You are here: HomeSportsSoccer2013 11 07Article 291259

Coup in Black Stars: Accept Toppmoller or forget GNPC sponsorship

Read Comments Comments (105)

• Suonyir Moses Dari 10 years ago

When will Ghanaians free themselves from the 'white Supremacy?

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

I want to know: Did any of the two Serbians who took the Black Stars to the world cup in 2006 and 2010 had any technical director on top of them? Did any of them performed as creditably as Akwasi Appiah? Akwasi has been extre ...

• WWW.NOLLYTUNED.COM 10 years ago

Watch GTV, TV3, Metro, AdomTV Ghana Movies, NollyWood Movies
    and KumaWood Movies AT WWW.NOLLYTUNED.COM

• DAVI 10 years ago

WHY WHY NDC,YOU GUYS ARE REPEATING THE SAME HATE AND ENVY TOWARDS AKWASI APPIAH IN THE 90S,WHICH PREVENT GHANA FROM QUALIFING TO THE WORLD CUP,WITH ALL HER GREAT PLAYERS,THE YEABOAHS,PELES,SAM JOHNSONS,CHAIRMAN AMPEAHS,FRANK ...

• Wells 10 years ago

You want a technical Director. The coach says he has enough Ghanaian technical Directors. So what is your problem again. Just try and you loose all games at the world cup. What has become of us for gods sake?.

• Kman 10 years ago

The idiots want to deprive Kwesi Appiah from his achievements with his team. It must be some kind of inferiority complex these guys suffer from. It is more important that Kwesi Appiah takes as to the semi finals and loses tha ...

• Oh 10 years ago

Did they read his CV or is Coach Akwesi Appiah an NPP?

Are they a bunch of evil men who wants to destroy everything good for the people of Ghana?

• DAVI 10 years ago

It was under P/NDC when Black Star Capt.Akwasi Appiah was told he can't led the team,just because he(A.K.)can't speak French and the Capt.position was given to A.Pele.which brouth soo much confusion and down fall of B.S.IT TO ...

• Cursed NDC 10 years ago

whaaaat

• ranger 10 years ago

THIS IS NONSENSICAL. GHANA PAA NIE ?

• STOP AND THINK 10 years ago

WE GHANAIANS HAVE DECIDED TO TRY OUR OWN PEOPLE FOR COMPETENCY FOR THE FIRST TIME, AND NO MORON WILL TRY TO IMPEDE THAT PROCESS. IF THEY WANT TO RAKE IN SOME CASH, THEY BETTER SETTLE THAT WITH OUR OWN COACH AKWASI APPIAH, ST ...

• Kwaku 10 years ago

The public should ignore these journalists,they are illiterates who are not getting what they want from the GFA.I hope the govt & GFA will not give them any assistance when we get to Brazil.

• Mr.N 10 years ago

Let them try and Kwesi Nyantakyi & I would go to Fifa and the whole country would kiss 2014 bye bye. Greed SOB.

• WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET 10 years ago

Free Internet tv streaming serving Ghanaians in the diaspora.

WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET Brings You Live TV stations From Ghana.
    GTV, TV3, GTV Sports+, Adom TV Live, Joy News TV Live,
    Metro TV Ghana, e.tv And More. Watch You ...

• johnny 10 years ago

"Emancipate yourself from mental slavely", says the great man.

• Selassie Dzokoto 10 years ago

And his accomplishments goes on:- In November 2013 he was rejected and declared persona non grata by GFA. Add this to his CV pls.

• fii 10 years ago

will you stop this stupidity? there is no such thing as toppmoller in Ghana while he was send couple of days ago on German TV. surprisingly the same time it was reported that he was in GH. Shame on you. your plans has failed.

• Akamai the wise man 10 years ago

He has all the credentials BUT THIS BAD TIMING! We are lucky to have a 5 goal cushion on Egypt otherwise this distraction will be very detrimental!

• NAT 10 years ago

THESE COACHES SEE GHANA AS A WAY OF IMPROVING THEIR CV,ANYTIME THEY SEE THAT THE NATIONAL TEAM IS ON HIS WINNING WAYS THEY WANT TO COME AND COACH,WHAT WAS THE PERFORMANCE OF THE SERBIAN COACH AFTER HE LEFT THE BLACK STARS,V ...

• johnny 10 years ago

Why is he not coaching, then? Georgia of all football countries let him go, didn't they? The the fuck is technical director anyway? Who is Murinho's technical director? And why did they not put one in place to qualify the Sta ...

• Nii Joromi 10 years ago

The man has a history of being fired where ever he has worked. He should look for a job in the Ghana premier league and not the Prestigious Black Stars. Appiah should not work for someone to come from nowhere and take the glo ...

• NAT 10 years ago

IF THE GFA AND THE GHANA GOVERNMENT SIGNED THIS GERMAN COACH THEN THEY SHOULD FORGET ABOUT THE WORLD CUP GLORY,THUS VERY STUPID TO SIGN HIM ON OUR TECHNICAL BENCH.WHY DON'T GHANAIANS RELY ON THEIR OWN GOD GIVEN HUMAN RESOURCE ...

• Gigi 10 years ago

Who brought this loser to Ghana? They better read his CV again to see if Ghana needs this loser. After all the hard work done by Kwasi Appiah, are we going to let this loser bask in any glory? What happened to Kwame Nkrumah a ...

• EBO SMITH 10 years ago

bad record.that him away we dont Need him.dont bring his stories to us.we dont Need it.talk of Ardy

• anaconda 10 years ago

As ghanaians we must think,i tell u,no white man respects the black man.am in europe and i know wha am talking about.they come to us when they are been sidelined by their own.they are killings us everyday.are there leaders in ...

• Glover 10 years ago

Please tell the person that brought this man to apologise to Ghana that they have made a serious mistake .You can not play with our football we love our own Akwesi Appiah either we win in Brazil or not he is our own blood and ...

• Best Wisher (Germany) 10 years ago

The problem is not the installation of Topmoeller in the Black Stars Technical-Team. The discussion is not about the fact that Mr. Topmoeller is not a Ghanaian. We believe his is willing to contribute to the performance of th ...

• NAT 10 years ago

DID HE CONTRIBUTED FROM THE BEGINNING UP TO THE 6-1 VICTORY

No, not at all. His appointment, whatever it is, should not mean replacing Coach Appiah. Appiah has been with the Black Stars for a very long time and we can all notice the good results we are achieving.

• OSEI KWAME 10 years ago

You talk as if you are not a Ghanaian who should cook for someone who doesn't even have a good record to come and eat? The man toppmoller does not have any good record and wherever has worked due to his poor performance he wa ...

My brother, I am not recommending Toppmoeller nor denying him taking any appointment from GFA.
    I know Toppmoeller ever since he coached Anthony Yeboah in Frankfurt.
    As I have stated before, Coach Appia should keep his posit ...

• johnny 10 years ago

He coached Anthony Yeboah? So what?

• Kman 10 years ago

Mr Germany just does not understand that a technical director is merely an upward insertion above a coach thus making whoever is the coach the assistant. So you can use whatever name you choose for a job, it is the responsibi ...

• anaconda 10 years ago

mini oluu onaa,i think u have been injected by the germans.u always think about greener pastures in europe.wise up anaamu

No, I can tell you openly, I am not injected by anyone. I love Ghana and this is a part of my contribution to help build up Africa.

• johnny 10 years ago

You are contributing to help buid Africa by sending Toppmoeller to do what on the Stars' bench? LOL!! You need to go back home, old man (woman).

Johnny, since when do you decide for me where I should live?

How should I contribute to send Toppmoeller to the Black Stars? You should better follow my contributions in the forum before you try to insult me.

• anokwale 10 years ago

At the end of the day, it this were to happen, it would be one of the worse marketing mistakes in international football. If Ghana, of all nations, has a Ghanaian coach and is able to go far at the WC, the sales of jerseys, ...

• Me 10 years ago

Its all about the 10% for those fools and stupid personnel who think much of their stomach than anything good for Ghana.
    This must be fiercely resisted.
    Nigerian did the same on two WC occasions and the end result was very ...

YES YOU ARE RIGHT

• KOFI PATROITIC 10 years ago

IN THE NAME OF OSAGYEFO KWAME NKRUMAH PLEASE BE INFORMED THAT 'THE BLACK MAN IS CAPABLE OF MANAGING HIS OWN AFFAIRS'.LET GHANA MAKE HISTORY BY COUNTING ON OUR OWN SON KWASI APPIAH AND FORGO THE GNPC SPONSORSHIP...gnpc take yo ...

I 100% side with you my brother. GNPC is not the only company that can sponsor the black stars so if the Ankra family and that of Jawula's are using this as a clause in order to force the Man in,we should forget and look for ...

• Prosper Amenuvor 10 years ago

GNPC cant bully Ghanaian football fans.They can go to hell with topmuller. Ghana does not belong to Afriyie Ankra and his family.neither does it belong to Jawula and co. The Ankras have to be careful does not ignit any revolu ...

• REV OSEI POKU 10 years ago

IF ANY BODY TRIES TO RECRUIT THIS TOPPMOLLER GUY,WE WILL GO TO COURT TO STOP THIS. WE HAVE ATUGUBA AT THE SUPREME COURT. HE WILL TAKE A PATRIOTIC DECISION IN FAVOUR OF THE COUNTRY.

ARE WE SERIOUS AT ALL. FROM WHAT I RED FROM ABOUT THE MAN CALLED TOPPMOLLER, HE HAS A VERY BAD RECORD WHEREVER HE GOES HE IS SACKED FOR POOR PERFORMANCE.

IT LOOKS AS IF YAW AMPOFO ANKRAH IS BEING SELFISH HERE AND I SUSPEC ...

• Dan Budu 10 years ago

If this issue were not handled maturely, it can breed confusion in the camp of the Black Stars, and this could spell doom for us.

Thank you,

• Jason 10 years ago

Ghana will not die because of the "normal" citizens..but because of politicians.

Honnestly, I don't understand why we live in an environment in which politicians rules the nations..why don'twe look in other way...

These ...

• Konado Adzeman 10 years ago

THOSE INVOLVED IN TRYING TO BRING IN A FOREIGNER SHOULD FROM NOW ON WATCH THE BACKS!!!! AND WE THE CONCERNED MEMBERS OF GHANA SUPPORTERS UNION MEAN BUSINESS!!! THEY SHOULD ALSO WATCH THEIR FAMILIES!!!

• A:J 10 years ago

Nein danke-in his german language..means no thank's...I've lived quite a while in his country,and i can surely tell my fellow ghanaians that,Toppmüller can't even get the nod to be a technical director of a fourth division c ...

• johnny 10 years ago

Please tell your brother the best wisher, who thinks the dude coached Tony Yeboah so he (best wisher) is contributing to Africa by sending Mr Toppmoller to technicalize the black crew.

Sorry, you are rather misunderstanding me.

Let's stop exchanging lines.

• JON 10 years ago

With this resume this man does not qualify to coach a great team like Ghana Black Stars. Period!

• Abina 10 years ago

We have seen this before. If it's broken don't fix it. Ask Togo and Nigeria.

• jUJU gUY 10 years ago

This reporteer is very economical with the truth. Much as I don't support the appointment of Topmoller as Technical Director for Ghana, I think it is wrong to give a dog a bad name and hang it. This is the first time I heard ...

• johnny 10 years ago

Why all these nonsense palava? Can't the black man for once trust himself to do something good all by himself?

• OGOGLO QUARTER 10 years ago

JEALOUS OF AA.WANTS TO STAB IN HIM IN THE BACK......MY ADVICE TO THE TEAM IS THEY NEED TO RAISE THEIR VOICE ON THE ISSUE
    .NO AA NO BRAZIL..GNPC SHOULD TAKE TOPP OR DOWN MOOOO -LA TO BRAZIL. MAYBE SOM ...

• Yawpong 10 years ago

He is called FLOPMOLLER, not Topmoller.

• WOFA WOHOO 10 years ago

And forget these unnecessary stories,let us talk of beating Egypt again and avoid all this distractions all we want is go to the worldcup 2014 anything else is not important.Let us focus on how the Stars should be comfortable ...

• TSATSU 10 years ago

WE DON´T NEED HIM NOW.HOW CAN APPIAH COOK THE FOOD FOR SOMEONE ELSE TO CHOP.

• Big Jay 10 years ago

Mr. Sports minister and his brother the Afriyie Ankrahs,please be warned,and leave coach Kwasi Appiah and his Technical Team to do their job.
    There should be no interference from any quarters.We don't need any foreign Techni ...

• HANNIBAL(Blessed by God) 10 years ago

Who is this evil creature? i hope this story is not true. Now that the Black man has worked hard to get to the prize, the Mobutus have arisen to deny him the fruit of his hard work.

If true, Yaw Ampofo Ankrah should be lin ...

• mma 10 years ago

Let no new person infiltrate our squad. Ghana is seen as a danger to some Europian teams (including Germany)who will be at the World Cup in Brazil. He will surely reveal our plans to to his home team, should we happen to come ...

• mma 10 years ago

Operation win the World Cup has been lunched in Germany. They will do all that is nessary to achieve that goal. Bélieve me, Toppmoeller will only be with Black Stars as an agent of the Germans, to spy for his country.

• YAOVI 10 years ago

withdraw the sponsorship now b'cos we don't need any 'tombolla'

• PALA 10 years ago

we don't even need oti akenteng and sam adday in any capacity. they are only hangers on. anytime they are given the job they faulter and run away. now they are hiding behind kwesi appiah and making cool money. when adday was ...

• JAMES, MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA 10 years ago

Signing Klaus Toppmöller will make the Egyptians happy, as division will surely occurred in the BLACK STARS CAMP which will make GHANA's BLACK STARS loose heavily to Egypt on 19 November 2013. The Sports Minister and his ass ...

Kwame Nkrumah is turning in his grave. Why all this? We have a lot of football brains in the country, Take Abedi for example, from a very young age he played for the Black Stars, he has been in football ever since, what about ...

• ibrahim 10 years ago

so we want to follow the failure path of togo and cote divoire abi.Another grand plot to loot the poor and sic country gain.May God save as

• KOOKZI 10 years ago

WHY WOULD SANE AND PATRIOTIC CITIZENS OF GHANA BE ADVOCATING FOR EMPLOYING THE SERVICES OF A WHITE COACH IN SPITE OF THE FACT WE HAVE DONE AND CONTINUE TO DO WELL AND, EVERYTHING POINTS TO GHANA QUALIFYING TO THE SOCCER FIEST ...

• smart guy 10 years ago

what is this stupidity with we ghanaians about the "white-skin"??? what is impressive abt this ass-hole's cv that even brings him into football conversation?? evident that the random wins mentioned were by chance and nothing ...

• Paa Quesi 10 years ago

When one looks at whathas captured the headlines in sports this week, is about this TOPMOELLER issue, which nation in its right frame of mind will change a coach who has proven to all and sundry of his capabilities as an exce ...

• RastafaraI 10 years ago

it has nothing to do with the interest of ghana or the black stars...it is about stealing, bribery and looting........

• Light to darkness 10 years ago

Mental slavery would accepting him as coach. Appiah wil stay remain coach and BOSS. What is the problem getting more talent to help the team? Especially for an international tournament. This another stupid issue!

• REV OSEI POKU 10 years ago

FELLOW PATRIOTIC GHANAIANS, IN THE EVENT THAT GNPC ASSUMES A BLACKMAILING POSITION, WE SHOULD BE READY TO MOBILISE ONE MILLION GHANAIANS TO PAY FIVE GHANA CEDIS EACH.WE SHOULD BE READY TO FIERCELY DEMONSTRATE OUR ABHORRENCE T ...

• Sisqo 10 years ago

Twiaaaaaaaa what Moller dont even try koraaa why

• SANTROFIE 10 years ago

PRESIDENT DRAMANI MAHAMA LOOK OUT. YOUR SPORTS MINISTER IS CREATING A NEW "CREATE, LOOT & SHARE" SCENARIO UNDER YOUR NOSE. HE IS USING HIS BROTHER WHO DOUBLES AS HIS PA. DONT BE DECEIVED BY THEIR CROCODILE-TEAR DENIALS. STOP ...

• Agyaaku 10 years ago

Somebody stands to gain in financial terms from this man's eventual employment. These vagabonds in power can do anything to amass wealth. Mr Afriyie Ankrah, or Mr Minister, please come clean on this. Leave the GFA alone. FIFA ...

• WORRIED 10 years ago

GHANAIANS MUST RISE UP AGAINST THIS TREACHEROUS ACT! WE MUST RESIST THIS YAW AMPOFO ANKRAH WHO THINKS HE IS THE BEST IN SPORTS. JUST LOOK STRAIGHT INTO HIS EYES AND YOU CAN EASILY SEE THE JUDAS ISCARIOT IN HIM ALL THE WAY TO ...

• THE JACKAL 10 years ago

WE SHALL MAKE SURE GHANA LOSSES IF TOPPMOLLER IS ACCEPTED

• Modibo Keita 10 years ago

We do not need this guy Top oder Down Moller. We have been able to come this far why this down Moller, whoever is trying to force this Moller on black stars is an enemy of the state of Ghana. Is this part of creat, loot an ...

• Modibo Keita 10 years ago

There is no need for a Technical Director for the Black Stars at this time.

• Spiky 10 years ago

This is insane, and as I have always said the plight of the African is largely due to traitors among them than the machinations of the white man. Here we are, sowing seeds of discord in Black Stars' camp on the eve of a cruci ...

• jagadu 10 years ago

This is a distraction before the crucial Ghana-Egypt match. This nonsense should stop so Kwesi Appiah can concentrate on preparing the team for this match

Deal with Ampofo Ankrah

• NDC Destroying Ghana 10 years ago

ebeeeeiiii

• Peaceman 10 years ago

The Black Stars are on their way to monumental achievements at the World Cup at Brazil with black men at the helm of affairs. The Nazis find it hard to accept it, and so the imposition of Toppmoller man to steal the honours. ...

• nicman@atl 10 years ago

this country will never go forward

• nicman@atl 10 years ago

why at this last time?

• mugu1 10 years ago

ignor any outside technician,they would sell the stars

• SAY NO 10 years ago

The Ahowoi brothers again?

• Odt Germany 10 years ago

Stop the nonsense.A Toppmoller,an international experienced coach appointed to help Appiah is more of an advantage than a detriment.Even Bayern Munich,the socalled best club in the world has a technical adviser who plays a ...

• Edward 10 years ago

What interest does the coup makers have? To prevent Ghana from going to Brazil by putting unnecessary pressure on Kwesi Appiah? Let them go to hell and leave Kwesi Appiah Alone.

• nana k 10 years ago

GNPC does not belong to any political party. I hope this is just a jok, but if anyone tries to sabotage our world cup dream, then the person should think again. I have said it twice and am saying it again we don't any white m ...

• kojo 10 years ago

Yaw again.. the same way he go with beach soccer, he thinks he knows everything but big fool and illiterate man. Ghanaian should leave this man but he is digging his own grave. build Beach soccer and stop your criminal act in ...

• Mohammed Ibrahim 10 years ago

GFA Should allowed Mr.Kwesi Nyantakyi to be Technical Director of the Black Stars,not Mr.Toppmoller.A word to the wise is enough.

• Kalira 10 years ago

This article is a bogus

• Maks 10 years ago

How can you appoint a person who achieved nothing as technical director, Yaw Ampofo Ankrah should be ashamed of himself

• kayee 10 years ago

I beg you guys in the name of God, kindly stop that. Tell that so called German coach who has no good records for me to go back home and find something else to do... Let us not be ungrateful like this to the present coach ple ...

• kayee 10 years ago

How much have you been paid or how much share are you going to get when gfa appoints this so called technical director of black stars? Man... thank twice, those on the job has suffered for this and can do more then what you t ...

• Otsibu Darko 10 years ago

I AM AN ANKRAH TOO BUT I THINK THESE TWO BROTHERS ARE BRAIN DEAD.GHANA IS OUR BELOVED COUNTRY WE SUCCEED OR SINK TOGETHER WITHOUT THE HELP OF ANY WHITE MAN: BLACK STARS IS OUR NATIONAL TEAM WHETHER OR NOT WE WIN THE WORLD CUP ...

• COOLMAN 10 years ago

what a foolish news

• WHYNOTJ 10 years ago

What was his greatest achievement ? Wherever he worked he ended up being sacked. Could he send the Georgian national team to a World Cup? ........ Never !!! Why then should any Ghanaian think he is better than Coach Kwesi App ...

• Sebastian Parker 10 years ago

What silverware has Toppmoeller got to show as his achievement? He is an underachiever and so we don't need him. NO POLITRICKS!!!!!!!!!

• NII FEEFEO 10 years ago

A word of warning should be sounded to those who would like to bring in Toppmoller as the Technical Head of the Black Stars.It is a real shame that some few in their selfish interest of pocketing some few dollars from the poc ...

• D.D 10 years ago

This Man doesn't deserve to coach the black stars at all!!!!