You are here: HomeNewsRegional2014 03 07Article 302665

Ashanti: SHS tutor falls into dilapidated toilet

Read Comments Comments (124)

• KB 10 years ago

What a failed country!

• Akos 10 years ago

Oh Ghana! America in the 18th century was way better developed than Ghana today. In this modern world, who uses this type of restroom?

• Princess 10 years ago

Omg, I just lost my appetite reading this article. Poor guy, hope he don't get any diseases. Gross

• Carl 10 years ago

So wwe are still so stupid we cannot even provide KVIP. WHAT AT ALL DO WE DO WITH OUR BRAINS

• SECURITY JOBS 10 years ago

AN INTERNATIONAL SECURITY COMPANY IS LOOKING FOR 50 SECURITYMEN WOMEN. FREE ACCOMODATION,
    GOOD SALARY.
    020 222 9363
    057 400 3936.

• www.owafk-africa.com 10 years ago

7th Edition Free Scholarships for Africa

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

a disgrace to humankind

• Anonymous Coward 10 years ago

Primitive leaders. Corrupt and visionless bunch.

• Sooso 10 years ago

In fact the teachers in the school should bow their heads in shame. They are irresponsible. For them to look on and say they donot have money to build a new toilet facilty for the scool is trully a sign of irresponsible behav ...

• Paa Nagrat 10 years ago

OMG!!!!!! is that the plight of the teacher now? Sharing toilets with students.Oh teachers of Ghana! Your reward is in heaven indeed. Blessed are the sacrificial ghana teachers, for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven.

• Benjamin Nyatanyahu 10 years ago

They say they don't have any alternative but to use the toilet as it was. Now that it has been closed, what would be their next step?
    Is it a HIPIC toilet? I just ask.
    You see Ashanti man fallen into Pepeni shit.

• OZA 10 years ago

It takes a man to fall into a pit full of 'SHIT" "URINE" and "MAGOTS" to bring all these problems to the surface. It is all out now. Let's get it fixed!

• NEVERMINDMYNAME 10 years ago

This poor teacher MUST take the GES or whichever authority is responsible to court for compensation, period.

• Carl 10 years ago

Surely OSEI TAWIAH has do something about this instead of compiling the towns in Ghana where TROKOSI shrines are. Even Rawlings does not care about TROKOSI nor are Ewe professors. Don't waste your time on Ewes. Please help As ...

• PUMA 10 years ago

Who knows where even this teacher comes from? Some think he might be an Ashanti forgetting Ashanti is not like trokosiland where people who are not from that land are not welcome because of their secrecy in doing things.I can ...

• CONCERNED CITIZEN 10 years ago

THE RESOURCES PUT INTO SENDING SECURITY PERSONNEL TO THE NORTH EVERY NOW & THEN COULD BE USED PROFITABLY IN PROVIDING MODERN FACILITIES FOR THESE SCHOOLS.

• body 10 years ago

why say so, shit be shit

• KWODWO A. 10 years ago

What happened to the word "MAINTENANCE"
    The mentality we have in Ghana is "IF IT DOES NOT BELONG TO ME, NO NEED TO MAINTAIN IT." This should be a lesson to all. Maintenance should be in the brain of all Ghanaian's.

• LOVELIGHT DJAN 10 years ago

Quite true to say. Growth and development of the school excerts sudden pressure on the existing structures and calls for expansion to fit otherwise the school ought to cot its coat according to its size. The worse of it is th ...

• Charles T. 10 years ago

Sooso, I agree with you 100% this is a very shameful, disgrace and lack of proper management on the part of the headmistress and teaching staff. What happened to self help and responsibility. Do they have carpenters and mason ...

• SOS 10 years ago

what is the ashanti the ashante king doing about this? with all the money stool is getting from goldfields and other resources. I think the money belong all ashantes not only for few, the ashanti king has to help build good s ...

• Abroampah 10 years ago

My dear sis,
    not even America in the 18th Century but Ghana itself before the arrival of the slave masters, had far better sanitary facilities in their communities than manifested here. The Portuguese wondered about our stan ...

• JAB 10 years ago

You lie!! What book did you read? Read Frederick Taylor's book on scientific management and you realise that as late as 1911 and 1912 America was like Ghana today with gross mismangement imbibed with racism etc.

• Samuel Osei-Tutu 10 years ago

Oh Say that again. What a country! What a people!

• k. Fandom 10 years ago

this is one of the numerous challenges Ghanaian teachers face but Graham and his fair wages people will say that no risk in teaching profession

• NAKED 10 years ago

When Nkrumah was fighting for unification the Asantes were fighting for their federation so up to date the Asantes do not have Ghana at heart they love Asanteman more than Ghana as a nation,if the going is not going on their ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

Just listen to this guy called NAKED and you will notice immediately he sums it all about what most Ghanaians think of Ashantis today. In today's Ghana you can see the Kwahu's developing their tiny villages into big towns, th ...

• backfire 10 years ago

anyway all oseis are rot, they say, but there is sense in your comment.

• KWADWO. 10 years ago

Apart from the tribal insinuations, everything said here is true. There exist a cache of people and tribes bent on stealing from Ghana's coffers. It is sad but very, very true when you consider the wick people who force thems ...

• keewuo 10 years ago

"Mo ne ka, Agya Sei Brempon". You damned right! Food for thought.

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

Why can't some of you emptyheads spend the day doing - or saying - anything constructive to build the only Ghana we know? What's Asante about broken toilets that are scattered all over the country?

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

Tribalism is a disease of the sick mind.

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

I wasn't surprised at all! I was expecting that. They didn't disappoint me by concentrating on the uncivilised state in which the mass of Ghanaians live.

It is a bloody shame!

Andy-K

• NICHOLAS 10 years ago

People like Osei Tawiah don't want to contribute anything meaningful towards the develop of the country except such baseless and tribal issues.

• CONCERNED CITIZEN 10 years ago

MUCH AS WE BLAME THE GOVT FOR NEGLECTING THE ASHANTIS; SOME OF THESE MICRO PROJECTS COULD BE SPONSORED BY INDIVIDUALS,COMMUNITIES,CHIEFS OR THROUGH OTUMFUOR'S EDUCATIONAL FUNDS.

• keewuo 10 years ago

Woye aboa! What has this got to do with"Asantes". Foolish whoever you are!

• Koffi parker 10 years ago

Yes it has nothing to do with Asantes I wonder why such attack,nontheless its the truth

• Nzema K 10 years ago

So the traditional authority and the Asantehene were all along waiting for Govt to build common toilet for their Kids. Where are the royalties from Gold, Cocoa and industries collected every month and sent to Manhyia. Tweaa a ...

• Achimota 10 years ago

Otumfuo in south Africa living in 3 million dollar mansion with the gold money he got from Norway after selling the jewellry

• Truthiness 10 years ago

Do you pay your taxes to Asantehene or to the gov't?
    We can't even take care of the existing schools and the gov't is thinking of building 200 more schools.
    Just imagine what those 200 new schools will look like

• GC/USA 10 years ago

20 MILLION DOLLARS FOR THE WORLD CUP AND 2 DOLLARS FOR DILAPIDATED TOILETS CONSTRUCTION, AT AGE 57.

• FATHER SAMS,NYC 10 years ago

AND THE GOVERNMENT IS PLANNING TO BUILD 200 SCHOOLS N A FREE EDUCATION.HMMMM.SO WHAT ARE WE DOOMG TO THE EXISTING DELAPIDATED SCHOOL BUILDINGS?

• hmm 10 years ago

Shit happens

• RAW 10 years ago

80% OF GHANAIANS LACK ACCESS TO DECENT TOILETS IN THIS MODERN TIMES.

• Bonsoe 10 years ago

With all these new toilets with sensors across the globe, our dear Ghana is still using KVIP.
    What is the teacher teaching in the classroom?

• oppong london 10 years ago

this crap ndc mce yamoah ponko always brag on radio that,he has developed the area very well,in this wise how come a teacher fell into this trounce?Ndc useless liars.under this bullshit party ghana will remain in primitive f ...

• EFUA 10 years ago

Ghana we always wait for a disaster before we think of solution I am sure if diligent attempt had been made to repair the toilet this wouldn't have happened I remember in the sixties at my school the student were organized ...

Efua,you are great. Now they can build another toilet or maybe wait for Mahama? Simple efforts on our individual side would help everybody,but nobody thinks.

• Kofi Okyere 10 years ago

IS THIS BETTER GHANA ?

Hi Kofi ,I hope you are not waiting for NDC to build your toilet before you call it BETTER GHANA. Who falls inside?

• ODIKRO BA KOFI JIMMY 10 years ago

WE CANNOT EVEN BUILD TOILETS IN OUR COMMUNITIES AND WE SAY WE LIKE MOTHER GHANA? WHERE ARE THE KOFI JUMAS, MPIANI, ADUSEI, SEREBOUR AND THE OTHERS? DISGRACEFUL BUNCH. HELP BY EXAMPLE.

• KJL 10 years ago

Where is the Ashsntis who boast in this forum of being a developed region compared to others in Ghana. Is it the development Ashantis boast about? TWEAAAAA

• Ben Netanyahu 10 years ago

LOOK AT TEACHERS PLIGHT DIS SHOULD HAPPENED TO THOSE WHO COLLECT 72MILLION CEDIS EVERY MONTH

• afua 10 years ago

Where has our communual labour gone to. Gone are those days when parents and the whole village will built these facilities. We ate our food and want the government to give us a place to shit. What a nation? Nine hundred stude ...

• Kojo! 10 years ago

Hard workers indeed.

Arrogant and tribalist supremacists. Your empty pride of claiming to be the only rich and important people in Ghana is on show, albeit in a funny way. Your so called king couldn't even provide simple t ...

• CAMH 10 years ago

Please be sensitive to people's issue. It's a shame that our morals and values have fallen to this low. Shame on you stop ashanti/northern/ ewe business. Be sensitive.

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON. 10 years ago

This s disgraceful and a blot on the image of the country and the citizens and chief oh Achinakrom.What are the chief and the citizens of the village there for? Are they waiting for the government to build a KVIP toilet for t ...

• Darios UK 10 years ago

Let us think very this is not about Politics but is reality is that Village elders Teacher assemblymen to blame they can contribute to build new or repair or rich among them can Donate money to build not using Big Big Cars

• ABLETSI 10 years ago

THIS IS WHAT WILL HAPPEN WHEN REV. MINISTERS OF CHURCHES IN GHANA, CHIEFS AND OPINION LEADERS HAVE ZIPPED THEIR MOUTHS OVER NDC'S CORRUPTION IN THE COUNTRY. WHERE IS THE WOYOME'S MONEY? WHERE ARE THE SADA, SUBHA GYEEDA'S MONI ...

• Achimota 10 years ago

This is what happens when ashantis insult the integrity of northner, pepeni would not collet the toilet. Tweeaa

• atta 10 years ago

So what is happening when issues of these nautre might be funny to others but a grave concerns to students .

• Cudjoe Amuashie 10 years ago

He needs to be compensated big time by GES, Ashanti Region, school ,etc ets

• KOKOTAKO 10 years ago

PLEASE SNED MY DEEP SYMPATHY TO THIS UNFORTUNATE TEACHER. AND IN GOD'S NAME,PLEASE TRANSFER HIM TO A FAR AWAY SCHOOL,BEFORE THE SCHOOL KIDS START LAUGHING AT HIM; YOU KNOW HOW KIDS CAN BE..!!

• Atinga Kobla Atongo 10 years ago

I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS HAS HAPPENED IN GHANA 2013, SHIT? OH YES! IT'S PURE SHIT!
    MY SYMPATHY TO THIS FUTURE PROFESSOR.
    AN INNOCENT VICTIM OF BAD CIRCUMSTANCE IN GHANA TODAY. WHEN TEACHERS ARE INVENTING AND ASPIRING TO INVENT ...

• ABIO 10 years ago

57 YEARS OF HWIIIII TUUUUMMMMMMMM .DO YOU KNOW WHY WE ARE CALLED THIRD WORLD COUNTRIES ???
    WE ARE 300 YEARS BEHIND THE WHITE MAN.HWIII TUUM IN GHANA TODAY ? OH NO.MINISTER ENVIRONMENT SHOULD BE SUMMONED BEFORE PARLIAMENT ...

• Nii 10 years ago

Poor guy may have suffered. I pray he fully recovers. How many of these old KVIP toilets are still around and use by schools. Local authorities in the areas needs to act now to replace them before one is killed.

• ABOTOKURA 10 years ago

THIS TEACHER SHOULD BE TRANSFERRED IMMEDIATELY FROM THE SCHOOL TO SAVE HIM FROM FURTHER EMBARRASSMENT. POINTING FINGERS' AT HIM ALONE IS HUMILIATING.
    THE HEADMISTRESS OF THE SCHOOL AND THE ENTIRE TEACHING STAFF ,AND THE PTA ...

• ODIKRO 10 years ago

SO WHAT ARE THESE HONOURABLES DOING? AMA ADOM POMAA OF JUABEN AND OWUSU ADUOMI OF EJISU. LOOK AT ALL THE PROJECTS HON YAMOAH PONKO IS WORKING ON. DISGRACEFUL.

• fredsaid 10 years ago

After 57 years of independence from the wite man a country that has gold diamonds cocoa bauxite manganese and now oil cannot provide its citizens with water electricity safe toilets public toilets. Is that all black majorit ...

• YAW ODURO. 10 years ago

THE ASANTEHENE AND THE ASANTEMAN COUNCIL HAD TO BE BLAME OVER SUCH INCIDENCE. THERE IS NO WAY THAT THE TRADITIONAL ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT OVERSEE WHAT IS GOING ON AROUND THE PEOPLE IN THE ASANTE. WHAT A SHAME FROM THIS ASANTE ...

• KOO NIMO 10 years ago

This is Better Ghana Agenda

• kola tintinto 10 years ago

SEEOH, WE ARE SENDING 1000 SPECTATORS TO Brazil TO WATCH WORLD CUP, WHERE ARE OUR PRIORITIES AS A NATION, AMA GHANA?

• Okess 10 years ago

How much does it cost to repair this toilet?

• Ghana 10 years ago

This is not funny and I feel sad for the teacher. Before building SHS Mahama and his clowns should fix the existing ones and build toilets.

• 21st CENTURY GHANA 10 years ago

HO COMMENT

• HONESTLY 10 years ago

HOW CAN I SEND YOU SOM E MONEY BY WESTERN UNION.

WHEN I WAS YOUNG OUR CAT FELL INTO A SIMILAR SITUATION. THAT WAS BEFORE INDEPENDENCE. I BREAK OF THE SPIRIT OF FEAR, TRAUMA AND DEATH OVER YOU IN JESUS NAME.

• OBTT 10 years ago

VERY STUPID HEADMISTRESS. YOU DON'T DESERVE TO HEAD A SCHOOL. YOU DO NOT HAVE THE STUDENT AT HEART. WHAT DID YOU DO AS A HEADTEACHER TO SALVAGE THE SITUATION? NOTHING. DON'T YOU OPERATE UNDER ANY MINISTRY? IDIOT. THE TYPICAL ...

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Tweaaa!

• Nana Odasane Kwesi Adwenpaye 10 years ago

Oh my people, this is not funny. Ultimate FM, pls use your media to raise funds and immediately fly the man abroad for proper treatment.His life is in danger and might not live.The PTA, education Directorate, students and goo ...

• Robin Hood 10 years ago

Where is Yamoah-Ponkoh, the HIV distributor? That is within his jurisdiction. Is he telling us that he is so busy spreading the deadly virus and fighting with his perceived enemies that he has no time to do what he was chosen ...

• Akos Connecticut 10 years ago

ooh Ghana at 57. This is very sad. What can we do as Ghanaians. some of us do not have the economic means but if the rich will put in cash some of us are prepared to carry cement to build for them. Our generation had all the ...

• Teye-Mensah, Denmark. 10 years ago

Common toilet. Some white people can be wicked but something like this will never happen in any white peoples country in this day and age.

• Ama 10 years ago

What are you doing in Denmark ? Wicked whites live there.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

Why is evil only occurring in Ashanti?

• Kwamina 10 years ago

He has serious issues not good for the school and the region. He should be banned to the Greater Accra region.

• Kofi Osei 10 years ago

You don't even have a basic toilet to use but when it comes to elections your running to vote for those stupid pocket politicians. Why? If they don't build you a new toilet don't vote for them.

• KOOBI BRYANT 10 years ago

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

• Agonaba 10 years ago

Life and death situation is not a joke,massa,it could have been anybody.

• KWAME 10 years ago

This happened in Ashanti Region. But go to any school in Accra here and visit the toilet and you will marvel at what you will see. The toilets at Nungua Senior High School is horrible and student at Teshie Senior High School ...

• Joe 10 years ago

This teacher should sue the Ministry of Education.

• Flight attendent 10 years ago

This is such a sad story and the teachers must be compensated.
    Ghanaians also need to be educated how to use toilets. The toilets at Kotoka Airport used to be nice but are now filthy. It is disgraceful when we have Ghanaian ...

• Kwame USA 10 years ago

Ghana is a failed state

Common toilet, this is a disgrace to the african race especially ghanaians. something like this will never happen in the white world in this day and age. what have the african/ghanaian governments being doing with all the for ...

• qweku 10 years ago

this is really very bizarre. he should apply for workman's compensation from the school or G.E.S. he needs to go back to the hosp. for review to ensure that he is fine.

Invite the british back to rule you-Ghanaians so that every ghanaian can get a place to shit. Atleast in britain every body have a decent place to shit not only the elite

Where is the intelligence of our degree and phd holders? common toilet we can't build decent ones for ourselves.

• Samuel Osei-Tutu 10 years ago

Teye-Mensah, it does not take a degree to build a toilet. If we need a PhD to construct toilets then we are in big trouble. In fact we are already in trouble.

Samuel, i feel sad for victim and the school. If the ghana government don't mind i can start raising fund from Denmark to construct toilet for all the ss schools in ghana, provided the wicked ghanaian politicians can gurantee ...

• Rodgers Manu, Canada 10 years ago

Each and everyone who commented on this topic is invited to donated towards the construction of a proper washroom for Achinakrom Senior High School. Each and every penny counts, please support with any amount to

PAYPAL AC ...

Where is the guarantee that the money donated will not be "chopped" by the wicked politicians? where is the gold, oil and cocoa monies?

• Rodgers Manu, Canada 10 years ago

The money is going directly to the school and no misleading politician will see a penny.

• YAW ASARE LONG ISLAND NEW YORK 10 years ago

that teacher should sue G.E.S for about 2million Ghana cedis and don't forget the corrupt judges will throw the case out if this was in America this poor teacher will not work for the rest of his life.Bring back the white man ...

• QUEENBEE 10 years ago

EVERYBODY IS SAYING WHAT THEY WANT AMERICAN IN 18TH CENTURY BETTTER THAN GHANA, AMERICA DO NOT JUST SIT AND WAIT FOR THE GOVERNMENT TO DO EVERYTHING FOR THEM YOU KNOW SOMETIMES THE CITIZENS COME TOGETHER AND DO THINGS FOR THE ...

• Kofi Osei 10 years ago

You don't even have a basic toilet to use but when it comes to elections your running to vote for those stupid pocket politicians. Why? If they don't build you a new toilet don't vote for them.

• Benny 10 years ago

Where is the assemblyman. He has to face a pugnative questioning. The police has to get hold of him and answer questions. And then bring him to book

• Sally 10 years ago

WHERE ARE THE HIPPC TOILET CONTRACTED BY IDIOT KUFFOUR ARE? HAHAHA SICK PEOPLES WITH SICK MIND.

• I THOUGHT THEY DON'T 10 years ago

Hmmmmm. Got nothing to say.

• D Brefo 10 years ago

If these conditions exist in our schools,why then
    border to build new 200 schools.Why not use
    the money to improve those we already have?
    This is very shameful to Ghana in this century
    and especially while celebrating ou ...

• Johnny USA 10 years ago

CANT MP OR MIN. OF EDUCATION BUILD NEW TOILET FOR THE SCHOOL.

• J Boadu 10 years ago

What a country after 57 years of colonial rule. Even pre-independence conditions were more managable because of civic education and responsibility. Shame to Better Ghana or Bitter Ghana.

• Daniella 10 years ago

Please our leaders tour our communities before the talk and spend money on themselves? I will surely burry my head in disgrace if I am involve in leadership or took part in the decision to pay ministers and leaders all that m ...

• Nana Nom 10 years ago

So are you telling me the school could not on a good saturday organize the students to dig five more od such toilets? Are you telling me you would rather go and squat on that nasty toilet and let the fumes burn your eye than ...

• Nana Nom 10 years ago

In this day and age all you need is an annoucement that the school is looking for volunteers to help build toilets and people will come. All the head master needs to do is make an annoucement to request for some wood to buil ...

• the truth 10 years ago

Yep thats what has to happen. Lucky to be alive. Imagine drowning in shit. That would be one horrible death. Remember they used to have a septic tank where I lived at Tesano. That thing was as deep as a 30 ft swimming pool an ...

• Harryboo. 10 years ago

Oh ndc better Ghana agenda be that folks.

• GOD TOOK OUT QUICKER 10 years ago

Oh Ghana,how can we let Kwame Nkrumah down like this?We should go on our KNEES and HANDS and say to the BRITISH PLS,PLS TAKE US BACK.Without you we are NOTHING&NOTHING BUT NOTHING.

• Ayim 10 years ago

And yet a former prez wanted 2 houses to be built for him

• peace 10 years ago

Very Sad

• Ahoofeism 10 years ago

Okompa-Ahoofe should send money to build a new toilet for the school. This fool sits at Nassau and writes a whole bag of shit. Meanwhile teachers at Ejusi are hard at work trying to educate our children and they do not even h ...

• Antiochus - London 10 years ago

The MCE for the Ejisu/ Juabeng should be fired immediately. What does he do with his area common fund?

• Philip 10 years ago

It is pity that as at now people use atonko to ease themselves whilst Ministers of state drives in Landcruisers etc,doing practically nothing for the state to benefit but rather pack these SUV's in their garages awaiting a to ...

• kb 10 years ago

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

• Sincerity 10 years ago

The best politicians are supposedly teachers like master politician, Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah, not 'sankwan' lawyers like.......
    All teachers around the area should boycott classes until a descent toilet is built in solid ...

• Kwaku Adade(France) 10 years ago

Check all these public Latrines,
    espectially one at Effiduasi Ashanti
    just near the court house.It's really
    dangerous and it must be destroyed.This toilet is over 100years
    my grand grand parents used it and l
    was surpr ...