You are here: HomeSportsSoccer2013 03 02Article 266437

Ghanaians salute Ayew brothers’ decision to quit

Read Comments Comments (115)

• nana 11 years ago

all national teams like the black star has no permanent players and i find it difficult to understand the resignation of these guys.my question is that at the time of making that statement were they selected members of the t ...

• sidder 11 years ago

did u guys hear what rev. osei kofi said? about a character being recorded on a device @ gfa and given to abedi pele sayin jordan has been dropped,it's now left with dede."jordan de3 ya drop no na aka dede"its a conspiracy i ...

• ATSU, HO 11 years ago

THIS IS A SAD PRESENTATION DISCIPLINE IS IMPORTANT IA ALL ENDEAVORS BUT FROM THIS WRITE UP AND OTHERS I AM GATHERING THE IMPRESSION THAT IN SOCCER IF YOU ARE ACCESSED TO BE GOOD YOU CAN BEHAVE ANY HOW.

• RED-SOKOTO-GUDARI 11 years ago

No arrogance, a good player must learn to be humble as well as disciplined. I love the Ayew brothers, but I think support discipline in every institution. there is no doubt that Dede Andrew has sacrificed a lot for the nation ...

• SAMPSON MADIBA - IRELAND 11 years ago

They can go n fuck their mother, who do they think they are?

• Puta boyo! 11 years ago

SAMPSON MADIBA - IRELAND why don't you give them your ashawo mother rather to fuck? Some of you talk from your anus. Faggot. For all I know you are cleaning shit wherever you are.Idiot

• bonoh holland 11 years ago

Puta boyo u give them your mother,they can go to hell,ghana has more than 50 players who play in europe arab golf and north africa,and more good players at home,blackster coach has every right to make his choice,NO FUCKING BA ...

• BATOURE Q 11 years ago

first the COACH gotrid of JORDAN and his next terget was DEDE AYEW but he has to come up with a reason and this time the reason was he did not shake hands with other players when he was brought out of a game or smile to APPIA ...

• jebs 11 years ago

who is abedi to b informed b4 selections 4 the stars r made. is he part of the technical team or what kind of trash r u xpecting us to blieve. the two ayews can retire for all i care, it will rather b 4 the good of the team. ...

• MR. (Z) MAN 11 years ago

IF WHO IS ABEDI THEN WHO IS AKWASI APPIAH? NOTE THAT EVERYONE DESERVE RESPECT AND HAS PLAY A GREATER ROLL IN THE NATIONAL TEAM. DO YOU WANT TO TELL ME THAT WHAT AKWASI APPIAH IS DOING AS HEAD COACH, ABEDI AYEW PELE CAN'T DO A ...

• Ron 11 years ago

MARCEL DESSAILEY & SELLAS TETTEH good.

• Pito Brewer 11 years ago

The Ayew family is not what ails Ghana football. Over the years, the father and his sons have contributed as much to our national game as perhaps any family, and we should be grateful to them for that service.

What is wron ...

• Dan 11 years ago

Ok we hear you Jebs, please if you dont know Abedi was part of the team that won the 1982 cup of nation. Also Abedi left retired from the National team since 1988, tell me have we won any cup since? envy will kill you people. ...

• Babayaro 11 years ago

So any time a Black Star player is not selected for a tournament he should resign and be begged? What arrogance is being foisted on Ghanaians. What cup did Abedi win for Ghana with all his legendary status.

• Tanga star in Egypt 11 years ago

try to learn how to tell the truth.

• moyo 11 years ago

Akwasi Appiah, Ghana's 'mumu' coach thought he could do better by sidelining the two siblings at the just ended AFCON. Whole the whole world realized that after all Akwasi Appiah is not that intelligent and lack the coaching ...

• jebs 11 years ago

in 2012 when the two ayews were in the team without even kwasi appiah as the head coach, did we fare any better than we did this year. how much were we paying that expartriate coach, and what was the results. what bite does j ...

Massa massa stop talking rubbish.

• alhaji UK/TKW 11 years ago

AKWASI APPIAH DID WELL, SO STOP BLAMING THE COACH OR CRITICISING THE PLAYERS, BECAUSE THEY DID THEIR BEST FOR THE NATION. WHO ARE THESE ARROGANTS BOYS? WITHOUT THEM THEY PLAYED BETTER THAN THEY WERE IN THE TEAM.

• The Stallion 11 years ago

The answer to your question is that, they have not been selected yet. They retired, not resigned. What is in it is that, if you don't retire and you wait till you are selected before you say you have retired, it will be a dif ...

• DR QUADRATIC 11 years ago

i agree that they didnt get the best treatment but i still dont agree to their decision especially the reason Jordan gave. He was dropped ahead of less talented players,yes! But this is not enough reason to say bye(just becau ...

• Abotare 11 years ago

I have laways admired Akwasi Appiah from Kotoko, Black Stars and as a coach, but for this decision with Dede and Jordan, No!! He got it wrong.

• Dr. Nii 11 years ago

FIRST OF ALL, JUST LOOKING AT KWESI APPIAH ON THE SIDE LINES WHEN THINGS ARE NOT GOING, HE FACE SHOWS A MAN WHO IS CHICKEN HEARTED AND LACKS CONFIDENCE IN HIS ABILITIES, WHY? SIMPLY PUT, KWESI APPIAH DOES NOT HAVE ANY FOOTBAL ...

• BJ 11 years ago

Soon only GFA members and their family members will support the Black Stars Team. Ghana would have got further during World Cup 2010 if our officials were patriotic.

• Kwaku Gyan 11 years ago

Yes you are right.
    Pls do refer people to the 2010 world cup,look at what happen to us when we missed Dede with the match against Uruguah,He is a talented player we can not miss.GFA should persuade him back.
    Look in our on ...

• Richard 11 years ago

It is really sad to say the least that I salute their decision but I have no other option at this juncture. The stench at the GFA needs to be cleaned up and a good manager appointed to run the black stars. Kwasi Appiah has be ...

• it 11 years ago

foolish talk

• Dr. Appocco 11 years ago

With Ayews Ghana was 4th in the 2012 AFCON. Without them Ghana was 4th in the 2013 AFCON. So makes them have such sense of entitlement, and bloated egos?

• Savanna, USA 11 years ago

What I remember is U20 World Cup and near-miss World Cup in South Africa. Oh, and a second place AFCon.

Thanks Dede. Another thing - You deserve the BBC African Player of Year award you won a couple of years ago.

• Amanka 11 years ago

but with them we play better

• WISE-TALK, UK 11 years ago

and and who play better?

yes good bye Ayews and hello to ur parents to replace them.

• jb 11 years ago

the patriotic full-blooded ghanaians will play..ayews can take their egos to beirut...low IQ assholes

Your father is Labanese, if you don,t know where they came from ask. they are the real Ghanains and not you and your useless parents.

• jb 11 years ago

only full blooded ghanaians can win a cup for ghana.. the Ayews are done.. they know GFA will not call them again...they better apply to Lebanon

• TALIBANSON 11 years ago

JB you're EVIL,GOD hammer your head kwasia.

• jb 11 years ago

just make your point and stop the insults

• Koree SASU KWAME 11 years ago

We real need those sibling we have to beg them ,not to treat them that way,coach is your time to go,we have talents ,Essen,boateng,all stars we have to beg them ,they spare stars so to beg is not bad thing ,Ghana comes first ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

KP BOATENG,ABEYIE, ESSIEN,...THE LIST WILL GET BIGGER....

• WISE-TALK, UK 11 years ago

when better people are talking u animals can keep quit,fuck off.

• Pat 11 years ago

Appiah made a mistake by listening to the GFA's advice on dropping them. Now everybody is blaming him but no one is blaming the FA. There is something fishy going on in the FA. I think the GFA should be disolved as well becau ...

• walala 11 years ago

bring this guyz to the team is good enough but smetimes let's talk abt hambleness every player in any team can be change where by ur not performing so every position is not guarantee so let this guyz stop their bra bra bra a ...

• tijani 11 years ago

thanks you very mach you have spoken very well. may the good GOD blessed you for this statement

• Bayor 11 years ago

sack GFA president and the coach to solved the problem.

• Kwame 11 years ago

The whole GFA members needs to be fired. Young guy s like the Ayew brothers dedicate their time for the country only be used as football politics. Kwesi Appiah this shows that you and the GFA are not capable of managing playe ...

• OGOGLO QUARTER 11 years ago

WHAT HAS BLACK STAR WON WITH DEM?WHAT OM WON WITH DEM?FUK DEMMMMM
    I WILL STILL ENJOY MY OGOGLO WHETHER THE PLAY FOR THEMSELVES OR MAN U.IF THEY ARE SO GUUD AS DEY THINK WHY ARE DEY STILL IN FRANCE?GOD HELP DEM!!!!!

• Ras 11 years ago

Ghana will not go any where with idiots like u. Stupid fool go and drink ur ogoglo and sleep

useless stupid donkey, tell me what did u did for Ghana?

• Nester 11 years ago

Hahahahahahahaha, "what did u did". Only your English ooo

• kubi. 11 years ago

I am sorry this young boys are taking this decision. Whoever gave them them the advice was wrong. Remember pride always come first before a fall. a word to the wise is enough. For their own good they need to reconsider their ...

• pk 11 years ago

Their decision is rather unfortunate. They are young and the best is yet to come. Hope they reconsider their decisions which have obviously divided the nation, and at a time when the management should be focusing on the impen ...

• Munaga 11 years ago

Honest speaking i am full support in what this person has said, and one important thing is kwesi appiah should go and learn more about coaching tactics and forget the problem between he and abedi pele which leads him not to g ...

• ymmas 11 years ago

this is a case of players with bloated egos who think they have to have their way, or else it's the highway. a coach is hired to do a job, and he uses players he believes he can work with. if these players believe they are ab ...

Mr. Big mouth. What has ego got to do with this? I believe you are one of those stupid and dumb people who have low self esteem and will therefore take anything you are handed down including shit.

• iddris 11 years ago

Its always good to say the truth no matter how much it hurts,

• mohammed amin abdallah adenta fafraha 11 years ago

you are trustworthy,no one can tell it better than what you've done,Kwesi is a trojan horse for Nyantekye to destroy our young super stars.

• Dont worry be happy 11 years ago

The best you can do is to quit on your nation you love?

• Dont worry be happy 11 years ago

To quit on your nation you love.

• OSEI WIAFE 11 years ago

OOOH POOR GHANA! EVERYTHING IS FALLING. IN SPORTS, POLITICS, ECONOMY, INFRASTRUCTURE, WATER, ELECTRICITY, LOVE AMONG TRIBES, YOU NAME IT AND IT IS VERY SAD. THINGS FALL APART, THE CENTER CANNOT HOLD... THE NDC CURSE . JJ WHY ...

• Watson 11 years ago

Lets face facts in life nothing is forever wat about if its a tragedy n Ayews can not play again will there b black star or not.
    If one door is close another will b opened they're dad started playing for d national team at a ...

the stupid people are blaming the Ayews and not Appiah and G F A.

• K O Yeboah 11 years ago

This dosent mean Akwasi Appiah should be sack,The Ayews can help ghana to win the world cup.GHANIANS THINK like lttle kids ,you all must be smart and let tham go .You have to let them go.what is the population in ghana,their ...

hey go away, if they were be Asanties you will support them we know you.

• atoplans italy 11 years ago

if they want to go let them go like father like son leave K Appiah alone

• K O Yeboah 11 years ago

Ghanians have to let them go.they dont have eight legs.their destroy black star before.if im lien to you.ghana can make it without them.

my brother God made them great so if you want ask God to make you great stop fooling abaut.

• NANA YAW BAWUAH 11 years ago

Dede is not messi, ok.neither is his brother.GHANA COMES FIRST.

• Danlame 11 years ago

infact to my opinion kwesi apia have to be send out from the National side. the whole world ask about this Abedi children were are they? No one can tell, is because of this racism hatred from the GFA influens the coatch so th ...

• nana, USA 11 years ago

Raymond Yeboah! Ur hatred for ashantis will not take u anywhere. All ur articles are baseless and meaningless. Grow up and stop writing this stupid articles.

• Sir Kofi Mumui 11 years ago

Moron. What has the article got to do with Ashantis? Some Ashantis live and believe that all other ethnic group is against them, and believe that their party can never lose an election and their team must always win. Get a li ...

• nana, USA 11 years ago

I pity u. What life are u talking about? What else do I need in life. I have God and I have everything a man needs to make happy in life. Think about u and urself and miserable family. Odwan meeee!!!

Get a life and go back to school if possible!

• Cheap Ticket to Kumasi Wanted 11 years ago

I live in Tacoma, Washington, and I am looking for some cheap ticket to Kumasi to join in the riot that will surely follow the forthcoming trashing of the Black Stars by Sudan. I would also like to know about hotels in the ar ...

Try Priceline. If you find a cheap flight, let us know. I will join the protest.

Get in touch with a moron who call himself nana. Just look above your post and you will find his 'name' there. nana lacks common sense so be careful in dealing with him. Looks like someone deprived him of his brain!

• K.K. 11 years ago

Raymond Yeboah, you are the most STUPID person I have ever read from. Ghana does not belong to the Ayews. Are they the only players to be dropped from a national team? How many goals has Jordan scored in the season as a strik ...

• nana, USA 11 years ago

Thanks K.K. U are 100% right. Ghana blackstars doesn't belong to the Ayew family. Andrea and Jordan cannot compare themselves to the likes of Neymar, Messi, CR7 and other world class players. They can go to hell.

Ashanti idiot. You again! Go to school, the way you think, there is nothing for you to learn on Ghanaweb. Just go to school.

• Abongo 11 years ago

How many Ghanaians did you sample. Appiah is going nowhere. Let them keep dreaming. Ghana forever.

• Komivi 11 years ago

Raymond, you are entitled to your opinion. But don't write as if you are the spokesperson for all Ghanaian football enthusiats. We can reach nowhere in football if indiscipline, arrogance and selfcenteredness take centre sta ...

• J. O 11 years ago

Ghana needs fresh and commited players. Players like Gyan, Ayew and mutari have been playing for long. Ask them the number of games they have played and the goals they have scored or chances they have wasted. They are not sup ...

Dede is recgnized as one of the best players in Africa. Won BBC African Player of the Year(as voted by fans). Was runner-up in CAF Player of the Year award. He captained Ghana U20 team to win the World Cup for Ghana and Afric ...

• Jerry, Boston MA 11 years ago

What a smart answer to a moron.

• Kojo Agatebe, Oregon 11 years ago

Only a foolish general would leave his best weapon behind when going to war.

• ATINGA 11 years ago

OR ELSE i QUIT. WHERE IS THE MERIT?

• EMAP 11 years ago

It is better that Ghanains burn themselves in ashes and resurret in new better form than selling our fortune to Dede and Jordan! We are with you Akwasi!

• OsibisaMan 11 years ago

"The whole team apparatus is broken"

The Ayew brothers are only reacting to a percieved in-balance within the structure of the national team which if not re-balanced soon could lead to our absence at the next World-Cup.

• there are more better players out the 11 years ago

oh my people!For hw long will we open our eyes. Football is game of 11 players but not two. Is marselle team winning all their matches? Give others a chance. we hv many platers out there. ghana is not for two or three people. ...

• BRIGHT AMABLE-USA 11 years ago

FUCK THEM RAW, THEY CAN GO AND NEVER COME BACK. NO NATIONAL TEAM HAS PERMANENT MEMEBERS AND THE BLACK STARS OF GHANA SHOULD NOT BE ANY DIFFERENT. IF THEY DON'T WANT TO PLAY FOR GHANA NOBODY SHOULD BEG THEM OR EVEN KOWTOW TO T ...

• MAGGIE 11 years ago

who is this Raymond Yeboah leave Ghana footbal alone are you a Ghanneen
    if yes why or this hatred?.

• Asamoah c 11 years ago

Who wrote this stupid article, Akwasi Appiah is Ghanain he has done a lot for Ghana soccer , so don't talk about sacking him to bring those two little disrespectful boy,s back to the team ,very, very ,stupid of you to sa ...

• kanawo 11 years ago

This man is very stupid with this article telling us that asamoah gyan was critised little are you crazy player who treating to be killed insult his mother i thought ghanains respect themselfs resfectful now you fool come out ...

• truth 11 years ago

you are a fooooool. Brainless idiot to compare Ayews with a record holder player like Asamoah Gyan.

• TJ Hooker 11 years ago

Ayew is indiscipline for not given Hi-five only in Ghana. Have you ever seen a baseball player got mad and walking out of the field? he will smashed anything out of his way, threw his hat, broke his bat and walked to the dugo ...

Or a professional basketball player choking his coach on tv in view of the whole world.

• Koo Boye 11 years ago

Ghanafuo y3 patapaa, leave the Ayews alone.

• ''GOD'S SON'' 11 years ago

YOU THE MAN WHO WROTE THESE ARTICLE IF YOU DO NOT HAVE ANYTHING BETTER TO SAY OR WRITE THEN IS BETTER FOR YOU TO HMM...THEREFORE GOD BLESS OUR COACH KWESI APPIAH!!!

• Kwesi kombolo 11 years ago

Kwesi Appiah did not do anything wrong to Dede Ayew he was selected to be in the team and was given a deadline to report to camp as the other players but he Dede failed to report and CAF's deadline for registering players fo ...

• fergy 11 years ago

ayew was there when Ghana was booted out by Zambia, Ghana can survive without him. He has to humble himself but not proud.

• ODO 11 years ago

WE CRIED FOR A LOCAL COACH.HE CAME AND IS TRYING TO ENFORCE DISCIPLINE ND IS A CRIME BECAUSE SOME PLAYERS ARE UNTOUCHABLE. MR WRITER WHY DON'T YOU GO AND COACH THE TEAM YOURSELF?

• K.K Tenadu Boadu 11 years ago

You are entitled to your opinion,if it takes individual player to win trophies France would have won the world cup with players such as Eric Cantona and papein .so those of you who lack insight into certain things should not ...

• mohammed 11 years ago

Yes i agree with u,is kwasi appiah blind or he have a problem with what Ghanaians like? Cant he see the commitment and serriousness of Dede when he is playing for Ghana? He should not take personal issues to our national team ...

• koo nti 11 years ago

Has Ghana rejected Essien in someways?Did Muntari decide not to play or was not called at all?Do the Ayews contend that the two brothers must at all times be called together and that they're inseparable?Where is Abeyie?

• Wanlov 11 years ago

Sensible

Who are the better players we have? Adoma,boateng, gyan,yiadom and wakaso? The stage was even too big for them. And compare appiah to Sam Arday, Silas Tetteh and you'll know we took inferior materials to the AFCON tournament. ...

• Awaitey 11 years ago

Jordan is just being swollen hearded, no one player has a standing position in the team.How many goals has he scored for ghana as to his club side.I think the decision as to who plays what position is not for a player to choo ...

• KOGYAM 11 years ago

I SAID THE SAME THING.THERE IS NO STANDING POSITION IN THE BLACK STAR. COACH MILOVICH DEECIDED TO RISK HIS JOB BY TAKING AS MANY AS 9 PLAYERS FROM THE 2009 U-20 SIDE FOR THE WORLD CUP LEAVING OTHER MATURE PLAYERS BEHIND AND T ...

• AkwasiA 11 years ago

The writer lacks objectivity. Why should the coach be sacked because he didn't invite a particular player. Dede is a good player. There is no doubt about that but it is about team work and discipline.

• Dana 11 years ago

I thought as much.Let us face it is never easy to have two sibblings or two family members on a team or in any enterprise.There will most atimes be conflict of interest which is why in most companies in developed nations they ...

• Wofa koo 11 years ago

Stupid comment. Nobody has a secured place in the national team.

• Mohammed Ibrahim 11 years ago

I don't agree with what you wrote.What you wrote was nonsense.Abedi Pele two Son are very arrogant,and selfish.They have a decipline problem.They have no respect for Coach Kwesi Appiah.They should not be allowed to wear the B ...

• KOFI BONSU 11 years ago

IT may be true but they should return to the team

• BIG PEE 11 years ago

If AYEW BROTHERS HAVE DECIDED TO QUIT PLAYING FOR GHANA AGAIN NOBODY SHOULD BEG THEM AS OSEI KOFI,SUNDAY IBRAHIM AND THE REST WHO SACRIFICED TO PLAY FOR THE COUNTRY GET FROM THE NATION.LONG LIVE OSEI KOFI,MFUM AKWESI OWUSU AN ...

• Amankwa 11 years ago

I love coach Appiah a lot but my only question is why did he switch to a 4-4-2 formation in our 3-1 loss to Mali. He should have stayed with the 4-2-3-1 formation. I like that formation because in crucial games like that you ...

• IKE 11 years ago

the Ayews as much as i like them, they have lost my respect for behaving like a kid who has lost their toy. their excuse for leaving black star is sad. long live GFA,long live the coach and long live Ghana black star. i hope ...