You are here: HomeSportsSoccer2013 12 17Article 295395

'My family asked me to quit Black Stars job'

Read Comments Comments (102)

• Kwame 10 years ago

Don't allow yourself to be put under pressure, your hair is going already.

• Mr.N 10 years ago

What I would like to know is who asked Akwesi Appiah to quit the wife or the kids.

By the way you do not go and tell your wife or a woman anything. This is not about me being a "Male chauvinism" this is about how Nature wo ...

• KWAKU 10 years ago

CHARLIE U ARE TOO MUCH. BUT HOW MANY GUYS UNDERSTAND THIS? THEY EVERYTHING YOU DO U MUST TELL THE WIFE. U WAN TO GIVE MONEY TO THE MOTHER, TELL THE WIFE, U WANT TO GIVE SOMETHING TO A BROTHER, TELL THE WIFE. SHE WANTS TO TELL ...

• dfb 10 years ago

when i read what Mr.N wrote, my wish was only if i could have this men´s nummer and get to know him. Mr.N you are blessed with wisdom from above.
    keep the faith of JESUS CHRIST1

• UNCLE KOFI 10 years ago

THAT IS HOW THE JOB IS. YOU DO WELL AND YOU ARE HAILED. YOU FAIL AND YOU ARE HATED.

• MENSAH 10 years ago

GENESIS 12:1
    ABRAHAM TOLD AND WENT WITH HIS WIFE SARAH,FROM UR,IN CHALDEANS FAMILY/PEOPLE,TO CANNAN,WHEN GOD TOLD HIM TO LEAVE HIS FAMILY,COUNTRY,KINS.
    The mistake he made is:
    HE TOOK LOT(which means a covering,hindrance) ...

• KOFI MUMUI 10 years ago

Mr. N, over here in the US, people who confide in their wives or girlfriends some past misdeeds eventually end up in jail because those women told it when the relationship broke up.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

Kwasi, time to be quiet and avoid the media because despite your successes, many people simply don't like you because the position did not go to their favorite, party member or tribal choice. That is the truth

• AMERICA LOVER 10 years ago

Infact, Mr.N, your comments is so wonderful.I am enjoying right now reading your comments. Jesus Christ loves you so much.

• Champion 10 years ago

Akwesi Appiah should be ashamed of himself. If your wife agreed with you to betray coach Goran for the GFA to give you the $20,000 Black Stars coaching job through which your family are living in London running your investmen ...

• KojoLee/MRAA@Samba Dance 10 years ago

Mr. N(umocus), there is no need for anyone to blame coach MRAA for what he said about his family. Money is not everything in life and at times, having peace of mind is far better than to be rich. Look, Before Christ (B.C) the ...

• Gbomo Bi 10 years ago

be persistent and all would be happy and hail you in the end.

• Africanus 10 years ago

Why will he quit. He makes more money than even Bank Manager in Ghana. $20,000 a month is not a joke, every man will ignore his wife and stick with the job.

• Isaac Mensah 10 years ago

Why now?are u betraying your wife and family?learn to zip your mouth when it comes to your family. Anyway,its not too late to quit.

• Amin 10 years ago

Hey wise-up you need DNA. One of them does not look like you.

• jamp62 10 years ago

Akwasi think what is best for you and your family most Ghanians are ungreatful no matter what you do.

• YAA YAA 10 years ago

Mr. AA, most of the wise people in the country like u, so avoid the stupid few.

• John,Tema 10 years ago

We all appreciate the concern of your family especially as somebody who has spent the greater part of his youthful & early adult life playing for Kotoko & Black Stars without making much money.You truly deserve your achieveme ...

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana! 10 years ago

Everything in life there is always family first. Listen to them very well and take a bold step. Holy Ghost power has revealed something to them.Therefore, listen to the voice of the Lord.

• gyan 10 years ago

Eeeeeh! your family will sack you when you don't have a good job. Akwasi plse think twice. Your status and salary can buy your health.

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

HE DREAMT HE WAS HOISTING THE WCUP TROPHY BUT HE COULDNT BELIVE IT N HE IS HAVING MENTAL NIGHTMARES...LOL
    BELIEVE MY FRIEND. BELIEVE

• KENKEY BOY 10 years ago

APPIAH SHUT UP AND DO YOUR WORK. A WORD TO THE WISE ...

• Exodus 10 years ago

That is why Esien said he can never coach. It's for tough minded and strong hearted.

• Kingsley ASIEDU 10 years ago

You don't throw your family under the bus.

• BerylRichards 10 years ago

Stay focused and do your job.
    Whatever you say, we can have counter comments to pass. I refuse to pass one concerning this issue becos it is a family affair and I would have wished you could take back this comment. Let the p ...

• Dauda 10 years ago

A country who do not honor it's heros are not worth dying for. take care of your family

• Homesense 10 years ago

Kwasi's family must rightfully be concerned for Ghanians do not appreciate their heroes.

Let Kwasi lose one match and you'll hear the insults,as if he never ever did anything better in his life.

• JOE CANADA 10 years ago

Ghanaians don't honor their heroes but will honor tier villain's else how can a coup maker like Kotoka get his name on the country's international airport. What about one of Africa's notorious butcher jerry Rawlings?. just go ...

• ADABRAKA 10 years ago

Not important to say this

• Joey Accra 10 years ago

He can't disclose such private affairs. It can even be used against him somehow in the future. Keep your family out, Akwasi.

• tony Adams 10 years ago

You shall achieve more in Brazil and the Family shall smile about ur achivement.Coaching is all about winning and losing so no point of ur Family been afraid of failure.You shall take the Black Stars to the semi-final in Braz ...

Your main objective is to enjoy what you are doing. We are also enjoying what you are achieving and that alone is an appreciation.
    If you are being affected by the corruption galore don't blame it on us not appreciating you. ...

• jimy somer 10 years ago

Stop lieing mister Apiah.

MASSA, STOP RELYING ON ADURO, MALLAM, AND ALL THAT PRIMITIVE FOOLISHNESS. PRAY N ASK GOD, THE CREATOR TO BLESS YOU WITH ABUNDANT COACHING TECHNIQUES N KNOWLEDGE. THIS IS ALL U NEED. DONT TAKE WORK HOME WITH YOU N VICE VERSA. ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

What an idiot !! What Aduro are you talking about? Kwasia how many players do you want in the Black Star? Gyimii, the man is giving everybody a chance and does not give a damn about your foolish opinions on your favourite pla ...

• Inquisitive 10 years ago

Mr.Osei Tawiah please, don't worry yourself to even read this brainless robot's comments, let alone comment on it.He doesn't know what he talks about.

THANKS...
    IF U KNEW ANY BETTER, U WOULD KEEP UR WORK DUTIES N GOSSIPS AT WORK N VICE VERSA....OBVIOUSLY U DONT. THERE IS A TIME N A PLACE FOR EVERYTHING.

• BABA KOWA 2 10 years ago

OSEI WHY WASTE YOUR TIME ON THAT IDIOT GHFUO ,HE IS JUST A HATER OF COACH APPIAH HE IS THE KIND OF GUY WE WOULD LIKE TO MEET PERSONALLY FOR A SHOWDOWN FOR INSULTING AA ALL THE TIME .

HMM, U WONT LAST A SEC MY FRIEND. TRUST ME

• Kwamena Mensah 10 years ago

YOUR WIFE IS VERY IGNORANT ! !

SHE KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT FOOTBALL.

GOD BLESS YOU KWESI APPIAH.

• FREE THINKER 10 years ago

Obviously you dont understand the importance of family, you are just one of these selfish Ghanaians! who only thinks of themselves and no one else's concern.

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

Ofui, go ahead and worship at the Church of Soccer. I guess you have no other life beside that.

ARE U BEYOND DUMB. U TALK N COMMENT AIMLESSLY. WAT USE IS IT TALKING SOCCER ISSUES WITH UR FAMILY? HOW CAN THEY BE OF ASSISTANCE? LOOK AT THE ADVICE THEY GAVE AA?

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 10 years ago

listen ignoramus, nothing gives you the right to continuously come on here and hip insults on KA. You are the one that display your unqualified dumbness by attacking a man who discuses his concerns with his wife and children. ...

AND LOOK AT THE RESPONSE HIS FAMILY GAVE HIM? COULDNT HE HAVE SPOKEN TO OTHER WELL TRUSTED MALES INSTEAD? DUDES/PPL WHO CLEARLY UNDERSTAND THE GAME OF SOCCER N ITS STRESSES LIKE BEN KOUFIE, ABEDI, DESAILLY ETC....

• JOE CANADA 10 years ago

YOU ARE ONE OF THOSE GHANAIN FOOLS WHO IGNORE THIER FAMILY CONCERNS AND THINK ONLY ABOUT THEMSELVES. THANK GOD AA IS NOT LIKE YOUR TYPE. THEY ADVICED HIM BECAUSE, THEY WERE CONCERNED ABOUT HIS LIFE.DO YOU KNOW WHAT THAT GENTL ...

THIS IS WHY WE HVE FORMALLY TRAINED COUNSELORS, ELDERS OR EBUSUA PANIN ETC. DONT U THINK AA'S FAMILY WERE EMOTIONAL IN THEIR DECISION? U CANT MAKE LOGICAL DECISIONS BASED ON EMOTIONS.

QUIT N GO BACK TO DOING SECURITY IN THE UK, RIGHT? U R NOT SERIOUS. LEAVE UR PTIMITIVE AFRICAN MENTALITY ON THE CONTINENT.

• Alex 10 years ago

This guy is not serious. Suddenly he is behaving like a child. This is not the time to waste on irrelevant issues. He has to consume himself in strategies to make history at the world cup for himself and the nation and stop k ...

• AYIGBENII 10 years ago

Job'wife ask him to curse GOD and die,but at the end of the day JOB wwas able to prevail becos God wason his side

• Vicky Hammah 10 years ago

I think this guy should be fired for this irresponsible comments. As a professional, he should know what to say in public. He is beibg paid to get a job done and not to talk trash like that.

• wiseman 10 years ago

what akwasi appiah has done for black star so much ,he always want for people to hear him even if he is saying claps,this is not a family matter that you are coming to blag, after all you are being paid by tax payers monies, ...

• braveman 10 years ago

calm down appiah u the hero whether it fails , even jesus of christ had been critisize, so sleep good and think good about ur children they are ur life not black stars, iwish u get in touch with this pawerfull message, we lov ...

• klk 10 years ago

God will see u tru

• SULAMANA 10 years ago

VERY MANY WORKERS ARE ALSO UNAPPRECIATED. OUR DOCTORS, TEACHERS AND A LOT OF HONEST HARDWORKING POLICE AND FIREMEN ARE ALSO NOT APPRECIATED. YOU ARE PAID. SHUT UP AND DO YOUR JOB. IF U DO NOT WANT TO DO I, QUIT AND GIVE THE ...

• ANGRY DAD 10 years ago

That is ur own family matter,nobody cares so keep it to yourself.

• HANNIBAL(Blessed by God) 10 years ago

His stress was due to the constant insults from a section of Ghanaians who preferred a WHITE coach. Kwasi Appiah has opened the door for future Black coaches in Ghana and Africa.

• Mike 10 years ago

Alexu are gay and a stupid fool wo Maame tee Kankam idiot who are u to call kwesi apish childish u are I London cleaning toilets what have u achieved in yr life apart from cleaning some whiymans toilet in Europe folisj guy u ...

• Samuel Odartey 10 years ago

We must blame that notorious wee smoker called ''SONGO'' alias fireman in the multi media ASEMPA RADIO for spreading lies around about AA.

• OGA yum yum 10 years ago

don't talk too much now and surprise peo at the mundial

• .MR WISE 10 years ago

AKWASI BE A MAN AND DO NOT GIVE IN TO
    SENTIMENTS;REMEMBER WE CALL OURSELVES
    "AKATAKYIE" OR THE OWARIANS AT OPOKU
    WARE:MUSTER THAT COURAGE AND YOU WILL
    MAKE IT.

• AHLAJI 10 years ago

99 percent of Ghanains will not agree with me bcos we have qualified to the World Cup.Ghanains like football but we don't understand football. We are. jokers! Kwasi Appiah has no technical brains. we have short memorie ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

Ghana is the first country to win the WORLD CUP for AFRICA.
    Mark it on the wall,so you will remember how mediocre you are,without any faith in you,to win.
    KWESI APPAIH WILL PREVAIL,WITH THE GHANA BLACK STARS,AT THE 2014 WOR ...

• Kofius 10 years ago

Excuses to drop out in Group stage ?

• GHANA FIRST 10 years ago

Yen pe saa o! No room for excuses oh
    This is the beginning of great things to happen

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 10 years ago

Mr Appiah, the job you have taken is a massive one and the biggest in African football. Unfortunately, this job comes with the biggest pressure and expectation one can imagine. Unfortunately, you will have to endure all the n ...

• BABA KOWA 2 10 years ago

NICE COMMENT THERE BY SANTA GOOD OF YOU MR. CROYDON GOD BLESS YOU AND GIVE YOU MORE WISDOM

• GHANA IS SHIT 10 years ago

Shut up and do your fucking job. If you cannot stand the heat, get out of the kitchen. Nobody put a gun to your head to take the job.

Everybody feels pressure in whatever job they do. That is why they call it "work" and th ...

• NOKWARE 10 years ago

KWASI APPIA DONT LET ASHANTI WOMAN TO FOOL U,IF U LOST YOUR JOB SHE WILL LEAVE U,SOME ASHANTI WOMAN DONT WANT THEIR HUSBAND TO BE POPULAR,SHE THINK IF HIS HUSBAND BECOME FAMOUS,SOME WOMEN WILL GIVE HER PROBLEMS,ASHANTI WOMEN ...

• MAKA 10 years ago

WAAA LOOK OOO.....WEI YE ASEM

• Dzato 10 years ago

Who told your family no body appreciate the job you are doing as black star coach. Very few people may not appreciate what you are doing but that is life. You will never get everybody to your side all the time. Keep on.

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtal 10 years ago

I AM GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtality ,am here to apologize to all contributors to this forum for misguiding fans with my idea of challenging the GFA to bring in foreign director to handle the Black Stars for Brazil 20 ...

• OGOGLO QUARTER !!! 10 years ago

YOU ARE NOT SERIOUS...YOUR WIFE MAY HAVE TALKED SOME SENSES INTO THAT EMPTY GHFOULISTIC SKULL ...
    NO THIS IS NOT THE GHFOU I KNOW.....THE APOLOGY IS NOT FROM GHFOU

U KNOW ME WELL. WE FIGHT TO THE DEATH..

• dzakpata 10 years ago

victory is nearer when the battle is at its peak

• Goodman - Ksi 10 years ago

It is wrong for your family to say "Nobody see's your effort"Even Jesus who laid down his life was not appreciated.Kwame Nkrumah went through the same,Rawlings and Kuffour also suffered same.Isn't it through this football car ...

• GoodMan - Kumasi 10 years ago

Kwesi once a while we wake up very early and can't sleep becos of our jobs.Thinking about how to succeed,planning and programming etc..
    Get yourself a very good Osofo to assist you too.You can't do it alone by yourself.You n ...

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

Winners don't quit and quitters don't win. You have done what others could not do. Your family's concern was genuine but always remain the man God created you to be.It always looks impossible until you achieve it. My prayer i ...

Just keep your private affairs,if someone digged this news out you would be cring now,you know this job b/4 you started thank you.

• Him 10 years ago

stupid case. Is that our problem?

• Yaw 10 years ago

Akwasi,is the job not too much for you?For fill your heart's desire but i will suggest if you wanna continue,to be a man and have the believe that you can do it.
    Having sleepless nights before matches can make you tired and ...

• maaa 10 years ago

They chop the money but do not want the blame. Massa think about how to silence C. RO

• WOFA WOHOO 10 years ago

Defence and retrain your goalkeeper for aerial balls,free kicks,corner kicks etc..Sit down and watch all the games Black Stars played,particularly the last two games with Egypt and fix all the mistakes made and improve before ...

• tugar tuko 10 years ago

Stupep Akwasi Appiah the advice from your wife will help you, because there is very very good prayers in ghana but you dont chose them than to chose prayer like stuped John Mensah and Derek boateng. Akwasi just {Quit} and {Qu ...

• agosta 10 years ago

Masta ur family issue doesnt concern the general public. U better think.how to qualify the team in the next round rather than talking nonsense. U have a quality of players but if u don't react and work.hard then say bye bye

• TAFARI 10 years ago

seiously?? this is total rubbish!!!!

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Akwasi, you know that we Ghanaians are ahooyaa! Don't mind your critics!

• Mahmoud 10 years ago

Out of the eleven players, one does not attract a transfer fee out of Philosophical reasoning. Secure our number one, financially and emotionally with a morally tested beautiful woman, and this will put us on top of group G. ...

• Deri 10 years ago

If your family does not like or appreciate your profession, just take your stuff and go. Ghanaians will not cry. You're not the first to coach the Stars, are you. you may boast to be the first to qualify the team to the WC, b ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

Kwesi,not everyone will be in the same page with you all the time.
    Some criticisms are constructive,and could edify,throw challenges,educate,create alertness and steer one toward the right course.
    I understand where you are ...

• Dave,Accra 10 years ago

I wish Kwesi Appiah will not talk much about these things.I believe this is not the time.Coach Appiah has unfinished job to do.Please let him finish it then he can talk about all these.Rather i wish he should concentrate on t ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

This is not news,Coach Kwesi Appiah must tell us if he is afraid to lead Ghana into the World Cup in Brazil next year.Which kind my family say what and what?When you collect your pay,you don't come and tell us this story so p ...

• NY City 10 years ago

Akwesi sorry okay, this world is like that. No pain no gain. Also what your family was saying was right. Its not like they dont trust u, They love u and they dont want to see u hurt or stressed. Also when the whole world reje ...

• afua from UK 10 years ago

Am very disappointed in you, don't you know that you are disgracing your wife and children. This is a family affair, you shouldn't put to public, what do you think people will think of your family especially your wife, how do ...

• Saaa 10 years ago

Afua, I do agree with you. The Man has washed his dirty Lilian in public. I wonder why he choose to air this .Ghanaians WILL BE JUDGEMENTAL.
    WOW, he could have waited to write about this in his memoirs it would have been m ...

• ESI 10 years ago

COACH AKWESI APPIAH, YOU HAVE ACCEPTED THE JOB TO HANDLE THE NATIONAL COACH SO PLEASE STOP TELLING US ABOUT YOUR WIFE,FAMILY ETC, AND FOCUS ON THE JOB.
    LET ME REMIND YOU THAT THE REAL ACID TEST FOR YOU IS THE WORLD CUP AND G ...

• STAPH-PHILADELPHIA 10 years ago

Kwasi Appiah should use air time wisely; whether on radio or TV. He has qualified for the world cup and needs to grow up to talk about the prospects of the team and not what he has started spewing.
    He shouldn't be surprise i ...

• MAKA 10 years ago

Thank you and well said. We have qualified before....this is not the first time. You think you are on fire now? The worldcup will be real fire when you see countries parading their stars. The qualification was a remarkable ac ...

CLEARLY, AA'S FAMILY MADE THEIR DECISIONNIN HASTE. THEY WERE EMITIONAL N NOT LOGICAL. THIS IS WHY U DONT TALK ABOUT CERTAIN ISSUES WITH UR WIFE N FAMILY. E.G MY PARENTS WERE ALWAYS EMOTIONAL WEN IT CAME TO MAKING DECISIONS CO ...

• Saaa 10 years ago

Please stop shouting with those capital letters. Its really annoying to read an all capital message. Do not be afraid not to be heard .Take it ea=y and read through your sentences before positing it . Perhaps you could need ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

We don't want to know about your family,please.

• MUGU YARO 2 10 years ago

What do u want to tell us?That you cannot be replaced or what?Let me tell u "IF U FEAR DIVORCE,U NO GO GET BETTER MARRIAGE.As for Ghana,WO KUM APEM A APEM BEBA.Kwasi,W'AYE BI PAA, NA DONT SPOIL YOUR RECORD with unnecessary ut ...