You are here: HomeSportsSoccer2013 07 15Article 279550

4 U-20 players for Stars debut

Read Comments Comments (95)

• Stone NJ 10 years ago

Aboagye for instance is too short.

• Slimzay **The Unshakable Shaker** 10 years ago

Is Messi tall? What has height got to do with one playing offensive midfield? How tall is Inesta? If you say Aboagye needs more weight, that I wouldn't argue but height, please I sorry to defer on this one.

• KWABENA 10 years ago

...and how tall is ABEDI PELE, MARADONA, OSEI KOFI, OPOKU AFRIYIE...ETC ETC ETC

• MVDodoo, USA 10 years ago

Abedi Pele, Maradona, Opoku Afriye and co...are matual at their time. Though, soccer are not being played by taller but experience

Where is the evidence that shows if they are not called now but left till the next 4 years before they are called, there would be maturity in them? At least we have the evidence that the ones we call, though not all of them m ...

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch all the videos of these players on WWW.OFMTV.COM and understand their stlye.

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• Local Player 10 years ago

They play for Barcelona. Barcelona put the ball on the ground that is why short plays are there. They are exception to the rule. Even Brazil has added some muscle into their team. Ghana needs some muscle in out team.

• Rass Gbonyo 10 years ago

Inject them with some growth hormones

• Rasheed 10 years ago

The height is not the problem,but those short players have to have the speed,and aometimes the strength.Maradona.Abedi,Romario,Roberto Carlos Gerd Muller,Opoku Afriyie,Kofi Badu,Ben kayode etc,etc all have speed.

• Odiasembone 10 years ago

Monitor these 3 and maybe a few others including Salifu. The senior team sure is much tougher, and we haven't made a break through at that level yet.

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

ASSIFUAH, YIADOM, ACHEAMPONG, ODJER, ATTAMA AND GOALIE OFORI. THESE PLAYERS O HAVE MENTIONED PLAY WITH BALL SENSE. ABOAGYE IS GOOD TOO, BUT HE NEEDS MATURITY......THE REST ARE SIMPLY NOT READY AND NEED MORE EXPERIENCE, MORE P ...

• Dr Coach 10 years ago

Imagine any squad we pick as playing against Brazil, Spain, Germany, Italy, Argentina.. With that kind of disorganized U-20 defense we will need a basket to load our goals home.

• ACE/OUTSTANDING PREACHER OF 2000 10 years ago

Acheampong a must. He will be very successful than all of them, counting on his toughness and speed. The only thing of him is squandering changes. He can feed strikers with break through precision passes.

• Tetteyfio 10 years ago

Apart from Ofori Antwi, none of the defenders should be called. Shalo defenders

My good friend, you made a good point but Romario wasn't that fast but skillful with the ball. I remembered he and Bebeto 11 and 7 wingers, oooooo my brother!

Anyway, Frank Acheampong is not slow if only you classified Rom ...

• AMERICA LOVER 10 years ago

YOU ARE RIGHT RASHEED! BUT YOU HAVE FORGETTING SOMEBODY LIKE, MAMA AQUAH, (GOAL THIEF) PETER LAMPTEY,GEORGE ALHASSAH,YAW SAM AND JOE SAM.

• MVDodoo, USA 10 years ago

Built Physical Players matters. When you look at USA nation team now, they all tall and physical built. This time around if they meet Ghana they will out class the Black Stars. And the way we call new players into the senior ...

"When you look at USA nation team now, they all tall and physical built." MVDodoo, USA stated.

Are you serious bringing US into this argument? You committed your self already. Tall and big and where were they when we were ...

UR HEIGHT IS NOT THE ISSUE. UR FRIENDS WERE SIMPLY NOT GOOD ENUFF. SIMPLE AS DAT. ABEDI, MARADONA, INIESTA, XABI, SAVIOLA, ODJER, ABOAGYE, ATSU, ANNAN, ...WRIGHT PHILLIPS, FREDDY ADU, THE LIST GOES ON AND ON. U SEEM TO HAVE F ...

• Concerned Ghanaian 10 years ago

EVEN SOLOMON ASANTE AKA. 'atom' IS PLAYING

ODJER, ACHEAMPONG ARE BETTER PLAYERS.

• AMERICA LOVER 10 years ago

YES SLIMZAY,I AGREE WITH YOU. EVEN FORMER GREATEST FOOTBALLER OF ALL TIME MARODONA OF ARGENTINA WAS THE MOST SHORTEST I HAVE EVER SEEN IN MY LIFE BUT HE WAS GREATEST FOOTBALLER IN THE WORLD DURING HIS DAYS

• ondine asomasi 10 years ago

Are they going to call the left full back who did some nice overlapping?

• A concerned citizen 10 years ago

They are all good materials for the Black Stars it must be a gradual process. Probably they must pass through u-23 or Black Meteors before unless they are exceptional or we don't have that quality at a particular position.

• EKOW PHOBIA 10 years ago

I agree with 'the concerned citizen'It looks like we are getting ahead of ourselves.Performance, if anything to go by,is measured by a lot of games(Not saying the lads did not do well) They need to be monitored continuously n ...

• Africanus 10 years ago

What you are missing is that being called into the Black Stars is one thing, and being featured in the first eleven is another. I think calling them to the Black Stars is a good thing, it gives them the opportunity to learn f ...

• EKOW PHOBIA 10 years ago

I think you make a good point and I agree.

A concern citizen, I agree with you but not totally. You may be right in some part but in other part, we may diminish the talents of some of the players if they are not called.

There is time for everything, as the bible sa ...

• Kweku 10 years ago

Come on ppl, these U-20 players are older than some of the black star players. Aside the No. 10 and boakye yiadom(who was a disappointment) I believe these men could have been playing in Black stars 3 years ago. Asifuah was ...

• Mad Gadget 10 years ago

You are right, Acheampong was man of the tournament by far. In terms of assists, goals scored, appettite for work and commitment. He will definitely help the cause of the stars. Some one should please give him a chance in th ...

• Nana_Bee 10 years ago

Frank Acheampong can play the left wing position for the Black Stars. He is skillful, agile, and fast. That's why he earned the nick-name: Messi of Ghana.

• BJ 10 years ago

Acheampong should be first on the list.

• me and you 10 years ago

Acheampong is my no 1 pick

I'm happy I'm not alone on this. That Acheampong boy was not only most hardworking. He was also the MVP.

• stephen 10 years ago

they should not do any kululu for there ooo cos that Acheampong guy was holding U-20 team. Pls call that guy

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

I think only the best 3 players should be called to the Black Stars for now. My picks are Assifuah, Aboagye and Acheampong.

• Gyambibi 10 years ago

Lartey should certainly be among them.

I agree that Lartey, Salifu, Baba, Attamah, Antwi and Ofori should be groomed for the future but I think the BS needs only 3 players for now, Assifuah, Aboagye and Acheampong.

• BJ 10 years ago

You're right.

• pala 10 years ago

assifuah trailed mahatma in the premier league. kwesi appiah has still not considered mahatma ahead of a player like addeah. then a few months in a youth tourney assifuah is a blaackstars material over night.

Why did Mahatma not play for the Satellites? We need young blood who can last in the BS, not old bones. We have players like Asamoah Gyan and Muntari ready to retire and we need their replacement. Mahatma Otoo only came to hi ...

I'm curious, only 3 you said and for which positions? Which players from the Black Stars should be sat for these three to be called?

I will love to her your input on that.

Please come again.

• Daniel, Milan 10 years ago

Mr. FA please kindly mind your administration work and stop talking as a spokes man or the assisstant to the head coach. Are the one to announce this? The coach went to turkey and he is the one to inform the nation about the ...

• Jimmy 10 years ago

Say it again, my brother. Is Nyantakyi the head coach?

• Edem Lasisi, Atlanta 10 years ago

Nyantakyi has been the Black Stars coach for years.

What is a report? A report is simply telling what you have seen. The GFA boss is telling us what he saw, that the Black Stars may need assistance from some of the youngsters, and what is wrong with that? Are you happy that As ...

• ACE/OUTSTANDING PREACHER OF 2000 10 years ago

Hey Mr. In soccer funs are coaches, that is why funs shout and chant for their teams to soar like the coaches do at the ir benches. Funs shape teams in so many ways. if it is bad game they become miserable,furious and saddene ...

• Englaar 10 years ago

For my money, Acheampong and Aboagye lead the pack. Aboagye, though small, has the intelligence and vision to play with the big boys. Salifu played well, but bot yet at the level of a Rabiu Mohammed. Asifua was top scorer, bu ...

• pala 10 years ago

watch the first goal the chileans scored against ghana. that will tell you that aboagye is not yet there.

• AKORA KYEI 10 years ago

GFA IS USELESS

• James Naru 10 years ago

Please include Frank Acheapong in the call up as well
    Kindly watch how this young man managed to deliver the ball for Ghana to score the last goal against Chile,
    I watched that video 20 times
    This guy is a superstar

• Milano 10 years ago

Coach Akwesi Appiah, I seriously think you shouldn't rush them. The boys although very good, should be developed and gradually go through the U-23 before calling them up into the Senior national team. Please learn from the mi ...

• BA 10 years ago

Yes, I am glad that 4 of our U-20 players are being recognized to form part of our national team soon. I always know that our U-20 teams are the teams that could always take as somewhere. Just like when we used a lot of our 2 ...

• WISDOM 10 years ago

WHAT ABOUT THE GOALKEEPER FOR THE BRONZE WINNING TEAM? HE IS FAR BETTER THAN THE GUY WHO COLLECTED AS MANY 8 GOALS IN 4 MATCHES FROM HIS NET. THE 3RD PLACE GHANAIAN GOALKEEPER IS VERY VERY GOOD AND SHOULD BE CALLED INTO THE B ...

• Nii Joromi 10 years ago

The first keeper belongs to a second division team in Ghana. That's where he should stay till he matures

Aboagye is the closest I have seen to the legendary Osei Kofi. Osei was small, may be like Aboasgye but he was able to break through the defenses of the opponents easily. He was called "Wizard" Nigerians called him "the man ...

• Joe Aikins 10 years ago

So after all we have good players whom we could train to play for Ghana.Dede Ayew so you could now see that Soldier go Soldier come. I pray they don't behave like Dede Ayew

• Job 10 years ago

Be careful not to rush them to a wreak. You need to find a solution to the evil that existed to cause panic injuries to a players. That had made some even secured to return to play for senior team. WATCH ASAMOAH GYAN

• Keen Observer 10 years ago

So Seidu Salifu looks like Essien that why he's being drafted into the BS? This is stupidity of the highest order.

We all forget that most of these players played in the local league and there were not the best in their positions. They are older; the only reason they get to play in U-20 is because they are are short mature men who are mal ...

• Job 10 years ago

Someone in the senior team causing injuries to fellow player . Don't pretend

Please stop disturbing our ears with your stupid African mentality. Asamoah Gyan is a striker. There is no injured striker in the Black Stars who is competing with Asamoah Gyan.

• Job 10 years ago

See how foolish and ignorant you sound. What happen to B. Yaidom in BS ? Can’t you hear from Borbor telling us he was injured not full fit? Where did he got the injury from? Just open your eyes to observe and will soon ...

• Marco Polo 10 years ago

really this early,its about time we let these youngsters mature with time.we shud'nt rush dem to crush dem.after all maturity comes with time.

• Di Carlo 10 years ago

Acheampong,assifuah,odfer,achia,attamah,lartey,aboagye,yiadom,seisu,duncan,antwi even nketia are all talented and have what it takes as long as they get the necessary coaching an grooming

• pala 10 years ago

if they are talented and need the the necessary coaching and grooming as you are alleging, then this is not the time to invite them into the blackstars. you must be groomed before you enter the blackstars. blackstars is not t ...

If the Black Stars is not the place for grooming, then why were Dede Ayew, Kwadwo Asamoah and Agyeman Badu sent directly to the BS after the 2009 U20 World Cup?

• Kojo USA 10 years ago

Nyantakyi u better stop the crap, none of those u-20 guys are ripped enough, not even in the next 3 yrs to wear the blackstars jersey. What are u talking about? Aboagye is already fully developed but diminutive and without sp ...

This team is not good. We met two quality teams, Spain and France and we were outclassed!! We conceded aerial goals in our first 4 matches. We need some tall guys in our teams.

• pala 10 years ago

dede ayew, agyemang duah, rahim ayew etc were a disaster in angola 2010 when they met cote d'iviore. they coach by the second half fell on essien, djan, sapei, haminu, annan to salvalge the blackstars. that was why we got to ...

• TexasBlackStar 10 years ago

Attamah, Baba, Acheampong and Lartey would be my 4 players. They impressed me more.

WERE U SLEEPING DURING THE TOURNAMNT?
    BABA, N LARTEY ARE NOT BSTAR MATERIAL...NOT YET

• Dr Coach 10 years ago

Massa, only Acheampong qualifies in your squad. Baba needs some discipline he's too dangerous at the back.

• OB 10 years ago

Everybody has his or her four players but only the coaches four players will be called. We should focus on doing our jobs well, and leave the coach alone to do his.

IT STILL SHLDNT PREVENT U FROM OFFERING UR INPUT BASED ON WAT U SAW FROM THE PLAYERS AT THE JUST CONCLUDED TOURNEY...ASSIFUA, YIADOM, ACHEAMPONG, ODJER FOR SURE. I LIKE ATTAMA AND GOALIE OFORI(GH VS IRAQ) A LOT, BUT I DOUBT T ...

• ASUOYEBOA 10 years ago

I very much respect this U-20 team. Everybody I saw play did what was expected of affable athletes. Instead of calling these players one-by-one to the national senior team, I would rather suggest that this squad be groomed, ...

• pala 10 years ago

rahman has already been called to the blackstars but never used. frank acheampong was called and dropped. duncan was not consedered good enough.
    apart from the foreign-based players rest are locally based players who we hard ...

BABA RAHMAN IS NOT AN EXPERIENCE LEFT BACK. HE NEEDS MORE DISCIPLINE BACK THERE. HEIS NOT VERY FAST, BUT LOVES TO OVERLAP....WATE WEI DA?
    MASSA,OTOOMAY BE GOOD, BUT UNTIL HE PERFORMS AT A BIG TOURNAMNT LIKE THE U20 WCUP, CHA ...

• Wiseman 10 years ago

Nyantakyi and you all the other coaches on Ghana web.Please SHUT THE fuck up and let the only person paid to coach the Black stars do his work. nye nu lo?hahahahaha

• blackstar 10 years ago

We need youth bring them up!!!!!!!!!

• TAHIRU 10 years ago

THE 3 OR 4 PLAYER TO BE CALLED TO THE SENIOR SIDE SHOULD BY ABOAGYE,ASSIFUAH,SALIFUAND ACHEAMPONG BECAUSE THEY WERE EXCELLENT SPECIALLY ABOAGY HE IS THE BEST PLAYER IN THE TEAM SO HE DESERVE TO BE IN THE SENIOR SIDE

• paa 10 years ago

Gyan should watch out Assifuah is coming to take his PLACE

• paa 10 years ago

Good Boys

• Kofi Abochie 10 years ago

Yes, those four young players should be invited right away on board the senior team so they get used to playing with the seasoned seniors. We will need them in the coming world cup in Brazil.

• THE LONE PROPHET OF JEHOVAH 10 years ago

Nyantakyi now is the Black Stars new coach instead of AA.AA went to turkey on is own or GFA bought him the ticket? AA was on scounting mission??? Hahaaaaaaaaa can't he watch the game at home etc,etc...and still call up the 3 ...

• EFAMOATENG 10 years ago

ACHEAMPONG FRANK SHOULD NOT BE LEFT ASIDE.

• Kofi Kwateng 10 years ago

It is the head coach who should first tell us about this and not the G.F.A boss.How indepndent is Coach Appiah?

• THINK STRAIGHT 10 years ago

4 u-2- players for stars

• THE LONE PROPHET OF JEHOVAH 10 years ago

GOOD BUT DONT RUSH THEM,U-23 BEFORE BS

• koffi 10 years ago

do not forget Moses Odger. He is a hell of a player. He can attack and also run back to help the defense. Acheampong is also good.

• ABU 10 years ago

OUR GAME WITH ZAMBIA IS NOT THE TIME TO TRAIN PLAYERS PLEASE.TRYING NEW PLAYERS SHOULD BE AFTER WE HAVE QUALIFIED PLEASE.

• Mohammed Ibrahim 10 years ago

Four U-20 Players should be call for the Ghana friendly with Japan in September.

• quamy 10 years ago

frank acheampong
    ebenezer assifuah
    baba(the left back) and
    odjer -cast in the mode of anthony annan

• Salisu Yusif 10 years ago

The three selected players really deserve to be part of the senior national team and Kennedy Ashia, that reserve player who scored 2 goal really need to be selected he is really good.