You are here: HomeSportsSoccer2016 06 13Article 447106

Stars will struggle at 2017 AFCON without Asamoah Gyan - Peter Lamptey

Read Comments Comments (35)

• kofi mensah usa 7 years ago

good job asamoah u have scored more goals in international scene

• POW@Watch Phobia 2016 7 years ago

Eka nta a mli. Tue bo loi, Peter Lamptey ewo Oly ekong.

Ats3o mi Oko Dagadu, amonto n33 nk3 ny3 baa ha Amamoo Kakra.

Yoooo Oko medaw' ase pa paa pa. Omanfo, w'abo non ebaasa nna sima eduonan esuon. Peter Lamptey, asan a ...

• FOYOOSIS 7 years ago

Hahaha POW. Gone are the days. How i wish they had shown "goal thief" Peter Lamptey's image so i can see how he looks like today.

He weas indeed a great force to reckon with.

• Saint Ghfuo: MEDIOCRITY STINKS! 7 years ago

DID IVORY COAST STRUGGLE WITHOUT DROGBA AT AFCON? NO. THEY WENT AHEAD AND WON THE TROPHY...DROGBA, BEING THE ULTIMATE PROFESSIONAL KNEW HE NEEDED TO BOW OUT. BUT NOT GREEDY GYAN. I DONT THINK GH WILL WIN ANY AFCON TROPHY WITH ...

• OSEI TUTU TAWIAH 7 years ago

Even common Mauritius, Ghana has to struggle with them for 60 minutes before scoring any goal. What if this was a team with tougher defenders?

• Once Govina KojoLee 7 years ago

So up till now, we haven't even got a carbon like striker like Gyan in the Black Stars team.

Are we going or coming?

Haaa

• Sarskoberta 7 years ago

Yes, we are going but coming back in reversed mode. This because, Majeed Warris, Asefua, Jordan, and a host of hopefuls have all been disappointments.

Things would only improve when you and your government comes back.
    Ri ...

• Saint Ghfuo: MEDIOCRITY STINKS! 7 years ago

THE SQUAD - GOALIES: ADAM K, ERNEST SOWAH, RAZAK BRAIMA. RIGHTBACK: NKUM, AFFUL, OR YAW FRIMPONG. LEFTBACK: BABA RAHMAN, KISSI BOATENG. 4: AMARTEY, SUMAILA OR BOYE. 5: NII ADJEI, JONATHAN MENSAH. 6: BADU, WAKASU, OR AMANDA AC ...

• Abeiku SW 2 7 years ago

Yes we do need him but we need a decent replacement quick ... our captain ain't getting younger .. get Dodoo and Inaki Williams to switch quick whilst Asamoah is around .. they can learn off him

• Kenneth Osei-Afriyie 7 years ago

That's why it's important Grant concentrate his efforts on moulding new strikers; natural goal scorers who can make something out of nothing as Gyan does. Compared to other top teams on the continent such as Cote d ...

• Emperor Rasheed 7 years ago

You are supposed to be working with GFA because of your understanding of soccer.It is unfortunate, we rather have gangenous men with little knowledge of soccer over there.You are also giving the advice to a coach who is bent ...

Emperor, why not? The only time we'll have a serious coach is when a local coach meets the required mark to handle our Stars. Anything short of that is about fun. You stay in Europe and come for $50K plus at the end of every ...

My brother, I don't see any possible way Grant can mold a striker for Ghana. The so called strikers we have in the senior national team or elsewhere, spent 98 percent of their training times with their various clubs. Grants g ...

• Emperor Rasheed 7 years ago

We have coaches who can put square pegs into round holes,and it is only those with the third eye like emperor Rasheed,who can identify them.My son POW has to be patient to acquire the third eye.

See this man, you claimed to have possessed every power that be but still "you dey hala". If I have third eye, I'll become a super filthy rich man in a matter of days.

If that is so, your implicit deduction suggests Grant rarely handles the Stars and for that matter cannot unearth/polish the much needed striker, how come such a lousy, redundant, habitual absentee, ugly Methuselah of a coach ...

• Slimzay*The Unshakeable* 7 years ago

Ken, do you really think we have the time to train a player to become good within the time we have left for the tournament? Jordan could become one in the next two years but unless we stop eating and begin to fast and pray. A ...

You and I have the fervent belief that Ghana is a Xtian nation.(Muslim alike.)
    Haven't we prayed and fasted enough to warrant a relieve for our problems?
    Slim, don't lose this fact: Xtianity has been with us since God knows ...

Sir Slim, not only for the Afcon but for the long term beginning with the WC Qualifiers which I think is going to be much more tougher. Yes, Jordan looks like a good prospect but I believe there are others as wel ...

• michael nii kpakpo quaye 7 years ago

Am always glad to see him scoring,way back in school he prove to us all that he was a future player with its aim,wish him all the best,still the bleoo de flow in him......

You may not like him Emperor and you may still be seething Big POW(er) because he took over your anointed one's position. But what matters most is our beloved country,'s interests. As proud Ghanaians I think it ...

Meaning, even tho we know 's3 ne3mma nnkoyie' there is nothing we can do since he is all we have for now?

This is a clear case of a child unattended to that must be 'babysit' so we cannot lose the child thru unavoidable in ...

Bro there is a difference between support and criticism. Supporting something doesn't mean it should be devoid of criticism. Yes by all means criticise when it is due. But it must be done constructively not des ...

• DO AGLAH 7 years ago

The guy is alright , very good , international standard. He has done quite a lot for Ghana.
    Cheers Gyan!

• goodman 7 years ago

He is good but not the only best player in ghana after all we have ayews so no fair but we still need more strikers.we should not depend on asamoah gyan only if he is not there somebody must strike.ghana will lift up the cup ...

Goodman, we all wish the Ayews could be turned into strikers; however looking at the way they position themselves during games in their various clubs, it would be hard to present them as strikers. These young men are both att ...

Oh, i forgot to include Dede. He can strike with his head, which Drogba was also known for, and can positioned better than his younger brother, but feet accuracy, he lacks. His, on the other hand, could be taught by a coach s ...

• anokwale 7 years ago

Assifuah is there. He needs to be given a chance. I believe that is the replacement.

• Kubu 7 years ago

I dont know why Coach Grant is not getting his replacement since Gyan is ageing.He needs tall strikers.

• Samirt 7 years ago

Talking is cheap but let us be real we have all played soccer before and the hardest part is getting a real prolific goal scorer by nature such as Messi,Ronaldo,Asamoah Gyan,Opoku Afriyie,Dan Owusu,Abukari such strikers are n ...

• Opanin Koo Kwakye, J'burg 7 years ago

Asamoah-Gyan has done his part for the Black Stars, but he is not indespensalble. If he reties from international football, the Black Stars will continue. Therefore, please keep quiet.

• The Enigma! USA 7 years ago

I have been thinking Peter Lamptey was dead! What? Why have you been hiding all these years!!! You are my idylic goal getter. As a Phobian, you were the greatest. Can't for get your incredible talent!! But I disagree, G ...

• Paa Dico Washington, DC 7 years ago

Goose bumps to hear Peter Lamptey's name. Truly moulded like Bodoakwa's Dan Owusu and BS skipper Asamoah Gyan. These guys are goal-poachers, period. Their instincts and adreline takes over in the 18 and never stops until the ...

• Oware Daniel(Deaf) 7 years ago

please Grant must b seeking for the top strikers like as Gyan bcuz he is the best score all e time for the black stars....why not! if we don't have him at afcon 2017 we can't make it to win afcon I surely! I can Gyan is easy ...

• Asam Patrick 7 years ago

Is really true without baby jet Ghana will not move far,we need him at his best.