You are here: HomeNewsRegional2015 02 21Article 347496

Accra Poly students kick against Gh¢2m Campus Mall

Read Comments Comments (38)

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

This is not about you the students.

• RR 9 years ago

Are we out to educate students here or is this a centre for shopping? Somone up there has a twisted mind. A small campus shop may be ok but a mall?? Please!

• Yaw Manu 9 years ago

Accra Poly is already congested

• Yaw Manu 9 years ago

Has Accra Poly Administration considered the wave of crime that will engulf the place once the mall is brought in there? Besides the whole Accra Poly is already surrounded with all manners of shops.
    Please concentrate on you ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

I think the school is moving to a new site,I believe around the Accra/Nsawam road where I think they are building the mall.

• Yaw Manu 9 years ago

Thank you for the additional information

• Adjua 9 years ago

Please don't misinform. The school is not moving to a new site, do you know how much it would cost to relocate an institution as big as Accra Poly? The mall being built on the Accra - Nsawam road is already close to completio ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

"The mall being built on the Accra-Nsawam road is already close to completion and is a private"

You seem to have lost your mind,tell us where Accra Polytechnic is building the mall which makes my comment misinformation.

• Mawunyegah 9 years ago

Even if they are moving to a more spacious location, should the building of a shopping mall be the priority of a polytechnic? What about the future expansion of their own academic facilities? What kind of human beings are Gha ...

• Ei Ghana!! 9 years ago

If the School has enough cash for a mall then why can't it be used to beef up academic work?? Accra poly is surrounded by Malls and shopping centres, and Markets and have they considered the number of people who might be comi ...

• Contemporary Youth 9 years ago

Yaw failing to plan effectively is, tantamount to planing to fail, Accra is already choked with filth, organised crime and erratic power supply.

Instead of working out sustainable community cohesion plans for the city in ...

• Adoley 9 years ago

The guy needs to have his head examined. All his ideas are so weird they could only come from the mind of someone with serious mental problems! A shopping mall on the campus of an educational institution? I mean something mus ...

• KWASI IN EUROPE 9 years ago

How can the school run this mall? It would be better to use the money to train your science students to repair mobile phones. That would bring in far more money than going to buy and sell sardines.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 9 years ago

I took my dad to the Polytechnic mall the other day to buy some new shoes. We decided to
    grab a bite at the food court. I noticed he was watching a teenager sitting
    next to him. The teenager had spiked hair in all differen ...

• Ghana Boy 9 years ago

Why is it that people in authority are always blind and myopic ? Shopping Mall on campus

• TAMAKLO 9 years ago

JUST LOOK AT THIS CURRENT POWER CRISES IN THE COUNTRY,INSTEAD OF BUILDING OPEN MARKETS THESE SHORT SIGHTED PEOPLE ARE TALKING ABOUT CLOSE ONES TO REQUIRE MORE POWER

• Pumpuni 9 years ago

This comes under "Revenue Generation and Diversification" in an institution's attempt to raise money to counter financial constraints which affect all tertiary institutions.
    An example from the US, "Cerritos College in Calif ...

• Ei Ghana!! 9 years ago

Ghana not America. Who will manage the mall? And are we sure all the funds will go to the benefit of the school?? like the American example?

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

So then why don't invest in a small hospital/urgent care/ same day clinic instead of a mall? After all we only have Ridge hospital in the area. As you said the folk at Cerritos invested in a old peoples home which in additio ...

• GaBaa 9 years ago

Think, a shopping mall and an assisted living. Think traffic, traffic.....

• APOSTLE ELIJAR 9 years ago

What on earth is happening to us in this country? ANOTHER SMART WAY OF STEALING MONEY AND ENCOURAGING PROSTITUTION ON SCHOOL CAMPUS.

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 9 years ago

How can you even think of building a shopping on campus property? Are you high on coke and feeling like king Kong? Soon, these animal niggas will be building toilets in the sky

• Am 9 years ago

money conscious officials, where is the land?

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

What is the primary goal of the this institution? To educate students or to make money. And since when has Accra Poly seized to be a public institution. Somebody should lose his or her job for this nonsense.

• Contemporary Youth 9 years ago

Cheap neocolonial tactics

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

What is the primary goal of the this institution? To educate students or to make money. And since when has Accra Poly seized to be a public institution. Somebody should lose his or her job for this nonsense.

• Ei Ghana!! 9 years ago

Is Mahama cursed??

• Samuel Ansah New York 9 years ago

What has this to do with Mahama? Another sicko and jackass

• YB 9 years ago

(1) Great opportunity for job seekers and pensioners.
    (2) Wonderful health product for everyone

CLEANSHIELD, Amazing health product for everyone, All Natural Alkaline supplement from US specially and scientifically desig ...

• concerned ony3 9 years ago

so you have money for mall and you dont have money to repair broken chairs and broken computer labs and non functioning mechanical labs and no sitting place for students??....computer science students are crying of no enough ...

• Elikplim 9 years ago

I can only see that the students are fighting,but the leaders are not willing why,they are causing us harm especially accountancy students.something must be done

• Paa Frank 9 years ago

Similar reasons were giving for Toll Booths, Single Spine Pay System, and the list goes on. Does anybody believe the money will be used for the general good ?. NO! NO! NO !

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

Why misuse the land which will be needed for expansion when it is upgraded into a University? After all the site is in proximity to the shops and markets in the so-called shopping district so are the authorities in league wit ...

• perscoba 9 years ago

What a misplaced priority in GHANA. Every university in the world raise money from reasearch works and commercialsie those works then get mony from and or endowment funding.

GHANA IS GONE TO THE MONKIE IN NDC..believe ...

• perscoba 9 years ago

This is pathetic.....every university raises money from the producrs of its faculty research works. The faculty THINKS..COMES OUT WITH AN IDEA..THEN SCHOOL MARKETS IT..THEN SCHOOL MAKES MONEYFROM THE RESULTING BUSINESS....

• Gigaman 9 years ago

Indeed! What a DUMB idea: who needs malls in the first place anyway? And now on campus? SADLY STUPID!!!!!!!!!!

• IDI AMIN DADA!! 9 years ago

I WON'T BE SURPRISED IF THEY DECIDE TO CLOSE ACCRA POLY AND REPLACE THE SCHOOL WITH THAT RETAIL MALL. NDC NKWASIAFOUR! GHANA NEEDS A MILITARY COUP AT ONCE AND NOW!

• Yiddana 9 years ago

The students are right in rejecting the mall on campus. The academic environment should not be turned into a business place. It would distract academic work and depress indigent students who cannot afford to shop in this fanc ...