You are here: HomeSportsSoccer2016 06 02Article 444120

Black Stars players are greedy – Nunoo Mensah

Read Comments Comments (57)

• wisdom speaks 7 years ago

Are you patriotic? Do you have the nation at heart? You steal from the nation and use you government machinery to harasse innocent tax payers. May fire consume you andd your napos

• Jk 7 years ago

What is the sense in your comments?

• Kofi Kyei- Baffour Kantanka 7 years ago

He says Kwame and the whole nation were upright, today Mahama and the rest of the people are crooked(not upright) including this Mensah man with big title but can't match it with deeds.

• Smart Frempah Uk 7 years ago

Football has gone professional old Brigadier and you are stuck in the past. Talking about patriotism... oh my God. The pot is calling kettle black.
    However said this; the reason why Ghana hasn't won the African highest p ...

• Smart Frempah Uk 7 years ago

**The reason why Ghana hasn't won the African highest prize since 1982.....

• Otsibu Darko 7 years ago

Yes, football has gone professional, it does not mean players should paid hefty sums of money to play for their country. Players are fed, housed, transported and therefore allowances are enough, paying them $8000-10,000 is mo ...

• Kwamena 7 years ago

You so idiotic OK with this comment you put

• eric 7 years ago

IF IT DUE THEM WHY NOT DEMAND FOR IT. SIR, DONT CLAIM SITTING AND FUEL ALLOWANCE? LETS CUT THE HYPOCRISY

• eric 7 years ago

IF IT DUE THEM WHY NOT DEMAND FOR IT. SIR, DONT U CLAIM SITTING FOR OFFICIAL MEETINGS YOU ATTEND AND FUEL ALLOWANCE FOR OFFICIAL TRAVELS YOU DO? LETS CUT THE HYPOCRISY

• Kojo 7 years ago

In the days of yore, right after independence, every body including the leaders are prepared to die for Ghana. Now what we see is greedy bastards in government (the old school brigadier included) who draw free fuel, enjoy uti ...

• sly, Norwich, UK 7 years ago

Given that the players are going into a final decider, one can question the timing of Nunoo's comments. Nunno has a right to state his opinions as a citizen of Ghana. However, sometimes common sense dictates that the comments ...

• Sika 7 years ago

Fool u better work for free... Players can be injured for life so knw that kwasia.

• ebenezer nii amu first--quao 7 years ago

....Cuba, Soviet Union and other communist nations then. Great talents which could have earned money for their families and the nation they "died for' had they had the chance to go professional!Can you tell me what Ghana does ...

• CPAA 7 years ago

WHAT ABOUT YOU, MR OLD MAN. ARE YOU WORKING FOR FREE?

• ebenezer nii amu first--quao 7 years ago

...to have occasioned half the unconstitutional changes of government in Ghana since independence. It had to do with their terms of service and if Ghana had not gone big time into UN and AU peacekeeping,wasn't more on the way ...

Mr nunoo mensah this players are greedy its true may God give long life and say the true so so so greedy

• Old soldier 7 years ago

Everyone in Ghana is greedy not only the players.even nunoo is greedy does he work for Ghana free pls tell me,you coroupt day in day out so you better stop that your comments is their profession so don't be greedy to them.bec ...

• kwuaku- USA 7 years ago

the players are not greedy rather FA official who are ripping off Ghana. the money players received are nothing but the FA official use the notion that players demanding the money.

• Nexty 7 years ago

That was then the gold Coast or should I say colonialism Pops when computers were not even invented. Wake up n welcome 2 our world. Even 2days politicians r in for the money. Not 2 mention some Judges as well.

• McDaniels barbers,Ho 7 years ago

Our religious leaders,Chiefs,politicians have help KILLED the SPIRIT of PATRIOTISM.Nobody is ready to die for this nation.I remember some people play blackstar with their own boots.
    We should remember what Franklin Rosenvet ...

• kayokayo, RSA 7 years ago

This statement is very unnecessary from you Sir, do you think these former players will advice their own children to play for Ghana free of charge ? even if they could turn back the hands of time and play for Ghana today, th ...

• GIGI 7 years ago

Maybe you need to speak to Osei Kofi and know his current views. Times have changed and you need to move on, mate

• Fred Miller 7 years ago

I don't think the current Black Stars are greedy is just that it is their only job and then again there is nothing like pension once thir career comes to and end if you are talkin ...

• medina man 7 years ago

this old man is realy stupid he is still working .he shoud leave for a youger man to take his job ,that will be an exmple of patrotism .plaese leave

• wasik 7 years ago

Look at a hypocrite.

• wele 7 years ago

Leave this old school man he should tell woyome to bring our money

• wele 7 years ago

He should go and tell woyome to bring our money because Kwame Nkrumah would have had him hang

• rush 7 years ago

you can talk about black stars but you talk about NDC.fool

• truth 7 years ago

Everybody wants to be RICH. Nobody wants to be a slave to the politician or anybody.

• M G 7 years ago

You expect them to be patriotic. Are the politricksians patriotic? Our road tolls, gold, OIL, manganese, huge taxes at the ports etc. Where are the monies? Let your politricksians be patriotic and the rest will follow. A rott ...

• Opanin Koo Kwakye, J'burg 7 years ago

These are professionals. They earn a living on playing football. They risk injuries when playing for the country and thus, risking their careers. Therefore, they must be remunerated.

• zoro 7 years ago

what an idiot!

• Babê stinGŒ 7 years ago

Silly Man, see who is talking about milking the nation. How much do u have in your foreign accounts. Did this people you are talking about ever qualified to the World Cup before? Do you know how the GFA takes from the players ...

• staph 7 years ago

These players who are greedy qualified to the world cup three times.Those who played from their hearts never went,so Mr Mensah what are you saying and what did you do for mother Ghana from your heart

• Onipa Ghanaman 7 years ago

Oh Gen.Nunoo Mensah why don't you blame the officials who gave dubious contracts to their familes and friends to during the Brazil WC.Why didn't you accuse President for Air lifting the money to Brazil?

• Grace 7 years ago

During Nkrumah's time how much did you pay for school fees, water, electricity. Did u buy any books for Ur kids. How much phone units did you buy? Everything costs money, so don't talk about players playing for free. Soccer i ...

• Wisdom Akpanya 7 years ago

Considering what I read from your comments, it seems none of you have any solution to the problems facing the country. Please, if making a contribution about the problems we face as citizens of a country, try to remind people ...

• Kofi mensa 7 years ago

This man knows not what he says, he is on pension why doesn't sacrifice his salary or better Still allow jobless younger men to work if he so loves the country as he is trying to insinuate.

• Selassie - UK 7 years ago

Nunoo Mensah I met you many years ago (during the time of Jerry). I really respect you but you are not remotely qualified to talk about the commitment of the Black Stars! And please don’t talk about greed. If you want greed ...

• John John 7 years ago

Oohhh brigadier bring all the money you stole including Wayome 's and they will play for free .

• BRIGHT 7 years ago

THANKS FOR YOUR SUBMISSION , DR. KWAME NKRUMAH LIVED AS A SELFLESS LEADER. LEADERSHIP BY EXAMPLE , ALMOST EVERY GHANAIAN FOLLOWED NKRUMAH'S SHINNING EXAMPLE. UNLIKE TODAY , THE PRESIDENT SO GREEDY , UNPATRIOTIC AND SELFISH S ...

• poopoo 7 years ago

Let ur family play for Ghana eeh, I hope u were not correcting pay, when u were bregadier

• As3mbi 7 years ago

Brofo y3ru "correcting pay bregadier "

• kayokayo, RSA 7 years ago

General Nunoo is not a Ghanaian. Every Ghanaian is aware that 80% of these players represent their mother land not on merit, they have to pay bribe to get a call up. If you want to see trophy then use your high office to ceas ...

• Loxy 7 years ago

Hehehehe........tell your Government appointees to serve the country from their hearts before you gain the impetus to attack the players. What do you expect from them when they see how this government is misusing state resour ...

• Hon.Agyenim-Boateng 7 years ago

Your government is rather greedy oo Mr. Nunoo,advice your President.

• Hon.Agyenim-Boateng 7 years ago

It's your government (NDC) which is rather greedy

• Angosaotome,Osu Christianborg Citizen 7 years ago

People should ask Nunoo-Mensah what work has he been doing to deserve the pay and benefits that he takes from the tax payer. These Black Stars players that he insults kill themselves for ghana only to be destroyed by stupid f ...

• Nokwarehene 7 years ago

Everybody knows they are less greedier than the soldiers who overthrew civilian governments or served in military governments.

• H. G 7 years ago

This foolish old man has said nothing sensible.

• Kwame kwarteng 7 years ago

I think Mr Brigadier think he's smarter than black star players that's why he's saying all this,monkey dey work Baboo dey chop is over,so you better shut up and do what you suppose to do

• Kwesi ab 7 years ago

Stupid allegation. How much money does your party give to Solomon Nkansah & cohorts? Don't bring yourself for discussion.

U are right, they play as if, they are not competing ,after all what do they care, they will be given money if win or lose. Nothing like personal glory or achievement.

• Photosy 7 years ago

This man is perhaps living in medieval times, perhaps Elizabethan age. Gone are the days when one died for ones country, today are times when one lives for ones country. Everywhere you go , Ghana's football is praised, that i ...

• hayford 7 years ago

So the players should play for free? For greedy politician to chop the money? The patriot you're talking about are they not the ones who said they have cursed the nation bcos their promised were not been forfil?or what is pat ...

• agyeman 7 years ago

I BELIEVE THESE BOYS PLAY FOR FAME IT RATHER THOSE SO CALLED GFA OFFICIALS WHO PUSH THE BOYS FOR THE CASH. BY THE WAY THE PEOPLE AT GFA WHAT IS THEIR ACTUAL VOCATION? IT APPEARS THEY JUST LIVE ON FOOTBALL FUNDS. IT IS ABOUT T ...

• BLACK STAR COAST 7 years ago

LOOK, AT HIS AGE,HE WISHES TO USE MONEY TO GO TO ABROAD TO STUDY LAW,SELFISH PERSON,AND CALLING THE YOUTH OF THESE DAYS,GREEDY.HE WANTS EVERYTHING FOR HIMSELF