You are here: HomeSportsSoccer2014 03 28Article 304588

Stephen Appiah wants players to demand for more cash

Read Comments Comments (48)

• Ka Na Wu 10 years ago

So that they can send their girlfriends to the WC? This fool has been making too much foolish noises these days

• Mr.N 10 years ago

This whole promise of houses to the 1963 & 1965 players are all full of crap no one had shown us any newspaper clip or any press release.

Dr Kwame Nkrumah was in power till Feb 24, 1966 and knowing Dr Kwame Nkrumah if he h ...

• POW@Ghana 4 last 4, Brazil 2014 10 years ago

The point is do we pay these players just as the other nations do? In W/C 2010, France didn't get past the group stage after 3 matches they only managed a draw and 2 losses. However, Ghana got to the quarter finals. Just chec ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

POW let face it two engineers or doctors they all have the same qualification one is working in Ghana the other is working in France for the same company they do not get equal pay they are doing the same job.

The contested ...

• Africanus 10 years ago

Brother, there should be no comparison between Ghana and France. France has earned the right to spend any amount of money on their WC squad. Ghana on the other hand is a beggar nation which is not able to fund her own budget ...

• Won haw ne den? U.S.A 10 years ago

Massa, Ghana has chosen to be a beggar country, its the choice of Ghana. We have everything and yet we go out begging, is this not insane? Look at the ministers/ politicIan, they get what they want. Have you seen a politician ...

• baba Tunde 10 years ago

OK, IT IS TRUE THAT THE OLD PLAYERS WERE NEGLECTED, SO THESE ONES SHOULD TAKE A CUE AND GRAB WHILE THE IRON IS STILL HOT. BUT WAIT A MINUTE, THESE PLAYERS DO THEY NEED THE COUNTRY OR DOS THE COUNTRY NEED THEM. YOU SEE YOU NEE ...

• The Don 10 years ago

Capito,

I have to respectfullty disaggre with you here. These players are earning more in a week, that most ghananainas would ear in several lifetimes. The fact that past soccer hereoes were not treated well rightly needs ...

• POW@Ghana 4 last 4, Brazil 2014 10 years ago

The fact that most Ghanaians won't make that much in their lifetime doesn't mean they should take any peanut. Imagine the injury caused to Essien during stars camp which almost cost his game time for good, how much was Ghana' ...

Some people do not reason.their brains are full of insults.

• KAY 10 years ago

A COUNTRY THAT DOES NOT APPRECIATE ITS HEROES IS NOT WORTH DYING FOR....

• Jason 10 years ago

I think his remarks is stupid.

Most of these players live laverish lives during their playing time. Buy big houses drive expensive cars and enagage in woman of all sort.

It is not about their paycheck..because even if t ...

• Africanus 10 years ago

I agree with you, they have to learn to moderate their life style. Through out Ghana's history footballers always make more money than civil servants, but for lack of personal financial management they retire in poverty.

You are STUPID. Do you make their money for them?listen to yourself, you think playing soccer and becoming what they are today is by eating and sleeping. They toil for their money and they will use it the way they like. When ...

• kwame 10 years ago

Steve!! something dey wrong you!! what ever money you've made in your football career, you better put it into good use!! welcome to reality!!!
    when you retire!! I'm sorry you become an ordinary Ghanaian just like any civil ...

• FOOTBALL PEOPLE 10 years ago

TORNADO PLS GIVE US A BREAK,WHAT DO U KNOW?ENJOY WHAT U HAVE NOW.

• Bonney 10 years ago

Ex Cap Appiah, You have to reward yourself with the money you are making. You get your pay from your hard work and invest the money.And not or lavish the money and expect tax payers money for your pocket when not delivering a ...

• bashings 10 years ago

My dear Stephen how many people are enjoying themselves after retiring from the civil service??? we all have to paid well and not only a few people who kick and chase a leather ball on the field!

• KANAWU 10 years ago

THIS STEPHEN APPIAH IS TOO KNOWN. HE SHOULD LEAVE THE CAMP. HE WON'T HELP US IN ANYWAY.

• OSEI 10 years ago

STEPHEN SHOULD NOT BRING HIS WOES TO BLACK STARS. ARE YOU AT THE CAMP TO SORT THINGS OUT WITH GFA ABOUT YOUR PAST?

• MAN 10 years ago

So is it the GH gov or the coach who is sending Stephen Appiah to Brazil? Ban this guy anywhere near Black Stars camp in Brazil. He will steer trouble in the camp. Mark this.

• me 10 years ago

STevo..i like u and all..but these days u talk too much..Haba. The money Germans, English, Spain and the likes get is not even up to 4000 euros...yet they do well for their countries....

• C.O.D 10 years ago

Its not only football players who are "dying" or serving this country. Our farmers, teachers, nurses, medical doctors, accountants, auditors, pilots, parliamentarians, among others, are all serving Ghana and "dying" for her. ...

• hmmmmmm 10 years ago

No lights

• nana yaw manu 10 years ago

The expression is 'ask for', or 'demand', not 'demand for'.

• Obideeaba, Belgium 10 years ago

Come to Europe n see the investment most of the players are undertaking, every Ghanaian football player want to open a pub or a club, a time will come no one will patronize the investment, please build houses with your hard e ...

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 10 years ago

TELL THE PLAYERS TO MAKE MORE GOALS,THATS IS IMPORTANT AND STOP THAT

• Kay 10 years ago

Appiah please advice your younger colleagues to plan well with what comes to them and they will always not lack after playing active soccer. All workers in Ghana serve the country and its nobody's business to take direct care ...

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 10 years ago

THIS APPIAH CAN BRINGE BRIBE, MONEY PROBLEM TO OUR BOYS TO LOSE ALL THE GAMES

• Gonjaman 10 years ago

This useless guy is an ingrate he must be sacked from their camp. He is a negative force, what these footballers earn a week professionals like our doctors, teachers, electricians don't make it in a year. He must give us a br ...

• Sammy 10 years ago

Stephen Appiah is very greedy person, so many people continue to sacrifice for the country, farmers, teachers, doctors etc. Do you know the world market price for cocoa? how much do the government pay to them?

• Edward 10 years ago

If their fat weekly salaries in europe cannot help them out then i'm sorry little money from Ghana cannot do them anything better. They should rather learn to invest wisely instead on buying so many cars.

• Haruna Mohammed 10 years ago

he used all his money on women

• Africanus 10 years ago

What about nurses and teachers, remember they will also retire at some point and from that point on no body will care for them.

You do not expect the government to care for retired footballers. You people make more money ...

• Koo frank 10 years ago

Appiah I totally disagree wth you. You can give the whole world's money to them and if they don't know how manage properly they will still live in destitution after their football career. Too much money too stupid life. Eeii ...

• TerriblY Spe cifi. 10 years ago

Stupid guy,when you was a captain did you win even tampico cup for ghana? kwasea ba, wo maame tw3 wate? aboa ba

• Mohammed Ibrahim 10 years ago

I agree with Stephen Appiah.The treatmemt of Golden Boy Mr.Abdul Razak,and Other Ex-Black Stars players is unacceptable,and should be Condemed.Ex-Black Stars players must be Treated with Respect.Black Stars Players must be pa ...

• Kwasi Owusu 10 years ago

Kwasia when U went there, what did you do 4 Ghanan? Appiah GIMINNI.

• Johnson 10 years ago

Please don't do this because i respect you, u can't get your life time security from one tournament. Tell the players to rather plan with whatever they get now

• Fiifi 10 years ago

What were you able to do for us as a nation Zero,nothing. So why are you today polluting the mind of these guys. your days are over go to fishing because there a ocean in Accra. Go sitdown because you are useless now we need ...

• lee 10 years ago

Don't forget that, but for the money Ghana initially spent to nurture these players, most of them will NOT be where they are at today...Don't act like these players don't personally get career benefits from going to the WC... ...

• kwame 10 years ago

we are all important in gh, shut up not just footballers, if lot cannot afford to invest all the millions u earn abroad and go broke after your carrier, then u guys are fools, the black star money a lone will not make u rich

• OKOROMANSA 10 years ago

THAT IS FINE, APPIAH, BUT WHY DON'T YOU TELL TO SCORE MORE GOALS I BRAZIL. HANDS GO, HANDS COME, SO MIND YOU, IF THEY GET THE BONUS, BUT FAIL TO IMPRESS, THEN YOU KNOW YOUR 24 MILLION COACHES WILL NOT FORGIVE THEM AT ALL. BY ...

• Y B - sudan 10 years ago

Stephen appiah is too known, are the black stars players the only workers in Ghana? , that we should give all Ghana money to them. if you are useless u are useless no amount of money will reach you. This is a part time job t ...

• hmmmmmm 10 years ago

If euro cannot help u then.............

• Peter 10 years ago

Stephen Appiah have lost his mind.What happened to all that money you guys made when you were playing active soccer. Be responsible.

• JOHN 10 years ago

shut up

• JOHN 10 years ago

shame Appiah your not sympathetic