You are here: HomeReligion2015 04 07Article 353439

Methodist Church not forcing members to pay MUC debt - Rev Asante

Read Comments Comments (33)

• Methodist Layman 9 years ago

Sorry, if we borrowed GHC10 million two years ago and have managed to pay back GHC17 million, then how much more do we have to pay to settle the debt?

• kojo 9 years ago

Ask again! this stupid of a fellow is always out shouting on rooftops whilst he cannot even manage his own home.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 9 years ago

A pastor was coming out from the church when he met another colleague in the ministry. the following conversation took place:
    C: Hello Pastor, how was the service?

P: Fine Bro. God bless you.

C: I hope people came with ...

• ABDUL 9 years ago

after going through all this pain and toil for the church, a naive moslem who has contributrd nothing will sit somewhere and demand a funny kind of right. look at them like something...

• kojo 9 years ago

This is the guy who has always be making stupid comments and claims to have a solution to the nations problem. If you cannot manage a church like the Methodist -where you get free money (tithes, offertory, special levies)etc. ...

• Yaw 9 years ago

Reporter got name wrong by referring to Rev Asante as Mantey, moderator of the Presby Church.
    I'm a methodist but I'll resist any move to as my congregation to pay this loan. MUC is being mismanaged period, and that's is the ...

• kk 9 years ago

it is serious. after paying all these loans , we compete with moslems in these schools for placement, pay same fees. I have a problem with how my church runs the school. CUC far ahead because they have good managements; bette ...

• wofayaw- Lawra 9 years ago

Well done JM for the excellent work done .

• Abrantie 9 years ago

So you are only pleased with one road done by this govt.What about other sectors of the economy being collapsed.
    Is the church going to share its profit from the school with the congregation if they is an

• P.K 9 years ago

GOD bless you for undertaking fulfilled investment for the church. The church of the Lord must grow to save souls. stop asking questions as if The man of GOD has chop the funds.hypocrites

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

Those who jump for joy when this Rev. Asante unfairly attack president Mahama's administration to you I say see Rev Asante and other men of God what they’ve become; a not so God-fearing church leaders.

Why would our God ...

• KKO 9 years ago

You are so bloody stupid! Did he say he used the money to build a house for himself? The money was used to expand the infrastructure of the university, which attracts people from all walks of life in Ghana. Because it is a ch ...

• Abbas,london 9 years ago

look at another stupid, did john dramani mahama too use the money to build Manson for himself. prove it if u have a case. this so called pastors can spew insults on the president as if they are angels, from their fruits they ...

• KKO 9 years ago

This must be koranic IS English. Wow!

• Kofi Kofi Go. 9 years ago

Ghanaweb it's Rev Martey Or Asante? What kind journalist this? Also what kind of loan interest that the church have paid 17 million and still pending. It's 100% interest or more.

• Ishimoto 9 years ago

Things fall apart the center cannot hold. You took the money for the expansion project without looking at the returns that will payback because you know you have membership who are many and well resouced to pay off ghc10m ove ...

• ICONIC-07 9 years ago

WHAT DO YOU EXPECT IF YOU ELECT A VISIONLESS-IDEALESS, CLUELESS AND LEADERLESS AYENSU AS THE MODERATOR OF METHODIST CHURCH.

USELESS AYENSU IS CUT FOR DIRTY POLITICS THAN A PASTOR, AND HIS BEST PLACE IS THE METHODIST CHURCH ...

• Kweku Twum 9 years ago

But Prof, the real figure plus the interest should be made public. My little advise is pls ensure the school fully operates on profits and stop any subsidy scheme if there is one. God bless you sir.

• yaw 9 years ago

massa it's true.come to the central region.churches are been levied to pay off that debt.

• Kofi Yesu 9 years ago

In my humble opinion, I suggest that income-generating activities such as operating a private university should be separated from the core activities of the church - which is winning souls for Christ. It beats my imagination ...

• nii 9 years ago

What is the man of God saying that it is not true i beg to differ it was announced at church on this very sunday and hell broke loose in the house of the lord my question is when they were going for the loan did they inform u ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 9 years ago

Pastor Asante was on his way back to the parish from an extended out-of-Town trip. Eager to be home before dark, he was traveling well over the speed limit and ended up being pulled over by a Policeman. The officer was not im ...

• Kwaku Ananse 9 years ago

Is it the same guy who wants to run the power ministry?

• kofi 9 years ago

No. Just another previlaged idiot like him

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

METHODIST CHURCHES THROUGHOUT THE WHOLE COUNTY ARE STILL IN BAD SHAPE, YET,IT WAS POSSIBLE FOR THE ADMINISTRATORS OF THE METHODIST CHURCH OF GHANA TO GO FOR A LOAN AND TO ESTABLISH A METHODIST UNIVERSITY IN THE COUNTRY.

DI ...

• Abbas,london 9 years ago

just a simple university u cant manage yet some of u have the gut to insult mahama for not managing the country well. pro martey shd come and help u solve dis problem within 3 months

• kweks 9 years ago

All Methodists must contribute and pay. Let us know the reform you have in place before we will release the funds.
    MOBA help out

• kofi 9 years ago

Prof martey over to you. Your brothers in Christ need your help. This should be peanuts for you if you can end dumsor in three months

• POPIE QAT 9 years ago

IF THE CHURCH CAN RAISE 17 MILLION TEL ME WHY THE CHUCRH SHOULD NOT PAY TAX

• Igp 9 years ago

No tertiary education is free in any country, from China to USA, Methodist University College of Ghana. Learn from the Catholics and their educational system in the Vatican and the USA. Education is expensive and not free esp ...

• olive 9 years ago

Mr Bishop, the society you are talking about is made up of church members not the church building, so stop saying that you are not asking the members to pay any debt.

• Just Passing By 9 years ago

If a church is paying 60,000 is that money going to come from the stones, or the pews, or the flooring? Naturally it's going to come from member contributions, either past, present or future. So please don't insult our intell ...

• COS OF PROF. MANTEY LUK!!!! 9 years ago

NDC WILL ASSASSINATE THE CHURCH THINKING IT WILL LOSS UTS MANDATE .. AFTER WHAT PROF. MANTEY SAID!! PATHETIC!! DID SAME TO SEVERAL PPLE INCLUDING THE ASANTE CHIEF ND MOST REV MINISTERS.. THEY WILL DIG EVERY SOIL TO BRING OUT ...