You are here: HomeSportsSoccer2016 11 18Article 487932

GFA approach coach Kwesi Appiah to replace Grant - report

Read Comments Comments (119)

• Asempa 7 years ago

Appiah will be out of him mind to accept a job like this, not under this GFA for sure.

• COMMON SENSE 7 years ago

KWASI YOUR GOOD COACH BUT TRY TO BE STRONG,YOU BEHAVE LIKE A WOMAN,COACHING JOB IS LIKE BOXING,DONT TALK TO THE PLAYERS LIKE YOUR LOVELY CHILDREN,LET THEM KNOW THAT YOUR THE BOSS.

• AMERICA LOVER 7 years ago

Yes is true my dear brother.Even some of the Black Stars players influence him about selections

• Emperor Rasheed 7 years ago

Why thou betrayeth thy local coach?

• DESPERATE DWARF FROM KYEBI 7 years ago

I don't think it's gonna happen. We don't need a coach who can always lose the dressing room to the players. Appiah is too weak, and suffers from low esteem.

• $aint Ghfuo: Black Excellence !!! 7 years ago

STICK WITH UR DAY JOB IN SUDAN/CRY BUILDING...IF U ACCEPT THIS JOB NOW. U WILL DESTROY UR REPUTATION. TRUST ME...

• Big Ben 7 years ago

Coach Appiah shouldn't give the GFA an ounce of ear or a second of time for its "hiring prostitution" for the Black Stars. Grant was paid far more than Appiah, but he also misbehaved and underperformed far worse than Appiah.

• moyo 7 years ago

We don't want Akwasi Appiah!!!!

• Kwam 7 years ago

Jealousy go kill you

• Yaa 7 years ago

Appiah, the most useless coach who places personal interest over national interest by not fielding quality players because they refuse to bribe him positions.

GFA GIVE TANKO IBRAHIM, DESAILLY THE JOB. WE NEED A LOCAL PERSON TO COACH THE SQUAD TO EMPOWER THEM TO REACH GREATER HEIGHTS. THESE FOREIGN COACHES DONT EVEN INVEST OR SPEND THEIR SALARY IN GH. FUCK THEM

• Odza The Fireman 7 years ago

Kwesi Appiah is too feminine. Just watch him on the touch line when the going gets tough for the Black Stars. He panics, and gets confused. He is not strong enough for the job. FORGET HIM!!!

• T and T 7 years ago

Wrong! AA played and captained both Kotoko and the Black stars, U talking about confidence, determination and tactics to win games; he has displayed all that as a player, captain and coach of the Black Stars and Kotoko.
    loo ...

• Nana Aba 7 years ago

Great Decision by the GFA

• DIAMOND 7 years ago

Don't accept!
    The Satans are still in there to supervise you.
    If they beg you, insist on $100,000 per day!

• KAT KWAME 7 years ago

LET'S NOT JUDGE THIS LIKE NDC/NPP JOKES. APPIAH IS A GOOD AND INDUSTRIOUS COACH. HE LOVES GHANA. I WISH HE WOULD CONSIDER IT.

• Sap 7 years ago

Bro you have what is called human sense...the Ghana job is supposed to be given to our own..in this case when things are bad they also feel it...not like that lazy good for not grant...

• Emperor Rasheed 7 years ago

Do you want the vampires to suck your blood? My brethren.

• DIAMOND 7 years ago

Mine is a hyperbole to make a point.

AA BLOOPERS & MISQUOTES:
    1.James Akwasi Appiah has blamed nature for his side’s inability to qualify to the next stage of the Caf Confederations Cup. LOL..Al Khartoum were compelled to finish the game while it was raining ...

• o123 congrts 7 years ago

mr black u don t have a point
    calm people or introverts like AAppiah use more of the laissez faire attitude of leadership. if he s good and the nation is sensible and u black included, they KEEP HIM don t let him slip to Su ...

i gave them the info and strategy for the game against germany. tweappuuu, wat strategy does he aa know. look, u can give barcelona and messi to appiah and he will find an excuse to lose. be had the team for 2 afcon tournamnt ...

• Knockout 7 years ago

He is weak

TANKO IBRAHIM CAN DO THE JOB.TRUST ME. HE KNOWS HOW TO DEAL WITH PROFESSIONAL PLAYERS LIKE ETO ETC. HE IS A FMR PLAYER. HE IS GH. IF DESAILLY WONT TAKE THE JOB. GIVE IT TO TANKO. GFA WHY U FOOL SO? TWEAAPUUU GFA. UR DUMB DECI ...

• john akpa 7 years ago

If Grant is achieving the same results as Appiah ( drawing with Uganda at home and losing to Egypt away plus taking us to AFCON final ) with no managerial experience in Africa why are people calling for his dismissal ? If App ...

• Eko 7 years ago

I don't believe this KA is the worse night mare in the history of Ghana football. When the Capt arm band was taken from him and handed over to Pele this guy made sure Ghana never worn anything till Pele left the scene. Now as ...

• Anokye 7 years ago

@Eko
    Will you tell us all here how he made sure that Ghana win nothing until Abede left and what had Ghana won ever since Pele stopped playing International soccer? Don't just open your freaking mouth to talk dude. Back your ...

• mez 7 years ago

I could not agree more with you bro, wow I think you should say it louder.Smart man but please don't insult them just continue giving them the sense,like you just id minus the insults.lol thanks anyway my onyansafo

And plus Anokye these administratorS know what AA will need to make the situation better but they will not do it Why?
    1 envy
    2 abr3
    3 tribal undertone pls add to the list
    for them to call him back shows that they knew the ...

• mez 7 years ago

where did you get that information from?it is a lie and please stop propagating such story,ask yourself ,how can one 'soft spoken'man stop mighty Ghana from winning anything?come on man!!!I will tell you this if he could have ...

• john akpa 7 years ago

Why is the GFA so stupid ? We conceded the fastest goal in the last world cup and his teams play with no structure. What coaching badge has he got ? Is it because he is an Asante man ? What about somebody like Abdul Razak ? C ...

• NANA BONSU 7 years ago

FOOL. WHAT HAS "ASANTE MAN" GOT TO DO WITH THIS.

• ken 7 years ago

Kwasi Appiah is not an Ashanti. He is bono man. Even if he were, what is the big deal. If you think Abdul Razak is better, just mention it rather than being tribalism

• Apuu Eta 7 years ago

Why most of Ghanaians like injecting tribalism in every discussion? How does tribaIism have to do with this discussion. AA beat Egypt badly and qualified Ghana to World cup with small pay as compare to Grant. We always misus ...

• kofi adu 7 years ago

no wonder your mother contended you for abortion. abedi failed gh. seriously and qualifies to be in jailed.

• Agbeshie 7 years ago

Foolish unsubstantiated talk aaba. Why Ghanaians?

• Kkk 7 years ago

Eko you are stupid

• Ben 7 years ago

Hummmmmm

• Ghanaman 7 years ago

Leave Avram Grant alone. He took Ghana to AFCON finals two years ago. The fact is Ghana has no quality players now. This clueless Kwesi Appiah is not better than Grant. A coach that benched his players with world cup experien ...

• Yaw Mensah- USA 7 years ago

You're right.

• Bbg 7 years ago

Akwesi appiah Kai.most yawa coach.

• NYAME BA LEE. 7 years ago

I BET U KWESI, IF U COME AND TAKE DIS BLACK STARS JOB AGAIN, U WILL LOSE UR REPUTATION AND WILL BE DE MOST USELESS COACH EVER HAPPENED IN THE WORLD HISTORY. GHANAIANS ARE UNGRATEFUL PEOPLE. JUST LEAVE DEM ALONE.THEY PREFER FO ...

• Anokye 7 years ago

Thank you so much. I hope he will read your message and run far from Ghanaians and their ungratefulness.

• KOFI YESU 7 years ago

Please Mr Appiah DO NOT Take this job now or they will sack in in two weeks...let the GFA suffer for "accidentally " sacking you please go on with the job you have in Khartoum maybe after like 10 years you can charge $500,000 ...

• K.s. 7 years ago

My brother we csn forgive if GFA see them mistake Coach Appia history record muvh bater then Grant.let dont throw our blood away.is quality then Grant and respect.we can forgive is nation born.much bater for the players preff ...

• NTAWA NTAWA MOSHE 7 years ago

Shhhhieeeee!Wo si s3n?

• DIAMOND 7 years ago

Forget K.s.
    I'm sure he can express himself better than this.

He is over-disguising.
    Pretence gone disgusting!

• Alajoy 7 years ago

eii GFA are you sure you no your work,then why did you let him go in the first place,to be hornest if we want the team back then call the player's GFA you sack that is the course of the fall of the team, or else no world cup ...

• Naboonazer 7 years ago

Eko in dis world if u face smile it will come right back to u

• The truth 7 years ago

Don't entertain the gfa

• Toppy 7 years ago

Coach Appiah charge them a 200000 DOLLARS PER MONTH

• GhanaBa1 7 years ago

www.pricedrummer.com.gh

compare prices in Ghana for mobile phones, TVs, shoes, fridges, furniture, clothes, generators, cars, sound systems, kitchen appliances

www.pricedrummer.com.gh

• DAVID BUCHIZYA 7 years ago

Maxwell Konadu,the assistant coach, should also be sacked,Kwesi Appiah should not work with him.

• Damm 7 years ago

Not true. Get Milo then.

• NANA STONE- USA. 7 years ago

You were able to beat Egypt 6-1

• William Ofori-Attah, Virginia, U.S.A 7 years ago

Coach Akwasi, my little advice to you is (do not accept it is true) Period.

• mez 7 years ago

I know but I think we need him though, to rebuild the team like he had started earlier. I know you are pissed from the way he was treated

• nkatiah afriyie 7 years ago

this is going to create big set back for the national team and confusion among the players he has some players in mind like Muntari,Boateng AND Essien:In his recent artcle he discribed Boateng as Very DANGEROUS:AS a coach he ...

• Ama 7 years ago

Nkwasiasem!!!!!!!!

• Nsiah Ababio 7 years ago

What sensible thing did you say, if you see the previous post as "nkwasiasem"?

that boateng wanted to prove to germany that he s good but why has he not scored any goal since that old goal he scored against US if the tables were turned Germany or any other country would not have accepted him. He was us ...

• Col Q 7 years ago

As usual propagandists trying to fix in their man! Kwesi Appiah was not and is not ripe to take over the Black Stars, he needs upgrade of his coaching knowledge not thru attachment , but real upgrade course in the classroom i ...

• Adam Tamale 7 years ago

Apiah is a corrupt man. He will distroy the team

• poison 7 years ago

Appiah has no formal coaching badge and he works just like Akuffo Addo.We need a coach who is qualified to handle a national team.He was lucky he had better players to beat Egypt but that is no yardstick.

• K.s 7 years ago

I think we all have to support this idea live egypt as example we all see Germany and Ghana world cup is enouth respect to Coach Appia perfect idea as GFA get back to him if so it help peiase of case in nation and tention wil ...

• kwesi 7 years ago

Rubbish Ghanaians are the most stupid people ever, you know why? Dede has the traits of his father and he together with his useless younger brother are destroying our dear Black Stars

• Nsiah Ababio 7 years ago

How are they destroying the team? Jordan, is not a Black Star material, but Dede is indisputably good. Dede is a committed player unlike his junior brother. I just don't see how these young dudes are destroying the team. P ...

• Ghanaba kwaku 7 years ago

Like you, are u also not a Ghanaian? So are you foolish? Give yourself and answer

• OKOROMANSA 7 years ago

ARE WE SERIOUS AT ALL? DEFINITELY NOT! ANY WAY THIS WOULD BE A KWASI APPIAH PERSONAL DECISION SO THE LEAST SAID. I THINK OUR FOOTBALL ADMINISTRATORS ARE NOT SERIOUS. THE DECISION OR PLOT TO FIRE COACH GRANT IS WRONG IN THE ...

yes
    Mr Okromansa
    Kwesi has the advantage of knowing these players and style FOR YEAAAAAAAAAARS. ITS BETTER THAN SOMEONE NOW COMING TO STUDY THem. IT WORKS IN ALL FIELDS CLINTON IS a GOOD PRESIDENT PUT ANY PROFESSION IN ...

• seini 7 years ago

That will be going backwards. The Black Stars started the downward decline under him.

• robert 7 years ago

This site just keeps posting rubbish and crap a three year old girl won't post.Wat do u even call yourselves, a news agency? ??? JOKE

• Johnny 7 years ago

Grant out, for sure. Appiah back in, not so sure.

We need a strong, knowledgeable individual who commands respect. Someone who can manage the players both in the locker room and on the field. An energetic man with strong ...

• DAN 7 years ago

It will be nothing but absurdity for Kwasi Appiah to accept the offer from GFA.

• KYI 7 years ago

You see, I told you so, Ghanaians Talk too much, some people don't understand, My Brother Appiah, don't come back, think about yourself now, life is too short, you create history as first Ghanaian to sent us to world

• Charles Buckman 7 years ago

Ghanians are too know. Stay where you are before they accuse of letting Ghanians to loose. Don't go!

• Emmanuel BOATENG 7 years ago

A prophet indeed is accepted by is own country men. Kwasi dont mind them. Infact KAA BU AM3!! concentrate on your exploits at Sudan where they have embraced you warmly like their own. I even learnt the Sudanese FA will soon a ...

• PITO 7 years ago

1) Herve Renard 2) Ibrahim Tanko 3) Marcel Dessailly 4) Stephen Tornado Appiah (just like Zidane coaching RealMadrid now)
    Hire some one young and fit looking and with some pedigree. What's the sense in going for A.A Who pu ...

• Tibay 7 years ago

I agree with you on Herve, but he is engaged with Morocco. Unless we can really negotiate well. Dude is good!

I AGREE...GIVE RENNARD, TANKO, MILO AND DESAILLY A CHANCE. NOT APPIAH. NOT NOT. EVRYTIME I HEAR OF SUCH AA TALK I REMEMBER SONGO'S CLIP ON AA ON ASEMPA FM. MUAHAHAHAAAAAA

• Emmanuel BOATENG 7 years ago

* A prophet is not accepted by his own country men

• jew guy 7 years ago

Foolish comment. How can an anonymous person be very close to Kwasi Apoiah? People are doing PR work for Kwasi Apoiah. Apoiah cannot be compared to Grant on any day. Grant has lost only one official match. People easily forge ...

• Mike 7 years ago

It's a disaster to the national team. We need continuity ,Appiah is good but Grant is the best in terms of technical ,please maintain Grant for some years ,before we make a change

• Chu 7 years ago

We want Grant,we want Grant ,AG please win us the AFCON.

• Rob 7 years ago

Who writes these articles? Hoe was fired, period. What do you mean 'accidentally'?

• Good citizen 7 years ago

if u reject me for another person n u come back for me b cos bcos It didn't go well, I will Come back feeling too big n will make u smell pepper, " a rolling stone gathers no moss"

• Thomas 7 years ago

Just say no! An

• WOFA KOO NIMO 7 years ago

Not this rubbish coach again o.

• dog plus 7 years ago

i think the world cup fiasco came as a result of this captaincy issues,let see something,when Stephen Appiah left,John mensah became the captain,when mensah left essien was not consistent in the team due to injuries and the l ...

• Harrison 7 years ago

Get Milo. Forget about AA. AA will never be his own man.

• Steve 7 years ago

Don't do it Kwasi Appiah

• Ato 7 years ago

K. Appia is very good but the players don't respect him because hI'm. Also he Appia himself must learn how to TALK so that the players can fear him.

HE WENT TO 2 AFCONS N FAILED. HVE WE SOON FORGOTTEN HOW BURKINA AND MALI BEAT GH? MUAHAAHAHAAAAA
    AA BLOOPERS & MISQUOTES:
    1.James Akwasi Appiah has blamed nature for his side’s inability to qualify to the next stage of th ...

• yes good decision 7 years ago

we need Akwasi Appiah

• Banawo vitus 7 years ago

we should move forward not backward. Kwesi Appia is big NO.

• George Ephraim 7 years ago

Kwesi Appiah pls accept this offer. we have learnt our lessons m

• Tanoah 7 years ago

Kwasi!!!pls do not take itooooooo.l beg U paaaaa Bono people we do not want problem. I beg I once again

• Tex 7 years ago

I doubt this story is true, then again not surprised. Ghana cannot attract a decent name coach because they all know that the GFA and GSM is completely dysfunctional, and will be bound to fail.

How about talking to the pla ...

• Simple Mankind 7 years ago

Fishy headline. Highly questionable. Replacing Grant, with Appiah will be a grant mistake. Do not believe this concocted reportage. In an election period everything goes. Who is the individual that contacted Appiah? Leave GFA ...

• Nana soccer 7 years ago

PLEASE, KWESI COME BACK AND TAKE YOUR BOYS. WAI? PLEEEEEEEAAASE!!!! FORWARD-THINKING, FOOTBALLING-LOVING AND GOOD GAME GAME-APPRECIATING PATRIOTIC GHANAIANS ARE YEARNING FOR YOU, YOUR BRAND, AND WE WILL BE BEHIND YOU SOLIDLY. ...

AA BLOOPERS & MISQUOTES:
    1.James Akwasi Appiah has blamed nature for his side’s inability to qualify to the next stage of the Caf Confederations Cup. LOL..Al Khartoum were compelled to finish the game while it was raining ...

• Issifu D 7 years ago

Ghanaians don't respect their own. Respect your local coaches. We look down upon ourselves.

• casino 7 years ago

We don't need dxx stupid man again

• Martin Luther King Snr 7 years ago

It will be stupidity on his part if he accept the job of the black stars at this time.
    Shame unto Nyantakyi and his allies.

• papa 7 years ago

Boss please let dis people give u a contract 2 sign b4 u start wk n let dem treat u let grant. ..hmmmmmm.dt let fool u again u hv family 2 lk after

• BLACKMAN 7 years ago

f this was the beginning of the cycle right after a World Cup the criteria for a new coach would be different. If someone is brought in now, they will have ten games to get their team together, qualify and be ready for Russia ...

• MAKA 7 years ago

Not kwasi appiah again. If he comes back again, kevin wont return ---and this mumu cant control the dressing room.

Give the job to either Tanko and CK; or Tanko and let Stephen Appiah, or Yaw Preko be his assistant!

• KK 7 years ago

This is probably a bogus, made-up news by Ghanaweb to get you going. I don't believe it a bit.

• Banger 7 years ago

MY DREAM IS CMIN TRUE.GH REALLY NEEDS A GHANAIAN COACH.AA IS THE RIGHT MAN AND LOOK WHAT HE DID TO EGYPT.HE CAN CHANGE THE TEAM BACK TO WINNING WAYS AGAIN.THE LAST WCUP IF THE GFA DID HIS JOB AHEAD OF TIME BY PAYING THE PLAYE ...

• THE SENTINEL 7 years ago

GFA PRESIDENT NYANTAKYI, OWNER AND FINANCER OF WA ALL STARS, AND HIS GREEDY AND CORRUPT GFA EXECUTIVES HAVE PUT THEIR EGO, JUVENILE EMOTIONS AND EMPTY PRIDE ABOVE THE NATIONAL INTEREST. OTHERWISE HOW COULD THEY CONSTANTLY DEP ...

• Atswei esgirl 7 years ago

BLACK STARS NEED WOMEN'S COACH

• ABEI 7 years ago

Kwesi I am a strong admirer of you. Yo have won the African cup at club and national levels.As a coach you won gold at the all African games.The first local coach to qualify us for the world cup.Many forget under you our team ...

• Promise 7 years ago

let's receive Kwesi Appiah back

• Promise 7 years ago

what do you mean?

• kwame ben 7 years ago

What magic has Kwesi Appiah..is he the only black Ghanaian coach.GFA learn from your past mistakes

• Matthew 7 years ago

nice decision by the GFA but KA don't always go by the decisions of the GFA. use your technical known how to coach the black star team. bench any player who Will failed to go by your directives. KA pls be strong and call a sp ...

What has Appiah achieved after leaving the Stars?
    Nothing....

• Abdul mumin 7 years ago

Do u people think Appiah will help? Hmmmm we live to see.

• Awuradebasa 7 years ago

My problem with him is that he's listening to the players of who to sit on the bench and who should be playing.
    A weak coach...