You are here: HomeEntertainment2016 01 29Article 411449

Speaking English doesn't put money in my pocket - Delay

Read Comments Comments (57)

• Alakdin 8 years ago

I don't speak Twi, but in my opinion, Delay speaks perfect English. For the benefit of people like me, she mixes her Twi with a lot of English and sometimes, swhe goes full blast with the English language when she interviews ...

• Tweneboah 8 years ago

It is a shame how we look down at people in Ghana who speak their own language.A friend was verbally abused in Accra for speaking Twi on his cell phone.At this stage in our development our trained language experts and linguis ...

• OZA 8 years ago

How can we ever move forward when we have to do and express everything meaningful in a foreign language. Up till this day I don't even know the Twi name for "germs" and "viruses". Please, don't attempt to explain in Twi that ...

• sanjay - Abu Dhabi 8 years ago

DELAY DONT KNOW ENGLISH, THATS THE HABIT OF ASANTE PEOPLE, THEY DONT GO TO SCHOOL, HOW CAN SHE SPEAK GOOD ENGLISH ON THE MEDIA?, AFTER ALL SHE CAME FROM A VILLAGE IN ASHANTE REGION, FOKN PEOPLE!

• BRIGHT 8 years ago

LOOK AT THE POPULATION OF THE ASANTES IN GHANA AND OVERSEAS

• MUHAMMAD KAAMIL. 8 years ago

WWW.ALOLOOM.NET

• deloris fan 8 years ago

Good one deloris

• Osika 8 years ago

Enoa no no!

• Frema 8 years ago

Indians were colonised by the British buh they use their own language in doing everything.

• Nana Bawuah 8 years ago

Because they selected among their native languages one (Hindi) to be made official language in addition to English.

• Ken Ntiamoa 8 years ago

There is a guy in Toronto, Canada, called Okyeame Tabiri. If you listen to this guy speak Twi at our functions as MC, you will throw your bogus English away and go learn Twi tuit-de-suite.

We cannot remain mentally coloniz ...

• Irritated citizen. 8 years ago

Da sad part is those who hv not visited airport but parade themselves as non Ghanaians.smetimes they make it look like if u cant speak English,u are not "in town".

• Rabiu 8 years ago

Inferiority complex has eaten us,always condemn our own and embrace the west,wen will ghanians think hmmmmm

• ScHoly 8 years ago

Does the Queen of England speak Twi? Nonsense the idea that someone needs to speak English to show elitism. Absolute rubbish. Is Twi not a language just as English?

• CONTEMNOR 8 years ago

I applaud You Deloris, "me Ma wo amo" Porto Kasa 3ny3 y3 Kasa. The worst are those with Locally acquired foreign accent ( LAFA). Even Nigerians pride themselves as better in speaking English than Ghanaians. Now you can imagin ...

• Black American 4 street Justice Globa 8 years ago

That silly girl, Delay, needs to get $36 today (5 monthly payments) and go over on www.hsn.com to buy "Rosetta Stone Language Learning System - Levels 1 to 5". the cost for today only is 80%+ less than the usual cost for such ...

• I care 8 years ago

U are animal

• They Lied 2U 8 years ago

First of all there is no shortage where women period are concerned and yes this does include black women unless your counting mental intelligence, I'll have you know that black women are far from stupid & most are single by c ...

• Boss(Amansie Ba) 8 years ago

We are under neo colonialism. We to used our own language.

• mary 8 years ago

Why are you wearing broni waawu

• Bee 8 years ago

She was a literature student and could speak good english! Pls allow her

• Mr. Real 8 years ago

She's real.. that's all. It sure doesn't put money in her pockets. .u madd? ??

• Kwame Nti USA 8 years ago

I blame those so-callled stupid celebrities who allow themselves to be interviewed in Twi when they are trying to reach a global audience.

It is a disgrace that the government allows this stupidity to go on. We all live in ...

• tony USA 8 years ago

Kwame Nti USA or whoever you call yourself.

Please check your grammar below.

"In my humble opinion, she is has no vision and can only do those stupid interviews in Twi.

I am a Ghanaian, I live in downtown NYC perha ...

• ...N 8 years ago

Tony, you just fell into the same trap you were avoiding. You write up and arguments for speaking Twi are good but not logical. Asking you where you come from, you expect the answer to be Ghana and by extension you should spe ...

• Mojingles 8 years ago

Tony, your rationale is crass, ignorant and overly simplistic....you should know better. No one in his/her mind is underestimating the overall importance of our mother-tongues. Our local languages define us; they are the main ...

• Serwaa 8 years ago

Stupid man,when was the last time any so called celebrity who spoke English reached a global audience.

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Kuraasenii Kwame Nti in USA. What do you idiot want the government to do, arrest people for speaking Twi?

Do you dumbass fool live in USA? The TV station Delay conducts her interview is a privately owned station. If they w ...

• tony USA 8 years ago

Kwame Nti USA or whoever you call yourself.

Please check your grammar below.

"In my humble opinion, she is has no vision and can only do those stupid interviews in Twi.

I am a Ghanaian, I live in downtown NYC perhaps ...

• Mr.big stuff 8 years ago

Baby girl i think u Rock...
    do ur thing...
    all those ass holes who are jealous of u
    given u bad raps , pls stay the hell away from them. to me u are doing just fine. lol !!!

• AMA TX 8 years ago

We ghanians we don't want our kids to learn our local language but I always feel proud of the Mexicans they speak the Spanish with their kids bcos they say when they go to school they will learn to speak english

• Zakari Tamale 8 years ago

Globo hw many foolish girls like Delay in ur family.Think before u talk stupid fool.

• Kwasi Donkor USA 8 years ago

I salute you Delay, is only ghananians that don't respect their own language, now some collages in America are doing twi, speak English to your fellow ghananian and they will start marking your grammer, that's why we what we ...

• Osei Agyemang 8 years ago

The point is not speaking English but this lady has become very arrogant,cocky and conceited. She thinks,she is a God and her style of asking questions or the way she interviews her guests is out of the books and very primiti ...

• Steve hartford CT. 8 years ago

Why the jealousy and hatred ?. The the sky is the limit, that's why nobody knows you, what have you acomplished ? at list she have her own Tv show , GO GET SOME SLEEP.

• Yaw 8 years ago

well said

• Jesus is Lord 8 years ago

our politicians only use English language with big grammar when stealing States money when Ghanaians catch them to confuse us but when dey r Sharon de mone,dey use twi to express themselves nonsense.

• starboi beezy 8 years ago

u see all dese ghanaian celebrities n dey cant speak their own dialect n dey re proud wen u ask dem dey say oh i was born in canada, london,GYIME mosua mo kurom kasa

• EDUCATED FOOLS 8 years ago

GHANAIANS HAS BEEN BRAINWASH SINCE SLAVERY . HOW MANY EUROPEAN COUNTRIES SPEAKS ENGLISH AS THEIR FIRST LANGUAGE ??? ALL THIS COUNTRIES DON'T BUT THEY ARE DOING FAR BETTER THAN 3RD WORLD COUNTRY GHANA AS FOLLOWS HOLLAND , DENM ...

• DI WOFIE ASEM 8 years ago

EVEN I DON'T EVEN HERE ANY GHANAIAN SPEAKING ENGLISH CORRECTLY. THEY ALWAYS BEET THEMSELVES WITH THE TENSES. ASHANTIS SPEAK TWIGLISH NOT ENGLISH
    GA'S SPEAKS GALISH
    EWE. WEGLISH
    NZEMA. ZEGLISH
    DAGBANI. GBAGL ...

• KANOKWARE 8 years ago

There is no country around the globe that has been able to advance in technology by speaking another man's language so leave the lady alone.

• KJG 8 years ago

Smart woman, we should ALL model after you!!!

• nhyira 8 years ago

Dont mind them dear

• Open ur eyes and lean 8 years ago

Mi p3 di3 wu y3 nu, is all brain wash by the slave or colonial masters and dont blame them much bcos is been 400 yrs and hope we start learning and acknowledging our own bcos that can bring better understanding and help inven ...

• Wesoamo 8 years ago

My dear Delay, you cannot even expressed yourself in English, say the truth and shame the devil.

• Mona 8 years ago

yet she has more money than u...What has English done for u??..Using the local dialect is working for her...just allow her

• ABI@north kaneshie 8 years ago

YOU NEED A PRIVATE TEACHER JUST CALL ALFRED .0502568939 ACCRA ONLY

• ABI@north kaneshie 8 years ago

You NEED A PRIVATE TEACHER JUST CALL ALFRED. ACCRA ONLY 0502568939

• Babs 8 years ago

Ghana is not England or America or Canada etc.we are defined by our beautiful languages which the Londoners,Americans Canadians etc lacks and we can't trade it for nothing.whoever is not comfortable with our local languages ...

• nana kwame Ofosuba 8 years ago

delay is 100% right ,english is not our mothers Language.

• Woyome 8 years ago

DELAY CAN'T SPEAK GOOD ENGLISH ANYWAY.

SHE EVEN STRUGGLES TO SPEAK BAD COMMON SENSE ENGLISH, SO THIS DAMSEL SHOULD FUFF OFF

• PERFECTO (GHANA -JACOBU) 8 years ago

Masa be careful of wat u r saying.luk at China,they use their own native language in doing everything and now see how they have developed.u are in USA so u don't care abt ur country.i pray dat u understand de girl kk

• Adamu 8 years ago

I admire this young woman for her courageous believes and self esteem. Twi/Akan has being recognized by UN and international community as language.

• Danger London 8 years ago

I find this girl rude and arrogant. She is not professional too. She sometimes ask silly questions which she is not supposed to.she better go to China to see Chinese paying big money for English lessons. I hope she on ...

• Mona 8 years ago

I live in Germany, and only German is spoken here..People who speaks English, learnt it on their own... We can also speak our dialect and chose to learn English on the side..Where is the problem?

• BABANGIDA CASAGRANDE 8 years ago

All THOSE CRITICIZING THIS GOOD LOOKING GHANAIAN lADY ARE MOSTLY, TRUST ME ARE PEOPLE WITH LOW LIFE AND CAN NOT SPEAK THIS AKAN LANGUAGE

• qwaku gee 8 years ago

Delay or what ever stupid name it is speak English language in your interview kakra wai because the twi interview is too primitive u said u sturdied literature in high school what school i want to know bcuz wu ye kurasi nii p ...