comments (57)

• Yorke 2 months ago

Wo na ne tw3

• trumu trumu boy kwesi 2 months ago

Modern People from advance countries will now reject ghana because ghana is against human rights! Ghanaians have no idea how this completely unnecessary anti lgbtq+ bill will affect our country in the future! We have shown th ...

• lazy man 2 months ago

Kwasia, are Arabs and Chinese backward because they dont accept trumutrumu. Are we better than Nigeria and Uganda...Ofui...

• Haffi 2 months ago

Well said

• ATOFI 2 months ago

This Afenyo guy and that twerp called Dela Sky have been selected to do this dirty job for a reason. Afenyo is gradually being removed from parliament but he doesn't know. He is sheepishly following and taking orders. VOTE AG ...

• Francis-USA 2 months ago

Some of our lawmakers are jokers who are in parliament for their stomach and not for the people. It’s just pathetic that some of the constituents follow them sheepishly.
    The Arab countries will not tolerate this craziness ...

• Akua 2 months ago

Well said, Yorke. Even the so called educated ones are primitive.

• FAK 2 months ago

See this mumu too. Who care about how the world see us? Some of you talk as if you are the only one think. Can you talk lgbtq+ in the Arabs world or in Asia? You think God is so stupid to male and female ferry?

• Koki 2 months ago

Boy Kwesi you're dead wrong! It's rather wise to stay away from lgbtq+ nonsense. It's the educated in the real sense not just book knowledge that do not accept homosexuality in its varied forms! So please don't insult our int ...

• Eddy the King 2 months ago

What you saying mean you lot in parliament are a bunch of hypocrites

• Afenyo gay man 2 months ago

Afenyo we know that you’re one of the gay MPs in parliament. But sorry if you are caught we will beat you pulp before dragging you to court. Bastard.

• goofheaven 2 months ago

you are very stupid man from efutu

• NPP= NANA'S POVERTY PROMOTERS 2 months ago

It appears Afenyo Markins must be an LGBTQ+ practitioner. He is doing everything to sabotage the bill. I understand Lawrence Addai was sacked because he supported the bill. Why are so many trumutrumu practitioners in the NPP? ...

• Honestman 2 months ago

NPP AND THEIR MAORITY LEADER IS AGAINST THE PASSAGE OF THE BILL. SERVING PARTY INTEREST NOT GHANIANS HE SHOULD NOT RETURN TO PARLIAMENT, VOTE HIM OUT.

• Yaw 2 months ago

I am sorry but mps have been blackmailed into voting for a homophonic law which defies common sense.

• Yaw Nyansabah 2 months ago

What defies common sense is why someone practising a kind of sex that is against nature itself would not want to do it quietly behind closed doors, where all sexual matters are morally restricted to, like all straight people ...

• London Brain 2 months ago

It would have been rejected by NPP MPs, majority of which are agents of Satan just like the Mother Serpent. Rather praise the MPs for saving your anus from further rot.

• Kilogram 2 months ago

Exactly so, Honourable. I have been wondering why you guys allowed that Conservative pro-NDC Speaker to bully you. Now listen. President won't assent to the bill. When it returns to parliament...ensure that 2/3 majority is n ...

• lazy man 2 months ago

Gymifour....

• HNH 2 months ago

And you think Ghanaians will forgive NPP at the polls? That's political suicide.

• Kweku 2 months ago

Is Afenjo - Markin a democratic? Why is he now speaking against the bill that was unanimously passed in the house?

• SIMANCO 2 months ago

If you say that most Members of Parliament were not in favour of the punishment attached to the bill then why was it passed i??

• IMF adawroma 2 months ago

Don't mind this fool called Afenyo Markin. Was there any voting? Saying I too you are feeling shy of your Winneba constituents. Why can't you be brave and tell them that you disagree with the bill. Kwasea. You wanted secret ...

• Bogus 2 months ago

Well as MP , he is not parliament to represent himself. AFENYO SHD GO TO HIS CONSTITUENT AND AS THEM ABOUT THEIR TAKE ON LGBTQ LAW. THE LAW IS NOT FOR HIM AND OTHER MPS. ITS FOR ALL GHANAIANS. HE WANTS A SEVRET BALLOT BECAUSE ...

• Kwame-Italy 2 months ago

With due respect : ARE LAWS GENERALLY GENERATED FEROM ETHICS-MORAL VALUES OF HUMAN BEINGS IN VIRTU OF THEIR CONSEQUENTIAL BEHAVIUORS,KNOWLEGE ,ETC, TO ENABLE THEM LIVE IN PEACEFUL RATIONAL CO-ESISTENCE AND GOVERNANCE OR T ...

• Kofi Seaman. 2 months ago

Transparency,that's why there was no secret voting. Some of you MPs would have been compromised with monet to vote otherwise. My question is,is the law for the MPs or for the country? Did they consult their constituents and w ...

• EVIL & CORRUPT MOTIA FROM KYEBI 2 months ago

This means that you and those MP's are all cowards. What are you afraid of in showing dissent? Losing your seats in Parliament, right?

• Kweku Tsin. 2 months ago

Much as I do not support gay activities, I recognize the issue of choice and freedoms under our constitution, which is being undermined by this bill,never mind what the proponents say. Why do these proponents of the bill ,con ...

• Batuta 2 months ago

The day Bagbin became speaker was the day Ghana started moving backwards He is using all tricks at his disposal to make sure he comes back as speaker next year. To him, Ghana must lose for him to win.

• Doe 2 months ago

If you like call for revolting and see what will happen to your party. Ghanaians are waiting to hear from those who will vote for Anti-LGBT+. You are just talking.

• OBRONI 2 months ago

Your constituents shall vote you out in December. Be there and be supportive of this dreadful LGBTQIUVWXYZ. Idiots of your kind are not supposed to be in parliament. Even animals don't practice such nonsense and stupidity

• godfather 2 months ago

Why? A they cowards?

• Kweku 2 months ago

Hypocrisy of Ghanaian politicians. Nigeria has passed anti-gay law since 2015 and nothing has happened to the State of Nigeria. Nigeria still accesses loans from IMF and World Bank without any ban.

• Nuumo1 2 months ago

You will loose this time round to the glory of God.

• Ex-Pope 2 months ago

NONSENSE. PARLIAMENT ISN'T A SECRET SOCIETY

You represent the people of Ghana, and your voting should never be done in secret. The people of Ghana have every right to know how their elected representatives cast their votes ...

• OSAFO KANTANKA 2 months ago

Now we understand that the Anti- LGBTQ bill would have been rejected if MPs voted secretly. Is it because Most of these MPs are in the practice of this sort of behaviour? Now the penny has dropped!! Well, we might as well ...

• Sul 2 months ago

GYIMII DE3........SO WHO DO YOU WANT TO DECEIVE

• Oprege 2 months ago

No way Massa !!

• Bommie 2 months ago

I pray ur kids become guy and lesbian..so u can see how it's feels and I know the Good God we serve will listen...dirty MP

• Ama Koranteng 2 months ago

Useless MPs. Vote your mind not your fears

• Pee 2 months ago

Useless talk. Why should you vote secretly? We will make sure you lose your seat. Give Honor to GOD

• Historian 2 months ago

Why secret ballot? MPs were voted to Parliament to do the wishes of their constituents. If majority of the constituents are against LGBTQ+ being shoved down their throats by the West why shouldn’t their MPs say so openly in ...

• Jkm 2 months ago

Afenyo u r a disgrace to ur parents n constituents.

• Joeman 2 months ago

Our parliament is now useless.

• Kojo 2 months ago

Mr mp say you would've voted against the bill but not your colleagues.everybody no that you are against this bill,i wish your constiecy will vote you out come 7 December

• JET 2 months ago

I'm sorry to be rude, but Afenyo Markins is a big fool. Kwasia!!!Abua!!! Go and read how Abraham Lincoln defined democracy. You seek power from the people but you won't make laws the satisfy their will. Societies derive their ...

• Thief of Staff - Akosua Frema 2 months ago

You are ugly, worthless and useless fool who always think you are important. Kwasiaa buuluubuuluuu.

• Jkmee 2 months ago

This guy can't be trusted

• Anonymous 2 months ago

Do you think you guys are there on your own accord or what? We sent you guys there to speak our minds not yours. Anyone with a firm principle stands by it damn the consequences. LGBTQ+ promoter like you but you are a coward t ...

• Joe Pike 2 months ago

Same for elevy bill and alot of other nonsense bills

• Homa 2 months ago

Mr white garment

• Bree Phi 2 months ago

It means the MPs are cowards. In secret they work against the interest of the people they represent in parliament. No wonder in secret they steal the money for the whole nation and enjoy with only their family members.

• Kwasi 2 months ago

Idiots. No secret ballots so you hide your filthy corrupt faces

• Jkmee 2 months ago

The people of Effutu must kick this guy out. Life is not only about money..

• Rock 2 months ago

Your stupidity will not end you well if Say rubbish view's.

• God's people in Ghana 2 months ago

There's no secret votes in this crucial decisions. The whole thing should be transparent and we tge inhabitants need to know about as we hate the LGBTQ+ to the core. Akufo Addo and parliament must sign the fucking damn thing ...

• Ghanaweb will soon block me. 2 months ago

Owura Afenyo, you and most of NPP parliamentarians are against the bill and are also working for your gays and lesbian masters and Mr Akuffo Addo as well. Shame on NPP and Mr Akuffo Addo. Just look at Mr Akuffo Addo is doing. ...