You are here: HomeNewsRegional2017 01 24Article 503630

Edina chief threatens to shutdown Elmina Castle

Read Comments Comments (32)

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

THE CASTLE DOES NOT BELONG TO THE CHIEF OR THE TOWN.IF SO THE GOVERNMENT CAN SHUT ALL THE ROADS LEADING TO THE TOWN.
    THEY SHOULD SUE THE GOVERNMENT FOR THEIR MONEY.

• Niibi Agbo 7 years ago

Poor old chief. What is his contribution to the daily running of the castle. He should be thankful to Kwame Nkrumah for wrestling independence. Otherwise he would have no voice.

• Omama 7 years ago

If I were this chief, I will be asking for forgiveness for his predecessors facilitating slavery, for his predecessors giving comfort to the portuguese which eventually led to the colonization of Ghana.

• Concerned Citizen 7 years ago

There goes another of our chiefs who cannot understand the constitution and where his authority ends. He doesn't know what courts are for.

• Kojo Nketsiah 7 years ago

Mr Editor the name of the chief of Elmina is slept Kodwo and not Kwadwo. Please respect the names of people.
    Thank you.

• SCHEMER 7 years ago

Kojo tell that Kodwo chief of yours that the fact that the independence square is on Ga land doesn't mean they should be paid royalties.

• Boom man 7 years ago

U spelt the word spelt wrong . Is slept the same as spelt?

• Dr 7 years ago

Slept paaa not spelled....
    Kikiki... Nya abotr3.. Don't be tooo quick to judge

• ddkt 7 years ago

U cannot do foko try nd u will see hell

• Bonzie 7 years ago

As a native of the area, I am appalled that G-Web made a serious mistake like this. The Picture is not Elmina Castle. This is Cape Coast Castle.

• Mr. Smith 7 years ago

He is Nana Condua IV. He is an authority within the Edna traditional council.

• Odikro 7 years ago

Ghana ha snow become pockets of powers, where everyone just stands up and give ultimatum. This is the root of the violence in the country. If the chief thinks he is owed, why doesn't he take his case to the appropriate author ...

• MAAN 7 years ago

You need cash work for it.

• Ben Kwesi Annan 7 years ago

nana condua, i support you shut it down, monument board you take edinaman for granted too much

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

The chief waited 8years without man icing a single word when NDC hooligans fools were in power and just 18 days after NPP took power this idiot chief comes out like a fool talking nonsense that he will close done the tourism ...

• Xupreme 7 years ago

Please Nana Kojo Conduah I write to you to hold on for the mean time and everything we will be ok.

• yaw 7 years ago

it belongs to the state and the people of Ghana not a common chief. he mr chief what have u edi na wo jimi

• KOFI MUMUI 7 years ago

The picture above is not the Elmina castle, it is the Cape Coast castle. This is an elementary mistake that need not be made. Do people who put up such articles get paid for what they do? Wake up Ghanaweb!

• KAKA GHMEDIA 7 years ago

good, well noticed

• Abbot NDC Senior Citizen 7 years ago

Oh NDC l actually pitty you, so from 2009---2016 upon Edinaman voting massively for the NDC you found nothing wrong to aproach JDM on such issues but kept quiet till NPP came to Power before you come to utter such harsh words ...

• Martin 7 years ago

Does the chief have a contract with the Museums and Monuments board to be paid 20% of the proceeds or this was a verbal commitment by the board? If he indeed has a contract and the board failed to honor its obligations, then ...

• AKRONFOO 7 years ago

This so called John Mahama and NDC JUST LOOTED THE STATE COFFERS AND LEFT SO MANY DEBTS UNPAID - TEACHERS, ROYALTIES, DISTRICT ASSEMBLY COMMON FUND, SCHOOL FEEDING, NHIS,CONTRACTORS, GETFUND, ETC ETC ETC ETC EBEIIIIIIIIII. IN ...

Kojo nketsiah, I support your attention,,,but I strongly believe you will admit that a mistake can happen at anytime and also , anybody can make a mistake??

check how you spelt your "spelt"

Doesn't that local radio station has a name??

what hypocrisy is that?

we should be grateful and show appreciation to our source of info.

• Gold coast 7 years ago

Oh Nana the Castle is not your property.Why on earth do you,if you are a responsible and effective chief waitfor so long?.You are saying since 2009 Edina has not receiveits royalty.
    Demand the payment but do not take the law ...

• Protoa 7 years ago

Doesn't this dumb chief know that it is Elimina that is going to lose the revenue ordinary trading folks get from the tourists? And by the way, why has it taken him so long to complain until now?

• NATIVE 7 years ago

Why is the Edna chief exposing himself to ridicule? The State is supreme in Ghana not a chief. If he has an issue with a State institution he can work it out through chieftancy ministry or go to court or use alternative conf ...

• tuntumbir 7 years ago

YOU HAVE EVERY RIGHT TO SEIZE OR BLOCK ACCESS TO ITS USAGE.MUSEUM AND MONUMENTS BOARD DARE RENEGED ON SUCH ARRANGEMENT OF ROYALTY PAYMENTS TO THE ASHANTI OVER-LORD.THEY CAN DECLARE CURFEWS AND THREATEN CITIZENS OF KUMASI WITH ...

• OBREMPONG NY NY 7 years ago

Why did the king or the chief not confront the MAHAMA GOVERNMENT, but waited until their
    exit before doing that.? Does he want to embarrass the NPP administration, because he is a
    sympathizer to the SEMI-DEFUNCT ...

• Benny 7 years ago

The Chief is not serious. Why not shut it Down when Guggisberg was in Power. You could have found yourself in exile in Fenando Po. Good Luck chief

• GHANAMAN THE REAL 7 years ago

A Chief threatening closure of a National Asset? A sort of Govt organisations owe all sorts of agencies and businesses but is lawlessness the answer, Mr ignorant Chief? You cannot cause financial loss to the state just becaus ...

• BRASS BAND CONDUCTOR 7 years ago

Chief, contact Paa Kwesi Nduom, he can help you to fight your case, if indeed there are any tangible grounds at all.Good Luck.