You are here: HomeNewsRegional2014 06 09Article 312106

KMA sacrifices sheep for flood

Read Comments Comments (71)

• Absolute Nonsense 9 years ago

This is stupidity in G - Major. Kwasiasem

• W H A T ?.... 9 years ago

Which Country is so obsessed with superstition like Ghana.

This is a Medieval Culture and Must Not be recognised to be importin

What sort of a Country is Ghana becoming.

Ghana is graually becoming a superstitious Country.

This sort of practises is a Medieval Culture and Must Not be allowed to be Imported into a modern State.

The officials in ...

This Constitute to willful Financial Loss.

It is a Clear Case of misappropriation of funds.

• Ebo, Kumawu 9 years ago

Please dig the grave of only the immediate Asante chief who was buried before Aponkyihene Kwaku Dua was enthroned. This will help give a clear picture of previous burials.

• Ali 9 years ago

Why is it that the Asante/Akan will never grow out and become civilize and stop their savage practices. From human sacrifices to worshiping Antoa river gods. Now they want to sacrifice ship to prevent flooding. Why not sacrif ...

• francis 9 years ago

Ali or whatever! you're accusing people of not being civilize but your own comment shows you're not civilize. this kind of practice is barbaric and i don't think any body with the right sense supports it. is a shame.

• Patricia Mawunye 9 years ago

Ali, as much as l detest what that the major is advocating for, it does not make the people of Ashanti uncivilized. As a matter of fact, you have rather revealed yourself to be uncivilized than the Ashantis. After all the "Fr ...

• RJ 9 years ago

Patricia Mawunye civilization has nothing to do with speaking or writing English

• Concerned 9 years ago

I could not help myself

• Ali 9 years ago

What difference does it make so long as you understand me. When an Asante/Akan man can speak a little English, he/she thinks they are Englishmen. You cannot differentiate between a typographical error and a grammatical one. Y ...

• CARDINAL 9 years ago

When you have that idiot Kwadwo Bonsu as KMA chairman, such a primitive nonsense should be expected. I can expect the traditional rulers to do such things not a government entity like KMA.

Somebody should sue to stop this ...

• say it loud 9 years ago

You are also a Ghanaian. Go ahead and sue then use part of your meagre salary to pay for the required legal fee.

• CARDINAL 9 years ago

I would have done that if I was in Ghana, unfortunately I am in Texas, sorry.

• ELINAN 9 years ago

The chiefs are the custodians of the land and the govt the administrator. So if it is in the line of the traditional rulers to do it, then so be it.

• MARCUS AMPADU 9 years ago

Cardinal, as a modern nation, we have to ask ourselves whether we seriously believe in climate change or not. If climate change is causing the floodings, then we need to get ready to buy more sheep to be sacrificed because we ...

• agyabroni 9 years ago

we believe

Charge them for causing Financial Loss to KMA and the Kumasi Metropolis!

• Kweku 9 years ago

"People whose common sense abilities have been taken over by faiths and superstitions will perish forever" - By Kweku

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

It is really sad, that in this day & age, sacrifices have to be made before developments can be made in an area.

• Vodoo Xebieso 9 years ago

Since it is not human sacrifice (which used to be the norm in the recent past), I think that's a step in the right direction. Good luck.

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 9 years ago

If Christians do not speak against these practices it will soon turn into human sacrifices. We know how the Asantes slaughtered Ntafo at the death of Asante Chiefs? The same will soon happen because these Asante people always ...

• primitive minds 9 years ago

At times like this I feel ashamed to be a Ghanaian. This is being read all over the world.First the GFA boss and now this idiot.

• Kojo Bie 9 years ago

I thought the asantes used to say that its only ewes who indulge in voodooism. Hipoforkingcrates.

• Vodoo Xebieso 9 years ago

We are all neck-deep into the practice. You see, all of them cover their own and go to town to proclaim the Ewes as the only people who do it. Anyway I am happy it is not a human being but a sheep. Thank God Almighty they've ...

• YENTIE OBIAA 9 years ago

Isn't sheep the same as Ewe? When the Asantehene dies, we will kill Ewes-sheeps so you don't have to worry about any human beings being sacrificed.

• MINOR CASE 9 years ago

When you accommodate certain people who take their gods with them wherever they go, their voodoo practices rubs off on you. This is what is happening with the Asantes in Kumasi. Too bad .

• ELINAN 9 years ago

LOL. I think we're very good at teaching other ppl bad behavior.

They are the worse. Years ago it were the Ewes and the Gas now the Asante have taken over. Where are the people in the Christian Council? Wake-up children of God never cease praying for the country is being taken over by the ...

• business developer 9 years ago

The best solution top flooding is to stop construction and human settlement in river's banks and path because water will find its own path when its route is blocked causing over flows and floods.

• KWAME, BELGIUM 9 years ago

This time is in Kumasi and we have nobody to blame the government. Where is Mr. Pratt??

• GHFUO, heaven is NOT for fools!!! 9 years ago

Extensive work, including dredging, is crucially needed to avert the flooding which creates problems for the people in the area. WHY DONT U DO THE NECESSARY DREDGING. CONSULT WITH KNUST/UNIVERSITY RESEARCH STUDENTS, PROFESSIO ...

• THOMAS 9 years ago

superstitious believe, instead of scientific approach

• 4 Year Old 9 years ago

Serve the Living God and stop following lies and stupidity

• Iman Erskine 9 years ago

Gentlemen, gentlemen, gentlemen. The problem is not the river, the problem is the people. Every river has what we call the flood plains. This is the bondaries that the rever expands itself from time to time. Greedy chiefs who ...

• Alex Illi 9 years ago

Nice comment.
    I think (or rather: sincerely hope and reckon) that Mr. Bonsu knows these facts, but he probably only tried to appease to superstitions, that they don't hinder or halt the work any longer.

As you imply, anyh ...

• afia 9 years ago

Kojo bonsu you're disgrace to the nation, how could you lead such a disgrace activity? you've allow people to buid on rivers, railway lines, you've sell all the lands in Kumasi,to build stores all over the place and you turno ...

• Kojo Bie 9 years ago

These people and blood sacrifices. I hope they keep it to sheeps only ooo. I don't know why asantes especially envy ewes so deep. This started long before JJ oo. But ewes and asantes were at a time in history allies ooo. Eyed ...

• FRANCE 9 years ago

Do the right thing and stop the sacrifice. What has this poor animal got to do with the floods? The climate change is affecting the enviromment everywhere across the globe so spare the life of this poor animal. On sundays y ...

• Adansi 9 years ago

Politics will kill Ghana. Just do the right thing. Enforce the laws so people do not build in waterways. Why waste resources on people who flagrantly flout the laws?

Nkwaseafo,nkurasefo. Instead of spending the little money they have in their coffers, look at what they are wasting it for. Such primitive people termed themselves as the leaders of the country. Where will this happened other ...

• Kwamina Andrews 9 years ago

This is backward thinking. Can the community not take some precautions ahead of time to ensure their own safety?

• JB Osei-Brown 9 years ago

Eye asem ooh!

• ANTI 9 years ago

GHANA WILL NOT PROGRESS WITH SUCH PEOPLE IN LEADERSHIP POSITIONS.

• EZEKIEL 9 years ago

Is this the BEST Idea our Engineers from KNUST with 1st.Class /2nd upper can come up with ?? I'm VERY DISAPPOINTED INDEED in our ABILITY to solve ANY Problems in Ghana!!!

• yes 9 years ago

Ghana Repent, Repent, Repent. It is time to turn away from these evil deeds of darkness and turn to Jesus Christ the Living God.

• BE BOLD 9 years ago

every graduate that comes out of a university in Ghana thinks he has conquered the unconquerble and knows everything. This is a case in point where they cannot even fix such a simple problem but woe betide you if you ever get ...

• KWESI 9 years ago

What has the sheep got to do with floods that it has to pay the ultmate price? Nonesense

• Kwabena Apuntuah 9 years ago

There are 2 issues that was not addressed. Are people still building along the low lying areas of the river banks or the population of the village grown during the years for people in the area to contaminate the river? Look, ...

• ME 9 years ago

WHAT KIND OF STUPIDITY IS THIS? INSTEAD OF BUILDING GOOD DRAINS FOR THE FLOOD, THEY WANT TO SACRIFICE SHEEP. FOR WHAT? SO SO PRIMITIVE PEOPLE WITH PRIMITIVE IDEAS.THEY CAN KILL ALL THE SHEEP IN GHANA BUT THAT WILL NEVER STOP ...

• BE BOLD 9 years ago

They don't have the know-how to build the drainage system and the sacrifice of a sheet provides an easy answer.

• Good Pastor 9 years ago

God has said the land will eat up the idol worshippers on His land.Every offender will be judged. No one can escape the sin of idol worshipping judgement.

• KKO 9 years ago

HOw backward can you get! Is this the Lower Middle Income status you have been crowing about? Sh** has been dumped in the Subin River for the past thirty years, a practice that has been responsible for the virtual death of th ...

• Alex. Illi 9 years ago

food for thought, hehe

• Fred, London 9 years ago

This man needs to be sacked. Modern urban planning stipulates that the water must be dredged and the embankment raised. House blocking waterways should be demolished and trees and gardens planted along the river bank to beaut ...

• A. Illi 9 years ago

Thank you,
    very nice comment

• Frank 9 years ago

THIS TELLS YOU ABOUT THE MIND OF A LITERATE BLACK GHANAIAN, EDUCATED WITH PhD, OR WITH NO EDUCATION.

YOU CANNOT BUILD A NATION, DEVELOP IT AND RUN THE ECONOMY AND GOVERN IT WITH A BLACK MAN AT THE HELM.

A BLACK MAN IS N ...

• BE BOLD 9 years ago

Amen to your comments. What is wrong with demolishing the buildings near the river and resettling them elswhere to avoid such a recurrence?

• Special T 9 years ago

In this day and age why resort to outdated way of doing things. Enforcement of environmental laws is the answer.

• ISSA ABONGO 9 years ago

THEN WE WONDER WHY THERE IS SO MUCH POVERTY, ACCIDENTS AND LAWLESSNESS. GOD HATES IDOL WORSHIP AND GHANA SHOULD BE CAREFUL, NOT TO GET CLOSE TO IDOL WORSHIP.

• Adongo Tongo 9 years ago

This is stupidity magnified, multiplied by nonsense. Oh ho!! Aba!

• ISSA ABONGO 9 years ago

WHEN YOU LACK VISION, WISDOM AND GOD'S BLESSING, YOU BECOME DESPERATE AND YOU RESORT TO IDOL WORSHIP IN YOUR DESPERATION. WHAT DOES JOHN MAHAMA SAY ABOUT THIS HAPPENING RIGHT UNDER HIS NOSE???????? IS JOHN MAHAMA IS HE AWARE ...

• ghanaman 9 years ago

It is imperative upon him who does not know, to believe. If the earnest and diligent quest for knowledge in the pursuit of progress and development is sacrificed, agents will stoop so low to rely on superstition in decision-m ...

• O.Y. 9 years ago

Slaughtering or praying. What is the difference?

• HERB DEFENDER 9 years ago

Slaughtering poor sheep isn't the issue. To do this as a slolution to floods....kai GHANA!!

• Me 9 years ago

OH AFRICA! WHEN? PRACTICING THIS IN THIS CENTURY? Why don't they sacrifice a cow to pacify the land to stop road accidents? Does not make sense does it?

• Alexander Illi 9 years ago

Your joke seems to have come true:

"Chiefs call for ritual to end deaths on N1 highway"
    www.ghanaweb.com/GhanaHomePage/NewsArchive/artikel.php?ID=313991&comment=0#com

• ANANE 9 years ago

An educated intelligent Mayor stooping low to the sacrifice to the gods. In these days of enlightenment. It will not surprise to know that this Mayor goes to some church and probably calls him a child of God and believes in A ...

• Agbeybibi 9 years ago

In this day and age can these primitive ideas give way to modernism. Construct drainages fools!

• YOOMOBEGA 9 years ago

And we are supposed to be Christian and Islamic nation.
    We are really confused, if you asked.

• yaw k 9 years ago

This Ghana politicians in kumasi are just as useless as their masters in .They should have sacrificed an elephant for more meat and blood.All these fools call themselves leaders of Ghana.May God save the poor Ghanian child .