A VERY WISE DECISION OTUMFUO.... MY LOVE FOR YOU STRENGTHEN EACH AND ANYTIME YOU TALK
Dr Mumbi Seraki 15 hours ago
Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine......for instance 15 paracetamol at once. Or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.
DotCom 13 hours ago
Traditions are a gateway to our past so sometimes it is important to keep some of them the way they are. It would be good if chiefs and all custodians of our traditions explain the value of keeping those customs and traditions so that people understand the need to keep them. If they don't mean much and are not relevant to today's experiences, then we need to ignore them and move on with time.
Nzema K 11 hours ago
An old primitive king. It implies that a woman will never be made a chief or king in Ashanti. What have they done wrong
Jr 11 hours ago
Foolish boy! Yes, no woman will be King of Asante, because that's not our culture. Fools like you in the name of so-called civilization have lost touch with what defines you, and you're now on an envy spree, wishing all others to be like you.
Baba Siaka Stevens 10 hours ago
Ashantis should not allow this hungry and selfish politicians to invade their culture and customs, Asantehene is not a member of National House of Chiefs therefore he is not obliged to kotow to your 1992 chieftaincy laws, when Ashantis were building their enviable Kingdom and marketing their culture to the global communities some were selling their lands and throwing away their language and culture, some were also fighting among themselves instead of coming together to unite for their wellbeing, away with that bogus chieftaincy laws from Ashantis
Yaok 9 hours ago
But at the same time,he should tone down his language.
ST GHFUO: Ghana, nation with foolish leaders 1 hour ago
What does that mean..how do.you tone down NO? Lol.oh.chale.infact in this life if.someone hates you..you can buy that Hater even a Maserati still.they will hate you
be wise 6 hours ago
what makes him an old primitive king. Don't be stupid next time. Will Nzemas accept a woman to be a chief in their area? some of think like idiots.
Yes its possible. Other akans tribes have women as their Queens..but you will never see a man anointing or choosing a chief or king in any Akan household because the Akans.have matrilineal traditions
Have you seen a king father impose a king for any Akan royal crown before? It may be possible for an Ashanti Queen but it will never be possible for a king Father to anoint or choose a king. There are so many Queens assuming royal crowns within the Asante kingdom as well as other Akan kingdoms throughout the.country..so you kraa before you wrote this didnt you stop and think?
Jr 15 hours ago
This is wrong. The 1992 constitution of Ghana prumolgate equality and inclusivity. The house of chiefs make decisions that affect both queen mothers and chiefs, hence the former must be included in that regard.
Demetrius 14 hours ago
@Jr....
Where from the house of chiefs concept? Traditional chieftancy exist before the constitution and differs from area to area. Did you read between the lines of Asantehene's submissions? If the constitution is binding t ... read full comment
@Jr....
Where from the house of chiefs concept? Traditional chieftancy exist before the constitution and differs from area to area. Did you read between the lines of Asantehene's submissions? If the constitution is binding the rules the Asantehene will not.
Nii 12 hours ago
@Jnr… Queen mothers are already included in decision making in the Asante culture. Pay attention to what he said. They, including Otumfuor were selected by women. Women offer valuable advice in selection of chiefs and other matters. Queen mothers anre highly respected in Asante culture. I’m not an Asante but the man made himself clear. According to the culture, they do so behind the scenes, whilst men represent the stool in public. Unless you want to counter his point by saying that the queen mothers’ decisions are not taken, what then do the queen mothers want in public seating of men?
Nanaba1 10 hours ago
Let your sister pay bridge price of her husband.
Nsia 14 hours ago
In the grand scheme of things,who voted or elected Asantehene in Ghana? Our Asante custom is exactly the same as that of other Akan tribes/ states.There is no difference. Akan customs and culture existed in Adanse, Denkyira, Brong, Ahafo , Juaben, Sefwi, Fante etc long before the creation of "Asante" in 1700. In fact, the Akwamus stsrted calling their Kings "Otumfuo " as far back as 1600s when Asante did not even ecxist as an entity , until it was plagiarised by Agyemang Prempeh 11 in 1935. Before that, none of our various Asantehene's bore the title "Otumfuo". The Akwamus had it first, and, that is an indisputable fact which can be proven.
The various tribes such as Adanse, Mampong, Juaben etc that came together to form "Asante" in the 1700s can willingly tell Asantehene that , they longer want to be part of that union. Today, Ghana is an entity. The purpose under which "Asante" was created in the early 1700s no longer exist. Who are they fighting now, Denkyira or what?Asantehene cannot form his own army, police,inland revenue or customs office within the Republic of Ghana. The govt should make that absolutely clear to him. Also, various tribes such as Adanse, Juaben etc should tell him that if he persist in usurping power from them, they will quit. After all, there is bugger- all he can do if that happens. Frankly, various govts in Ghana have been pampering Kwaku Dua for far too long. They should use the law to clip his wings. After all , he is a citizen of Ghana just like everybody else.And, the constitution of Ghana is above him. Every triibe or state existed long before modern Ghana came about in 1957. .And, we are all legally obliged to obey the constitution of the Republic of Ghana. Cheers!
Kweku 14 hours ago
Great responds
ST GHFUO: Ghana, nation with foolish leaders 12 hours ago
Massa, we don't want coed basketball here. We don't want women on the soccer pitch with us
Ghanaba 13 hours ago
@Nsoa. Top notch submission. Ghana constitution reigns supreme. Our politicians must be bold to call a spade a spade. We ars one as a country called Ghana
Jr 11 hours ago
And the constitution is what defines our various customs and traditions, as tribes right? You're so hollow.
Gaskia 12 hours ago
@Nsia, after all the "book" you wrote, I haven't read anything that addresses the Asantehene's objection to queenmothers' inclusion in the House of Chiefs.
Nsia 12 hours ago
@Gaskia, if the govt of the Republic of Ghana decides to do that, there is bugger-all Kwaku Dua can do . I hope you get the import.Cheers!
Gaskia 10 hours ago
Boss, I'm not an Ashanti, but I believe Ashanti queens respect tradition and the Asantehene, so they'll stay away from the House of CHIEFS' meetings, and there's "bugger all" the government can do. Hahahaha. Have a blessed weekend, sir.
That's wrong..how will.you like it if the chiefs all over gh decide to flout the laws and what parliament stands for?.parliament has its place and the house of chiefs has its place but to want parliament to supercede the activities and traditions adverse by the house of chiefs is simply comatose..which came.first house of chiefs or.parliament?. The house of.chiefs should be influencing parliament if anything..you nsia, you are represented by your hometown chief within the house of chiefs so you think you rep, your hometown chief will like what you have written here?
Asantehens believes that tradition supercedes the constitution and that traditional chieftains law existed before constitutional law. Therefore, why allow constitutional law which emanated or was borrowed from the English be allowed to permeate chieftaincy matters? I think this is where he is coming from and this is how and why he has chosen to rely on the former to make his decision. Queen mothers choose kings so why can't they also massage traditional issues in the background? Like thebwoves of so many of our prime ministers and presidents we know the influence they have over these men in the bedrooms lol
Like the wives ....
Kobie 12 hours ago
Jealous, remind yourself that the current occupant of the golden stool is only 26 years as our king. He is only maintaining Asante customs and tradition. Those who want to modernize their customs are free to do it. Count Asante out. It is not about who was there before Adam. The king was clear in what he said that those who want to do that can do so but not in his Kingdom. Freedom of association. Asanteman refuses to be part. Leave us alone.
House of chief sittings is not the same as parliament of Ghana sittings..gh constitution does not apply within house of chief sittings and shouldn't. Only traditional law applies there,.so why change tradition? Unless you have a personal agenda will you do so. Eg why will you allow coed basketball in the nba? So you can use a flimsy foul against a female to score more points? Ebeiiiii!
Jr 11 hours ago
You're very stupid in the first place for calling him Kwaku Dua, as though he is your coequal. And just what makes you think the Juaben, Adanse, and the likes you just mentioned can their unilateral decisions break away from ASANTE? You obviously must be joking to think as such. Asanteman, as a union or whatever you want to describe it was forged with sacrifices; blood, the reason which sets it apart from all others. Apparently, that's the wish and envy of such fools like you, that Asanteman as powerful and as glorious as it is will be disgruntled, but hell no! We'll continue to wax stronger and stronger, and you had better braced up your foolish selves for it.
Nsia 39 minutes ago
@Jr, sadly, plonkers like you have never ,ever read the Ashanti Law And Constitution Book written over a century ago, get a copy and read it. It will alleviate some of your ignorance. Cheers!
Kwabena 8 hours ago
@Nsia. I can not agree with you more. Good submission. Well done!!!
Agya Koo 13 hours ago
You people are funny. Let them pass the law and see if a single queen mother from Asante will join. We know and understand unity. We're who we're because of unity. No one can use the backdoor to disintegrate us. Asante ye Oman. Piawwww
WO DO MEA BRA! LET THE WILLING FORM THEIR HOUSE OF QUEENS! 12 hours ago
Its not by force. Other regions will eztablish their House of Queens funded by the government and deriving benefits from the govt. Let those not interested look on whilst the blessings pass them.
Left to some of you alone ... read full comment
Its not by force. Other regions will eztablish their House of Queens funded by the government and deriving benefits from the govt. Let those not interested look on whilst the blessings pass them.
Left to some of you alone women will bot even ve allowed to vote!
Prime 10 hours ago
Sorry ooo bro. I taught you said passing blessing...
You and I know Asantes are already blessed so I wonder which meager blessings you are talking about here... You need it for your people. We may never need anything from you.... Sorry take your blessings
Major 12 hours ago
Finally, Ive gotten one person to agree with me. Otumfuor, I salute you. I have always said we are allowing something bigger than us to swallow us whole and that time is coming when we will put our hands over our heads and cry but will be too late. This gender thing is a huge bomb getting ready to blust in our faces. We better watch out. See where it is getting to! We are going to watch our world crush under our own feet by our own hands. Women!, Women!! Women!!! Mhmm... But I blame the Men in power and/ or position. We wait to see.
Asantehene, once again I salute you.
Gaskia 12 hours ago
Does affirmative action and the constitution's non discrimination clause mean, for instance, that Black Queens players should also participate in Black Stars matches? And also, if queen mothers join sittings of the "House of Chiefs", will the name of the Institution therefore be changed?
Kofi 12 hours ago
Asantehene want to write and dictate His own laws when Things doesnt suit him.He is creating His own laws within a country governed under a constitution.Culture and Traditions evolves,thats why there are so Many Changes and development across the Globe.You dont rely on old Traditions because of self Interest.He is becoming a Problem in Ghana due to his authoritarian Statements. The world is moving fast but it seems He is living in a old Stone age Paradise.
BUT ASHANTI INHERITANCE LAW WAS CHANGED BY THE INTERSTASTE LAW! 12 hours ago
On this one Nana got it wrong, otherwise the abrafuor would still be going around cutting peoples head wirhout consequences!
WOMEN CAN NEVER BE MEN - Patriot 11 hours ago
Do not turn women into men like as it has been done in the whiteman's societies. Women have their roles to play.Women can never be men.
SAMUEL 11 hours ago
Hello please I have non expired data bundle for sale for all networks
10GB-30GHS
20GB-40GHS
30GB-50GHS
37GB-60GHS
CALL/TEXT 0503256521
10GB-30GHS
20GB-40GHS
30GB-50GHS
37GB-60GHS
CALL/TEXT 0503256521
Goodman 11 hours ago
God bless the king.
12345 11 hours ago
we are playing so much in this country, how will the chieftancy ministry not consult with the chiefs before attempting this level of crass incompetence. our bane is the kind of democracy we practice, its not in our nature to be democratic. we need a level of autocratic leadership considering where we have come from.
madness
Osonoba 11 hours ago
I sometimes don't understand this Asantehene. Some years back, the Asantehene was the permanent president of the National House of Chiefs. Is he saying that that time the house of which his uncles were presiding has no power over them? Ghana is not a monarchy. The Constitution of Ghana binds everyone. Asante is not a kingdom with its separate laws. Was he from Bawku when he was resolving their chieftaincy dispute? Didn't he used the Constitution and judgement from the courts in resolving the Bawku conflict? This is the beginning of a bigger problem. If all other paramount chiefs are to say that the National House of Chiefs has no power over them, what is going to happen?
Yaok 9 hours ago
That has been their problem, they see the asantehene as superior to any king in Ghana.
Baafi Donkor 11 hours ago
I like the boldness of my king.You see these politician want to destroy our traditions and culture but I know my Asante king will not allow that to happen in his own kingdom
Ama 11 hours ago
Then let’s move for national house of queen mothers.
@Ama fool..chiefs can be men or women. There are chiefs in other Akan societies whi are women and im sure they are part of the house of chiefs. This matter here is about queen mothers..did you read the assignment?.
Niiblue 10 hours ago
The constitution is the Supreme law of the land. Nobody born of a woman is above the Supreme law of the country. We make amendments on any democratic institution in the world and Ghana is not exception
The constitution may be the supreme.law of the land but it must not and will not traverse, supercede the laws within the house of chiefs..try buying a piece of land in Ghana and see if you dont have to see or meet a chief somewhere before going to the lands commission.....
King 9 hours ago
Captain's in one ship... (1) Tribal which hate one another because some king's think they are bigger than other(2) who is the government (3) what's the function of the king's (4) Are human being held as somebody's property's (5)Are human being Born as slave's for other's consumption (6) Could it be the Ashanti king is trying to say something people don't understand (7) Are Tribal king's under constitution of Government or have their own constitution which govern their Tribal if so then people can not be confused from generation to generation and must choose who to lead them...Each needs to have their own Identity and should be led by their chosen right... human soul should be Free from captivity of other's interest
King 8 hours ago
In reality and looking at the problems it was human interest that create wars....inside tribe's create kings and inside kings create government.Now what I mean is that when kings Wake up and get tired why they fighting or hating one another there the government is formed.. Africans problem is that they have not let this tribal go away have not let the king's go away have not let the government and it's police system go away...Now we are at the stage of refined world...let's look at Europe and america they are enslaved big Time as well by government and police system they are not at the refined world yet...Now what's refined world? When you get there you will understand I think that's what you called heaven on Earth
Kwabena 8 hours ago
The Asantehene said "No one should create rules that binds everyone". Oh really? Has he forgotten that we live in a country governed by a constitution? Are we supposed to create different rules for each enclave in the Republic of Ghana? No one is above the laws of Ghana and that should be made clear to him.
be wise 5 hours ago
Don't misconstrue his statement. Put his statement in the context he spoke. When he made that reference, he was specifically referring to political arm-twisting seeking to thwart tradition and culture that has already been enshrined in the constitution. The house of chiefs can't come up to create a new rule of Queen mother house of chiefs that binds across board (that affect all traditions); that will be sacrilege. Because not all ethnic groups practice the same thing nor all tribes have the same practices (for instances akan as a tribe is matrilineal yet the power of women are traditionally and culturally behind the scene).
By the new strategy that the national house of chiefs would want to adopt is contrary to tradition and culture, that will bring confusion for the likely event that, with the new rules if applied, would even make a woman a chief. Bullshit!
So his statement "no one should create rules that binds everyone" is in the context of going against what the constitution has affirmed (as in the support of diversity of culture and practices of the various ethnic groups of Ghana).
Don't be silly next time. Nonsense.
David 2 hours ago
@Be wise. Honestly, you are the one who is silly. I thought Ashantis always hail Yaa Asantewa for her bravery. Yaa Asantewa was a woman who mobilized the Asantes to fight the British (we were told). Women have always played a role in our traditional and national affairs. Creating a Queen mother house of chiefs will not in anyway undermine the authority of the Chiefs. Women also need a forum to discuss issues affecting their wellbeing and the community at large. The Asantehene's resistance to the proposal I guess is because he does not want to see outside the box. Remember that culture is not static but it is a dynamic process that changes over time. It is high time we stop being dogmatic.
@David I despise dogma but the asantehene is not being dogmatic here. He thinks it's wrong to change tradition. Why you ask? Because in Asante and Akan culture, queen mothers have their role, per tradition..the same way we have traditional marriages..so will you allow the woman to pay the bride price to the groom in the name of dogma? Cmon. Queen mothers install kings or chiefs. They also have the ear of the chief as well and like wives of husband's, prime ministers, presidents, ceos these wives can influence decisions from.the bedrooms. So looking at the power given to queen mothers..why then will you surpass tradition and ring them into the house of chiefs to do what? The chiefs within the house are supposed to discuss issues with the queen mothers who installed them, to seek alternative counsel and advice. You see those who came before us have a reason for doing things. So before you unfollow traditions. Ask yourself ....why didn't those before me also unfollow....
According to Gemini, While the terms are often used interchangeably, the easiest way to distinguish between culture and tradition is by scope and transmission. Culture is the "big picture" environment you live in, while tradition is the specific "hand-me-down" practice or belief.
The King of Ghana Otumfour Osei Tutu 4 hours ago
The King of Ghana Otumfour Osei Tutu Nyamekese
Choo choo 4 hours ago
I lost a shred of respect for this man for the falsehoods he spewed in the Bawku chieftaincy dispute resolution mediation report. Good name is truly better than riches. Once people lose trust in you, that's all.
Kwaku dua. chimpanzee 3 hours ago
this stupid man named asantehene thinks he's wise. nayiri should accept your bogus verdict but you Kwaku dua don't want to accept the laws of the constitution
Patriotic Citizen 1 hour ago
The Asantehene is resisting the proposal - among other things - because he knows that the current President is weak and uncharismatic. I miss the days of Jerry Rawlings.
Nsor 1 hour ago
Then the house of chiefs itself is against the traditional rules
Traditions are a gateway to our past so sometimes it is important to keep some of them the way they are. It would be good if chiefs and all custodians of our traditions explain the value of keeping those customs and tradition ...
Foolish boy! Yes, no woman will be King of Asante, because that's not our culture. Fools like you in the name of so-called civilization have lost touch with what defines you, and you're now on an envy spree, wishing all other ...
Ashantis should not allow this hungry and selfish politicians to invade their culture and customs, Asantehene is not a member of National House of Chiefs therefore he is not obliged to kotow to your 1992 chieftaincy laws, wh ...
Have you seen a king father impose a king for any Akan royal crown before? It may be possible for an Ashanti Queen but it will never be possible for a king Father to anoint or choose a king. There are so many Queens assuming ...
@Jr....
Where from the house of chiefs concept? Traditional chieftancy exist before the constitution and differs from area to area. Did you read between the lines of Asantehene's submissions? If the constitution is binding t ...
@Jnr… Queen mothers are already included in decision making in the Asante culture. Pay attention to what he said. They, including Otumfuor were selected by women. Women offer valuable advice in selection of chiefs and othe ...
In the grand scheme of things,who voted or elected Asantehene in Ghana? Our Asante custom is exactly the same as that of other Akan tribes/ states.There is no difference. Akan customs and culture existed in Adanse, Denkyira ...
Great responds
Boss, I'm not an Ashanti, but I believe Ashanti queens respect tradition and the Asantehene, so they'll stay away from the House of CHIEFS' meetings, and there's "bugger all" the government can do. Hahahaha. Have a blessed we ...
That's wrong..how will.you like it if the chiefs all over gh decide to flout the laws and what parliament stands for?.parliament has its place and the house of chiefs has its place but to want parliament to supercede the acti ...
Asantehens believes that tradition supercedes the constitution and that traditional chieftains law existed before constitutional law. Therefore, why allow constitutional law which emanated or was borrowed from the English be ...
Like the wives ....
Jealous, remind yourself that the current occupant of the golden stool is only 26 years as our king. He is only maintaining Asante customs and tradition. Those who want to modernize their customs are free to do it. Count Asan ...
House of chief sittings is not the same as parliament of Ghana sittings..gh constitution does not apply within house of chief sittings and shouldn't. Only traditional law applies there,.so why change tradition? Unless you hav ...
You're very stupid in the first place for calling him Kwaku Dua, as though he is your coequal. And just what makes you think the Juaben, Adanse, and the likes you just mentioned can their unilateral decisions break away from ...
You people are funny. Let them pass the law and see if a single queen mother from Asante will join. We know and understand unity. We're who we're because of unity. No one can use the backdoor to disintegrate us. Asante ye Oma ...
Left to some of you alone ...
You and I know Asantes are already blessed so I wonder which meager blessings you are talking about here... You need it for your people. We may never need anything from yo ...
Finally, Ive gotten one person to agree with me. Otumfuor, I salute you. I have always said we are allowing something bigger than us to swallow us whole and that time is coming when we will put our hands over our heads and cr ...
Does affirmative action and the constitution's non discrimination clause mean, for instance, that Black Queens players should also participate in Black Stars matches? And also, if queen mothers join sittings of the "House of ...
Asantehene want to write and dictate His own laws when Things doesnt suit him.He is creating His own laws within a country governed under a constitution.Culture and Traditions evolves,thats why there are so Many Changes and d ...
10GB-30GHS
20GB-40GHS
30GB-50GHS
37GB-60GHS
CALL/TEXT 0503256521
God bless the king.
we are playing so much in this country, how will the chieftancy ministry not consult with the chiefs before attempting this level of crass incompetence. our bane is the kind of democracy we practice, its not in our nature to ...
I sometimes don't understand this Asantehene. Some years back, the Asantehene was the permanent president of the National House of Chiefs. Is he saying that that time the house of which his uncles were presiding has no power ...
The constitution may be the supreme.law of the land but it must not and will not traverse, supercede the laws within the house of chiefs..try buying a piece of land in Ghana and see if you dont have to see or meet a chief som ...
Captain's in one ship... (1) Tribal which hate one another because some king's think they are bigger than other(2) who is the government (3) what's the function of the king's (4) Are human being held as somebody's property's ...
In reality and looking at the problems it was human interest that create wars....inside tribe's create kings and inside kings create government.Now what I mean is that when kings Wake up and get tired why they fighting or hat ...
The Asantehene said "No one should create rules that binds everyone". Oh really? Has he forgotten that we live in a country governed by a constitution? Are we supposed to create different rules for each enclave in the Republi ...
Don't misconstrue his statement. Put his statement in the context he spoke. When he made that reference, he was specifically referring to political arm-twisting seeking to thwart tradition and culture that has already been en ...
@Be wise. Honestly, you are the one who is silly. I thought Ashantis always hail Yaa Asantewa for her bravery. Yaa Asantewa was a woman who mobilized the Asantes to fight the British (we were told). Women have always played a ...
@David I despise dogma but the asantehene is not being dogmatic here. He thinks it's wrong to change tradition. Why you ask? Because in Asante and Akan culture, queen mothers have their role, per tradition..the same way we ha ...
According to Gemini, While the terms are often used interchangeably, the easiest way to distinguish between culture and tradition is by scope and transmission. Culture is the "big picture" environment you live in, while tradi ...