You are here: HomeSportsSoccer2014 06 07Article 311851

Afranie against drafting Essien into defence

Read Comments Comments (22)

• Whatever 9 years ago

Jonathan Mensah Must be fired up to do the job. He has no fear and he's very intelligent, can defend and attack aerial balls. His problem is acceleration but he can work on it.

• kodjo 9 years ago

the respect i give to akwasi appiah has wane because of he is taking 6 defenders to a month long tournament the world cup

• OGOGLO QUARTER! 9 years ago

THE REAL GAME HAS NOT YET
    STARTED AND DEFENSE HEADACHES IS JUST ON THE TEAM'S DOOR STEP..HUMMMMMMMMMMM.
    KWAKU BONSAM IS A GOOD DEFENDER , MAY BE HE CAN HELP...A CALL UP MAY NOT BE BAD****************************

• Ghfuo, RIP Maya Angelou! 9 years ago

This is why I insult him sometimes.Defence wins tournaments. Everyone knows this. U aa haven't won anything but you think you can reinvent the wheel?

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

Superman is flying around the city, horny as hell. He suddenly sees Wonder Woman spread eagle, naked on top of the building. Superman thinks, "This is my chance!" He swoops down, faster than a speeding bullet bangs her and is ...

• Fritz 9 years ago

Think b4 u comment

• francis a 9 years ago

disappointed about ghana coach take old essien defence this is not africa cup 08 this is a wc

• francis a 9 years ago

we not playing a gaem yet about we are now in a situations about defence

It will be very difficult for gh to make it out of this group with less suspensions. We have so few natural defenders. Unless, aa decides to play rabiu as a defender and push essien upfront. Look, after watching the Germans a ...

Their whole plan revolves around the 11 or podolski. The attack, buildup goes either thru podolski or the 7, into the middle, the out to the left. Opare or nkum will have to be very alert amd play zone,.counter attack. The Ge ...

Just see the goal they scored on over Mexico in their friendly? It's a player players like nani, Ronaldo and a few others are practicing. If we have Rabiu playing 5. He can use his height and speed to mark,zone such a player. ...

Use rabiu instead and let essien play 6 or 8. Rabiu can defend aerial balls and can clear balls getting into the 18, can block shots with his long legs

• jojo 9 years ago

chill out, all pocket coaches

• jijk 9 years ago

IF ESSIEN CAN PLAY DEFENCE, WHY DO WE HAVE TO WAIT UNTIL THEY SCORE ON US BEFORE WE MAKE A CHANGE. COACH AFRANIE, YOUR SUGGESTION IS DUMB. ESSIEN IS BETTER THAN AN UNTRIED DEFENDER WHO CAN FUMBLE THE BALL AND LEAD TO A SCORIN ...

• cofie 9 years ago

He did not say we wait till they score us.He said only if we run out of substitution.quote well!

• Sir T 9 years ago

Please this is the time we need the experience coaches and the big players to bring our multisystem ideas to support the coach in order to take the world by surprise.

• George Offin 9 years ago

That's wish thought coach hene

• KUKU 9 years ago

HAHAHA EVERYBODY IS A COACH IN GHANA LOL

• Wahala 9 years ago

I completely agreed. He should have called John Mensah when Jerry got injured. Look at the German team, they have packed defenders. Why sending so Jordan Ayew and not call John Mensah. Now Ghana have so many strikers in the t ...

• paa mensah sampson 9 years ago

if a player looks more like utility player its makes sense. guess what those player from forward to defense actully can play better defence than the really defence player. i didnt went that far in my days of playing but i m a ...

• OKOROMANSA 9 years ago

CALL JOHN MENSAH NOW, IF IT IS NOT TOO LATE. IN THE ABSENCE OF VORSAH, I THOUGHT JOHN WOULD BE CALLED TO STRENGTHEN THE DEFENCE. IT IS LATE BUT NOT TOO LATE, JUST SO WE CAN AVOID A "HAD I KNOWN' SITUATION. OTHERWISE, ESSIEN C ...

• Christopher Klove 9 years ago

This same tactics is what made the Cameroonian scored us here in Ghana during the Ghana 2008. Esssien was brought to play defense against some of us will. I think Kwasi is digging his own grave. I do respect him as a coach bu ...