You are here: HomeSportsSoccer2014 04 18Article 306611

Black Stars goalkeeping competition hottens

Read Comments Comments (45)

• Osei Kofi 10 years ago

He has been the luckiest of all the goalkeepers but he has blown away all the chances of becoming Ghana's No. 1 after Olele. Perhaps, he needs to consult his oracles for the reason why. He is good though, and also a luck goal ...

• Kwasi Asante , Providence, R.I. 10 years ago

I like his skills during penalty kicks. He has a superb way of saving penalty kicks.

• GhanaBoy 10 years ago

My choice 1. Stephen Adams 2. Fatau Dauda 3. Adam Kwarasey

• Mark 10 years ago

I agree. I'm not very confident in Kwarasey, although he could prove me wrong.

Dauda was the best, but since he hasn't been playing much, I would make a similar choice:

(1) Adams, (2) Dauda, (3) Kwarasey

• Ghfuo, change ur thinking 10 years ago

You are just coming off a hernia surgery. And trying to regain your number 1 spot for with ur club..why do u.want to go.to.Brasil? Aim for some type.of.trophy with ur club,.award etc. Be patient.....

Kwarasay has foreign e ...

• Kwaku Ahim 10 years ago

Is Agyei not good in penalties that eventually won gh 4x gold on various occasions?
    I used to like your comments but now I can tell you talk rubbish.

• POW@Ghana 4 last 4, Brazil 2014 10 years ago

Ghanafuo didn't say anything wrong here. It is true, Daniel Adjei just came on board from a hernia surgery and hasn't gain full match fitness yet. Some of you guys just attack people for no clear reason why?

• Ghfuo, change ur thinking 10 years ago

U are comparing feats in 2014.to 2009? U are comparing chan to u 20? We're u beaten a lot in school bcos of ur innate stupidity? Wat does the term"what have you done for me lately" mean to you? The guy just came off a hernia ...

• JK 10 years ago

My choices exactly. After trying out Adams in the upcoming friendlies, he may turn out to be our number one. I like Stephen Adams a lot; he is the more complete among the lot.

• Oppong 10 years ago

I will wait to test S.Adams at coming friendlies before declaring Kwarasay number one.I am not totally sold on Kwarasay because of certain goals he has conceded at the international level.

• Haruna Mohammed 10 years ago

what has Stephen Adams done in the last 12 moths?

• Jack Sparrow 10 years ago

I think you are one of those who don't think before they speak. Why are you insulting him, Opepeni?

• GFA IS SHIT 10 years ago

The guy just asked a question and you turn around insulting him. So, who is doing the insulting. Be civil.

• JK 10 years ago

What does Wu ye kwasia papaapa mean to you? May be it is your mother's maiden name huh?I wonder what your father's name is?

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

wat bunker hve u been sleeping in?

• TRUTH 10 years ago

WE HAVE PEOPLE,TRAINERS WHO CAN PERFORM CERTAIN TASK BUT CANNOT TEACH.THIS IS OUR CASE IN QUESTION.WE FORMER GOALKEEPERS WHO CAN MAN THE POST BUT CANNOT TEACH OTHERS TO BECOME BETTER, THE TECHNICAL KNOW HOW IS NOT THERE.POSIT ...

• Me 10 years ago

What do expect to see when the goalkeeper trainee is on the payroll of one of the goalkeepers.

• oloofi 10 years ago

I agree massa that's your country for you. Rather waste talents for their pot belly sake!

• Fidelis 10 years ago

I think Fatau must blame himself should he finds himself out of the No.1 goalkeeping position for Ghana. He should not have rushed into signing for any team outside Ghana but rather stayed in his local team for time being in ...

• Wellington Nicholas 10 years ago

i would plead with GFA to motivate and give incentives to players that would help them train well and productive.instead of just stating what the rewards would be!!!! Black Stars should watch European leagues to gain experien ...

• joe 10 years ago

goalkeepers, Black Stars weak point

• The Stallion 10 years ago

Goalkeeping is not the weak point, it's the choice of the goalkeepers.
    Adjei featured in 15 games and considered 22 goals? What kind of record be dis?

• POW@Ghana 4 last 4, Brazil 2014 10 years ago

If your defends dey leak what can the world's best keeper do? 15 games, he conceded 22 goals. Tweaaaaaaaaaa

• busumru 10 years ago

Blackstars must forget brazil. they will be bottom of the group and first to be on the plane. we a relying on old players who cant get in the top leagues except a few. WE DONT HAVE any quality keepers. friendlies were crap. w ...

• NII KELEKE 10 years ago

WHAT ARE YOUR SOLUTIONS TO THE PROBLEMS AS A PATRIOTIC GHANAIAN?

• busumru 10 years ago

nothing to do with patriotism. this my opinion. too late for any solutions. i only have to pray for miracles

• SKILLO 10 years ago

Adam Kwarasey has won championships while the rest of this list sit on the sidelines. They don't even get fielded much more win a championship. So what competition are we talking about?

• Apetupre 10 years ago

We have problems with or GKping as well as defence. We can't compare ourselves with the likes of Noir, Howard, etc. C'mon we shd seriously train ppl for goalkeeping.

• anokwale 10 years ago

At the end of the day, Kwarasey has to start no matter what. He plays regularly in a European league so unless someone else does something spectacular, we should pretty much call it a day.

These journalist should stop wasting our time

• Mo 10 years ago

EVERYTHING THIS IDIOT HAS TO SAY IS EITHER AN INSULT,OR BERATING OTHER PEOPLE'S EFFORTS AND ACHIEVEMENTS.

• STEVE 10 years ago

Had I known, is always at last. I personally wish Sammy Adjei well, but he is not fit enough to make the squad to Brazil. Adam Kwarasey in my opinion is the No.1 for the competition, and the authorities must stick to that if ...

• FACT 10 years ago

IT IS FUNNY IN GHANA ANY GOOD HAPPENING IS ATTRIBUTED TO GOD; THE BAD HAPPENINGS ARE NOT ATTRIBUTED TO GOD. IT IS HIGH TIME GHANAIANS FOCUSED ON WHATEVER THEY ARE DOING AND WORK HARD TO ACHIEVE THEIR OBJECTIVES IN LIFE.

GH ...

• Daniel 10 years ago

Adam Kwarasey is the number one(1).Please let give this guy encouragement to be in the post for the WC. God bless GH

• Terry Gyimah 10 years ago

Kwarasey should be our number 1

• SETH 10 years ago

WHO ARE THESE PEOPLE AND WHY DO THEY INSIST ON EMBARRASSING THE COUNTRY AT EVERY GIVEN CHANCE.

• JJT 10 years ago

Ghanaweb has no editors. You must be illiterate, undereducated or lazy to put up this kinda shiit on a world wide web representing a country. A Chinese wont even write this type of English how much more Ghanaian with English ...

• Seth 10 years ago

I guess I am not in this grammatical hellhole of misinformation and half truths all by myself.

• kofi adu Chicago 10 years ago

Everyone wants to go to Brazil who doesn't? One said 22 goals conceded is alot of course if your defenders suck!
    After his injury let's say 2nd round they've only won 2 games out of 16 without Agyei so you can't blame him 10 ...

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 10 years ago

ONE THING YOU GUYS SHUOLD KNOW IS THAT ADAM KWARASEY IS FOR ITERNATIONAL GAMES LIKE BRASIL

Adam Kwarasey is the No 1. No two ways!!!!
    He plays regularly, he won a title and he's 100x better than the rest

• Achie 10 years ago

Paragraph 3 of this story reads:

"The 2009 U20 World Cup winning goalie has made a return from a hernia injury that subjected him to three months on the sidelines, and now finds himself battling to regain his first choice ...

• asare baffour (austra) 10 years ago

my fellow ghanians lets take a look at this for the first time some one who has return from operation in three month time which gurantee do we have that he can compet with the what is coming on in this june we are talking of ...

• WOFA WOHOO 10 years ago

All we are saying is to pick the best and most fitted players for Brazil.Do not listen to top GFA bosses to make your decision and please avoid taking bribes and avoid favourism just because you like some players even though ...

• Annoited One! USA. 10 years ago

There needs to be a special incentive that will motivate the keepers into doing a fantastic job between the posts for Ghana. 1. Clean Sheet - an extra $10,000 per match. 2. A penalty save - $15,000.