You are here: HomeSportsSoccer2015 09 02Article 379268

Kotoko to pull out of Ghana Premier League

Read Comments Comments (102)

• GH 8 years ago

YENBOBIOM YENBOBIOM YENBOBIOM RUNNIBG AWAY

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

KOTOKO SHOULD GO TO COURT. ONCE THE COMPETION IS A GFA ORGANISED COMPETITION AND PLAYED UNDER GFA & FIFA RULES IT IS AN OFFICIAL GAME. THE FACT THAT IT IS A NEWLY CREATED COMPETITION BY GFA AND HENCE WASNT INCLUDED AT THE TIM ...

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

WHEN KOTOKO WON THE FA CUP FINAL IN 1991 BY BEATING HEARTS 4-2 GFA DECLARED HEARTS WINNERS AFTER HEARTS PROTESTED AGAINST KOTOKO FOR FIELDING AN UNQUALIFIED PLAYER WHO HAD RECIEVED THE MAXIMUM NO OF YELLOW CARDS IN 3 DIFFEREN ...

• Saint Ghfuo: CHALLENGE YOURSELF!!! 8 years ago

Play your remaining games..what is the difference between a "sanctioned" and "official" gfa game? And by that I'm referring to the elite cup and fc plks lg? The fa oversaw both lg and the onus is on them to make the stipulati ...

• Joyce Adansi 8 years ago

Clubs must follow rules set up by the GFA. Simple rule. How complex is that?

• kwesi 8 years ago

who cares if you don't play?

• Senior Wisdom 8 years ago

Honestly the GFA is being stupid. Kotoko is a big club and you attempt to relegate them at the demise of football in Ghana. They made one mistake and you try to kill the club. That will kill Ghana football which already in in ...

• YAW BENNEH, Berekum 8 years ago

Go back to the archives and revisit that decision then. You may have some recourse.

• Saint Ghfuo: CHALLENGE YOURSELF!!! 8 years ago

*unless otherwise advertised or advised by the gfa. In this case,.the gfa did not EXPLICITLY advise the clubs on the stipulations or legal implications/suspensions going forward between the have elite cup and the first capita ...

• van 8 years ago

you didn't make enough sense. you claim a certain fact does not make it an unofficial competition. so what fact make it an official competition? make some sense! i beg.

• Steamlia 8 years ago

good one there

• ???-Dede(the real deal) 8 years ago

the question is was the player qualified to play or not

• SARPONG 8 years ago

The Player was qualified to play. He has served his suspension when he sat out the match between Kotoko and Dunkwa team in the Elite cup sanctioned as GFA organized competition.

• SPANKY 8 years ago

Make some sense so people can understand you...the rules governing the European Leagues has nothing to do in our local league. Should you have nothing better saying just sit tight and watch Akan Drama, you will be way better ...

• APONKYE 8 years ago

I have been praying all these years for a calamity like this to befall Kotoko. God has finally granted the wishes of his obedient servant.

When Kotoko is officially relegated at the end of the season I will order an eleph ...

• Fosu Seth 8 years ago

play on field for points AFONOFO3 TEAM shame shame

• Oko 8 years ago

Y3nbobobiom again? I remember when Hearts walloped Kotoko some years back and Opoku Afriyie caught the ball, virtually seizing it and declaring "y3nbobiom"! Really, Opoku Nti? Animguase, akwaaba!

• Rasheed 8 years ago

Please stop lying.Opoku Afriyie has never caught any ball sir.It was a match between Kotoko and Hassacas in Secondi.Hassacas were leading Kotoko by 3-0 in the early minutes of the game,and Razak(the captain) stopped the game. ...

• p djamgbe 8 years ago

Rasherd, whether it was Opoku Afriyie oo it was Razak oo, whether the match was against Hassacas oo it was against Hearts oo, there was ''y3nbobim''.

@ SEKONDI.HASSACAS SENT THEM THE MESSAGE B4 THE MATCH.THAT SHORTEEE KOUFI WAS UNSTOPPABLE

• Italic Man 8 years ago

Rasheed you are wrong, I was there by myself, it was rather Opoku Nti who caught the ball and said yenbobiom knowing for sure that they were being disgraced by the way Hassacas Hasmal We Go Do were playing

• Kojo T 8 years ago

Kotoko never likes to lose

• MINOR CASE 8 years ago

Who likes to lose ? Only lossers embrace losses.

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Idiot, soccer is played on the field and not in dubious boardroom deliberations.

Hearts played twelve against eleven and lost 2-1. Even with a dubious penalty, Kotoko won. Hearts cannot win matches without penalties, disg ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

"Hearts played twelve against eleven and lost 2-1"

Sarpong I don't understand you,can you explain how Hearts could play twelve against eleven when the rule says a maximum of eleven players on each side to start a game,ha ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

No, the rules have not changed, it is still eleven on each side but the referee on that much might as well have put on a Hearts Jersey as his decisions were atrociously in favor of Hearts including a dubious penalty their exp ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Got you.
    I think we are just making mockery of football in Ghana these days,we are interested in making money by selling players than building the league as a strong one.

• Bribehene WeeAddo 8 years ago

When you were getting pionts from smaller teams in 2005 and 2006 league that was fine. You are guys just stupid like, you don't know anything yet you are too arrogant to learn. Stupid fool who cals himself sarpong. Kwasia, yo ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Hearts of Oak is a disgraceful team. Even with the backing of Referees like Agbovi, Flecther, Lamptey and others awarding them dubious penalties, they couldn't even win their matches.

Did Kotoko play 12 men against their ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Sarpong,I don't support any of these teams but I have been very much against the dubious ways Hearts is trying to stay out of relegation,I noticed that long ago especially when they beat Heart of Lions 4 goals to nil somethin ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

"if Kotoko knew the guy was not qualify why they fielded him,was it that they forgot the rules or somebody just made a mistake"

Corney, you are right in asking that question and I also have the same question in mind but Ko ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

As for Hearts,it is a disorganized club that cannot win any match genuinely in this league using some technicalities and bribe to stay out of relegation.
    They fight among themselves instead of fighting with the football in t ...

• nana Yaw 8 years ago

You must take your time to writ the stories to avoid simple mistakes.

• Josh 8 years ago

It is not about taking time; that was the best he could write. What do you expect from ill-equipped persons who could not get anything else?

• kbb 8 years ago

Just two sentences u made a mistake.It is write not writ.

• dad 8 years ago

this day people prefer short hand not necessarily mistake.check this(this-dis,love-luv etc.)

• NANA KONADU AGYEMAN RAWLINGSS 8 years ago

SOME ELEMENTS IN GFA WHO ARE NDC MEMBERS ARE GANGING UP WITH NDC TO DESTROY KOTOKO AS NDC WANT TO DESTROY ANYTIN ASHANTI

• Nicky Jefferson 8 years ago

Are u telling me we don't ve kotoko supporters in NDC govt?Doesn't make sense

COMMOM SENSE

• CORNEY 8 years ago

The facts of the matter is we politicize everything in Ghana including football that is supposed to unite the people,politicians always try to interfere in football to decide which club wins the game as happened in qualificat ...

• james asamiah 8 years ago

Massa I am a kotoko fan and I don't agree.How and why do u field an eligible player. The player was not qualified to play.If u are not sure u get clarification. Opoku Nti and Duncan must resign or be fired.Dont blame Hearts k ...

• cedicedi 8 years ago

the question is was the player qualified to play or not

Thanks again.Let me repeat it for kotoko that is d said player qualified to play?kotoko can go to d highest court in d world they ll lose.Law is law so abide by it as simple as that

• SARPONG 8 years ago

You are an idiot. What do you know about soccer or football? Without Kotoko, there is no GPL.

Was the Elite cup competition not a GFA sanctioned competition, you smelly fool.

Live in your fantasy world. Even without Man U, the EPL will go on. At least, Swansea will be there. Just live in your antiquity. If in the end Kotoko is relegated, videbimus (we shall see) if the league will go on or not.

without kotoko there is no GPL.so,do you think if ktk pull-out from the League that would b the end of gh football?ppl made mistakes n this is one.the coach should b sack.

• Bribehene WeeAddo 8 years ago

You are stupid as always. Without Kotoko there is no Football in Ghana. Akoa 3gyimi, before kotoko Ghana was playing football and after then Ghana will play football. Nkwasiasem, if you think you know law come out from your t ...

• Abusco Power, Wa-Upper West 8 years ago

Kotoko can go to FIFA but they would not succeed in this case.

• Former 8 years ago

When did KOTOKO become a political club to say they will make the GFA ungovernable? Well this is what their politicians always say. If they say they will do what they promise let them go ahead we are also tired of such people ...

• k. Germany 8 years ago

HAHAHAH Lets go NPP STYLE . now everybody is patapaaaaaa.

• YB 8 years ago

Jux dat u hate nd envy anyfin ashanti bt d more u hate d envy d more we goin higher higher.luk at dat penalty which was awarded to hearts of oak in match against kototo,luk at d goal which was dissallowed in d FA cup final ag ...

• Rough and Smooth 8 years ago

Hurray, our league would be descent and respectable. Other clubs in Ashanti freedom to grow and glow. There would be no more 'the lord needs it' order. Oh what a descent league it would be! Cornerstones, Neoplan Stars, Gre ...

• Wekpa 8 years ago

Let them hurry up and pull out. Will the sun stop shining? Will crops stop growing? Will it stop raining? Empty Pride!

• ADJEI 8 years ago

WO TO B>O B> DAN A 3B3 B> WO A KOTOKO AFEI NA MUSU OPOKU STOP BRAGGING BECOS WHEN IT TO COURT YOU WILL STILL LOSE. PHOBIA DE BEST

• f quentin ex minister ghana 8 years ago

Ghana football Ungovernable?
    That reminds us of NPP after the failure of supreme court case ooo
    Why these Orogance

Kotoko can go to hell.Law is law n no club is above d law.They should give us a break

• f quentin ex minister ghana 8 years ago

Npp arogance added to Kotoko ignorance!

• fuzi 8 years ago

what a shame sarfo gyamfi,
    do you have a legal team that didn't advice you on legal issues concerning gfa stipulated and clearly speltout rules and regulations in the firts capital premier league befor is too late.god save t ...

• Jones 8 years ago

Who cares. This is what they like doing most, always barking

• gather cobra 8 years ago

kotoko are too no! If they are boycotting they should ghana league can be played without them n it can more interest than with them. Ghana is not for asantes.

• Ayuba 8 years ago

Kotoko go home and reorganize your house and stop going to court

• Okesse 8 years ago

GFA clear all issues concerning unqualified players before matches are played. This Board room points cannot help our league.I think this decision is a bad one indeed.

• ABRAHAM K 8 years ago

stupid GFA GO TO HELL GFA

• Iwan 8 years ago

Kotoko should not try to shake a big tree because only their head will be shaking. Kotoko should have asked their members in GFA before undertaking that canning venture.

• Mark 8 years ago

Who cares.....we go watch EPL, laliga etc

• ABRAHAM K 8 years ago

KOTOKO SHOULD STAY AWAY FROM GPL 2015 AND 2016

• Fiifi Barnor 8 years ago

I know that in the UK any card issued in any competition counts, so be it league cup, FA cup or league matches, if you clock 5 yellows, you miss your next match be it a cup competition or league match. I presume it is the sam ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Fiifi, but Obed Owusu served his suspension on the Elite cup competition under the auspices GFA.

There is a precedent of this in 1991 when the same gfa ruled that any competition organized by gfa is sanctioned.

• YAW BENNEH, Berekum 8 years ago

Provide that proof. Kotoko may have a case, unless the laws have changed since then. Provide the proof.

• SARPONG 8 years ago

WHEN KOTOKO WON THE FA CUP FINAL IN 1991 BY BEATING HEARTS 4-2 GFA DECLARED HEARTS WINNERS AFTER HEARTS PROTESTED AGAINST KOTOKO FOR FIELDING AN UNQUALIFIED PLAYER WHO HAD RECIEVED THE MAXIMUM NO OF YELLOW CARDS IN 3 DIFFEREN ...

• Fosu Seth 8 years ago

l think kotoko should go to court

They can go to The Hague. Just follow simple rules. If you cannot do this, how can you be representing Ghana in the champions league? IT IS A LESSON FOR ALL

• ABDUL 8 years ago

IF THE MANAGEMENTS OF KOTOKO DID NOT PUT INJECTION ON THE LEAGUE AND PROCEED TO THE HIGHEST COURT, THEY WILL BE THE MOST NUTOROUS MANAGEMENTS EVER IN THE HISTROY OF THE TEAM. WE THE KOTOKO FANS WILL NEVER FORGIVE YOU.IF U AR ...

• Nana Adu 8 years ago

Maybe Kotoko should organise their own league and play. Just accept defeat. Kotoko will go on relegation. Amen .....Never Say Die

• p djamgbe 8 years ago

Rasheed, whether it was Opoku Afriyie oo it was Razak oo, whether the match was against Hassacas oo it was against Hearts of Oak oo, there was ''y3nbobiom''.

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

Wao, Sad day! It is competition but this is also a game! Do we have to open the flood gate for players to sue for bad tackling also? Why why why?

• Freddie 8 years ago

Fucken kotoko can go to hell who cares. Kotoko pull out of the Ghana primer league now.

• kofi 8 years ago

l agree with the verdict.

• FIRE MAN 8 years ago

Does it means Kotoko dont know what a sactioned competition by GFA??? Club owners dont ask question at congress and when they are found by the law, then they started ranting...if any club at all is it Kotoko..? Is on Hearts ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

You should be the last person to call anybody illiterate with your horrible grammar. You can't even spell ILLITERATE.

• Joe Bolobo 8 years ago

Grammar or no grammar, RULES ARE RULES.

follow the rules and regulations.

• james asamiah 8 years ago

Come on Otumfuo should Fire Opoko nti and the coach for fielding in qualified player. How stupid can u be?

• too bad 8 years ago

the GFA people there are fools

• Joe Bolobo 8 years ago

Because the ruling went against you? If you had won, would they have been animals? GOOD NIGHT, Sleep well

• taabea -aflao 8 years ago

S3 ABOA bi te WO nua so a wo se sore y3n so 3nkas3 sore no so. Efiris3 wofiri noso a wode b3ba woso.when King Faisal was battling GFA,where was kotoko. Now its our turn to battle this same GFA.kotoko we must be wise up.

• Joe Bolobo 8 years ago

The King Faisal issue is different from this. Grunzah based his argument on the fact that Aduana did not meet the filing deadline for paying a fine. GFA found it otherwise. Kotoko fielded an unqualified player, Was the play ...

• AK 8 years ago

Nkwasiasem. Hearts should learn to earn points on the field.

• Johnny 8 years ago

There they go,that's the only word they know ungovernable.

SILLY MISTAKE,KICK THEM OUT

• Oteng Agyei 8 years ago

If it is not an official known to the gfa,why then is the league suspended whenever it is been played.

• gfa chairman 8 years ago

hearts should have rather taken the points on the field but not in the DC
    room,fooooolllllssss

• Jacob Allen 8 years ago

You better play the next two games with wins because if you refuse to play you will be declared losers and be relegated automatically because the Almighty GFA will apply the principles governing the rules and regulations and ...

• Abeku Quansah Ativorgbe. 8 years ago

I like the contributions made on this forum, they are constructive and educative, not based on tribal or party sentiments. This is the way you have to contribute on matters that affect the future of this country(Children)

• SPANKY 8 years ago

Should this story be true then the entire management team of Kotoko should be fired but should this be one of those antics to save the face of a dying sporting club, then shame on Ghalca and the GFA. Its common sense for you ...

• pkay 8 years ago

I support kotokos idea to pull out of the league, if it is not an f.a organise matches, why should they appoint a gfa referees to officiate the matches and and also present match commissioners

• Asaga 8 years ago

Yambor biem / "yanb) biem" is resurfacing

• kookzi 8 years ago

Kotoko should seek to persuade other teams who are equally not happy with the way gfa has conducted itself over the years to come together and form a seperate association .

• Abubakari Shaibu 8 years ago

We need kotoko in our premier league .

• TRUTH 8 years ago

Good bye Asante Kotoko. Hope Otumfuo will take the club away from these jokers who are fond of making empty threats.

• Frimpong 8 years ago

Unbreakable Ashanti. Just realized Ashgold is also from Ashanti.

• jb 8 years ago

Kotoko never give up. GFA is a mafia group but they can't torch us