You are here: HomeSportsSoccer2013 12 29Article 296471

Essien to leave Chelsea in January- Report

Read Comments Comments (70)

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

Grandpa watched Tommy pull a worm out of the ground and told him that he would give him 10 bucks if he could put it back in.

Tommy left for a bit and said "Ok Grandpa, watch this". Tommy then pushed the worm right back dow ...

• Sigma, London 10 years ago

We will miss you. My advice is that you concentrate on your fitness and you will come back to form. Good luck!

• Man in the Mirror 10 years ago

That is the effect of lying about your actual age. Essien is at least 40 years and the effect of age is reflecting in his game now. He's no more very strong and cannot move as quickly as before!

• ABEOKU ANNERMAN 10 years ago

Essien once did not want to play for Ghana Black Star, for his aim at that was to help Chelsea to win European Championship.

Now, Essien is playing for Black Star as if he loves Black Star to death. He is using Black Star ...

• Do Good 10 years ago

It is old age, my brother. Start investing your money and enjoy life. You have successful footballer. leave soccer and find something else.

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

LIVERPOOL NEEDS HELP

THATS ALL I CAN SAY

• Nii Aryee 10 years ago

The dude is 36 and not 31, talking from a reliable source. Don't think PSG would be interested and Marseille needs a younger player as well. The guy is in a real shit; that's what you get when you lie on your age and also ung ...

WE ALL SAW WAT U DID IN A GH JERSEY. U STILL HVE TONS OF SOCCER IN YOU. GIGGS, MALDINI, LAMPARD, TERRY ETC ALL PLAYED N R STILL PLAYING. THERE R MANY CLUBS IN FRANCE WHO NEED VETERAN EXPERIENCE. IF CHELSEA IS PLAYING HIDE N S ...

• ATOPA 10 years ago

ESSIEN CAN EAT ALL THE GRASS INFRONT OF THE BUCKINGHAM PALACE AND IT STILL WON'T BE ENOUGH TO REVERSE THE HAND OF TIME.NOBODY HATES ESSIEN.WE ARE JUST SUGGESTING THAT MAY BE IT IS TIME TO GRACEFULLY GIVE WAY TO YOUNGER MIDFIE ...

DIDNT YOU SEE HIM PLAY IN A GH JERSEY RECENTLY. NOW, U THINK HE SHOULD RETIRE? SOMETIMES, I WONDR WAT BRAIN MOST GH PPL HVE IN THEIR DOMES..SEEDORF IS STILL PLAYING, BAPTISTA, CAFI, DIDA, RONALDINHO ARE ALL PLAYING...LAMPARD, ...

• ATOPA 10 years ago

Ghfou,I'm really not interested in what other people are doing in their backyard.Those players are obviously from countries with the medical know how to sustain their aging players.We have your prayers and a couple of" aren't ...

• KOFI SEI 10 years ago

ATOPA ,YOU HATE ESSIEN SIMPLE AS THAT .IS ESSIEN LIVING IN GHANA ? EVEN THE ORDINARY IMMIGRANT IS TREATED IN THE SAME HOSPITALS BY THE SAME DOCTORS WHO TREAT THE CITIZENS COME TO TALK OF ESSIEN WHO CAN AFFORD TO PAY ANY MEDIC ...

AT THE WCUP. U NEED EXPERIENCED PLAYERS LIKE ESSIEN EVEN MORE. THE GUY HAS WON MAJOR TROPHIES. WAS PLAYING IN SPAIN AT REAL MADRIS WITH RONALDO, OZIL ETC...HOW MNY GH PLAYERS HVE MADE IT THAT FAR? KAKA WAS AT REAL MADRID BUT ...

• OGA yum yum 10 years ago

you don't make sense because if the guy manages to get a club and plays consistently, based on his enormous experience, he can help the stars to come out in flying colours at the mundial...

• KOFI SEI 10 years ago

My first time of hearing almighty GHFUO using emotional words of encouragement to somebody,after all said and done the guy has a good side .Essien is not down and out but what will happen if he chooses to it's over with footb ...

• Frimpong 10 years ago

Kofi, you must have this suspicion that you are on the wrong side of the debate if you are siding with Ghoul.Nobody is asking Essen to retire.We are just saying players going to Brazil should not be held back due to injuries ...

U WANT ESSIEN TO BE DROPPED SO U CAN ASSUME HIS SPOT IN BRASIL? HOW MANY GAMES HVE U PLAYED IN THE EPL FOR ARSENAL OR FULHAM OR WHATEVA CLUB U CURRENTLY PLAY FOR? EVERY SEASON, U EITHER GET SENT ON LOAN OR U ARE INJURED. CONT ...

• OGA yum yum 10 years ago

let's play that he gets a playing time in his old or new club and be fit at that historic moment.

oga, because of his vast experience in the profession, he would definitely help the stars at the mundial, so don't write him ...

• Nana Kwame, Belgium 10 years ago

can even be 40 what is yr problem, are u the one who gave birht to him, destiny destroyers, yr plan will not work, i guess if this guy is yr family memeber y will not even mind if he is 20. For me age is just a number and the ...

• joshua akrong 10 years ago

bro go okay....time will tell

• Frimpong 10 years ago

It is so sad when some of our heroes fail to know when to leave the stage.We all wish Michael could play like he used to 6years ago but age and bad physical condition prevents him.I don't believe for a second that Essien has ...

• JOHN 10 years ago

If Essein takes your advice and "yield the opportunity" - in your words - will you pay his bills for him. People love telling others to quit; as if such people will pay the players if they retire. Will you buy fuel for Essein ...

• Nii Aryee 10 years ago

Don't you think he's earned enough all these years to live without working until thy kingdom comes? If he did not, then he's the most stupid player the world has ever produced.

• Asokwa 10 years ago

I agree with Frimpong that we must only take players who can give consistent performance.Nobody is asking Essien to retire or quit football.He can still earn his living on the bench at club level if they will have him.

• ATOPA 10 years ago

JOHN, PLAYING FOR BLACKSTARS IS A PREVILEDGE NOT A RIGHT.AND PLAYING AT THE WORLD CUP IS NOT THE VENUE TO "FEED" YOUR IDLED FAMILY MEMBERS.IF ESSIEN DOES NOT STEP ASIDE FOR A YOUNGER TALENT HIS PERFORMANCE AT BRAZIL WILL BE H ...

• BRIAN WILLIAMS 10 years ago

GO BACK AND LOOK AT GHANA AGAINST ZAMBIA AT BABA YARA STADIUM, AND TELL ME ESSIEN DID NOT TAKE COMMAND OF THE MID FIELD WHEN HE CAME INTO THE GAME. HE STOPPED THE LEAKAGE QUICKLY TO HELP THE FORWARD LINE. I WILL BE GLAD IF HE ...

• RastafaraI 10 years ago

f he remains the best at his position, he should play....if the younger ones are not better it makes no sense to play them...only the best should play...If john Mensah gets a team in January and can show he remains the best c ...

• Biney 10 years ago

You point may scrape a few nerves but you are right.If Essien is taken to Brazil he will be on the bench nursing an injury after the first game.The same can be said for Kevin Boating, these two can only perform very well if t ...

BINEY, ESSIEN PLAYED BOTH GAMES VS EGYPT. DIDNT U SEE HIM? EEEIII, GHPPL PAA

• Him 10 years ago

That is right.Thanks

• Kente Warriors!! 10 years ago

Essien you are not young anymore. You can cheat on your birth certi but you can't cheat nature. Your body cannot sustain the rigors of professional soccer anymore. Time to retire age cheat!

• truth 10 years ago

pls bra essien start plning ur family else u go give birth to 'akokura ba' |(oldman kid) n i bet u dnt u wanna knw de - effects of such kids.......i beg come play kotoko coz we got champions league at hand.......

• zomabi 10 years ago

RIGHT DECISION, SHOULDD HAVE DONE THAT LONG AGO. GO SOMEWHERE ELSE AND ENJOY YOUR FOOTBALL FOR GHANA NEEDS YOU FOR BRAZIL.

• KOFI SEI 10 years ago

MAYBE YOU'RE RIGHT AFTER ALL SAID ABOUT ESSIEN ,MAKES ME REMEMBER WHEN JOHN TOLD JAMES THAT HIS RELATIONSHIP WITH HIS GIRL FRIEND IS OVER AND JAMES SAID YOU NEVER KNOW YOU'VE GOT SOMETHING GOOD UNTIL YOU LET IT GO AND JOHN SA ...

• Africanus 10 years ago

After the WC Essien should move to the Arab world to play for some oil-money ahead of his retirement. That is what I will do if I were him...

• Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris 10 years ago

Faith nd corage....with refuseing to guide u; you must dubble yr price including yr faith-playing nd....Nyame beye with Amen!,from Samms!...

• Gyembibi 10 years ago

Do you think it's english that you've written here??????

• ATOPA 10 years ago

GYEMBIBI,DON'T BE SO PRECIOUS FOR BEING ABLE TO EXPRESS YOURSELF SLIGHTLY BETTER THAN SOMEONE ELSE IN A BORROWED FOREIGN LANGUAGE.MASTERY OF THE KING'S LANGUAGE DOESN'T NECESSARILY EQUATE WISDOM AS YOU HAVE AMPLY DISPLAYED.

• JAK The Ripper 10 years ago

Samms if you are in "Rome do what the Romans do...so if in Paris ecris en francais" LOL!!

Your English is atrocious...'ainsi ecris en francais comme tu es a Paris' and are more familiar with French. Lol!

• NKWASEASEM 10 years ago

All the best Bro. Luv Ya

• Captain Asamoah Gyan 10 years ago

Starting Lineup
    1. Adam Larsen Kwarasey- Goalkeeper
    2. Michael Essien- Right Fullback
    3. Daniel Opare- Left Full back
    4. Jerry Akaminko- Half Back
    5. John Boye - Center Back
    6. Sulley Muntari- Midfielder
    7. Kwadwo Asam ...

• GH LEXIS 10 years ago

Yes it sounds like the winning team, the team that can bring us GOLD. Foward this to Akwasi Appiah.

• Idrisu 10 years ago

I think the following people shouldn't be on the plane to Brazil
    1.Accam*
    2.Essien
    3.Akaminko
    4.D.Boateng
    5.Frimpong*
    6.Vorsah
    7.Ebenezer Assifuah*
    The marked players I think just need more time to mature.The rest I b ...

• Jeff, UK 10 years ago

Moving to France may not change matters. If the body is weary there is much you can do. In England you pray around the clock and so you can hardly catch your breath, especially when you are getting older

• Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris 10 years ago

egemdodow nd Amen! do u read carefuly on my comments, boroder gimiiyi nd..... gimii a1.Again i did not saying writing ok nd....siad speaking! in great name of Jesus christ,Mfanstifo de..... fanara!,Ogyamanase yi speaking. how ...

• SEAMAN UK 10 years ago

NDC FOREVER UNCLE ESSIEN DO YOUR BEST TO HOLD RONALDO THEN HISTORY IS FULFILL AFTER BRAZIL PLEASE HANG UP THE BOOTS. BUT REMEMBER RONALDO OF PORTUGAL IS YOUR LAST ASSIGNMENT ALL THE BEST OF LUCK

• CONTEMNOR 10 years ago

THAT NIGERIAN BASTARD USED ALATA JUJU ON ESSIEN.

THATS WAT THEY DO. THEY BACKSTAB GHPPPL TO APPEASE THE WHITES. THINKING THE WHITES WILL LOVE THEM FOREVER. MIKEL'S TIME WILL COME....ALLHE DOES IS PLAY GUTTER GUTTER SOCCER ANYWAYS. SMALL POSTS SOCCER. THE MINUTE A NAIJA PERS ...

• MISCHELLE 10 years ago

DO YOU PEOPLE THINK AT ALL BEFORE YOU WRITE, I DOUBT IT, OTHERWISE WHAT HAS MIKEL GOT TO DO ESSIENS FOOTBALL CAREER. THESE ARE THE VERY CLOSE TWO WEST AFRICAN FRIENDS LEFT IN THE REGULAR CHELSEA SQUAD SO WHY WILL ANYBODY CONC ...

ITS BULLSHIT TO U.

• Nipanua 10 years ago

Why are you focused on the Nigerians? And please for goodness sake do not say they started it.The Nigerians are behaving towards us the same way they behave towards everyone they feel threatened by, it is nothing personal.You ...

IF SOMEONE IS A THREAT TO YOU N YOU BACKSTAB THEM. HOW DOES IT NOT BECOME PERSONAL? IF IT WASNT PERSONAL, WOULD U BACKSTAB THEM? GTFOH!

• CONTEMNOR 10 years ago

ALATA PEOPLE ARE CAPABLE OF ANYTHING, NEVER TRUST ALATA MAN!!!!. MIKEL USED JUJU ON ESSIEN, LOOKING AT MIKEL HE DOESNT PLAY ANY OUTSTANDING FOOTBALL, ONLY JOGGING AROUND WITH LONG LEGS AND DING BACKPASSING THATS IT, ESSIEN IS ...

• yoyoo 10 years ago

Essien is good decision because time wait for no one

• Jacob Allen 10 years ago

Don't worry my boy, you still have the skills to repeat the goal number 2 magic in Kumasi at the expense of Aboutrisk at the WC 2014 in Brazil.

• PHOBIA-PHOBIA--Leeds 10 years ago

who told u that essien is finished? u lie bad! i tell u that essien can play in big games for many years.some of us have blood relations with some ghanaian players who are midfielders and they want to seem them in action;ther ...

JUST WATCH...EVEN THO MIKEL CANT SPEAK FRENCH. HE WILL GO WHEREVER ESSIEN GOES....

• ATTIA 10 years ago

WHAT GOES UP MUST SURELY COME DOWN.

• focus 10 years ago

I have a feeling there are many disguised young players and Nigerians here who are hating on Essien. Some of the arguments against Essien does not even make sense. The guy stabilizes our young midfield(black Stars) and is lik ...

• Mohammed Ibrahim 10 years ago

Michael Essien Should Join Arsenal in London,England.

• Ghanaian 10 years ago

GO TO WHERE YOU ARE GIVEN ACTIVE PLAY TIME AS TIME WAITS FOR NO ONE MR ESSIEN

• TOGBE FIAWORSIMEH 10 years ago

So after all, Asamoah Gyan was right to move to UAE???? And yet see how Ghanaians insulted him when the news broke out!!!!!

• Ghanaian 10 years ago

Thanks...buying a skill and putting it on the shelf dulls the skill, that is what we are seeing here so he better leave.

• KOFI DARGATI 10 years ago

I THINK THE CHELSEA MANAGER WANT HIM NOT TO BE FIT, SO PORTUGAL WILL HAVE ADVANTAGE OVER GHANA. KNOWING GHANA'S MIDFIELDER ARE OUR STRONG HOLD. ESSIEN IS BETTER WITH AT ANY AGE.

• Ghanaian 10 years ago

so players have to be careful of the so called giant teams in some cases like this. A consortium of GH players protection body should advise unconditionally

• Johnson 10 years ago

Essien will still remain a Chelsea player if he goes on loan to another club. His wages will be topped up by Chelsea until his contract finish.

• nii 10 years ago

do you need a malaysia visa.call 024588643 for detail.only 400gh

• NII AMAR 10 years ago

419 GO AWAY!!!!!!!. NO ADVERT HERE

• ABBEY 10 years ago

essien must leave chelsea