You are here: HomeNewsRegional2015 04 07Article 353333

School placement: Stakeholders push for religious considerations

Read Comments Comments (28)

• The mask 9 years ago

KNUST failed to rusticate and report to the police a female student who beat up her roommate; the lecturers have been bought. It has been said that many lecturers lack teaching methodologies. What should be the minimum requir ...

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

Muslims should attend their own schools.

• Nana Bawuah 9 years ago

What about those practising African traditional religions or any other religion? When will muslims and christians stop claiming hegemony over all other religions?

• maame 9 years ago

they either build their schools or accept the conditions in the schools they choose to go

Then you better start building schools for people practicing traditional religions, for Budhists, Hinduists, Judaists, Daoists and the many many many many other religions in the world as well as for atheists.

• MATHS 9 years ago

The Catholic Bishops did not agree with the computer placement of students and made their fears known. They were ignored and this is what we have. If we are avoid any or all tensions, parents must be allowed to select the sch ...

• fkbf 9 years ago

Do not accept the moslems in Christian schools.There will be chaos with the few moslems in the midst of the many christians

• Aurie 9 years ago

Let the moslems go to their own schools

• Ray Parker 9 years ago

Let the Muslims who are mistakenly placed in Christian schools be reassigned to Muslim school. They should not be allowed into Christian schools to start demanding to have their way. If they choose Christian schools on their ...

• Israel Jude 9 years ago

Dress code? Students to dress now in outlook as Muslims, traditionalsite, Hindus, Christians, etc, and not as students in school uniforms? That makes them better educated and resourceful? Absurd and complete nonsense that fu ...

• Israel Jude 9 years ago

Dress code? Students to dress now in outlook as Muslims, traditionalists, Hindus, Christians, etc, and not as students in school uniforms? That makes them better educated and resourceful? Absurd and complete nonsense that fu ...

• LONTO-BOY 9 years ago

The existing Computer Selection Process has not only created admissions chaos but has caused major headache for many students and their families. I'm sure reverting to the "Old System" of [ First choice, Second choice, and Th ...

• Akwaaba 9 years ago

Travel Travel travel
    Contact me if you want to travel to US Canada Australia Japan South Korea Dubai and any European country on 0541702098

• kweks 9 years ago

A good call. Mr Pres JM please look at it and consider it.

• Moses 9 years ago

This is good thinking. May God continue to guide you in these turbulent times.

• USMAN 9 years ago

The gap between Muslims and Christians in Ghana is now going to widen. Blame Prez Mahama for this.....

• Ghana mmbaa 9 years ago

It's unfortunate the president has to be blamed for this@Usman. The computer selection and the different uniforms by faith based schools was introduced by the NPP regime and no one was any problem with it. All issues that cam ...

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

ALL SCHOOLS WHICH RECEIVE PUBLIC FUNDING MUST BE FREED FROM RELIGIOUS INDOCTRINATION. OTHERS, WHICH SEEK TO PROPAGATE THEIR FAITH BY INDOCTRINATING THEIR KID MUST BUILD AND FINANCE THEIR OWN SCHOOL. COMPUTER SELECTION AVOIDS ...

• Mr. Kofi 9 years ago

You cannot eat your akple and have it. You cannot go to Presec and complain of Presbyterian ethics. You cannot go to St. Peter's Secondary school and ask the school to remove the statue of St. Peter because it offends your fa ...

• kwasisei 9 years ago

This is madness! - to think they have no other ideas? we see what religion is doing to countries round the world & when we have an opportunity to resolve issues, we're rather using the same religious distinctions? why can't p ...

• Freeman 9 years ago

Osei Yao, smart thinking indeed. The former system was very corrupt and I remember Heads of institutions collecting bribes from the rich. Government officials, chiefs, religious leaders, senior military officers influenced th ...

Within a secular state religion is strictly separated from public institutions such as schools. Within a secular state religious teachings are not offered and if they are offered they are not mandatory. Within a secular state ...

• Kodwo 9 years ago

If Ghana is not a secular state then I guess you think Ghana is a christian state. Wrong! Ghana is a secular state. State functions begin and end with the national anthem not a religious anthem. Christians want prayers said t ...

You are right, thats why religous practices should not be part of any public institutions. However, are you asked to swear on the bible or Quoran in court? How can you then claim to be a secular state? Do you engage in religi ...

• OGA 9 years ago

Rev. Frimpong,your suggestions are on the right path.truth is bitter to swallow but in the end it cures hypocrisy and deceitfulness.

• Obaa Yaa 9 years ago

The moslems want to attend good schools, they forget that it is the discipline of the church have made the schools good. Attend TI and leave us in peace.

Why always Islam and Christianity, are these the only religions? Christians and muslims shouls practise their religious supremacy and fanatism at home. Religious indoctrination of children should be prohibited not at public s ...

• Ama Yabre 9 years ago

How about the training colleges that train profesionals like nurses. Do nurses have a dressing code. Why is that muslims students are being allowed to wear hijabs and also catholic nuns in public schools also wearing their ...