You are here: HomeSportsSoccer2013 12 01Article 293793

Ghana to unleash KP Boateng as striker at 2014 World Cup

Read Comments Comments (88)

• Mr.N 10 years ago

Get lost leave Appiah alone. To hell with these too know people. Leave him alone 2014 is not here yet anything can happen between now and 2014.

• ME-LONDON 10 years ago

The question is:Is this article necessary at this point in time? AAA is being paid to do that job. Ghanaweb don't start the confusion game.

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

What confusion? I had even thought about this before the game with Egypt in Kumasi. The good thing about Boateng is that he can play anywhere. Trust me he can also be a good defender at the central defense if paired with Essi ...

• shocker 10 years ago

Play 3-5-2 gyan and warris strikers and vorsah mensah and boye defensive. Asamoah essien mutari dede ayew and KPB midfielders

• paull siaw 10 years ago

wew schocker!! I LIKE YOUR SUGGESTION,ITS THE BEST !

• WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET 10 years ago

Free Internet tv streaming serving Ghanaians in the diaspora.
    WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET Brings You Live TV stations From Ghana.
    GTV, TV3, GTV Sports+, Adom TV Live, Joy News TV Live,
    Metro TV Ghana, e.tv And More.

• guyguy 10 years ago

I thought this was a message from Akwasi Appiah, not knowing its your own idea from watching another coach. Do you see how Jeventus use Kwadwo Asamoah? why dont you go around and suggest Akwasi Appiah will switch every player ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

GYAN 9 WITH WARRIS 10
    DEDE 10 WITH KPB 9

DEDE WAS AN ATTACKING MIDFIELDER WEN GH WON U20WAFU, AFCON N WCUP. SO WHY AA CHOOSES TO PLAY DEDE ON THE RIGHT OR LEFT WING IS BEYOND MY REASONING. WHICH COACHING SCH EDUCATED AA?

• Joe Tex 10 years ago

You are a very big hippocrate, Tawiah. Weren't you the same person who claim Ghanaians shouldn't not trust KPB with his injury claims and rained insults and profanity on any person trying to defend him? Now you realise those ...

• Kwaku Bonsu 10 years ago

WHY NOT??
    Ghana plays very well mid-field but lacks scoring ability. Scoring is all the game is about.

• HARD REPLY 10 years ago

This article is all about them taking money from Kevin Boateng to write for him. I am expecting this writer to rather tell Boateng that playing national team for 7 minutes cannot take you anywhere. Kevin is not fit for world ...

• SAMO JEWELLERY 10 years ago

gorgeous RINGS SHOULD NOT COST U A FORTUNE... iF U NEED YELLOW N WHITE GOLD FOR YOUR WEDDING N ENGAGEMENT RING..THEN SEARCH SAMO JEWELLERY ON FACEBOOK OR CALL OR WHATSAPP ME ON 0244717600 FOR MORE LATEST PICTURES ON YOUR FON. ...

• Rasheed@Rasheedmulor 10 years ago

Did you leave Odartey Lamptey alone to enjoy his marriage?.Chieftain. When you were sharing Odartey's wife with him,nobody asked you to leave her?,abi.We are now sharing appiah's job with him and you are now running amock.

• Sarskoberta 10 years ago

Yea right, the WC is not here yet.
    Must we not talk or plan for it?

REmember, procrastination is the thief of time.
    W'annkusa brOdedwoa a, 3b3hye.
    Beats Me.

• Africanus 10 years ago

Mr. N, Whether we like it or not, KPB is part of the team, we just have to accept it. Secondly debating how to deploy Kevin is not misplaced at-all. Given the guy's scoring instincts, it is only appropriate for a team like Bl ...

• Freddie 10 years ago

This article is unnecessary. Who does the screening before some of these unnecessary stories are published? It is a shame.

• DIAMOND 10 years ago

Some of us did express this thought already in this forum, long before the Egypt game and just (a few days) before that game.

I think it'll be a deadly combination for our opponents.

But keep Warris around with Gyan, le ...

• A concerned citizen 10 years ago

World is not yet and you guys have started making selection already. Please, don't bring any confusion time will tell

• kwame 10 years ago

i think is a good idea pairing gyan and boateng but that must be experimented in a friendly match before the world cup for ghanians to see how effective it could work

• AMERICA LOVER 10 years ago

Yes, I agree with you Mr Kwame.

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

An excellent suggestion like yours is what we need for the Black Stars, not the foolish and divisive behavior of the pot-bellied Afriyie Ankrah who wants to damage the unity this team brings to the nation with his stupid poli ...

• STOP AND THINK 10 years ago

AND IF GHANA FALLS WE ALL FALL. IF THESE STUPID POLITICIANS KNOWS WHAT THIS MEANS AND SOME GHANAIANS, AND WILL ABHOR SELFISHNESS AND LOVE THE WELFARE OF EACH FELLOW GHANAIAN, AND EACH GHANAIAN THINKING ABOUT THE WELFARE OF TH ...

• Rass Gbonyo 10 years ago

Good comments, but unfortunately some Ghanaians do not believe in that.It is just part of life.

• Murtala 10 years ago

HOW DO YOU KNOW HIS GOING TO MAKE IT TO THE WORLD CUP,WHICH COACH IN HIS RIGHTFUL MIND WILL DEPEND ON A PLAYER LIKE THIS IN A WORLD CUP TOURNAMENT,I DONT THINK SO.

• LISTEN TO ME, IT IS THE TRUTH. 10 years ago

Kevin-Prince Boateng is going to be "Killed" in 2014 before the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil by a hired Racist White Prostitute and Gold-Digger ---> "MELISSA SATTA".

To save Kevin-Prince Boateng's life it is up to all con ...

• nazir 10 years ago

I was going to say the same thing as u just did.This guy will never stop fucking that bitch called Melissa.She will prematurely terminate his carreer that's for sure.Well,in the case of whether he should be paired with Gyan o ...

• WOFA WOHOO 10 years ago

You did not explain who you are and why you saying or rather writing all these?Do you know this Mellisa and who is she?And why Kevin?We need a lot of answers,how are we sure you are not just a Prince kevin hater?If what you a ...

• asoubonteng 10 years ago

The Racist White Prostitute and Gold-Digger ---> "MELISSA SATTA" can't do boateng anything cuz they love each other .. you just happened not to like her ..

• isaac danso 10 years ago

You guys are very funny most great men have higher sex drive. This is what kept them working hard with strong motivation. They are motivated by their sex drive. Try to make good love and start thinking about an idea you been ...

U ARE RIGHT. HAD HE FOCUSED ON HIS CAREER N DONE AWAY WITH YO YO ISM N WHITE GIRLS. Y3N NKO NKOAA IN AC MILAN. HE WOULD BE A FIT, BETTER PLAYER. WAT AN IDIOT

Kevin-Prince Boateng is going to be "Killed" in 2014 before the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil by a hired Racist White Prostitute and Gold-Digger ---> "MELISSA SATTA".

• samuel ato ellis 10 years ago

i think they should play boateng from the left and any ayew from the right . and let gyan and waaris be up front because we need fast players to make our attack very sharp, this is my starting line up fore black stars ,2) je ...

WE HVE TOO MANY MIDFIELDERS. WE NEED MENTALLY STRONG STRIKERS. GYAN WITH WARRIS. DEDE WITH KPB. I DISAGREE WITH UR LINE UP. TOO MANY ERRORS N PLAYERS OUT OF POSITION.

• YAW 10 years ago

And of course available players (suspended, fit or injured )

• PHISCUS 10 years ago

JUST PLAYED 10MINS OF THE WHOLE QUALIFYING SERIES AND WARIS IS GONNA BE SITTING ON BENCH,YEAH.FOOLISH AND IDIOTIC MINDS.WHY DO YOU LET PEOPLE TAKE ADVANTAGE OF US GHANAIANS ALWAYS.MONKEY DEY WORK,BABOON DEY CHOP.THAT'S WHY WE ...

its by grace .. boateng just giving 10 minute changed the story and such is his qualities. there is no foolishness here .. i even believe boateng will even do better than gyan in that role

Kevin is a senior player and deserve a first team selection

• WOFA WOHOO 10 years ago

Kevin would be good to parten with Asamoah gyan and Warris,am not sure about jordan cos we need a stronger and good strikers.my advise to coach you have six months to fix your teamthe defence and goalkeeping need help plus st ...

• T.JAKE 10 years ago

very good he scored lots of goals for AC MILAN..of which the best was against Barcelona ...afterall time will be alloted to Waris tooo

• Dirty burgar 10 years ago

Asamoah Gyan and Warris are in peccable.Essien and Muntari to me is a mismarch too mamy faulty passes.Kelvin should replace one of them

appiah is still scared to start essien and muntari from the bench that is why we need a technical director before the world cup if not appiah will be fired at the world cup

• Rasheed@Rasheedmulor 10 years ago

Did you leave Odartey Lamptey's wife alone?Chieftain.You were sharing Odarteyis wife with him,and now we also want to share Appiah's job with him,you are begging us.

• kad 10 years ago

i think, it will be very good, but
    majeed waris must play the world cup tu

• Dirty burgar 10 years ago

Ghana has played nine world cup matches in total not even one did the midfield break but since Kwesi took over the midfield has always being suspect even during the African cup of nations. Anthony Annan is the answer

• nana kwame 10 years ago

between asamoah and kelvin who will do the dirty work in front ...warris have been doing that for asamoah gyan so i dnt think is a good idea...

• Kofi Antwi 10 years ago

4-3-2-1 Christmas Tree formation is the best for the Blackstars. The "2" attacking midfielders can be KPB and Andre Ayew with Gyan as the "1" in the formation. 4-3-2-1! For this formation, you need fullbacks to play wider are ...

• Muntari 10 years ago

I agree with this formation. I like this formation of 4-3-2-1

• anokwale 10 years ago

Being realistic, we need to stick with Warris. He has earned the starting position. He combines with Gyan well. No need to rock the boat. Prince can come in as a super sub at the 60th minute. Remember Prince has a bad kn ...

• isaac danso 10 years ago

We should not go to this world cup with the mentality to defend. we should go to win by scoring more goals.we got the strikers so we use them to get our goals. Go for the goals let the other team defend.we are not going to pl ...

• Kofi Antwi 10 years ago

4-3-2-1 is an offensive scheme. Ghana don't have the strikers. The 2 are attacking midfielder/strikers. You have to keep a compact midfield. No way you could play 3 strikers. Remember the defense is very bad.

• Kofi. USA 10 years ago

Agreed. Agreed. Ghana could be dangerous with Gyan, Waris, and KPB up front.
    Of course all our midfield of Dede, Essien, Muntari, and Asamoah could make the middle strong and also join the attach as needed.
    This would fo ...

• KOFI BONSU 10 years ago

we have almost 6months to go and allis posible,we pray they keep fit,injury free and constante playing time,then we take it from there

• ABDULBASSEL 10 years ago

If you journalists don't have anything to write about why don't you lick your pen and live us alone, you continue to hype a half fit player who can brrak down anytime like a Chinese UTONG bus. The goal he scored in Egypt was ...

• HARD REPLY 10 years ago

Kevin has a cronic knee problem, he is not fit for world cup. He has not been part of the national team until he saw the qualification.

• Soweto Koomson 10 years ago

Judging from how Kevin scored that goal against Egypt, one can clearly say that it was a prolific finish. Many strikers including Gyan himself might have missed. It is a good idea to play hi, as a striker with Gyan, Warris an ...

• Rass Gbonyo 10 years ago

Please keep this article in your pocket. Waris, Waris, WARIS!

• Osei 10 years ago

THE HEADING DOES NOT RELATE TO THE ARTICLE.THE WORD "COULD" WAS MISSING MR. WRITER.

• TRUTH 10 years ago

COACH APPIAH SHOULD USED TWO OF THEM,THERE SHOULD BE CHANGES IF IT IS POSSIBLE,TWO OF THEM CAN PARTNER DJAN,IT IS GOOD WE HAVE TWO OF THEM.

• Kwasia Addo Dankwa 10 years ago

I think it's a good idea To pair KP Boat and baby jet upfront. Warris Jordan Super Subs...cos dis two are quick and intelligent.......Also I want Coach Kwesi Appiah to Reconsider Kwadwo Asamoah for the No.3 position...I think ...

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

It's an option that was waiting for us to experiment for the longest time. Coach Kwasi Appiah is the man to make decisions and I don't think anyone should try to tell him what to do. In the Egypt match he brought in Kevin and ...

• bernard 10 years ago

Is not a good idea at all kvp is not fast like waris. We have to be very careful before we destroy the team.

• SIS P 10 years ago

two top strikers are best KP is a good material Gyan

• NANA USED BAWUMIA 10 years ago

KPB SHOULD BE MADE THE LEAD STRIKER AND GYAN THE SHADOW STRIKER. KPB IS FEARLESS, STRONG, SMART, ACCURATE, INTIMIDATING, FAST, AND RESILIENT. WARIS CAN BE A SUBSTITUTE FOR GYAN WHO IS ALWAYS TIRED AFTER 70 MINUTES PLAY.

• a to 10 years ago

a rise and shine mother ggana for 9 million nigeria are taking over your land gradually, you cannot buy land in
    nigeria, you allso cannot purchase
    plot any where in west africa only
    in ghana this foolish can take place

• Mohammed Ibrahim 10 years ago

Kevin-Prince Boateng is not a Striker.KPB should Play in the Midfield behind Asamoah Gyan,and Majid Waris.

• ODISIKA. 10 years ago

AFTER WORLD CUP IN BRAZIL, KPB WILL SAY BYEBYE BLACK STARS.Next world cup KPB will say I am a PATRIOTIC GHANA MAN.

• >>Shop online at www.hemoh.com 10 years ago

that wud be bombarstic

• paanii123 10 years ago

i think asamoah gyan himself has come out to say that there is telepathy between him and waris.and so i will really go for gyan partnering waris to gyan and boateng

• PHOBIA-PHOBIA--Leeds 10 years ago

Mr.writer,why do you describe Ghana's goal as a consolation goal if we did qualify on 7-3 aggregate?Now tell us whom'consolation'befits? Again,our players work hand in hand with the coach and they do understand each other.Lea ...

• DIAMOND 10 years ago

He never said it was a consolation goal for the qualifiers.
    He simply meant that it was a consolation for that match.
    Coming back in Minute 88 to get one goal is a consolation from a game that was almost over.
    Did we not s ...

• Nii Adjetey Cleland 10 years ago

it will be the greatest and dreadiest attacking team in the competition

• Anthony 10 years ago

The style/tactics Ghana have been using since 2006 4-2-3-1, If they have to pair Prince with Asamoa Gyan upfront then that system would change to 4-4-2 in my opinion. Are the Blackstars comfortable and strong with 4-4-2 forma ...

• Akamai 10 years ago

So him playing for Parma... He is better than washed up mount aria and Essien

• Kofi - USA 10 years ago

I think Gyan - Kevin partnership will be the best Ghana can have!

• OKOROMANSA 10 years ago

THIS IS A GOOD SUGGESTION. WE HAVE GOOD GUS IN MIDFIELD - RABIU, ESSIEN, MUNTARI, ASAMOAH, BADU, AYEW, WAKASO - FINE. BUT WE DO NOT HAVE THAT DREADFUL ATTACKING LINE AND I THINK KEVIN COULD MOVE UPFRONT. THE POINT IS NONE OF ...

• Oheneba osei Yaw Akoto 10 years ago

yessssssss

• Kofi juma 10 years ago

Asamoah and KP will be a perfect duo upfront. I believe Waris will be fine on the since he still warming into the shoes of role models like the baby jet.

• ntim prince 10 years ago

bullshit

• Edem 10 years ago

That will never be a good idea.It will rather block the chance of getting a better striker to do the job.

• PRINCE from northern R/G 10 years ago

what do you pple mean

• PRINCE from northern R/G 10 years ago

why him just matain warise majeed

• Alex, from Wa 10 years ago

To partner Gyan with Kelvin at the world cup will frankly speaking not yield the number of goals we may need. Hence, it will be perfect idea to just partner Gyan with Wares and cup will for Ghanians. This is because Wares nor ...

• ° ° ° O G I D I G I D I ° ° ° 10 years ago

i think gud idea

TOO MANY COMMENTS ON HERE ARE TOTALLY THE QUESTION THAT WAS POSED. THIS IS THE QUESTION:
    Do you think it is a good idea to partner Gyan and Kevin-Prince Boateng in Ghana’s attack at the 2014 World Cup? Do you think it wi ...

• ACHEAMPONG ERIC 10 years ago

he should play the three strikers.fomation should b 433.