You are here: HomeSportsSoccer2014 12 02Article 337517

Black Stars out to avoid 'Group of Death' at 2015 AFCON

Read Comments Comments (36)

• Kwame Joe 9 years ago

Côte d'Ivoire is the team to watch.

• Odiasembone 9 years ago

Clear article presentation. But why should it matter whether you meet the tough team early or not, especially if you claim to be the great soccer nation that looks to hire some expensive world class coach, with millions of do ...

• Ghfuo: Be Ruthless, hang nyantakyi, N 9 years ago

Nyantakyi must leave, NOW!
    The longer he stays, the worse things are going to get. This is what whyni i like the naija people. If nyantakyi was in naija. His car,.offices would have already been shot up, bombed or terrorized ...

• CHARITY O, TEMA 9 years ago

Ghfuo, YOU ARE FULL OF SHIT. I now understand why Kala or Sala USA was bugging you with Ankarful and Nsawam. You think it's only you who don't want Nyantakyi around? Why are you trying to sow seeds of kidnapping, violence in ...

• MARK, ASAFO. 9 years ago

Ghfuo, Charity asked you only ONE question which she said you won't be able to answer. She asked if you have kids and wife. WILL YOU PLEASE ANSWER HER QUESTION?

• KASA 9 years ago

The so called best case worse case does not even make sense. Aside Algeria in the worse case the difference between the other teams is not vast.....we talk too much.

• anokwale 9 years ago

Please check the CAF website. Ivory Coast is in pot 1 and Burkina is in Pot 2. They show you the calculations that are used for seeding. Basically, they look at performance since the AFCON 2010 and who qualified for World ...

• DIAMOND 9 years ago

If you think you are capable of winning the World Cup, then there should be no 'unfavorable draw' or 'tough group' in Africa.

• Igordoglovoski 9 years ago

You people paa?? You are not serious ooo. We never learn. Best Case scenario indeed. Same way you wrote America off in the world cup and we were beaten hands down. You think they did not play qualifiers or what ?? You want to ...

• anokwale 9 years ago

In fact, I am disappointed that Nigeria did not make it. I really want this to be the toughest possible competition so no one can question the tournament. It is a tough field. Other than the host, I do not really see a wea ...

• DIAMOND 9 years ago

Hardly does any Ghanaian see Nigeria as a threat to us at Afcons anymore.

We eliminated them in 2008 and 2010.
    They would not be the toughest to us in E.G. even if they had qualified, at least, not psychologically.

Lik ...

• KD 9 years ago

If you want to be the best, you have to beat the best.
    You can't win the AFCON,if you don't want to meet or face the so call best teams who can't even qualify from group stage of the world cup.

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

just throw the games till the that guy leaves

• 4 Year Old 9 years ago

The truth of the matter is that Ghana Black Stars must improve rather than talk about and being leery about "group of death".
    Ivorians, Algerians, Zambians etc continue to improve. They can therefore take on any team and st ...

• Kwame appiah 9 years ago

BBC has ivory coast in pot 1 and not burkinafaso. Which is which

• ZUMAH, USA 9 years ago

IT IS BASED ON RECENT AFCON PERFORMANCES. B. FASO WERE RUNNERS UP MOST RECENTLY TO NIGERIA!!

• Kwame appiah 9 years ago

Burkinafaso is not right check caf website. Also Dr Congo and Congo are both in pot 4. Ghana web needs smart editors

• Toff 9 years ago

Favorable draw from where and for what? If you want a be the best you must be prepared to beat the best. Each of the 26 nations is there to make an impact. We have forgotten so soon how Cape Verde exposed us before Burkina na ...

• DIAMOND 9 years ago

Hey, 26 nations?!
    I thought it was 16.

Just kidding.
    I know you typoed.

Anyway, CAF should raise the number to, at least, 24; we've had more African countries since independence.
    4 to 8. 8 to 16. Time for 16 to 24.

• Kato 9 years ago

If only wishes were horses, Ghanaians would ride! You think playing against teams like DR Congo and Gabon will be easier? What a warped analysis! DR Congo qualified as the best third placed team but consider the points they h ...

• STEVE 9 years ago

Group of death or group of survival, all that Ghana needs to do is prepare adequately for the tournament. That had been the norm for all the past glories of the Stars till the 1970's. BE PREPARED.

• Ghfuo: Be Ruthless, hang nyantakyi, N 9 years ago

Nyantakyi must leave, NOW!
    Nyantakyi, do you have the power to let go off power?
    The longer he stays, the worse things are going to get. This is what whyni i like the naija people. If nyantakyi was in naija. His car,.office ...

Ghfuo, Charity asked you only ONE question elsewhere at this forum; in case you've forgotten, she asked if you have kids and wife. ANSWER THE LADY'S QUESTION, PLEASE.

• WENCHIE MOKE 9 years ago

Will miss the tournament.The cartilage in his left knee has been reconstructed due to trauma.Recuperation period 3-4 months.

Che cazzo!

• nii moi 9 years ago

PLEASE YOU ARE DECIEVING YOUYRSELF, COTE DIVOIRE IS IN pot 1 and not pot 2.

• king flemzy 9 years ago

This weather is cold and the heater is off.People buying jacket and some people looking for ranking and draw,we shipping stuffs, paying heavy taxes and monies and some people looking for ways to used these money..hmmm na wow ...

• abena kwabena 9 years ago

you would see many big men and women from each of the 16 African countries. One thing common to all of them would be "one small white coach dictating to them" Poor souls they can't think for them selves, good for nothing.

• Rasheed. 9 years ago

You are also a poor soul who cannot think for herself,because it is the same white man who is controlling your president,economy, you and the whole world.Don't you know that?.

You haven't changed your name yet? I think someone was making noise about your name: ABENAA & KWABENA. Your dad gave you that? Why didn't your mom protest? Stupid dad, right?

• Exa 9 years ago

Whites are our saviors in everything. Haven't you heard about races and IQ? Don't be surprised to see 54 white coaches for the 54 national African teams.

• Famu 9 years ago

You guys want to meet cheap, weak and easy teams to play with so you can win. Be men not women

Why is a team which drew 2-2 with world champions Germany be afraid to face the likes of Algeria, IC, Cameroon or any team in Africa? For what I know, Ghana is always in a panick even when playing against Togo, Uganda or Suda ...

• Donald 9 years ago

Good luck and I wish black star all the best in the draw.

• fuseini,tamale 9 years ago

as usual ghanaians always wanna go into a tourney with some tactics but wouldn't yield anything good for us

• Exa 9 years ago

So the black or chocolate stars have a white vanilla? No more excuses the stars are the limit. After lifting it in Malabo the 2018 in Moscou is theirs to.

• Carlors Davies Jalloh 9 years ago

Ghana black star will do very well in African cup of Nation