You are here: HomeReligion2014 08 13Article 321031

Accra gets new Central Mosque

Read Comments Comments (126)

• Kofi Osman 9 years ago

This is a magnificent mosque; it was a good idea to tear down the one at Makola. That one did not befit a place of worship in the center of the city.
    Thanks to the contributors.

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

they now have their fortress of evil and soon we will see them cutting throats of innocent Christians

• EWURADE KASA 9 years ago

Congratulations and I hope this building would be used to promote the true and other side of Islam which is missing, and not the current form of Islam as promoted by ISIS, HAMAS, BOKO HARAM, FATAH, and the ISLAMIC JIHAD. I ho ...

• NEMESIS RADAR, UK!! 9 years ago

It is a matter of time before the DESTRUCTIVE ISLAMIC TERRORISM SEED that is being planted in Ghana germinated and become uncontrollable MENACE. Ask Nigerians for their experiences at the hands of these ARABIAN JIHADISTS men ...

• ranting 9 years ago

so is this what u want the state to be like.why cant we have sane humans thinking .in central African republic it was the Christians who were killing moslems but that one no media could report because it was not Christian fu ...

• BIRAHMA 9 years ago

The guillotine which was used to cut heads was not invented by muslims

• KENKEY BOY 9 years ago

They ( Arkaida, Boko Haram, Fattah, Isis etc.) are not using guillotines to cut heads, they are using the swords Mohammed used during his jihad days. I hope the curricular of the training college would be presented to the Nat ...

• KWASI 9 years ago

MAHAMA IS RESPONSIBLE FOR THE SPREAD OF ISLAM IN GHANA THAT WILL TURN GHANA
    INTO HAVEN FOR BOKO HARAM,ISSIS OF IRAQ, HISBULLA AND OTHER MANY TERROR OREGANISATIONS.ISLAM THAT HAVE NO RESPECT FOR HUMEN LIFE ,NO RESPECT FOR B ...

• joe 9 years ago

ISLAM ATTEMPT TO TAKE OVER GHANA POSE RISK TO GHANA SECURITY BULIDING SUCH A HUGH BLDG IN ACCRA IS THE MOST DANGER THING TO DO IT WILL BE MAGNET TO IRAN KILLERS, BOKO HARAM CRIMINALS,HAMMAS TERRORIST ,ISSIS KILLERS FROM IRAQ ...

• me 9 years ago

YOU ARE VERY STUPID.IT IS RATHER YOUR STATEMENT AND OTHER CHRISTIANS WHICH IS TREATH TO NATIONAL SECURITY.YOU PEOPLE CONTINUE TO POST TRASH WHENEVER THERE IS AN ARTICLE ABOUT ISLAM WHILE AND AT THE SAMD TIME CLAIM TO BE PEAC ...

• Thomas 9 years ago

Your repeated comments of "fucking Christianity" tells mountains of information about your terrorist inclinations. It is one thing to disagree with the religion of other people - it is quite another to characterize other reli ...

• MARY 9 years ago

Ghana is a Christian country why this
    big mosque in the Capital?

• Draw 9 years ago

If Ghana is actually
    a Christian country then you need not worry about this big Mosque

• ranting 9 years ago

if u call somebody an idiot u are an angel rite.when yoyur ilk cause mayhem and people reack,u turn the table round to insult islam.remember the one who calls for rain gets it first.u swine of a humanif u call JESUS your god ...

• KB 9 years ago

Bomboclaaaat means suicide bomb creaters in your language.You are an asshole to insult someone with a word that starts with bomb... fucking terrorist

• ASUO 9 years ago

Do we need this temple of Satan worshipers in Ghana? What are Islamic people doing in this world? These devil worshipers are sowing seed of discord everywhere in the Middle East. These Muslims want to eliminate Christians fro ...

• Piss be upon him 9 years ago

Thank you my brother. You have already seen the light. Allah is not our Lord God Jehovah. He is a deity. Allah is Allah. Mohamed (piss be upon him) was a murderous Allah worshiper. I heard he molested little girls in the name ...

• Ben 9 years ago

you Asuo Ghana doe's not belogs to you mother fuker you crazy,what ever you do we will build it,ess hole.

• CATALYST 9 years ago

IT IS THE LIKES OF YOUR TYPES THAT BREED INTER RELIGIOUS CONFLICTS. PREACHING FALSEHOOD,HATRED AND LIES. ARE YOU BLAMING ISLAM FOR MIDDLE EAST CRISES?? NO!!NO!!YOU ARE WRONG!!MOSLEMS AND CHRISTIANS HAVE LONGED LIVED TOGETHER ...

• ASUO 9 years ago

Be bold and write this same letter to ISIS if you believe the shit you talking about.

Be bold and tell your Immans to delete that part of Quran that says infidels including Christians and Jews must submit to Allah and his ...

• YAHYA 9 years ago

IF U ARE A TRUE BELIEVER,U SHOULD KNOW FROM WHAT EVER SCRIPTURE U USE THAT EVERY LIVING CREATURE SUBMITS TO ALLAH CONSCIOUSLY OR UNCONSCIOUSLY ELSE STOP BREATHING IN THE AIR.

• Hawwa 9 years ago

Islam is fast growing religion on earth with all your Media condeminatin and propaganda, all the nonesense that you haters are talking here is like spiting to the moon, since your spit can not reach the moon so is all the non ...

• ranting 9 years ago

asou do you know any thing called HISTORY.are u a humanbeing or an animal.do u even listen to the so called news,who killing who in middle east,and u call your self a xtian.even JESUS will reject u with this attitude.MAY God ...

• OBURUMANKUMA NANA 9 years ago

Two-faced, bloody, evil, wicked Turkey supports Boko Haram. Turkish Airlines was caught fili-fili shipping arms to unknown persons in Nigeria. Evil Turkey has also been training and arming the "jihadi" terrorists of ISIS/ISIL ...

• YAHYA 9 years ago

GOD IS WATCHING US ALL. WE SHALL COME TO KNOW THE TRUTH BUT IT WILL BE TOO LATE. HOWEVER, I WILL PRAY FOR U.

• Alhajii the moor sunnah muslim 9 years ago

BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU SAY ABOUT ALLAHS BLISS ON GHANA HE IS THE AL-GHANI MEANS HE IS THE RICH AND POWERFUL OVER ALL CREATIONS AND DO AS HE PLEASES TO WHOM AND WHERE BE AND IT BE ALL MANKINDED

• ASUO 9 years ago

The will of your Allah is to kill Iraq Christians and other minorities in Iraq?
    It is not the will of God Almighty to kill Christians who will not convert to satanic Islamic religion.

Ghana does not need your deadly and d ...

• Dee 9 years ago

learn and learn. dont just type. but learn before commenting. shame

• ASUO 9 years ago

What are reasons ISIS Islamic militants are killing Christians in Iraq? They are doing what Mohammed preached. Infidels including Christians to Mohammed must submit to Allah and his prophet. If the infidels refuses to submit, ...

• Abdul 9 years ago

Thank you Christian. It is nice to know that, every good Muslim who follows the teachings of God in the Quran will tell you these people are not representing Islam and their actions must be condemned by every Muslim on earth. ...

• ASUO 9 years ago

IRA was a political movement. It was not a religious organization. Their political killings were condemned by all good Christians including Catholic church.

Tell what Islamic country has condemned what ISIS is doing. ISIS ...

• PEACE 9 years ago

For a long time mankind has known the world will someday come to an end. Those familiar with the Hebrew Holy Scriptures know that, at this coming end, Elohim, the Creator-Judge of the universe, will resurrect all dead people ...

• PEACE 9 years ago

none of them belonging to the countless and diverse denominations of Christianity, qualify for Heaven!

• PEACEMEAL 9 years ago

PLEASE GHANAWEB FOR THE SAKE OF SANE PEOPLE AND PEACE OF HUMANITY PULL THIS STORY DOWN OR CHECK THE COMMENTS.ITS BECOMING DANGEROUS...

Shut the fuck up. Your Allah is a god. The Lord God is not Allah. God hasn't ordered anyone to kill Jews or to collect taxes from non-moslems. Neither has he ordered any mortal to wage war on another mortal in order to force ...

• Abdul 9 years ago

Ignorant, Islam was spready fast in Ghana before President Mahama was born. Educate yourself.

• PEACE 9 years ago

Cruelty in the New Testament
    Thy carcase shall be meat unto all fowls of the air, and unto the beasts of the earth, and no man shall fray them away.--Dt.28:26

Whenever we read ... the cruel and tortuous executions, the un ...

You are definitely not ok. Either you are stupid or on some drugs. You pick incomplete pieces of verses from the Bible to suit yourself. Wo nnim nyansa. Continue to wallow in stupidity and don't repent, the time will come and ...

• soo 9 years ago

instead of speaking this way let us learn. Do you see what honesty and accontability can do? US 10 million building this big mosque to be covered with marble, also to build teacher training collecge, SHS and other buildings. ...

• Allahu akbar God is great..... 9 years ago

Allahu akbar God is great.....

• dick 9 years ago

reduce their numbers rather.. why ghana is encouraging terrorist organizations by building mosque ? build more churches and close and burn down mosques

PRAYERS IS BETTER SLEEP...SLEEPING IS THE FIRST COUSIN TO DEATH KEEP TALKING FEAR ALLAH

• BRIBI REBA 9 years ago

Just produce 'mujahadeen' murderers. What is Islam to Ghanaians. Islam means killing of innocent people. Why haven't Ghanaian heard you about ISIS killing Christians and other ethnic groups in Iraq.

We shall find ways to d ...

HOW TO MAKE A SLAVE.......THE SELLOUTS KINGS AND CHIEFS IN AFRICA FRREE PEOPLE,,,,,,speak on the real history ALLAHS SERVANTS IS NOT WEAK.....prayers is better than sleeping we all will answer to ALLAH

• dick 9 years ago

stupid slaves to foolish islamic religion. ghana must imprison all moslems and sell the rest to slave traders.

• Vodoo Xebieso 9 years ago

Whatever you say here, Christianity is better than Islam 200 times. You can go to hell. I don't care whether you are a muslim or not. After seeing those blood-cuddling pictures of body-less heads and head-less bodies on CNN, ...

Insight-to-the-bone, for the first time, you made great sense to me and I must support your views. This building must NEVER be allowed to stand. If allowed, the source of the US$10 million for the project would be tele-misgui ...

• Dee 9 years ago

fool. the building was completed.

• Abdul 9 years ago

I wonder if you know how long has Islam been in Ghana, were Muslims not co-existing all these years peacefully before this project begun? The project is almost complete and Islam is there to stay in Ghana. Jealousy.

• ASUO 9 years ago

That Satan temple will never stay on Ghana's soil. Go to Somalia and Mali to build your Satan temples.

You want to come here and spoil Ghana's peace. We have seen what you are doing to some Christians.

• Mohammed 9 years ago

stop this ignorant if you do not know what to say.

• Bawku 9 years ago

ignorant people like you should be careful when commenting on issues on social media

• ranting 9 years ago

may the God u think u worship(if any)forgive u

• Rebecca Brown 9 years ago

Was there any evaluation done on the implication of this structure to the presidency? This should be Nunoo Mensah's job - stomach politician like him. I am really worried about how close this faciltiy is to the Flagstaff Hous ...

• PEACE 9 years ago

For many Christians, the apostles of the Savior are the surest of people to enter Heaven. Of course, the Bible accounts on the faith of these apostles rightly give Christians this assurance.
    Knowing this, every Christian of ...

• Musa K. 9 years ago

Peace, I can understand your confusion! Please take time, and prayerfully read the gospel of John in modern English.

Existence of Christianity in the New Testament.
    Acts 11:26 And when he had found him, he brought him un ...

• Nii Akompi Ofadi=Nsuro 9 years ago

We are nener Moslems and will never be, What a Full....ck is going on in Ga=Mashie who authorised this?. CHia po!

• insight and born 9 years ago

well you may have your views and they are yours. cutting throats has not been the preserve of people who are associated with Islam only. cutting throats, to me can come from any one who is out of his human senses, a condition ...

• dani 9 years ago

we are holding mahama responsible for allowing turkey and iran to build
    unwanted Islamic centers in Ghana
    that will only serve as future breeding grounds for radical islam here in ghana

Cutting or slitting of throats at the slightest provocation or religious intolerance is the preserve of MUSLIMS. Period.

• Majeed 9 years ago

May God/Allah/Jehovah almighty be praised. God of Adam,Noah,Moses,Jesus and Mohammed (may the peace and blessings of Allah be upon them).

We thank Allah for this and we pray for him to guide us to use this structure for th ...

THANK YOU MY FAMILY ALLAHS BLESSING TO YOU AND YOUR FAMILY AMEEM

• idris 9 years ago

Masha Allah

• Yaa Maggie 9 years ago

We have to know if Mahama used state money to assist in the mosque building to secure votes.

• Nima Boy 9 years ago

Yes he did ooo....BUUUULU. You and who to find out?

• Rebecca Brown 9 years ago

Have you forgotten the jet that landed in Iran? Asem behba dabi!

• Teacher 9 years ago

I wish the name of John Mahama was not associated with this. We should not mix politics and religion simply because the party needs votes -- that would be recipe for trouble. It's good that the mosque is being built and with ...

• mohamed ali 9 years ago

so this will an advanced action should enhance Ghana in general and whole Muslim in especial, for me the people who are worshippers in this cornerstone achieved in the country, very provided to maintain mosque cleaning as fi ...

• wali al qaq 9 years ago

WE CAN NOT ALLOW NEW BREEDING GROUNDS FOR BOKO HARM IN GHANA
    WE MUST STOP GHANA FROM GOING TO THE DOGS THIS SO CALLED MOSQUE WILL ONLY LEAD TO RADICAL ISLAM IN PEACEFULL GHANA

I support you 1000 times. This building should be stopped because the end result will be the beginning of surreptitious islamisation of Ghana. Therefore let those who have ears hear, and those who have eyes open their eyes to ...

• WOFA WOHOO 9 years ago

GHANA WE THANK GOD FOR THE GREAT UNITY BETWEEN ALL RELIGIONS AND NONRELIGION.We set the examples for other African countries to follow,living peacefully side by side for over hundred years and thousand years to come.We we ar ...

• TEE 9 years ago

WE FEAR NO MOSQUE, GHANA IS NOT ARAB COUNTRY OR MUSLIMS. WE ARE PEACEFUL CHRISTIANS AMEN

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

A religion that is intolerant to different views; discourages young girls from going to school; captures them against their will, forcing them to convert; rapes women so that the can bring forth their bastard children; cuts o ...

• BILLEY ABDUL-RAHMAN 9 years ago

MY BROTHE,ZoRRo FOR YOUR OWN GUD IT WOULD BE BETTER TO KNOW ISLAM THROUGH READING THE QURAN AND SUNNER OF THE MESSENGER OF ALLAH WHO WAS SENT TO MANKING AND NO OTHER TRIBE OR NATION THAN RELY ON WHAT SO CALLED MUSLIMS DO ACCR ...

• WOFA WOHOO 9 years ago

What you wrote is thinking like a boko haram yourself,just try and read or ask question about Islam to know the true religion.What all this crazy fanatis boko haram and all other terrorists are doing is Satanic not ISLAM,read ...

• musah 9 years ago

the teacher training college should be sited in Tamale.

• dick 9 years ago

all moslems in ghana must register and report to police 3 times every week..all their mosquerating activities be checked by 2000 armed policemen..

My brother, you are 1000 times correct on that.

• BILLEY ABDUL-RAHMAN 9 years ago

that is really a grreat edifix for the ghanaian moslim. v.good to think of education as it is the founding stone of every nation. may Allah accept this gesture. but as a pple we must know that this fund is gotten from dedicat ...

• jerry 9 years ago

anyone wannabe issis ,bokoharm or hammas must leave this country immd we will not tolerat killings ,rascim against women or truble here
    GHANA PEOPLE DEMAND THE STOP OF THIS CONSTRUCTION THAT WILL BE NOTHING THEN BREEDING G ...

• PEACE 9 years ago

NO WONDER YOUR WOMEN ARE AT ABIDJAN SICE YAA ASNTIWAA TIME,GO ANY COUNTRY IN AFRICA AND SEE WHO ARECTHE ASHAWO ASHANTI,COME TO EVEN THE POOREST COUNTRY IN AFRICA LIKE BURKINA AND THEY ARE THERE,NOW COME TO HOLLAND DEN HAAG RO ...

• DR KUFFOUR 9 years ago

What is all this about? This is not news. We have heard it all. Thank you.

• Bawah Alhassan 9 years ago

Masha Allah! We thank God and pray that He should bless each and everyone who made an input in this project. Amen

• Bawah Alhassan 9 years ago

We thank Allah and pray that He should bless all those who made inputs into the project.

That edifice is the house of Satan and not God.

• Aminatu 9 years ago

Allahu akbar! MashaAllah I'll be offering my Eid prayers in this mosque next year.

• PEKI TUMU 9 years ago

We have to thnakful that this Mosque is not being built by the Wahhabis of Saudi Arabia

• Alhassan A Rauf 9 years ago

ATAKBIIR,MAY GOD BLESS THE FUNDERS OF THIS NOBLE COURSE(Ameen)

• K Sam 9 years ago

True what have we done about possible moslem takeover of the flagstaff house?

• CITIZEN ONE 9 years ago

I have lived with and around Muslims of the South (Coastal Ghana), and the truth is they are a completely different breed. As a matter of fact almost any indigenous group that has migrated, settled and evolved within the Grea ...

• Ibrahim Young 9 years ago

insight to bone. You are jealous of the Islamic religion. Tell me in the bible where Christians were told to build churches. Bastards like you never see anything good.

• ERIC 9 years ago

WHY IS GOVERNMENT INVESTING MONEY ON THESE DOOM REGION, WHY

• observer 9 years ago

the Moslem Community, especially in Nima, could have been better served by a $10 million school instead of a Mosque.A Mosque is the wrong priority.

• Mike Gizo 9 years ago

Beware of Islamic religion ghanaians. Is demonic

• The Vice President 9 years ago

The Central Mosque near Makola was destroyed in June 1979 by Rawlings and Co

• Tanko 9 years ago

Islam the only true religion please exibit your ignorance and join Islam Mahama is not a muslim ok

• Tanko 9 years ago

Ghanaians are lacking because they do not know whom Hesbollas are.Hesbollas,Hamas in Lebanon and palestine are freedom fighters but not muslims.Among them are idle christians and pagan of couse and some muslims.they are fight ...

• Beth 9 years ago

Christians must rise up and pray against this trap. We are becoming like the chicken picking up corn only to be caught and killed for food. Please Christians we need to wake up and pray in Christ name to stop this kind of tra ...

• JAMES 9 years ago

Why has everything got to be in Accra

• Abdul 9 years ago

Because that's where the donor org. Wants it to be. If I have such amount of money, I will build it in Kumasi.

• ASH 9 years ago

May Allah bless and make it a place of abode for teaching and spreading Islam. I hope those in charge will give it the care and maintenance it deserves for future posterity.

• nash 9 years ago

THATS GOOD NEWS

• Musa K. 9 years ago

The ways of deception are the ways of the devil. Let's not fall for his trick that a moon god can also be passed as the God of heaven (Yahweh). We are to "submit to God, and resist the devil, and he will flee" from us (James ...

• K2 9 years ago

WE THANK ALLAH FOR THIS MAGNIFICENT BUILDING. ENEMIES OF ISLAM SHALL BE PUT TO SHAME. THE MORE YOU HATE ISLAME,THE MORE ISLAM GROWS.MAY ALMIGHTY ALLAH FORGIVE ALL THIS ENEMIES OF ISLAM FOR THEIR NASTY COMMENTS AMI!!!!!!

• achipelago 9 years ago

ISLAM THRIVES ON VIOLENCE AND FALSEHOOD!

• TEE 9 years ago

WHAT IS GOING ON WITH THESE PEOENI MAHAMA HEAD. DOES MAHMAA THINKS ACCRA IS NORTHERN REGION

• Hadji 9 years ago

You cannot stop Islam from spreading. It is a light that will never go off or a fragrant-able perfume that attract people. The more you anti-Islamic folks try to put it off the more it shines. At this information age people a ...

• achipelago 9 years ago

if with all the atrocities of Islam is considered light, then I don't what its darkness will be? Killing in the name of God and religion? Ei, Ghana where are we trodding? 'Light' in deed!

• bin laden mohamed 9 years ago

This is the beginning of Islamic terrorism in Ghana... It is a known fact even in the bible that nobody can separate VIOLENCE from ISLAM. (read Genesis 16:11-12)

• The Vice President 9 years ago

Boko Haram comes to town

• OBOATANTO 9 years ago

Ghanaians are finished. A school is attached. Boko Haram has safely arrived in Ghana. Oga Boro, you are welcome sir.

• achipelago 9 years ago

little by little Islam is making in-roads and will have its grip on Ghana. They use two forms of approach, the aggressive, like the Boko Haram and ISIS and the passive like they are doing in Ghana, non-violent to get firm on ...

• dembele of 9 years ago

Ghanains are haters. your country is always goin down. indiscipline is killing your country. the moslems have better faith. think of making your country better. haters

• Alhaji 9 years ago

It's not the size of the building or the beauty of it, but the management and maitainance. i'm affraid ,this place will soon be turned into a begging arena for beggers from everywhere.

• Izzy 9 years ago

I can authoritatively say that President John Mahama had no hand in building of the mosque. It is totally independent of government sponsorship.

The only thing concerning government is the land on which it is building buil ...

• MJ KWAME 9 years ago

AM SO SAD THE WAY MOST OF OUR CHRISTIAN BRETHREN ARE TALKING ABT THIS MASJID. MOST OF THE COMMENTS ARE SO IRRITATING N OUT OF PLACE. WHY CANT WE CO-EXIST SO THE REST OF THE WORLD WOULD MAKE US A REFERENCE WHEN IT COMES TO ISS ...

• AGNES 9 years ago

Where did they get money from to build a mosque whereas most Muslims like begging for money to eat.

• ANTI 9 years ago

TOO MANY MOSQUES WILL BE BREED TERRORISM.

• Mr. Green 9 years ago

True to say for so many years ago, Europeas and Arabs came to Africa captive our forfathers brutalised them forced them to be christians or Moslem. I personally thought our ancestors did so because they were not educated. But ...

• Mohammed Ibrahim 9 years ago

Please Stop this stupid comments about Muslims,and Islam.

• kofi (usa) 9 years ago

The gold to turkey mosque in return

• OSMAN ISSAKA 9 years ago

ALHAMDULILLAH THIS TIME THE MUSLIMS WILL B ON THE OWN...TEACHERS TRAINING SCHOOL ND A CLINIC? HMMM PRAISE B TO ALLAH S.W.T...ND TH TO THOSE THOSE WHO MADE THIS POSIBLE

• Fred 9 years ago

Hmmmm Ghanaians should be careful. This is never good news. Terrorism will be the next plan by some wicked people members of this wicked religion.

• ALI 9 years ago

what so ever happens God is in Control and Islam is a true religion .

• JACOB 9 years ago

DON'T USE THE PEOPLE IN ISLAM TO JUDGE ISLAM BUT USE ISLAM TO JUDGE THE PEOPLE IN IT OKAY MY FELLOW BROTHERS AND SISTERS AND THIS IS A SOCIAL NET WORK FOR YOU TO BE PLACING SUCH INSULTS AND YOUR BULLSHIT THINGS ABOUT ISLAM AN ...

• D.S.K 7 years ago

May Allah Continue to bless Former President John Dramani Mahama for his good vision and for facilitating this magnificent edifice.