Passengers must remove footwear for screening at Ghana’s Airports – GACL

Read Comments Comments (79)

• Barko osae twum 1 year ago

What's the point of removing the shoes. Can we not source scanning equipment passengers can walk through? Will passengers arriving via our VIP lounge also do the same? Will ministers and all government appointees especially ...

• ASEMPA 1 year ago

Twum this was exactly my thoughts when I was listening to the news yesterday. Infact I felt ashamed as a Ghanaian cuz in this modern world Ghana is still doing things the primitive way, very disgusting decision.

• Charles 1 year ago

Fly through Addis ababa (Ethiopia) and the ask these useless questions

• Rich 1 year ago

You think exactly like our unless leaders. Lack of vision

• Allah Dey 1 year ago

You leave in the village and make an empty noise. Have ever travelled through the European airports?

• Travel by Air 1 year ago

Exactly most comments are from armchair spectators they have not been in a aircraft ever in the USA before you board the plane you have to remove your shoes and be ready for x-ray . So please kindly get ready to go to another ...

• ANKORA WASH DC 1 year ago

My friend when was the last time you traveled outside the country? What is primitive in this?
    Removing shoes at airport security checkpoints is done in most advanced countries. It done by the TSA at every airport in the USA. ...

• A. O 1 year ago

Better do your research well.
    This is not new practice in the aviation industry.
    It is common in Holland Airport.

• Shaawele 1 year ago

It's pretty much done at every airport in Europe and america lol..shoes are removed before going through scan

• Abroampaiil 1 year ago

In europe its only done on suspicion.

• Kwasia man Ablakwa 1 year ago

Not true. I am in Germany

• Kofi Mensah 1 year ago

NO !! It is not done on suspicion: IT IS MANDATORY AND EVERYBODY MUST DO IT.

I have to this all teh time in Schiphol (Amsterdam) Airport.

• blessed 1 year ago

not true, many airports in around the port and specifically Europe and USA don't make passengers remove their shoes.

• ANKORA WASH DC 1 year ago

Where in USA do you live? When was the last time you traveled out of the USA if you really live here? Or probably you are one of the Ghanaian-Americans who have have been in USA for over twenty years without visiting the fami ...

• Jason 1 year ago

IN USA YOU HAVE TO REMOVE YOUR SHOE

• Akyem Nkraman 1 year ago

That's not true for the USA bro. Say what you know. Shoes are removed in the USA.

• Asikan 1 year ago

What a lie! Where in USA do you live, Bekwei?

• Kofi Mensah 1 year ago

STOP TELLING LIES:

Shoes are removed in European ports, i have done this several times when boarding KLM in Schiphol (Amsterdam) Airport.

• Am 1 year ago

U dey lie bro

• Kyeremeh 1 year ago

It is true by it is those who will departure from the country it is not those arrive the country

• Ray 1 year ago

Yes, it's for departure. It's done across the world. But it wasn't done in Gh for the couple of times I have been.

• Anonymous 1 year ago

Don’t waste ur time. Nobody will ask them when they get there. Talk is the freest commodity to pack n go

• SHOE REMOVAL AT AIRPORTS NORMAL PRACTICE GLOBALLY 1 year ago

Shoe removal at Airport security is routinely done virtually everywhere else in the civilized world! Did you ever hear about the "Shoe bomber"?

• Yao 1 year ago

It's still done in the US and all the developed world. Do you remember the shoe bombers' case? The removed shoe is pushed through the scanner like all other items including laptops.

• Afriyie 1 year ago

In Ghana, it is common to have humorous individuals in leadership positions within corporations and companies. However, the rules and regulations they plan to implement for security screening are quite outdated and inefficien ...

• STOP TALKING IF YOU HAVEN'T TRAVELLED BEFORE! 1 year ago

Quite simply, a lot of noise is made by people who haven't stepped foot outside our borders before. Seasoned travellers know that this is the norm everywhere in the world. Why is it that we are still so backward?!

• Onua 1 year ago

It is done in most airports check the

• SHOE REMOVAL STANDARD PRACTICE WORLDWIDE 1 year ago

On 22 December 2001, Richard Colvin Reid (born 12 August 1973), also known as the Shoe Bomber boarded American Airlines Flight 63 between Paris and Miami, wearing shoes packed with explosives, which he unsuccessfully tried to ...

• Anonymous 1 year ago

Point of corrections, is Richard Reid

• BLESSED 1 year ago

WELL FELLOW GHANANS. THIS IS NOT NEW. WE DO THIS ALL THE TIME WHEN BOARDING PLANES IN WESTERN COUNTRIES.

• Duka daya 1 year ago

All airports still demand foot wear is removed for screening. Leave KIA alone

• Naa 1 year ago

We will leave them alone but tell them to clean the Airport. It’s disgusting when one has to remove his /her shoes at KIA. The floors are too dirty.

• Charles 1 year ago

Thus is done at most airports in the world.

• Koo Boare 1 year ago

I have no problem with the removal of shoes at the airport. What is important is that our people should know what they are looking for and the screening equipment must be serviceable.

• K.kwafo 1 year ago

What is strange about this? It's a security measure which is carried out at most airports especially in the very countries we call developed.Let's also not lose sight of the fact that the statement did not single out Ghanaia ...

• WH 1 year ago

It is strange because they are now introducing it always lagging behind

• Kotibrim 1 year ago

This is already going on. On my last trip I had to remove my belt and watch as well and I was made to drink the bottle of water I had by force before screening.

• Ki 1 year ago

Do you know the difference between belt and shoe I’ve travelled more than 8 countries globally I’ve never had to remove my shoe the closest was my belt in Ethiopia

• Joe 1 year ago

You were a lair. Every airport in Europe and America you need to remove your shoes ,belts, watches, laptop,phone and even religious ornaments. You put all in a tray on a conveyer belt which goes through a scanner then the p ...

• Ki5 1 year ago

Haha which lie Ive traveled more than 8 conutries never ever had to remove my shoe the only place i removed my belt was in Ethiopia 100% the truth as for laptop perfumes etc yes everywhere shoe and belt no

• Unknown 1 year ago

Name those countries and airports you did traveled to and from. A big Godamn liar. I do travel religiously due to my work requirements and surely do remove shoes, belts, wallet etc.etc before going through the scanner. Stop ...

• Kofi Mensah 1 year ago

Why not? 8 African countries are also countries.

But if you travelled in any European country, you'ld have to remove your shoes before you board or as well cancel your flight.

• Walala 1 year ago

Many people are speaking out of ignorance, 99.9% of every airport in the world, removing of shoes, belt, jacket, ring, wallet, keys etc are not anything new just maybe the complaints is having his first time of boarding a pl ...

• Ayebiampa Nyame 1 year ago

You may not have travelled to all airports in the world or have a reliable research finding to be so emphatic to quote the "99.9%." As other comments put it, is fair to use "most" or "some" because it helps to accommodate oth ...

• GUY CEMETERY TORONTO ONTARIO CANADA 1 year ago

Across all airports in the country,as if , we have alot of airports in Ghana. Ghana is a TV station in Heaven which is used to entertaining God and his angels.
    Jokers nkoaa

• Chief 1 year ago

Herhhh, your comment weak me!!!lol

• The Rock 1 year ago

It's done at London Heathrow and KFK in new York. This is not something new

• ROGUE LAWYER 1 year ago

nkwaseafo3 no , wasan aka won bio,
    simple solution since they lack vision and wisdom , they always spill the usual nonsense.

why can't you acquire a footscann machine, that every passenger must stand on it to be fo ...

• Grandpa 1 year ago

Funny people dey Ghana oo those who are proudly against this have no idea about travel I believe they're don't even have passport but are loud here funny villagers(this is not new to some of us)

• Coach 1 year ago

I have travelled extensively across Europe and I have never been ask to remove my shoes for screening

• Aba 1 year ago

Liar

• Kakasunaka Man 1 year ago

Coach you are a big liar.which part of Europe are you talking off. You are in your village talking liars.

• Kwabena- London 1 year ago

What are you talking about, I have had been doing this every time l am coming from London to Ghana. You Ghanaians complain about everything. You are not like Malaysians how they have helped develop their country and you say y ...

• Kofi 1 year ago

Barko Osae Twum…..Not only in Ghana I did the same at Amsterdam.

• Ki 1 year ago

thats because youre a suspect ! or maybe your have metals on your shoe

• Peter 1 year ago

Ghana is late in implementing it. Especially with a president known for hard drugs and his criminals mafia. I welcome the practice.

• Anonymous 1 year ago

It’s an international practice. Those who haven’t travelled outside the borders will come insulting

• George 1 year ago

This is nothing new.

• Kwabena Ohemeng, London 1 year ago

I will remove my shoes. Why? I haven't anything to hide.

• AKWASI 1 year ago

What is new about this? We've been removing our shoes since!

• all must removed 1 year ago

Usually 3 world countries makes laws only for poor people

• Aba 1 year ago

It is done all over the world, your belt, watch, phone, lap top shoes,
    We can talk oh.

• Tee-nana 1 year ago

Well, I heard this is a common practice in airports of advanced countries cos I was complaining the first time I was made to do that while transiting at Dubai Airport and a well-travelled friend told me it's normal.

• FOYOOSIS 1 year ago

This is a normal occurrence if not in all international airports, most before departure. Why has the GACL all of a sudden made this normal practice a breaking news?

Have the Kotoka Airport officials been excluding some so ...

• Kofi 1 year ago

This is done most airport in the world. Is for our safety. Why don't we give them our support.

• WaLL 1 year ago

It is done on departure .Not new.Kotoka does it.I have been departing many years from Ghana we remove shoes .Not new!!

• Kofi Adu 1 year ago

This is long overdue. YOU can't wear any shoes to pass through any security zone in any US airport.

• WaLL 1 year ago

This is standard procedure not a new thing!!

• Richness 1 year ago

This is a normal excersice even when going to Dubai you do these things during your transits. Don’t they have much more powerful scanning machines than Ghana . Stop these cheap talks. If you have traveled abroad before you ...

• Pelicles 1 year ago

Why do we complain about everything, why? Those who do not want to abide by the rules, should attached butterfly wings behind them and fly to anywhere they want to go.

Nkwaseasem saa. Footwear removal for screening is no ...

• SURVIVAL. 1 year ago

Ghanaians can talk.This is usual routine going on at almost every airport around the world.

Nkwaseafo aba krom

• MyBigMouth 1 year ago

And why is this attracting a formal statement and media coverage? Basic flight ops and processes at the airport, which passengers must adhere to simplicita.

• Yena 1 year ago

GACL. - OK, but your floors are dust dirty ,please keep that area clean.

• Nana Kwesi 1 year ago

This is no new information. You travel all over the world and you need to remove your shoes, belt and anything in your pocket. Even in some.countries chains and bracelets are removed. Ghanaians we complain about everything fo ...

• Asikan 1 year ago

Long overdue!

• Asikan 1 year ago

What took you,Ghanaians so long? People hide drugs in their shoes. Get with the program!

• Mubaarak 1 year ago

One of the worst airports

• Kk 1 year ago

This is normal in almost all airports with more cases of insecurity