You are here: HomeNewsRegional2017 07 26Article 562939

Ashanti Regional Police ban DV/DP number plates effective July 31

Read Comments Comments (23)

• Kofi 6 years ago

I THINK THE POLICE CAN DO MORE.
    I WAS IN A TAXI WITH A FOREIGNER AN EUROPEAN I GUESS.
    AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT OUR VEHICLE STOPPED WHEN IT WAS RED. THEN AN UNREGISTERED MOTOR BIKE WITH 2 OCCUPANTS WITH HELMETS RODE THRO THE RED ...

• TT 6 years ago

Does the Police have the power to ban DV/DP Plates anywhere in the country?

In a parliamentary democracy, the police are to enforce laws but not to make laws. Moreover, we are not practicing a Federal System of government ...

• Kareem Starboy 6 years ago

Lawlessness everywhere. O my beloved Ghana.

• OLD SOLDIER 6 years ago

Does the regional commander now makes his own laws

• Jon 6 years ago

The weak n vulnerable will continue to suffer. I was in court in 2015 when a gentleman who had been brought in by the police to Answer questions on using dv plates on Saturday stood up to them telling the judge that he had br ...

• ANAMOAH 6 years ago

YESSSSS.

• King. 6 years ago

The DV and DP plates are always paid for so it's stupid on the part of Ashanti regional police command to ban it.

• ot 6 years ago

useless talk how can u band dp and dv plates in Kumasi.then stop selling dp plates at the port nonsense

• Akua Donkor 6 years ago

Banning is not the answer but regular control will be better.In Germany for instance you can use this red numbers for 3 or 5days and have to pay for it.It is times you use your position to make research on the internet to fin ...

• sam 6 years ago

dcop of ashanti please come to anwomaso domeabra police station where thia police in domeabra are sabotaging taxi drivers and trotro drivers why. always money .

• Asem 6 years ago

Bravoooo.....pls go a step further......The Nigerian are all over the place on so called Ecowas number plates and are snatching innocent girls on quiet roads .....this has happened 2x on the Spintex Rd.

• IN GOD I trust , 6 years ago

what about traffic offenders,Nigeria number plates, sarin users? even you the police are making things worse,

• Taabea 6 years ago

You fools,make use of that number plates from the said date and see where power lies.

• Jon 6 years ago

Kwasia. Am sure u are a useless police man. Power lies with the courts and not the spinless police.Police officers are the worse culprits. You supply armed robbers with guns. Idiot. What have you been able to do with the cri ...

• Draya 6 years ago

U have no power. Not even the slightest bit. It's just because of the uniform. Very stupid of you to make such a statement. Fool...!

• Torro 6 years ago

Eeeebei, Mr police commander, you are overstepping your boundaries. Are you saying people who have legitimately purchase a dv number plate can not use in Kumasi? Have you actually pass out from police training ? Please don't ...

• pissed off 6 years ago

Can people drive the car with DV plates ( defective vehicle) day and night with wife and family aboard . No they can not, but they do. After one year when the suspension and steering is shot they sell them as a newly importe ...

• Jon 6 years ago

Read the initial comments b4 you respond. When you clear your car from the port how do u take it to your town/city for registration?? Yes some people are misusing the trade plates but it does not warrant an outright ban beca ...

• Eben Don 6 years ago

I wonder why our leaders always engage in making lazy and shallow decisions. instead of finding a long lasting solutions to our problems, they instead go for the options that can allow them extort the general public. This dec ...

• Akora 6 years ago

Seriously!

• Kwaku Gyau 6 years ago

THERE WERE NO ARMED ROBBERS IN GHANA HISTORY UNTIL WE ALLOW BIG FOR NOTHING COUNTRY NIGERIANS CRIMINALS TO SETTLED HERE.....

• Christopher Azumah 6 years ago

Some of the police men use unregistered motor bikes in obuase

• mjb 6 years ago

Most of these DV/DP no. Plates have expired but the Police most often overlook them. Moreover there are regulations guiding their use on the road. If your no. plate is valid, it means you have authorisation to use it within t ...