You are here: HomeEntertainment2013 08 30Article 284201

Do Africa movies revolve around only Ghana and Nigeria?

Read Comments Comments (38)

• ninja 10 years ago

Yep but quality is poor it is improving. Not going to mention quantity mmmmm

• Kwesi 10 years ago

This article is full of shit. It's called African movies to differentiate from Hollywood movies, Indian movies etc. Only Ghanaian and Nigerian movies are shown because that's what is demanded by our market.

• Sam 10 years ago

Good one there! I've enjoyed (not on our local TV stations)very fine and true African movies other than the monotonous Ghana/Nigeria movies.Please Ghana TV stations, let us see movies and stories from the other side. God Bles ...

• Anokwale 10 years ago

The reason that Ghanaian and Nigerian movies are being called "African Movies" is that the other countries have focused more on the soap opera format. As Ghana and Nigeria are starting to move towards the soap opera format w ...

• CITIZEN ONE 10 years ago

You did very well my friend I am so proud of you, but unfortunately, as typical as a Ghanaian or African, you committed the same crime as these misguided producers.

It is not Ghanaian Movies, it is Twi or Akan Movies, that ...

• Anokwale 10 years ago

We cannot worry about Twi or Akan versus Hausa, Ewe or Ga. At the end of the day, the global market will dictate. It is clear that African movies that are in English or French with some appropriate "in context" use of local ...

• OD 10 years ago

I am very surprise at your ignorance. What do you want the TV stations to call it? Probably you will understand better when you travelle outside the African continent.

• emma 10 years ago

Liike seriously?...can u read at all....did u read this article at all?...all u said was u are surprised at the writer's ignorance...and u didn't state why? U are such a airhead and u are the educated one...smh...come out wit ...

• Chartey in Nigeria 10 years ago

GTV, TV3 & TV Africa are most guilty of this. I think it's laziness on the part of the stations to source for these films. The kind of laziness that prevents them from looking for proper economic stories to report on in news. ...

• AYI 10 years ago

THE BLACKMAN IS CAPABLE OF MANAGING HIS OWN POLITICAL AFFAIRES

BUILD A ‘MARCUS GARVEY, KWAME NKRUMAH, MALCOM X LIBRARY’ ALL OVER AFRICA/GHANA. AFRICA/ALL PEOPLE OF AFRICAN ORIGIN/DESCENT USE ALL/EVERY MEANS, /AT ALL CO ...

• Marvin 10 years ago

Interesting piece. All the TV stations have failed in this vein. I even hope they bother to read this piece. very interesting one there!

• nnb 10 years ago

the other countries don't roger(pay bribe) to get the movies on the tv

• GIZA , algeria 10 years ago

i rather think we get rid of those american movies and all those profane stuff off our screens and re-edit some of our Ghanaian movies and show them more often, i'm talking of good ghanaian movies and have a lot to show to ou ...

• Abena 10 years ago

I know that is right because they show nothing of us here on TV or on their radio stations. All we know is to copy them. You can be a Ghanaian rapper and look Ghanaian but what do we see with our rappers, dressing like the Am ...

• Anokwale 10 years ago

Abena your point is well taken but the business side of is that a music artist or movie producer wants to attract as much sponsorship as possible. If you are appealing to a wider audience you have a better chance of endorsem ...

• C.O.D 10 years ago

You are spot on on this! The term "African Movie" was coined , I beleive, in the USA and as usual we have accepted it as proper description of it all. Do we have "European Movie" or "Asian Movie"? Instead of us educating the ...

• Paa George 10 years ago

good one there

• nii 10 years ago

this piece is good...i hope the concerned stakeholders will take a cue from this.....show us movies from across the african continent(south africa, gambia,zambia,liberia,sirra leon, etc...and let's know how they live their li ...

• Mama D 10 years ago

Franca,
    I am not sure of the idea behind this
    publication, other countries have tried but failed so why this. If you do follow the movie industries, you will notice the Kenyans were given an opportunity to sign up with the ...

• Apia 10 years ago

I have followed some of these movies starring both Nigerian and Ghanaian actors, and I can conclude that there are cultural similarities. Remember some of these actors like Frank Artus have roots in Liberia. Ghanaians, Nige ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

It is silly to lump all of us together as one people. So when there is 419 scam, will we accept it as an Africa 419. Somalians do not even consider themselves as black Africans, yet when the barbaric people start killing them ...

• GHFUO! BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFULL 10 years ago

Go and tell that to African Americans,. The only way forward is for Africans to unite. Saying that Ghana election victory is only for Ghana is wrong and selfish. That election is for whole Africans to emulate and learn from ...

• uche 10 years ago

lol...i i luv ur point of view...exactly!! Seriously, Africa is not jus made up of Ghana and Nigerians. u will be amazed at some of the very good movies u can find outside these two countries. I'm nigerian and I'm even tired ...

• Hakim 10 years ago

Although you are making a point, my question is are the other african countries showing Naija and GH movies on their screen? I doubt.

• American 10 years ago

I can think of several reasons why "African Movies" in English are limited only to those produced Ghana and Nigeria:

South Africa has a small movie industry, and it is (still) dominated by white people.

Francophone Afr ...

• JAMES ACQUAH 10 years ago

YES, WEST AFRICA ENGLISH SPEAKING COUNTRY

• Abe 10 years ago

Aren't Ghanaian/Nigerian movies African? If your beef is that the African movies the TV stations show are predominately GH/Naija productions, you should find out how many movies are produced by the other African countries and ...

• Kay Bamba 10 years ago

NOTE ABE; Nollywood is not the second largest in the world in terms of production and not 4th.

• matilda 10 years ago

...dont we live in this country and enjoy chinese and indian movies? pls dont give me the anglophone bulshit.Ghanaian and nigerian movies are Arican but they are not the only countries with movies. u

• Adobah 10 years ago

The writer seems to have so much command on the English language to say that; categorizing Ghana/Nigeria movies as African Movies is Wrong! Well, will she therefore say that calling a Belgian music "European Music" is wrong ...

• elikem 10 years ago

lol....i think you did not understand what u read(u know knowledge is differnt from understanding u know). ghana and nigeria are two different countries in Africa...but are they the only countries in africa...NO. So if then.. ...

• Ohene-Gyan 10 years ago

is very true n they also like repetition of movies too much

• Mikie 10 years ago

you dont make no sense cos we have american movies and not meriland movies

• MIZZY 10 years ago

one country ghana is GHANA,but if it is more than one is AFRICAN.THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE TERM AFRICAN MOVIES.if USA AND BRITHAIN SUPPORT SOMETHING THEY SAY THE INTERNATIONAL COMMUNITY BECOUSE THEY ARE TWO COUNTRY IT ...

• serving in MALI 10 years ago

no other country in Africa apart from Nigeria and Ghana that are as prolific in making these films/videos shown on tv channels. even in some Southern African countries, they show mainly Ghana and Nigeria movies 24hrs and call ...

• GIZA , algeria 10 years ago

the other african countries just don't produce good movies like we do it's a fact, we see it here, i see it here, they're just not good (making movies), they watch our movies. that's the hard fact.

• Corby 10 years ago

"Africa movies lacks good editors

• Awal Yakubu 10 years ago

I agree with you but my queatin is do they also show Ghana & Nigerian movies? We are all Africans and unity will be our goal. If they don't recognize us, why should we