Why would tankers,cargo vans,tipper trucks etc compete with passenger buses on our roads during busy hours?And one would also why Trotro in 2024?Home used vans converted to buses.
LACK OF MAINTENANCE 1 year ago
Where do you want the tankers to drive. On rails. The problem is likely to be lack of maintenance and failure of brakes.
Tankers and all heavy duty trucks should be inspected every year for a road worthy certificate.
M ... read full comment
Where do you want the tankers to drive. On rails. The problem is likely to be lack of maintenance and failure of brakes.
Tankers and all heavy duty trucks should be inspected every year for a road worthy certificate.
May the dead Rest in Peace!
Nana 1 year ago
You've just answered your own question trains of course.But until they are done we can restrict them to the night when we've light traffic.
LACK OF MAINTENANCE 1 year ago
You cannot even get an Okada to move safely on the streets and you expected the government to build rail lines to every petrol filling station across Accra and Kumasi.
Your feasible suggestion would be to restrict their mo ... read full comment
You cannot even get an Okada to move safely on the streets and you expected the government to build rail lines to every petrol filling station across Accra and Kumasi.
Your feasible suggestion would be to restrict their movement at night, and I would add to take 15% of these tankers off the roads. Any little fault you are off the road and would be part of the 15% . But the power of nokofio GHC10 for a roadside policeman would first have to be defeated through 3 weeks fasting and prayer before the policy works.
Mansa 1 year ago
Night driving for tankers only works if the roads are safe and street lights are on all roads. The tankers will have night accidents because the roads are too dark and dangerous to do such long distance at night. This works in western countries that are organised and systematic
Yaw 1 year ago
Another rule should be a strictly enforced speed limit (like 50kmph) on these tankers in populated areas. Mostly they drive like they are motorbikes, speeding and overtaking without any regard for the fact that they are very large and heavy vehicles.
Chief 1 year ago
Abeg o, have you ever seen any of these trucks at dvla coming for inspection?? I have always wondered....
Babangida Casagrande 1 year ago
The same thing is happening at Kumasi Santasi /Apire road newly constructed dusty road and the drivers speeding like they’re on highways
Bob P. 1 year ago
Election year sacrifice. They can kill 1000 in the name of accident they will go back to the bush forever Amen.
Bri 1 year ago
What are the repercussions of this. Who will be taken to book? Will it be publicized so it can serve as a deterrent?
Benjamin Okrah, Uk 1 year ago
Those cars are old and need thorough repair before put on road and the drivers have to be screened for good sight before they allow them to drive.
Benjamin Okrah, Uk 1 year ago
Again there must be a body that will inspect cars, trucks and buses for good conditions on every three months and must be a mandatory to car owners and also start charging over taking.
ADDO 1 year ago
i agree with you Benjamin nothing works in where we come from is so sad accidents like this one could have been prevented. Our politicians are useless good for nothing bastards that only come to loot and share the state assets they are never there for the people simply bring laws and make sure it works. God have mercy May their souls rest in peace
Doctor Ding Dong (DDD) 1 year ago
The best solution will be to ban Tankers at day time and instead be allowed to operate at night from 8:00 p.m till 6:00 am and if possible include all heavy Articulated Trucks. This will for sure save lives and lots of properties. In between this time they will have enough time to sleep and rest for their duties under smooth and less traffic stress. We have had this before and it was effective and safe. The transport Minister should introduce this for at least a year in probation and accesses the out come results to determine it enforcement from thereon.
Fd Ghana 1 year ago
The real problem is with these tanker drivers; don’t have any respect for other motorists. They drive foolishly on our roads with impunity. Their speed must be limited to 50 in the towns and cities whilst we work on the safety of our roads. This driver should be used as a scapegoat by the people around I swear!
Agbesi Dominic wise 1 year ago
I focus on the road construction there. There is no consideration for road users by the contractor. They have not bothered to make the road user friendly by leaving the gaping holes on the road. At least they can use a grader to smoothen the very bad parts. We know work is progressing, but safety of cars and users is not their business at all. Very unfortunate incident. The contrator must be held accountable as well for this accident. Lawyers in Ghana are not hungry enough to see such opportunities to sue
Chief 1 year ago
Most Tanker, tipper and articulated truck drivers drive like they drink diesel and dirty oil for breakfast. They keep killing innocent people cos nothing will happen to them. We should start shooting them dead each time they cause accidents that kill or harm others!!!
Solomon London 1 year ago
Our laws are not strong, you will see this Tanker driver on the road less than one month, God have mercy on us,
Kontomire 1 year ago
This is what happens when a government uses road money to fund stupid projects like a Cathedral.
Too bad the dead are both NPP and NDC.
Would have been ironically appropriate if they were all NPP leaders.
But we know NPP t ... read full comment
This is what happens when a government uses road money to fund stupid projects like a Cathedral.
But we know NPP top brass don’t ride trotros.
It is the FOOL/FOOT soldiers who will continue dying until they wake up……
Solomon London 1 year ago
Very sad black people we die like fish, how can you killed 14 people at once like this? Ghana we respect car more than human being, God have mercy on us
Ghanaboy, Dunkirk, Scotland 1 year ago
The usual cause will be "failed brakes". You will wonder how many of these types of trucks are properly road certified. The facilities for testing just don't exist. God save Ghana. BANANA REPUBLIC
M ...
Your feasible suggestion would be to restrict their mo ...
Night driving for tankers only works if the roads are safe and street lights are on all roads. The tankers will have night accidents because the roads are too dark and dangerous to do such long distance at night. This works i ...
Another rule should be a strictly enforced speed limit (like 50kmph) on these tankers in populated areas. Mostly they drive like they are motorbikes, speeding and overtaking without any regard for the fact that they are very ...
i agree with you Benjamin nothing works in where we come from is so sad accidents like this one could have been prevented. Our politicians are useless good for nothing bastards that only come to loot and share the state asset ...
The best solution will be to ban Tankers at day time and instead be allowed to operate at night from 8:00 p.m till 6:00 am and if possible include all heavy Articulated Trucks. This will for sure save lives and lots of proper ...
The real problem is with these tanker drivers; don’t have any respect for other motorists. They drive foolishly on our roads with impunity. Their speed must be limited to 50 in the towns and cities whilst we work on the saf ...
I focus on the road construction there. There is no consideration for road users by the contractor. They have not bothered to make the road user friendly by leaving the gaping holes on the road. At least they can use a grader ...
Most Tanker, tipper and articulated truck drivers drive like they drink diesel and dirty oil for breakfast. They keep killing innocent people cos nothing will happen to them. We should start shooting them dead each time they ...
But we know NPP t ...