You are here: HomeNews2024 01 30Article 1914083

SayItLoud: Drivers 'fight' DVLA over new reforms that requires vehicle sellers be present for registration

Read Comments Comments (43)

• Ghanaians say yes to lgbt 3 months ago

We accept eachother in Ghana no matter your sexual orientation.. ..

• MOJO 3 months ago

Who are the "WE"? And, what "Sexual Orientation" do "WE " of Ghana wholeheartedly ACCEPT?

• Ike 3 months ago

DVLA always make reforms without considering the whom would be affected or the stakeholders.
    Its driver and vehicle so why.we have encountered this issue within some years .
    So I suggest that you should involve the stakeho ...

• Bobby Stones 3 months ago

This is a bit draconian, considering the time factor and the inconveniences both parties must endure, it is like we are back at the stoneage.

• California 3 months ago

Still we have to go to the white man and learn sense Ooh, black man. Example if I buy car from car dealer today and the unfortunately happened that He got car accident and died the following day, how am going to register my c ...

• Kwabena 3 months ago

I once bought a car in Toronto. The dealer took my driver’s license number, did all the registration and I went to pick it up. Why can’t the dealers do same in Ghana? What is difficult with transferring ownership from sel ...

• Nana Oduro Abonee 3 months ago

Exactly this is what should happen and that is what DVLA is attempting to introduce. But as Ghanaians as we're with our attitude and political connotation of every policy introduced, we'll criticize everything and throw the B ...

• Sandman 3 months ago

My friend, this is not the sake as dealer being able to register the vehicle for you. There are a lot of roadside dealers who can't afford this process. Also there are many DV registered vehicle driving around the country by ...

• Black star 3 months ago

After all the noise about digitalisation.
    Corruption is digilization and and corruption will be it's replacement.

When the rot is in the blood stream, no amount of skin surface treatment can cure a disease.

• joe 3 months ago

Those who are against this policy should rather think of if there is any mischief which the policy aims to cure arrest. If they find any reason then they should leave the DVLA alone to go ahead with the implementation. I th ...

• ASEM 3 months ago

This measure is to check vehicle thieves. From selling someone car. Good Job DVLA.

• AI 3 months ago

What if the actual owner is dead? Any room for next of kin DVLA?

• Abi 3 months ago

So if I buy a car abroad I should bring the white man before my car can be registered.DVLA this is ridiculous.who give u such ideas? Do u guys legislate such policies? come on guys think again.

• Joke 3 months ago

You are a joke of not you will know that the importer is the only one who can transfer ownership. So if you imported it, you don't need a white man. Your name is on the customs documents as the owner.
    But if you want to regi ...

• Yt 3 months ago

I started the process since 4 Jan 2024 and have not been able to complete it because the supposed name as an impoter on the Customs document has not been able to come to DVLA for verification.
    Too bad.

• That's how its done in the US 3 months ago

Thats how it is done in the US, where I live. If you are selling your car or even making a gift to someone else, you the seller or the giver must be present with the buyer or the receiver to conclude the transaction at the DV ...

• Yaw 3 months ago

You are so ignorant defending stupidity.

Pls before you start talking, import a car to the US where you live. Come back and tell us the process.
    I am sure you are part of the team who sold this crap to Dvla and they are a ...

• Osei Darkwah 3 months ago

It easy doing that at a Western union centers accross but not Ghana where you have to travel

You are lying through teeth, that may be the norm in some states in the US, you can't lump all the states into this nonsense. There is a need to stamp out stolen and smuggled cars and trucks into the country. They could no ...

You are lying through your teeth, that may be the norm in some states in the US, you can't lump all the states into this nonsense. There is a need to stamp out stolen and smuggled cars and trucks into the country. And yet ...

• Willie 3 months ago

Not true they only need the identity of the person who gifted you the car and you the recipient's identity. Same procedure as a vehicle you bought from someone.

• Sandman 3 months ago

That is a lie. This is not how is done in the dame U.S where I live. You just full a transfer of ownership form, along with the signature and details of the seller and you can register. They already have the information in th ...

• Astro Turf 3 months ago

I am happy a card bearing member of the NPP is crying maaaa maaaa. Aboa ba

• Foli Foli 3 months ago

The measure is not to embarrass the rightful public but to check against registration of stolen vehicles that are on the rise these days in Ghana. So let's get it right always so we are all not affected. Good luck!

• Oyibo 3 months ago

Too bad. That means when I buy a car at Tema and want to register it at Bolga, then the seller must follow me to Bolga? How? In this case why can't the DVLA register all vehicles at the port of entry in the original owner's n ...

• Truth 3 months ago

Technology and digitalization rather make things difficult in this country. And we copy things by heart without taking into consideration the peculiar situation in the country. But Ghanaians are born thieves and criminals. No ...

• Chief 3 months ago

Digitalization in this country is meant to frustrate the public. People will now be driving around with trade plates than endure this stupidity. Is it mandatory that every year you come up with some shitty policy?

• Edema Komla 3 months ago

I believe Ghana is all out to make history on this one.
    Please try to have a second thought about this because it sounds too stupid.
    I live in MD and if I buy a car on line in CA, when am about to register it in MD, the ...

• Abeiku Crentsil 3 months ago

If not the eager to impress fool, who will suggest this rubbish. So call ideas, ideas, ideas man. Haaaaaba. Ye abre wo. All over the place. Even the inventor of computer doesn't brag like this

• Eric 0545867001 3 months ago

I believe this is another great step and bold initiative from DVLA.

However, I would suggest that DVLA should commence to digitalise and initiate the authentication and verification of the owner of vehicle right from the ...

• Chief 3 months ago

Absolute nonsense!!! All the noise about digitization and online transaction are just hogwash. Too much frustration, dvla, ecg, just name it. This is what leads people to engage in all forms of shortcuts.

• Nawaa gh 3 months ago

We are so informal bit complex in our business dealing that every reform won't work or will be resisted. But DVLA too, how will they treat car dealerships selling many cars. All the buyers have to converge DVLA. Spew

• KK 3 months ago

Hahaha, funny

• Hmm 3 months ago

Hahahahahaha hahahaha Hahahahahaha hahahaha Hahahahahaha hahahaha Hahahahahaha hahahaha Hahahahahaha hahahaha Hahahahahaha hahahaha

• Nana Oduro Abonee 3 months ago

The problem with Ghana is that Ghanaians hate change and new things. With reports that Stolen Vehicles are traced into the country, DVLA needs to introduce policies to curtail such disgraceful incidences, but Ghanaians with ...

• Silas 3 months ago

Those complaining are the ones selling and buying stolen cars with fake documents! And cars removed from the port without proper documentation and customs payments! If not why are they running away

• Paul 3 months ago

I bought an import and the person named on the Customs Entry as the importer had to appear in person. They have a new website to assist in submitting finger prints and photo id but it was always down. Even in DVLA Tema after ...

• Osebo 3 months ago

More goros for the goro boys

• Willie 3 months ago

If I bought a vehicle from Toyota Ghana would ask Toyota Ghana to be present for the registration?

• Kwame 3 months ago

This reminds me of the little sticker that is being placed behind the Drivers License card. The expiration of the license is boldly on the front of the card and is valid for 5 years, but on the back, and in small letters you ...

• Kay 3 months ago

The Seller should rake thenoersonal details if the buyer and do the registration of the vehicle for the buyer. National ID has all the details so what should happen is that one cannot sell a without a national ID....and likew ...

• william Ejisu 3 months ago

I bought a car from a guy in Accra the other day,does that mean he has to get in a VIP bus ,pay 100 GHC each way to come to Kumasi and lose a day's pay from work just to stand there and watch proceedings??