Pastors and community leaders, please help address this phenomen!
Sethoo 12 years ago
How can you stop a 14year old who sleeps with his parents in a lotto kiosk from having sex?No television,no radio set absolutely nothing unless she walks out to entertain herself in a taxi car.
CARDINAL 12 years ago
Teenage pregnancy is a big problem for almost every country in the world but I hate the exaggerations of statistics put out by many agencies in Ghana. This 750,00 teenage pregnancies among the 15-19 year old girls in Ghana cannot be true or statistically possible unless you can prove to me that almost all girls in this age group in Ghana became pregnant in the last 12 months.
First let examine how many girls are in this age group in Ghana, a country of 24 million people.
Most of the girls in this age group are either in high school or first year University students.
There are only 2.2 million Ghanaians in this age group including boys so are we being told about 75% of all Ghanaian girls in this age group became pregnant in the last twelve months?
This is impossible since it would have closed down some of our secondary schools especially the girls only secondary schools.
We have a teenage pregnancy problem in Ghana but we should stop exaggeratimg the problem because somebody wants an NGO funds for selfish interest.
william 12 years ago
Integrity of statistics is another major problem and a challenge to affective planning and policy-making.
KOFI FREEMAN 12 years ago
When I was last in Ghana, I investigated the impact of the SSS Education on our Youth and was so exasperated by my findings, and therefore believed this News Story of 750,000 pregnant teenagers:
Three years in Secondary Sc ... read full comment
When I was last in Ghana, I investigated the impact of the SSS Education on our Youth and was so exasperated by my findings, and therefore believed this News Story of 750,000 pregnant teenagers:
Three years in Secondary School comes so quickly for most boys and girls. Each School produces average of 200 to 300 SSS leavers each year, and for about 300 Schools this is a colossal figure coming out into the system as NEET (Not in Education, Employment or Training). So many of them wont be able to spell, calculate, use IT and retain any considerable knowledge to be employable in the competitive labour market. Only a few of these school leavers will ever go to University or any Higher Education as a result of lack of spaces and high school fees. The rest are in gridlock, and so what do they do:
In Takoradi and parts of Sekondi, Inchaban it was blatant prostitution; just as well in many small towns and villages as Elmina, Winneba, Swedru, Foso, Suhum, Tanokrom, Komenda and rest of the country...In my own town of birth, Cape Coast, I observed the despairing situation with much concern and fear as teenagers begged for paid sex. They were even accompanied by elders like their Mothers and Aunts. They stayed in open Streets at London Bridge, Petrol Stations walking up and down and back again all night asking for alcoholic drinks and food - choofi...Sex was the last thing they fear, with condoms or not. In so many parts of Accra, and probably in other major towns the same situation prevails. The boys resign themselves to sitting in groups under these NDC sheds to watch all day Satellite TVs, and would engage in endless discussions about Footballers abroad...When an NDC or NPP Politician passes by they rush to ask for money to buy waakye and that is the end of their day...they all beg to buy common alcohol and food...They have been trained in carpentry, masonry, cabinet makers, plumbers, electricians etc. but they can not get work to do. I always ask them: wont you go to school; and they quickly reply...we have completed school (SSS)! So many of these will die so young due to long periods of starvation, malnutrition, alcoholism, drug misuse and all the effects of social exclusion...
The Unemployed people in Ghana will be more than 6 Million active men and women with over 2 to 3 Million teenagers from 17 to 19, and up to 21 and 23 years. Their best is to become errand boys or servants helping Caterers to bake pastries, wash cars, labourers on building sites... or choose to do lottery throughout the day in Akpeteshie Bars, where they drink and drink with tears at the back of their eyes. Even as I write this I feel so sad about the poor conditions of Ghanaian teenagers. There is so much despondency and idleness in Ghana, that I used to weep quietly, especially when I go to the beach areas and see so many teenagers sleeping under canoes and little shades between 11.00 and 17.00. I have never seen Ghanaian children so restless and frightened of life. No one seems concerned about their plight to discuss it in their endless public debates. I used to hear only Nana Akuffo Addo talking a lot about the wasteful lifestyles of the Ghanaian Youth...No one single NDC politician ever spoke about the sad situation of these teenagers nor would they consider the horrible effects of their poor education system, so long as weekends come for the sloganeering Political parties bus them to political functions to play band and sing their songs for some allowances. Our teenagers have become beggars: begging for food, drinks, money and will tell you...'I want job but cannot get one'. From Accra Girls area in Labone all the way to Dzorwulu you see so many fine but battered teenage girls mostly SSS leavers loitering and soliciting openly for paid sex. Even University and Polytechnic students are busily engaged in such sordid vices. Unemployment of Ghanaian Youth is massive due to the 3-year SSS System introduced by this evil P/NDC government. I was so happy when NPP extended it to 4 years but the first act of NDC in office was to reduce it again to 3 years. And one day soon something drastic will come out of all this wahala, Inshallah!
750,000 teenage pregnancies is a piece of cake from what I saw in our beloved Ghana...
NAKED 12 years ago
I don't know what to say brother you have said it all that i had wanted to say but i will add a something to what you said, if i sat down and analyse some things then i come to a conclusion that we africans especially Ghanaians have a long way to go. When you begin to tell the truth then people are taking it as politics that is what is killing us, first of all, i will never put a blame on our leaders but we the youth are the cause of our own problem and lack of parental care is also part of our woes, we don't think future but rather what we will get within short possible time which is not last for longer.Let's do this amplitude test and tell me who is at fault here, Ghanaian youth and the president,vice,both ministers and the mps who have power? down the age the we the youth have been fooling ourselves by the politicians and still continue to do the same thing without wising up so for how long are we going to stand up for or right? we think that manna is still raining from the sky, let me tell you manna was for the Israelites only for a period of time after that they worked to feed themselves so we should work we are too lazy lazy lazy why huh no wonder our ladies are now in the field of prostitution with foreigners begging for sex and our young men are drunkers why should it be in a country with good resources?. We have lazy brains that is why our politicians does not care about us if we started changing our ways everything will change for us.The funny thing is that these politicians have created some notion of tribalism within us so we as youth can't mobilize ourselves to do good things to benefit the society so how can we develop as a nation with this tribal canker which is eaten us up but we always expect the leaders to come to our aid we must stand up to do something other than that we will doom forever
vice president 12 years ago
that's a lot of fucking in a small country. is ghana the world leader in bonking then?
Vuvuzela 12 years ago
Are you sure this figures are correct? It is simply unbelievable. That's approximately 2055 pregnancies every day!
Vuvuzela 12 years ago
"These"
"These"
Nawu 12 years ago
I think this is good.
We need more babies in Ghana so pregnancy is good!
I think this is good.
Repugnant. 12 years ago
Babies all over the place, because fathers have nothing to do but ejaculate! an Amina Yutong euphoria.
GHANABA 1 12 years ago
HOLD mAHAMA RESPONSIBLE FOR ALL THESE PREGNANCY, HE HAS IMPREGNATED AT LEAST 12 OF THEM INCLUDING VICKY HAMMER.GOD WILL DEAL WITH HIM INCLUDING ASIEDU NKETIAH.YAW BOATENG GYAN,AFARI GYAN
Frank 12 years ago
Parents and churches have to do more about this. Our youth have no ambition so they resort to easy but dangerous way of life
Repugnant. 12 years ago
most Ghanaian males look pregnant too from their potbellies,
mawriz 12 years ago
This shows how fertile Ghanaian men are! The world all over should take note as we may start impregnating internationally. We call it outsourcing.
Zipper 12 years ago
mawriz, you made me laugh out very laud.
KNYC(USMC) 12 years ago
lololo Thatz a good comment @ mawiz
FRED USA 12 years ago
WHAT DO YOU EXPECT WHEN YOU PUT LEVY/TAXES ON CONDOMS IN A COUNTRY LIKE GHANA.
VOLUNTORY CONTRIBUTOR. 12 years ago
SEVENFOLD SUPERPOWER
CHARACTERISTICS TO ANCIENT POWERS:
BABEL: Nimrod the most powerful man until the Lord dispersed human languages. Bringing like terms into groups. Skycrapper building was introduced to the world. Wicke ... read full comment
SEVENFOLD SUPERPOWER
BABEL: Nimrod the most powerful man until the Lord dispersed human languages. Bringing like terms into groups. Skycrapper building was introduced to the world. Wickedness was abound.
EGYPT: Kingship was the ruling order, until governorship was instituted to make Joseph the first governor on earth employed by the Kingdom.Slavery took place and roaming the earth for mineral resources, using military to threaten neighbours. What they did not do was imposing their religion or philosophies on others. Physical Pyramid in building form.
BABYLON: Kingship,Daniel the governor employed by the kingdom, imposition of their religion or philosophies, hanging garden or beautiful edifics like modern buildings and skyscrappers.Pyramidal human institutional structures. Wars to exploit others,slavery and earthly cleansing.
PERSIA: All of the above including infedility in all forms. Social vices to the epitome and sciences.This kingdom had no God guided representative as governor, but mere men governors.
GREEK: All the above was institutionized, including military triumph over other powers.
ROME( ANTI-CHRIST KINGDOM): All the above including manifestations of A.D. The killing of the Lord God's SALVATION PLAN to his coming Kingdom.
UNITED KINGDOM(ANTI-CHRIST KINGDOM): All of the above, as well as acting as aliens to exploit mineral resources using planes, ships and other communicating mediums on weaker nations. Distorting of the gospel of SALVATION to plant themselves as the most important human beings God have created(racism). They also made industrialisation opened to the world. Listen carefully to their national anthem, they worship their Queen.
USA(beast of burden)/2PETER2/VATICAN(ANTI-CHRIST SYSTEM): Seven to ten folds of the pyramids. Democracy/capitalism, Las Vegas syndromes, Pentagon influence and twisting of scriptures.The rest of the above and they think they are so unique of the others.The same trend camouflages in different forms looking unique.To build is to tear and restructure. The voice to go to the moon was stroke dead. Which means the creator disapproved of it. Also civil rights violations.USA presidents have to submit to the vatican authority, not knowing they were setting themselves up to rev 13 and 2nd thesalonica.
The only thing associated with me to Daniel and Joseph was their suffering and mistreatment by the kingdoms when they used the words, wisdom and believes in the Lord to fight of righteously.
The gospel of the Lord talks about long suffering of his followers. The disciples were typical examples of long sufferers and they did not became governors. They renders to Ceasar what is Caesar and to the Lord WHAT IS the LORD'S. So a good Caesar will do the same.
The Pope walk around the world with closed bible, raising his hands with his rope on and using the closed bible as if he is the Lord, promoting his own image and power.The Lord God has seen that and he jealous that. Middle east Nyantakyi(hu) was and is. In 1990's he was in power for 4 years and has come back to be in power for 8 years which is 4/8 philosophers are looking for. The David to fight for the old lands under the original David, owing to him many jews rejected Jesus Christ two thousand years ago.
1ST Corinthians 13:13. Abide in Love, faith and hope. Know that love is the greatest of the three character traits of the gospel of Salvation(Daankwa, nkwa ani awieye). The word ABIDE is a command from holy spirited Paul, which means the Lord was talking through Paul.
Faith without a word, does that exist in the bible? A word without faith is empty or mere word. And if word and faith comes together, wisdom is being demonstrated in the Lord's name. To purify the faith and word inside wisdom is the blood of Christ being bundled into SALVATION which result to agape love or grace of God. To have all these, why not salvation act. of the Lord God. Repentance becomes the initiation of SALVATION followed by baptisma as authentication in the name of Jesus Christ.
EU + US = USE(RS) in order words UNIVERSAL SATANIC EMPIRES on earth like NATO. They could not be the holy kingdom of Christ Jesus. No, that is a lie, big lie of the centuries.
Ntikumah 12 years ago
This cannot be true. With a population if 24 million, there cannot be more than 2.4 million teenagers. I cant see how one out of every 3 is pregnant.
Akadu Mensema 12 years ago
How did they come to that conclusion?
Zipper 12 years ago
The conclusion, within that 12 months period, one teenager may have been pregnant at least 3 times with abortions being the easy route for them.
Shamu 12 years ago
Two of you are the product of such activities. That is why you both have no good sense of response
ATOPAHENE 12 years ago
HMMMMM....POOR ECONOMY WITH HIGH FUCKING RATIO....GHANAIANS THEY MA FUCK TOO MUCH...BOYZ ABR3 ANSO WO P3 TW33.....
MENSAH 12 years ago
750 THOUSAND PREGNANT YOUTH IN ONE YEAR?
That is a horrible,but sad news.
What sort of homes do they come from?
Ghana is spoilt now,and who should be blamed?
The government,parents,teachers,pastors,the social services or who/what?
Where kids are the victims,I do not like it at all.I really hate it.
These kids should have been given some training,tailored to job creation,skills that solve problems,so rewards/pay would be given them.
But it looks like,there is nothing for these kids to do,therefore resort to the natural thing to gain something for themselves: sex.
That is a pity.
The government,parents teachers,pastors,social services should join force,to come up with something meaningful,to help these kids,to avoid all these unnecessary and unfortunate,unbecoming things,happening to our kids.
THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD ALSO PLAN,WITH KIDS FUTURE IN MIND.Because without it,the kids have no future to hold on to.
Gogovi 12 years ago
is this report saying that 31% OF THE Population got pregnant
YAW MOSI 12 years ago
GHANABA 1 YOU ARE MAD IF PARENTS CANNOT TAKE CARE OF THEIR CHILDREN AND LET THEM GO ABOUT LIKE PIGS WHAT DO YOU EXPECT PREZ.MAHAMA TO DO? FOOLISH AKAN
eric 12 years ago
women of this age like dicks more than anything
nana serwaa 12 years ago
By what statistics did they arrive at that figure? were all these pregnancies reported at the health facilities, how many of them were aborted and how many have delivered? Let us be serious as a nation and be authentic.
CARDINAL 12 years ago
Nana, it's not true. Read my post above. Somebody is trying to extort money from the sympathetic NGO's and they came out with this ridiculous number of teenage pregnancies.
Shamu 12 years ago
Lets be frank, apart from sex what do black person know bring happy to his life? The next will be embarrassing. Beside that, next is to steal, tell lies, gossip, and all other evil activities. Looking at all above mentioned things, sex is the most minimal. We allowed our dicks or penis to keep on directing us, so at the end of the day we will go and commit sexual offence. I do not know if the size of our penis and virgine is what contributed to that. Is a shame that black man can not contribute to the development of the world other than to engage in evil activities.
wawa1 12 years ago
free of speech is now something that people use it to talk anyhow without even respect..that is why they say sometimes if you give human being a chance to fool he will exceed the limit and that is what the free of speech and doing..insulting people anyhow even where it doesnt matter..fools
NANA KWAME 12 years ago
ministers hobby is sex
Skele-Miami 12 years ago
Sex is obviously more popular than facebook. Hahahahahaha. I crack myself up.
Afia 12 years ago
The figure is higer so went unreported
princewilly@ymail.com 12 years ago
An eighteen-year-old girl tells her mom that she has missed her period For two months. Very worried, the mother goes to the drugstore and buys a pregnancy kit.
The test result shows that the girl is pregnant.
Shouting, cu ... read full comment
An eighteen-year-old girl tells her mom that she has missed her period For two months. Very worried, the mother goes to the drugstore and buys a pregnancy kit.
Shouting, cursing, and crying, the mother says, “Who was the pig that did this to you? I want to know!!”
The girl picks up the phone and makes a call.
Half an hour later, a Ferrari stops in front of their house and a very mature and a very distinguished man with gray hair gets out of the car.
The man, impeccably dressed in a very expensive suit, steps up to the door and enters the house.
He sits in the living room with the father, the mother, and the girl, and tells them, “Good morning. Your daughter has informed me of the problem. However, I can’t marry her because of my personal family situation, but I will take charge.
If a girl is born, I will bequeath her 2 retail stores, a townhouse, a Beach villa, and a $1,000,000 bank account. If a boy is born, my legacy will be a couple of factories, and a $2,000,000 bank account. If it’s twins, a factory and $1,000,000 each.
However, if there is a miscarriage…”
At this point, the father, who had remained silent, places a hand firmly on the man’s shoulder and tells him,” If there’s a miscarriage, you’ll have to fuck her again.”
naziruh 12 years ago
Promotion of condom use will not work. Educate the youth that sex outside marriage is a crime, that will work.
wise 12 years ago
leave them to pregnant after all we are the less populated race in the world. if we follow the so call western countries we will vinish from the surface of the earth.
NII LARTEY NARTEY 12 years ago
Impregnated teenagers? ask the immoral man we unfortunately have as a President Mahama and his criminally appointed ministers including Dauda who have 22 children between them.
It's a shame and a curse to have a bisexual P ... read full comment
Impregnated teenagers? ask the immoral man we unfortunately have as a President Mahama and his criminally appointed ministers including Dauda who have 22 children between them.
It's a shame and a curse to have a bisexual President and a homosexual Vice President and no wonder cars were despicably bought with state stolen monies to teenage school going girls as a political strategy by the unscrupulously unethical shameless Mahama and his guinea fowl womanizer government.
The whoopy unbelievable 750,000 teenage girls makes the appointed of the do nothing minister Oye Lithur as a minister responsible in that sector a huge waste on the tax payers money.
What a national shame! Since Mahama with the help of the old criminal crook Afari Djan imposed as us as a President, there had never been any news that comes with joy to celebrate apart from the Black Stars qualification to the coming world cup, thanks to Akwasi Appiah and his team.
Kofi Nartey 12 years ago
Our government, party, church, traditional and all our leaders at home or at our work places, men and women, fathers and mothers all have some influence on this statistic. The high thirst for money, lies, ignorance of parenthood, bad leadership, indiscipline, lack of proper education and self-respect in our Ghanaian communities are factors which seem to accelerate this current state of social decadence.
HABLUTA SENYO 12 years ago
Idiot writer do not have record for those babies born in Ghana last year,how he came up with that figure.
HANNIBAL(Blessed by God) 12 years ago
This is a serious issue. Most people who end up in jail in many countries grew up with no responsible fathers. There are too many single mothers around chasing innocent guys. A single young woman is now harassing me. I don't have any social problems so I'm being cautious although I help her when I can. I don't want to screw her because she'll enjoy it so much she'll never leave me alone.
Sankofa 12 years ago
Once again foreign NGOs are trying to tell us what to do.
Where did they get those figures about teenage pregnancies from?
Who are they to tell us how to handle the situaton? They are more interested in pushing contraceptives unto our people, without considering the effect on norms of morality.
We must let the NGOs know n no uncertain terms that we take our own decisions, they do not tell us what to do!
OPEN MINDED SAINT 12 years ago
WOMEN IN GHANA LIKE SEX TOO MUCH? IS IT BECAUSE OF THE LEMON THEIR PARENTS USED TO CLEAN THE PRIVATE PARTS WHEN THEY WERE BABIES?
KOJO, china 12 years ago
one of the nonsense state institutions is the ghana population control council, what do they do?... boring oldmen directors!!.
it's never the dual evil of poverty and illiteracy, it's more do to with lack of clear cut law o ... read full comment
one of the nonsense state institutions is the ghana population control council, what do they do?... boring oldmen directors!!.
it's never the dual evil of poverty and illiteracy, it's more do to with lack of clear cut law on child birth especially the time to give birth and the number of kids to have. one doen't need classroom education to always use a condom and men who sex teens before giving them money don't have to do it raw before giving the money.
no one should say teens can't be prosecuted, in school when ever a child goes wrong corrective punishment is meted out.
chinese have poverty and uneducated people just like ghana but their one child policy has worked for good.
Dovvsu should prosecute men who impregnate these teens for defilement in that case they will always use condom even though sex with teens are wrong but who can make sure it doen;t happen?
and the teen girls should be prosecuted in life and made to do some unpaid community service or pay some extra tax for having gone against 'Child Birth Law'. To do this we need an electronic identification system.
appealing to the moral conscience of black people to do what is right never works. Black man must always be forced to do right by a strong law as against persuations.
Teenage pregnancy is a big problem for almost every country in the world but I hate the exaggerations of statistics put out by many agencies in Ghana. This 750,00 teenage pregnancies among the 15-19 year old girls in Ghana ca ...
Three years in Secondary Sc ...
I don't know what to say brother you have said it all that i had wanted to say but i will add a something to what you said, if i sat down and analyse some things then i come to a conclusion that we africans especially Ghanaia ...
"These"
I think this is good.
SEVENFOLD SUPERPOWER
BABEL: Nimrod the most powerful man until the Lord dispersed human languages. Bringing like terms into groups. Skycrapper building was introduced to the world. Wicke ...
The government,parents,teachers,pastors,the social services or ...
Lets be frank, apart from sex what do black person know bring happy to his life? The next will be embarrassing. Beside that, next is to steal, tell lies, gossip, and all other evil activities. Looking at all above mentioned t ...
free of speech is now something that people use it to talk anyhow without even respect..that is why they say sometimes if you give human being a chance to fool he will exceed the limit and that is what the free of speech and ...
ministers hobby is sex
Shouting, cu ...
It's a shame and a curse to have a bisexual P ...
Our government, party, church, traditional and all our leaders at home or at our work places, men and women, fathers and mothers all have some influence on this statistic. The high thirst for money, lies, ignorance of parenth ...
This is a serious issue. Most people who end up in jail in many countries grew up with no responsible fathers. There are too many single mothers around chasing innocent guys. A single young woman is now harassing me. I don't ...
Who are they to tell us how to handle the situaton? They are more interested in pushing contrac ...
it's never the dual evil of poverty and illiteracy, it's more do to with lack of clear cut law o ...
BS!!!!!!