You are here: HomeSportsSoccer2013 09 26Article 287042

Kwesi Appiah won't bow to pressure

Read Comments Comments (51)

• Askantwi 10 years ago

ABSOLUTELY. The coach should not bow down to any sentimental pressure to call washed up players just because they WERE very good in their prime many years ago.

• Mr.N 10 years ago

I am in total agreement let common sense rule not sentiments or media speculation after all how "tick" is the Cyprus league and how can you fairly analysis someone base on 3 matches.

• Rasheed@Nyantakyie is a fool.. 10 years ago

My brother, Do not listen that good-for-nothing Oti "Kente". He is just an empty basket. What did he achieve as a coach.I do not blame him for occupying that position, but that gangrenous Nyantakyi. Of course he needs dumb me ...

• Rasheed@Nyantakyie is a fool.. 10 years ago

"Listen to", "he can misbehave"

• papa cice 10 years ago

Stop talking against sentiment Oti , lf there are no sentiment why Akwasi Appiah keep calling Afful for left back while we have many players who are good left backs like Lee Ardy, Massawudu and David Ardy

• Hexagon, USA!!! 10 years ago

This Guy is all business, you doubters have to give him that! To have fought against being forcibly retired early alone says a lot about his ability - can-do-attitude!! Give the Manste the break he needs, Mayele and see pre ...

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 10 years ago

52 YR OLD OLELE, GRAND POPPY WEI FOR GSBATRS? AR WE STUPID OR BLIND IN GH? WE HAVE DANNY ADJEI GETTING PLAYING TIME. DAUDA OUR NUMBER 1 AND KWARASAY. FOLKS, OLELE HAS ONLY PLAYED 2 GAMES. HOW DO U CALL THIS OLD BAG OF BONES? ...

• sandy 10 years ago

“The job will be done purely on fair analysis and not on sentiments or media speculation.”Since when have u people been purely fair.Abrdis boys refuse to pay n so was indirectly axed out.Ghana already has good players ,so ...

• DIAMOND 10 years ago

At the 2007 Women's World Cup semi-final, US coach Greg Ryan placed Briana Scurry instead of Hope Solo in goal against Brazil for what looked like good-old-days sentimantal reasons.
    Result: Brazil 4, US 0.

We can learn fr ...

• Rasheed@GOLD 10 years ago

Currently Fatau is dormant and bit rusty as evidenced in our match against Zambia. Kwarasey is not all fit due to injury. So who else should we use?, POW or Mr.N?.Demba is a keeper and knows what is saying. Hmm, "A word to th ...

• DIAMOND 10 years ago

I would go with Fatau in the first game.
    He was there against Zambia.

He will bring along his familiarity with the turf in that high-tension game.

He looks more confident than Kwasey in the posts.

He is as intimidat ...

• Slimzay **Unshakable Shaker** 10 years ago

Diamond, for Fatau Dauda to be our number one choice, I don't think anyone disagree that. The same way I don't disagree of bringing in Richard Kingston if only he is fit and good to become our third choice keeper. We don't ha ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

Slimzay is Olele now on the list of players you are representing or managing just a question making sure there is no conflict of interest here, since you are player manager.

There are equal and good players in the local le ...

No bro, I'm not representing anyone of these high ranking players. I wish though.

I'm glad you brought in the U-20 team that won the third place at the recent wc. Their goalkeeper who was in poles at the last match, I thin ...

• Sarskoberta 10 years ago

Slimmer is not representing any player neither is he selfish as some of us do. He's just being realistic.

Even tho some of these local players could be good, vouching for any of them at this eleventh hour, is untenable. W ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

Prof S'Berta I know you missed the good old days so you want to see some of the old days come back. Hay times are changing fast and we need to change with it. Olele for all intent and purpose had Crossed the Rubicon and 24 m ...

• DIAMOND 10 years ago

Let sleeping dogs lie.
    Fatau, Kwasey and whoever that third one is.

If Kingson comes in and concedes one goal, you'll see how 99% of the people here will react.

You mean one goal? Count me in and make the percentage 100 because I will as well. Diamond, I don't think even if he is called, he would be our number one goalie. This means he is coming to sit on the bench unless something d ...

• DIAMOND 10 years ago

No, Chaplain, no heart attack here.
    Just looking forward.
    If I were Mensah or Olele, I would not even accept.

I'm not against them.
    I'm just against looking back.

But if they're called, I'll respect the coach's deci ...

• Sarskoberta 10 years ago

Fatau or Kwarasey conceding any kind of goal would still meet the conventional wrath of the people.

The very act of conceding a goal is every goalkeeper's nightmare. But these goal that whisk past keepers are inevitable.

• OGA DABIDA yum yum 10 years ago

t.b joshua will utilize his connections with gfa to help the guy to be selected at the stars camp just to show some unenlightened ghanaians that he is powerful spiritually.

kingson is old and currently, not effective enou ...

• Fighters for Black Stars 10 years ago

You and I were not there, so use pink sheets analysis to determine the call up of those players

• Sir Zigor 10 years ago

Yes you and I were not there :)

• ekomdeboy 10 years ago

Am 35 years and saw Kingston playing for black stars when I was a boy. I guess the man don't age

• GC/USA 10 years ago

I LIKE KINGSTON BUT AGAINST THE RECALL BECAUSE LACK OF CONTINUITY, AGE AND POSSIBLY LACK OF FLEXIBILITY, AND ABOVE ALL POOR PENALTY PERFORMANCE. STAY WITH THE YOUNG AND ACTIVE. FOR THE COACH AND THE GFA, BOTH ARE USELESS. WHY ...

THIS GUY CHOP 52.IF HE DIVES HE WILL BREAK HIS HIP. HE HAS NO 20/20 VISION. 2 GAMES IN CYPRUS. CONCEEDED 6 GOALASSO...MASSA, GO TO HEARTS N USE HIS NAME, FARUK gursoy to sell tickets

• Lato of newyork. 10 years ago

nonsense about Kingston's age. Italian goalkeeper Dino Zoff was the oldest goalkeeper to win a World Cup in 1982. Against west Germany in the finals he was at his best with spectacular saves. We need experience to win. This i ...

FROM 72 TO 1990 ZOFF PLAYED AND WAS THE NUMBER 1 GOALIE FOR JUVENTUS. IN THOSE YRS, JUVE WON THE ITALIAN CUP IN THEE YRS WITH ZOFF AS JUVE;S NUMBER 1 GOALIE. 1972–73, 1974–75, 1976–77, 1977–78, 1980–81, 1981–82, ...

• Adongo 10 years ago

FATAU DAUDA IS BUSY WARMING THE BENCH IN RSA AND IS USING WORK PERMIT AS EXCUSE , LIES!!!

• Kosmic Boombaya 10 years ago

get him to get used to the defenders

• Sharky 10 years ago

I personally think our goalkeeping department is a bit shaky. When Kingson was around, there was a bit more security and confidence with him in the post. I don't feel the same with Dauda and Kwarasey. He deserves a recall!

• 4 Year Old 10 years ago

Olele is much stabler and experienced than Fatau. It will do the whole nation good to recall Olele.

WAT IS WRONG WITH GH PPL? ITS AINT BROKE DONT FIX IT. WAT IS WRONG WITH FATAU? I THINK HE IS EVEN BETER THAN HE WAS WHEN HE WAS IN GH. IN S AFRICA, HE IS LEARNING WITH BETTER COACHES, BETTER GOALIES, MORE IMPROVED COMPETITION ...

• Sharky 10 years ago

For those of you saying Kingson is very old, you don't know football. Do you know how old the Egyptian and Nigerian goalkeepers are??

• PHOBIA-PHOBIA--Leeds 10 years ago

I see Fatau as a skilful keeper and we have to repose our confidence in him.In football,psychology plays an important role.Simply tell Fatau and our defenders that the destiny of Ghana is in their hands and they will do it.Bu ...

• Kasavubu mordzi 10 years ago

Goalpiiper kwarasey led us to battles upon battles. he never conceded more than 2 goals in any single match. then they said he was not good, he couldnt speak any Ghanain language, his was too tall, he resembled Prince boatri, ...

• kofi Djato 10 years ago

ghanians must take it dat kingston and john mensah are dead ok,we r tired of old bolla goods ok

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Do we have a good third choice keeper?

If not why not recall Kingson as a backup for Dauda and Kwarasey, if Kingson is back to fitness and playing regularly for his team?

By the way, where are the Addys, the goalkeeper ...

• WEAKLION 10 years ago

KINGSTON STILL A YOUNG MAN AT THE AGE OF 35. KINGSTON HAS MORE EXPERIENCE .

• Adongo Johnson Kukurubini 10 years ago

Just leave Akwasi Appiah alone in peace to do his job and send us to Brazil,Ghanafo yab too much!!!!

• blackstar 10 years ago

This a young man game he should become a coach.

• yaw 10 years ago

we want you back olélé!one love

• A. izak 10 years ago

We need Olele and J.Mensah back to blackstar

• pala 10 years ago

kingson yes, john mensah no

TOO MANY FOOLS IN GH HAVE THE NERVE TO COMPARE ZOFF TO THIS IDIOT OLELE. WHEN ZOFF WON THE WCUP WITH ITALY. HE WAS STILL WINNING LEAGUE TROPHIES, CL TROPHIES WITH JUVENTUS. U WANT TO CALL THIS 52 YR OLD GRANDPOPPY AFTER HE HA ...

DUMMIES...TARRIFS ARE GOING UP ALL ACROSS THE BOARD IN GH. YET, WE DOTN SEE AN IOTA OF AN IMPROVEMENT IN SERVICES OR QUALITY. YOU HAVNT SEEN ANYTHING YET.
    YOU VOTE OUT OF SHEER EMOTIONS AND ETHNIC JUDGEMENTS.
    Ghana is NOW l ...

• DERRICK 10 years ago

STEPHEN APPAIAH SHOULD CALL AGAIN

• Natural Mystic 10 years ago

I bat for neither side of the argument but if thruth be told, Fatau Dauda is also not playing at Orlando Pirates. The guy is warming the bench in the steaming summer season (southern hemisphere) in South Africa

• luda 10 years ago

how can we use 50yrs old man ply ghanaians why

• SPECIAL AGENT 10 years ago

The last time Kingson was in the Blackstar, his bones was given him away. everything hurt on his body hurt.he always had on a neck brace. please the guy is old. let him stay in Cyprus.

• Michael Boye Marquaye 10 years ago

Yes Kingston and John men's ah needed urgently for Egypt clash.The funny thing is most of this people have not even played football and don't know that big names scares opponents and give a psychological edge over opponents l ...