You are here: HomeNews2018 10 30Article 696482

Politics of Tuesday, 30 October 2018


We’re fielding Mahama because we don't want any ‘concert’ in 2020 – NDC Chairman

Former president, John Mahama Former president, John Mahama

Constituency Chairman of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) for Bantama in the Ashanti Region has said there is no competent person in his party than Former President John Dramani Mahama to compete and defeat President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo Addo in the 2020 general elections.

“We are all behind him (John Dramani Mahama) because we know that he is the only one for now who can win power for the NDC in 2020”. Mr. David Kwasi Hededzi, Constituency Chairman for Bantama has said.

According to him, it will be very difficult for anybody from the NDC to win power come 2020 because none of them has the track record to compete with Akufo Addo who is likely to seek reelection in 2020.

Speaking in an exclusive interview with’s Syxtus Eshun in Kumasi, Mr. Hededzi categorically stated that, “the comparison is now going to be between him (John Mahama) and Akufo Addo”.

“If we bring in a new person, it may not be good for us. The person coming doesn’t have any track record of being a president even though he may be good to assume the presidency and all that….but we the NDC are serious and want to win power come 2020, he said.

“It is only John Dramani Mahama who has done a lot for Ghanaians and that is where they are going to compare him and Akufo Addo to vote for us”, he added.

To him, it is the reason why the majority of the NDC members have shown much support for the candidature of the former president.

The NDC is expected to hold its Presidential Primary on December 7 2018 to elect their flagbearer for the upcoming 2020 polls who is most likely to contest with the current president who from the grapevine will seek another term in office.

Some personalities who have made their intentions to contest for the position include; Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin, Kweku Riketts-Hagan, Eliplim Agbmava, Sylvester Mensah, Professor Joshua Alabi, Goosie Tanoh among others.

Join our Newsletter