You are here: HomeNewsRegional2014 02 05Article 299784

Demonstrations won’t construct roads - Minister

Read Comments Comments (72)

• 123 10 years ago

The dumbest minister again. The same idiot that told Ghanaians to fix roads and collect tolls.

• SHAMO 10 years ago

UNTILL YOU GREEDY BASTARDS STOPS LOOTING OUR MONEY AND BUILD OUR ROADS AND FIX THE ECONOMY WE WILL NEVER SLEEP! USELESS NDC

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana! 10 years ago

Listen to that idiot minister who does not think about his country rather his party and his belly alone. Yet he has wife and children and he never ever planned for his children future. A fool is always a fool. Oh! Mother Ghan ...

• The 10 years ago

'Alhaji Sulemani said road construction remains a priority on the agenda of the government but Ghanaians must be patient because “we are in a country of so many demands vis-à-vis resources available.” '

This is a lie ...

• Ghfuo, change ur thinking 10 years ago

Each region must have a regional road ministers the Central transport minister must liase with them to.find out which roads needs.financing to complete them. Regional transport ministers must deal with road works in their res ...

• OPOKU 10 years ago

Is as simple as anything. This type of demonstrations are just political. The police really did well the last time they encountered them. Next time the police need to use Mustard gas or nuclear gas to get them off the street. ...

• kwadede 10 years ago

So this Minister is so full of himself that he insults those who demonstrate on the conditions of the roads they use? He forgets that every one in Ghana pays road user fees because it affects transportation in all manner of w ...

• Duga 10 years ago

NPP ARE NATION WRECKERS THEY SPREAD NANA WAS DEAD THEN STAGED A DEMONTRATIONS IN KUMASI TLO DESRUPT NANA'COMING.NONSENSE.

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

A BETTER, PROSPEROUS, MODERN, FORWARD THINKING GH STARTS WITH YOU!
    IF YOUR LIVING SITUATION IS GOOD, THEN GHANA WILL BE GOOD.
    IF YOU ARE CONFUSED, DISORIENTED, UNORGANIZED, FEARFUL, IN DEBT/DEATH,
    THEN GH WILL BE THE SAME. ...

• Emponkyie 10 years ago

Wow, what's so special about the climate of Ghana that roads constructed last a fraction of their life span else where? Does this idiot really know what he's talking about? Ghana is not on Mars!

• Kwaku 10 years ago

The climate affecting our road construction is called political contractors.These are people who by the mere fact that their party is in power they are forced to become road contractors just to loot the state.

• WICKED NPP 10 years ago

KEN TOLD US THAT THIS COUNTRY WILL BE UNGOVERNABLE UNDER JH.

• Issah 10 years ago

When you give birth to animals, that look like human beings and you failed to educate them, that is what you get in the long round. I urge the police to continue to take them to task. This country is not for these primitive ...

• DANJUMA 10 years ago

PROBABLY YOU ARE ONE OF THE POLITICAL ROAD CONTRACTORS. GHANAIANS ARE DYING DAILY IN AUTO ACCIDENTS EN MASSE, AND YOU HAVE THE AUDACITY TO SPEW SUCH GARBAGE. FOOL

• JIM 10 years ago

IS IT ENOUGH TO DO EVERYTHING ? AND WHY HAS IT TAKEN SO LONG ? WHY DON'T WE CONSTRUCT ROADS THAT LAST DECADES INSTEAD OF ROADS THAT REQUIRE GHC600-650 MILLION EACH YEAR FOR MAINTENANCE ? ISN'T IT BETTER TO CONSTRUCT EACH YEAR ...

• Ajedu Binduri Kokuvi 10 years ago

Listen to another foolish minister employed by a foolish man. When did this man join NDc? Has he forgotten the promises? Has he forgotten how the NDC took to the streets for ROPA? Which party has taken to the streets more tha ...

• TRUTH PREACHER 10 years ago

Mr. Minister Enough is enough. We´ve waited for so Long and all Ghanaians are saying is PERFORM YOUR MANDATE. Period.

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana! 10 years ago

Is that the same man who said that if you have money construct the road and charge a toll on it. A foolish man from stupid region.

• Sampa Koyoo Dey 10 years ago

I think this minister is challenged paa.

• Truth 10 years ago

I thought this minister was once Ghana's ambassador to Egypt? He lacks tact and diplomacy.

• KK 10 years ago

These NDC guys are really frustrated.
    Pack your things and leave oooo

• HOLY SINNER. 10 years ago

Big fishes always talking shit after dem belly full .We need the demonstrations big time.We are fed up with incompetence.FUCKERS

• NDC FOR FOOLS 10 years ago

pure foolishness from the NDC man

• Aryan 10 years ago

Another team B minister doing his own thing, how can a minister say something like this.

• Banku Dade 10 years ago

Another stupid minister comparing Ghana to the US ffoolish man tackle the problem and stop making excuses.

• ASEMPAYE 10 years ago

The Greeks chose not to pay tax but wanted to enjoy all the goodies and in the end, the country went bankrupt. Ghanaians don't want to pay taxes yet they want everything fixed. Everybody wants happiness but no one wants pain. ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Does it make sense to pay each parliamentarian $50,000 at the end of every four years and where is the money coming from? Count the number of MPs we have and do the math. Ghanaians will like to pay taxes but for a good use n ...

• EDENSU 10 years ago

The tolls are managed by Contractors and the Contractors are the very same politicians. The pocket the earnings and pay little into the nation's coffers. Some few years ago Daily Guide published defaulters. We should creat ...

• Alhaji Brutus Germany 10 years ago

YES GREAT NATIONS LIKE THE UNITED STATES AND GERMANY DONT DISTRIBUTE CARS TÖ UNIVERSITY AND POLYTHECNIC GIRLS:

• KOO 10 years ago

Yes,one solution for all.The Chinese loan is seeing as the source of finance for all projects.This minister is also putting all hopes on the Chinese loan when the money is not coming. Hopelessness and desperation has taken t ...

• James Coffie 10 years ago

Are you not the same minister who encourage the collection of tolls by UG authorities. You should accept responsibility for what is happening now, which may trigger such tolls nationwide.

• Azaria 10 years ago

Fellow Ghanaians,we do not need to insult one another to put our views across. We need to respect one another. I feel very bad we are insulting him and his people and even the president. Please let criticize them constructive ...

• Abdul Razak 10 years ago

HOW ABOUT POLICEMEN SHOOTING TO KILL INNOCENT PEOPLE?

WILL THAT ALSO CONSTRUCT ROADS?

I THINK YOU SHOULD FIND SOMETHING WISER AND MORE SENSIBLE TO TELL GHANAIANS MR MINISTER

• RAW 10 years ago

WHO TOLD YOU DEMONSTRATIONS DONT CONSTRUCT ROADS?? JUST LAST YEAR IN ASHAIMAN(ACCRA), ROADS WERE HURRIEDLY CONSTRUCTED IMMEDIATELY AFTER RESIDENTS DEMONSTRATED..THE ONLY LANGUAGE THE TYPICAL AFRICAN LEADER UNDERSTANDS IS RUGG ...

• adnan 10 years ago

Alhaji Amin Amidu Sulemani it is YOUR MOTHER who build roads,dont the people pay tax?Foolish man,with a foolish government and a foolish president

• Terry 10 years ago

Ghanaians must not be quiet we are getting a raw deal from these ntafo government. If you don protest ghana will be like nimah

• Villagechild 10 years ago

Mr Minister, (1) Just like Legon, if the Kenyase people 'sourced' for money and 'serviced' their road, can they put Toll Booth on it and charge GHC100/car? (2) If my Land, private property, crossed a road, be it highway of in ...

• Obiba 10 years ago

Mr who,mayby what you say is true butall i know is that the world will know what goes on everyday in our country and also tell the whole world what the nation are going through.

• Kwesi Agbenu 10 years ago

Poor quality of materials are used to build roads? And supervisors certify work done. The politicians endorse and contractors get paid! This is bizarre!!!

• RAW 10 years ago

WITH THE WAY THIS GOVERNMENT IS IMPOSING TAX & TOLLS,, GHANAIANS WILL SOON BE PAYING TOLLS TO VISIT HOSPITALS AND MARKETS.. IT HAS ALREADY STARTED ''FIRST GEAR TOLLS'' WITH SCHOOLS.

• ANOTHER TWEAA GVT OFFICIAL 10 years ago

THIS MINISTER IS IGNORANT. DEMONSTRATION HAS CREATED THE AWARENESS THAT IS WHY HE HIMSELF IS COMMENTING ON THE MATTER.

• DISCIPLINE HOLLAND 10 years ago

HOW DO YOU UNDERSTAND DEMOCRAZY? FOOLISH CURRUPT GHANAIAN.

• CYBERGHANA 10 years ago

WHAT IF THE MINISTER IS RIGHT ?
    THAT CLIMATIC CONDITIONS CAUSE ROAD DETERIORATION,
    THAT POOR WORKMANSHIP CAUSES ROADS TO DETERIORATE FASTER,
    THAT THE USE OF INFERIOR MATERIALS CAUSE ROAD DETERIORATION,
    THAT THE DISREGARD ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

As you can judge from many of the responses
    submitted at this forum, many of us DON'T think; we are quick to insult those we disagree with. I call these namecallings "tweaaah thinking".

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Demonstrations put the government on its toes. It also send a message to the government that things are not going well in the nation. Didn't NDC demonstrate during Kufour's era?

• There Is 10 years ago

The roads did not deteriorate just in the National Democratic Congress (NDC)era, like the United States of America does not spend its entire budget on road construction and rehabilitation, very true.
    The answer to the statem ...

• Ben 10 years ago

What a useless statement from a minister of state. How do you expect people to register their displeasure? Do you want them to take arms and start a war? Instead of fixing the problem you are giving excuses. No one expect the ...

• SULE 10 years ago

"In a related development, the Director of Road Fund Secretariat, Mr. Franklin Agbenator has revealed that Ghana needs GH¢650million annually for road maintenance, but only one-third of that amount is paid into the fund.

• SULE 10 years ago

Why are they given just one-third of the amount raised from the 650million raised? Where does the rest go and who has the money, because the needed funds are raised for road maintenance and supervision, but just a third hits ...

• oppong london 10 years ago

ndc is just a useless part with no plans and vision for ghana.it ,s a party of looters and stupid leaders.

• Obroni Tony 10 years ago

My company has been waiting TWO years for GOV to pay for 45 km road repairs and gutter work
    There is NO money to pay contractors - it have all been chopped

• DANJUMA 10 years ago

GHANA IS IN TROUBLE.

• NANA 10 years ago

WHEN SHALL WE HEAR ANYTHING SENSIBLE FROM THESE THIEVES?

• Mankind and Co. 10 years ago

To To remind you corrupt Minister fool talk.

• Mr. tina 10 years ago

The ministers always demand huge salaries and it is done but when public demand better services propaganda is always the tool. What a useless leaders we have in ghana.

• Adjoa 10 years ago

How are we going to pay back all these Loans???

• sly 10 years ago

u are a stupid minister pepeni

• Truth Razors 10 years ago

You are right demonstration wont build roads - mismanagement of our money and bad service in return calls for demonstration , lets seLL your 4X4 and and see if we can't add it to the fund . Its high time Ghanaians wake up i r ...

• Akwasi (london) 10 years ago

keep demonstrating and keep the pressure on the minister and the government. The minister is at last getting the message. Demonstrate some more for better roads,schools, jobs and against corruption, crony capitalism as well a ...

• Obibini 10 years ago

Mr. Agbenator however argued that road in Ghana will last if drivers abided by axle load limit. How do you enforce the law? There are weigh stations along major roads in several countries assisting to ensure about such issu ...

• queen 10 years ago

Lack of funds because you stole all the money

• Johnny USA 10 years ago

MINISTER THE BLAME SHOULD NOT GO TO THE PUBLIC. WHY I SAID THAT; IS NOT THE POLITICIANS AND PARLIAMENTARIANS WHO PROMISE THE PEOPLE IF AM VOTED TO POWER I WILL DO THIS & THAT? NOW PEOPLE VOTED FOR PREZ MAHAMA AS THERE LAST HO ...

• Yaw 10 years ago

it's so irritating listening to so-called ministers,each time they speak on any issue.
    Who is saying the government should channel or spend all the country's resources on one project?
    Stop being cheeky and accept your wrong ...

• Ghana 10 years ago

I think all you are trying to tell us is about setting party priority go back and read your party manifesto and confirm with what you are saying why you never mention such roads in your budget this year.

• Kee 10 years ago

Wow, Ghana

• dan 10 years ago

who cannot think deep enough before they open their mouths and talk nonsense of the ignorant order. A nation of imbeciles, ruled by ignorant fools calling themselve parliamentarians and speakers of parliament and impotent pr ...

• Kwadwo Sarkodie, UK 10 years ago

Alhaji, a good and realistic talk. However let us get the job done as soon as possible

All these excuses are not what you were voted for. You and your cohort promised to fix the economy. Now fix it or throw in the towel if ...

• Dessy, 10 years ago

silly and shallow comment ..demonstration make a point across serious issues..

• OSO 10 years ago

Your big mouths and lies WON'T CONSTRUCT roads either.You're always making empty promises; giving the impressions you're doing something.Since Atta Mills time, when do you plan on doing something rather than holding the count ...

• TEE 10 years ago

IDIOT HOW MANY POTS HOLES HAVE YOU FILLED SINCE YOUR NDC CAME TO POWER. YOU ALWAYS TALK SHIT SILLY BASTARDS

• TEE 10 years ago

LOOK AT ALL THESE PEOPLE SO-CALLED THEMSELVES MINISTERS, GHANA IS SO CHEAP NOW TO LOOK AT THEM FACES AND HEAR THEM TALK SHITE HMMMMMMMM

• Ericus-Ericus 10 years ago

If leaders in your government keep 'chopping' the nations money and neglecting to improve roads despite the continuous cry from the masses - what do you expect them to do? what patience again are you expecting from them? - yo ...