Rita Awatey orders Chinese developer to stop work at Ramsar site

Read Comments Comments (34)

• Haruna 8 months ago

Thank you Madam. But construct the drainage system there so the Chinese who has no shame would not see it free.

• If our corrupt nation wreckers don't stops 8 months ago

If our corrupt officers don't stops taking bribes this is what some foreigners will continue does whatever they likes

• May God help us. 8 months ago

Our ministers goimg out to enforce these encroachments and breaches are not efficient in the long term. Please lets use the law and responsible institutions . Lets hold city mayors, the local governments, spatial planning der ...

• Pouv Careless people/ Careless leadership 8 months ago

If those responsible for the sale of this land to the developers ( and officials at the lands department who certified it) are not severely punished as an example to the future " criminal " elements, who would want to follow ...

• Kwame Peter 8 months ago

Madam you are scratching the surface,let the developers restore the Ramsar site to the state it was before they started the nonsense ,then go after those who allocated the land to them including the EPA people,that is if you ...

• John K 8 months ago

There’s no need to scrutinize any architectural design or whatever, it’s a RAMSAR site, no structural development must take place. The moment documents are scrutinized, things change and we’ll see developments taking pl ...

• Kwaku 8 months ago

I fully agree with you.
    Plus this should apply to all such interdiction sites all over the country .
    We must protect whatever we have to diligently.

• Okyere Kay 8 months ago

You have said it all.D truth is that we are not a serious nation.

• Jon J 8 months ago

E go pain am oo esp if hes not given da greenlight

• Tutugyagu 8 months ago

Chinese are pure demons

• Kwam 8 months ago

So do we need a whole Minister to stop this illegal encroachment? Where is the municipal assembly, town and country planning, municipal assembly engineer? Are they still at post? Who have the permit for such project??? They s ...

• Citizen8 8 months ago

@Kwam, need I add a word to your comment? The whole thing is nauseating, my brother/sister. Which bustard of a Town and Country Planning Officer of the Municipal/ Metropolitan Assembly gave permit to this Chinese to develop ...

• KwameB 8 months ago

Nobody in Ghana obeys the law and nobody enforces the law. The system of managing this country has been so corrupted that for money officials get away with destroying the interest of citizens and country. Can you go to China ...

• Ghanaian's Father 8 months ago

Can't agree More

• Joe Boy 8 months ago

Let the appropriate officer do the job. It's not the work of the regional to go round to find out who's building where

• Joe Boy 8 months ago

Let the appropriate officer do the job. It's not the work of the regional minister to go round to find out who's building where

• WHY DO THESE PEOPLE LIKE ILLEGAL THINHS 8 months ago

These yaanom are always involved in everything illegal. From galamsey to building on water ways. Is it because they always walk away Free?

• Kwaku 8 months ago

Let them remove all what they have put there and since they are willing to buy properties it means they have money to relocate and build with approved plans.
    I want to seize this opportunity to say the feed ghana programe l ...

• Charles 8 months ago

Should it take the Regional Minister to move to the site to stop that development.Where are the Eastern Regional EPA people.It seems EPA is not up to the task of ensuring that our environment is protected.Look at the harm ill ...

• Tom 8 months ago

No need for papers bia madam. Just ask them to stop. I would not be surprised if the contractor is asked to carry on in a few weeks time from the way the Hon. Minister is talking

• Ubuntu 8 months ago

If it's a ramsar site, why must they submit drawings of a drainage system. If it's a ramsar site and it can be developed, so be it.

• Kwaku 8 months ago

Exactly
    Why order temporary stoppage until further notice !!!
    Stop means stop for good them and everyone else all over. Ghana must stop if found in similar contravention.
    I read a coment suggesting the prosecution of who ...

• Kwaku 8 months ago

U meant I know
    it cannot be developed....
    Just to clarify because chinese may read it their own way....and misconstrue it.

• Spirit 8 months ago

The dogs from China, there is a local man encouraging them.

• Ghanaian's Father 8 months ago

Most of local folks are ignorant,blind to the misbehaving of your regionals government, what's the point to insult the foreigners? You vote to put their in the seat of power, trust them to manage a good country, but those off ...

• Tsotsoo 8 months ago

Stop work and demolish. In fact the Chinese are worrying us paa. They are everywhere. Please start punishing and deporting the recalcitrant. Let the Chinese Ambassador know what his people are doing in Ghana. Enough is enoug ...

• We must not allowed ourselves so cheap 8 months ago

Why should we allow some foreigners to do whatever they like in our country

• Kwaku 8 months ago

WHO GAVE THEM THE PERMIT TO WORK ? ALL THOSE PEOPLE SHOULD BE PUNISHED BY BEING DEMOTED AND TRANSFERRED.

• Charles 8 months ago

Why should a Chinese take an undue advantage to deny Ghanaians of their source livelihood. The Minister is doing well from many fronts i.e. galamsey and the Ramsar site development among others.

• Akosat 8 months ago

Good job Madam, but documents or none I wonder how a development can take place on a swampy land. Should there be a disaster, it's Ghanaians who will be the victims, so please the EPA should do their work well

• King Anwar Sadat 8 months ago

Thank you madam. These Chinese people in collaboration with some of our Chiefs, family head's and some politicians have taken Ghanaians for granted. Well done minister.

• KWABENA KASAPREKO. 7 months ago

THE AID CHINESE SHOULD BE PERMANENTLY STOPPED FROM UNDERTAKING ANY DEVELOPMENT PROJECT IN REGION. NO GHANAIAN, LET ALONE A BLACK MAN CAN GO TO CHINA AND TAKE TO THIS KIND OF PROJECT IN CHINA. GHANA IS A SOVEREIGN NATION. ...

• CANCEL PROJECT RESTORE WETLAND 7 months ago

The is no version under which a Ramsar site can be filled
    It's PROTECTED AREA. Someone tell this IGNORANT politician that a wetland does more than channel water to the sea. It's a habitat for regeneration of several fish sp ...

• ObuasiMan 7 months ago

Good first step Madam. But you must stop filling of the wetlands. They are natural flood protection areas.