You are here: HomeReligion2016 07 26Article 458143

“Over-spiritualization” is making many Ghanaians non-critical thinkers

Read Comments Comments (44)

• Beez 7 years ago

Agree 100% with headline!

• Anani 7 years ago

I strongly agree ..We are refusing to think .its strange..thats why we are at where we are....

• SAINT GHFUO, MEDIOCRITY STINKS CUUHH! 7 years ago

these so called reverends should be taxed. i dont understand why the fucking govt is listening to these faggot white ppl to not tax these greedy preachers...they are dumbing and misinforming the public to be confident and cou ...

• XMAN 7 years ago

OUR COUNTRY IS IN DEEP TROUBLE DUE TO RELIGION.

• Afro-Purity 7 years ago

And the sad thing is,majority are completely ignorant of the history of their so called various "foreign religious doctrines".But seek refuge in someone's ananesem.

For a whole people,continent, to willingly avail their m ...

• EZEKIEL 7 years ago

Afro -Purity.....thanks for saying it as it is! WE AFRICANS ARE JUST LOST! We could have embraced EDUCATION of the West KEPT our Spirituality!!
    As Thmas Paine observed.." the Christian religion is a PARODY on the worship o ...

• GhanaMan 7 years ago

you said it all. let them listen or continue to dance in ignorance.

• SALVATION DELIGHTs. 7 years ago

Faith for us to believe, not knowing Salvation makes all things possible, in thoughts, thinking, reasoning and knowledge for information. The savior went to parties of sinners to drink wine, to eat food prepared through scien ...

Sometime past, and plucking the notes to sway us into some mode of thinking for us to render our riches to them in freedoms as they say. However, we had our freedoms until they came to manufactured borders, pots to require vi ...

He understood their systems and operations to beat around them for his needs as he saw fit, while delaying or nicely rejecting their advances, moreso, when it did not seem clear in his interest to our nations. We need leaders ...

Agree with me or get grips of what I am saying for reflections.

Other nations into submissions. It is a form of Dictator, but abstract in it approaches to enticements. Are fullfil of my sernovs of scriptures. Awviedesean.

Is being violated, mutilated and abuse by his friend in a foreign land, do you expect the citizen to give respect to that foolish president? Whereas these foreign president always talks about protecting their citizen? They th ...

• Ghanaian diasporan. 7 years ago

We better be mindful of where we are being taken to, by these so called Men of God.If we are not careful, our Country will fall into total darkness when we come to the realization that what the Pastors are continually promisi ...

• KOBI 7 years ago

WOW SOMEONE HAS FINALLY GOT THE "BALLS" TO SAY WHAT MANY OF "US" (UNBELIEVERS) HAVE KNOW FOR AS LONG AS I CAN REMEMBER IN MY 50 YEARS ON EARTH.

AT LEAST HE WOULD NOT BE CRITICISED ALL CALLED THE "SATAN". - WELL BETTER LATE ...

• mtumishi 7 years ago

what is the way forward? How do we change the mind set of a whole population?

• OBINNA 7 years ago

GHANAIANS WALLOW IN IGNORANCE, FAILING TO USE THEIR GOD-GIVEN BRAINS IN EFFORT TO SOLVE PROBLEMS. GHANAIANS DO NOT HAVE "THE CAN DO" ATTITUDE. THE BEHAVE LIKE A DEFEATIST PEOPLE

• SAINT GHFUO, MEDIOCRITY STINKS CUUHH! 7 years ago

i have met many naija ppl who are worse. confused as shit....so what r u talking about...go to indonesia n read about the so called can do naija ppl who have been executed like cattle for can doing drug traffikin...

• Tenneson 7 years ago

On the spot

• TRUMAN 7 years ago

i have thought of this for long.smaet people have been fleecing the ignorant for too long.let all know that the only objective of Christianity and any other religion is to go to heaven. for cars ,money houses,being the presid ...

• TRUMAN 7 years ago

YES PRESIDENT MAHAMA IS THE NO 1 PERSON WHO USES HIS SUPPOSED FEAR OF GOD TO DECEIVE THE PEOPLE.IT WAS STARTED BY ATTAH MILLS BUT YOUR CHRISTIANITY IS YOUR PERSONAL WAY OF GOING TO HEAVEN.YOUR MAIN JOB IS TO DEVELOP THE COUNT ...

• K Man 7 years ago

I agree 100% with what the reverand is saying. Those on here who seem think he is saying Ghanaians should abandon their faith are missing the point....I interpreted his saying as have your faith but use your brain to engage w ...

• LA-STAR 7 years ago

Couldn't have said it better myself K Man. People in this forum are always missing the point of these kind's of discussions.

• Fabs 7 years ago

Interesting what has been said and agree with the reverend more than 100% if that is possible. This article should be on the main pages, because this issue of lack of critical thinking and passiveness in the face of poor gove ...

• African patriot 7 years ago

First step for Ghanaians to gin any semblance of respect is to get ride of hat ridiculous White image of the Christ that is on every corner of Accra. A white blond blue eye Christ born and raised in the hot African sun is the ...

Every Ghanaian home has a picture of a False God, which is an image of European from Rome. People, where is your God? You do not even have a picture of your Mom and Dad, or grand parents, yet a framed White man on your wall. ...

• dennis awah 7 years ago

i do not agree that over-spiritualism is the problem, superstition and religion are the problem because they lead to over-spiritualism. when religions teach superstition as true - miracles, prophecies,incantations, ressurecti ...

• I be African Man Original 7 years ago

Religion is not Spirituality.

Religion is organized group brainwashing.

Spirituality is Nature in action.

• Apostle Mawuetornam Dugbazah 7 years ago

Dear Mr. Asante:

The word spirit refers to the seat of knowledge associated with a human being's design.

Unfortunately, you have characterised EMOTIONAL or ANECDOTAL reasoning for the use of the human spirit to retriev ...

• Diasporan 7 years ago

Your mind is still so trapped in the miasma of 1st. century foreign Christian belief that you fail to comprehend the true meaning of the article at hand. Your mind is so overpowered by your misconception of some one else's G ...

• kp 7 years ago

Could you please tell us about this African 'GOD'?

• Diasporan 7 years ago

I don't claim to be a godly man. If I were suspestitioun and religious, I would devote my time finding out a god from my own culture just as all founders of religions have done. Examples: Judaism derives from a Jewish cultu ...

• Mawuetornam Dugbazah 7 years ago

What is your belief system? Is it heathenism or righteousness? Please tell us. We are listening.

Sincerely,
    Apostle Mawuetornam Dugbazah
    Thank you and God bless you. Peace.

• Mawuetornam Dugbazah 7 years ago

It has been addressed to Diasporan.

• mr okum 7 years ago

food for thought to us all. let all build our human capital for national development and stop chasing some these so called ''prophets'' Thanks our dear Dad. for Christ! we live

• joe 7 years ago

Trust or not if u have a wife or girlfriend in Ghana,make calls from Sunday to Sunday the answer u will receive is am going to church or am in the church aba.so I wonder who will do the production for our economy to grow kora ...

• PAPA NUAMAH 7 years ago

MY PEOPLE PERISH [ARE DESTROYED] FOR LACK OF KNOWLEDGE....HOSEA 4:6

• Obed Adore 7 years ago

Good job Bernard!

• Atindor 7 years ago

I am happy with this assertion by a great man of God. Ghanaians need to make a switch now to the use of our complex brains given by God to humans.
    We should put human beings and NOT God at the centre.

• Diasporan 7 years ago

Yes: Ghana is very susceptible to the deceitfulness of crafty Christian priets, traditional soothsayers, and other quacks. Illiteracy, ignorance, superstition and fatalism deprive the majority of Ghanians of critical scient ...

• Sunsum KronKron 7 years ago

yOU ARE 100% RIGHT.This is why the majority of Ghanaians have become intellectually dysfunctional.

God made Man in his Image, and Kwesi Broni made God in their Image. So, for most Ghanaians when you see Kwesi Broni, you see God. Ghanaian Pastors dress like their Masters in Business Suit, ready to do business on poor peopl ...

• Yussif 7 years ago

Its the gospel truth.Its making many stupid and they being exploited and cheated by crooks.

• Ama 7 years ago

This is well said, we like to over spiritualize things. We need to look both practical and spiritual into things