Dispute over principal selection leads to closure of St Vincent College by Dagbonwura

Read Comments Comments (72)

• Ama 11 months ago

Hmmm classical tribalism

• He should pay the teachers 11 months ago

The illiterate chief is outstepping his authority. Even Asantehene does not appoint principals.

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 11 months ago

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine........for instance 10 paracetamol at once........or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.

• Machele 11 months ago

Who is illiterate chief? Non of your family member will be like him. You being literate, what do you achieve in life? Person pass through interview. The authorities of the school said, he is a Dagomba by tribe. Although he i ...

• RootMan 11 months ago

Bro stop being a tribal biggot. Haba! Havent we embarrass the north enough? So just because your preferred candidate is a tribes man and a catholic makes him more qualified than all the other candidates who also applied? Ple ...

• Dagombas are very selfish and wicked when leadership is on the table 11 months ago

Even when your mother is a Dagomba and your dad is a Mamprusi or Namumba, these greedy Dagombas will never consider you for any form of leadership. It has been the only defect in the mentality and behaviour of Dagombas. Extre ...

• Rashid 11 months ago

You can go and be a leader at yur hometown and not here…

• Cissey 11 months ago

So unfortunate! This is why some of us are against the creation of regions along tribal lines. The dagombas might be doing this because they feel that the region is theirs and so all institutions must submit to the authority ...

• Painfully Dagomba elite allow and enjoy this madness 11 months ago

just now
    I blame the many Dagomba intellectuals all over the country occupying various leadership positions.
    No matter how long you live in northern region, when it gets to leadership, they will tell you “go back to your ...

• Awuni Abanga 11 months ago

Dagonbas are fully aware of what is happening in other regions. Start behaving well or start parking back to your regions. Enough of the discrimination and insults. No government can intimidate Dagombas. Let John try, and we ...

• mina 11 months ago

You are a coward dog eater.

• Discipline 11 months ago

Your entire generation will be useless. Sheeje

• Salifu Hussein 11 months ago

You are very stupid dog for calling the respected chief illiterate. Your entire family are dogs eating family with no brain. What do you mean by even Asantehene doesn't appoint principles? Is Asantehene bigger than Ndan Ya Na ...

• Akarima 11 months ago

You see the kind of stupid creatures in our generation? Your entire family can not describe our king as illiterate.

• Painfully Dagomba elite allow and enjoy this madness 11 months ago

I blame the many Dagomba intellectuals all over the country occupying various leadership positions.
    No matter how long you live in northern region, when it gets to leadership, they will tell you “go back to your home town ...

• The Yaa Naa is totally wrong 11 months ago

This interference is completely unacceptable.
    This deliberate show of brute force and irresponsibility on the part of Dagomba elite advising the Yaa Naa is totally unacceptable.
    What rubbish!!!!!
    The “kul maa a ya” ( ...

• Dagbon bilchina 11 months ago

A bora ka kuli a ya. We don’t force anyone to stay on our land. Stupid people. Nobody can question the authority of the Yaa Naa. There’s no authority like that in Africa

Not tribalism. The land was given to them for free. So he has the right to choose the principal. Besides he will never choose someone who is unqualified. Just stupid Christian movement who are trying to dominate our land in t ...

• Sly 11 months ago

How? This is foolishness, how can an illiterate appoint a principal.

The illiterate is the owner of the land and the people there. Either you obey him or go to hell. Sheeje Yoli binkping

• Mr no nonsense 11 months ago

When we talk ,you people won't listen,an illiterate appointing a principal how ,nyafoooo ne gymie

Come out physically and insult him if you are not coward. Sheeje yoli binkping. Yaa Naa is greater than any king in Africa

• Joe Boy 11 months ago

I think the King needs to establish a private college so that he can be the principal

Stupid people always ranting without knowing the full story. Who gives a about your opinion

• Pratt 11 months ago

This same yaa naa did the same thing with UDS and got away with it. His people have vowed that no non native will head a public instruction in the region again except where there is no qualified Dagomba. Public institutions a ...

• Life 11 months ago

While I do not condon ethnic based appointments,let's b reasonable abt these developments. Chiefs clamoring for public relevance,power plays etc started with Kuffour and got worse under Nana addo.these leaders have ethnic roy ...

• Black man 11 months ago

Then go and open it. Nonsense. And stop hiding on the internet and show yourself and see what will happen to you for insulting people you’re not supposed to.
    Or just send your location and see if you would be send back to ...

• Odjame 11 months ago

Stop your nonsense . What right has the chief got to close down the college

• Akarima 11 months ago

If he doesn’t have come and open it, idiot.

• Machele 11 months ago

Yaa Naa only interven if there is bias. We have a lot of institutions govern by Southerners. Can that thing happen in Ashanti region?

• RootMan 11 months ago

There is no sense in your comparison. So just because highly qualified southerners get appointed over other southerner and northern applicants means someone's private institution must appoint your tribesman even if there are ...

• Akarima 11 months ago

Because you don’t reason, they should try it and all their instructions will be closed down in the kingdom. He is the owner of the land.

• Milo 11 months ago

Please there is nothing like dagbonwura. It is Dagbon-Naa so correct it. The Wura is for Gonjas

• Tribalistic illiterate 11 months ago

Dagombas are known to be violent and lawless. Was it that tribal chief who calls himself yaa naa the one who established the college? What was his contribution in the establishment of the college, financially and academically ...

• GH8 11 months ago

I guess from your narration the college is a private institution so why should the appointment of new principal should be at the behest of the Overlord of Dagbon Kingdom?

• selfmade STREET PhD 11 months ago

Foolish guy!

Leave YAA NAA alone!

Aboafunu!

Yaa Naa is right to intervene becasue the college is on his LAND!

No one should disrespect the YAA NAA!!

YAA NAA says he needs a DAGOMBA principal and that’s it!!

• jacksparrow 11 months ago

plse has no business in appointment of a principal. if it happened, your wards will suffer in future if they find themselves in other areas out of tamale and they are so qualify to occupy a position. nobody is against a Dagom ...

No body ll suffer! U want the Dagombas indigenes to sit down and let someone come to their land take over their work?

U want the Dagombas to become honked and troop to the south to do menial jobs whiles the little none in ...

• Akarima 11 months ago

Do you know the vice chancellor of KNUST. I think finding this is enough for you. If your tribe doesn’t know their whereabouts, we do. Animal. Idiot.

• Rashid 11 months ago

The college is on his land and you either obey or you leave, we will not tolerate any form of disrespect

• Yaw Moto 11 months ago

The man still feels the NPP is in power and could instruction anyhow.

What do u mean?

Your filthy NDC came to meet the dagbon kingdom!

Foolish ndc SUCKER

• mina 11 months ago

Ugly cowards hiding behind this medium to insult Dagbamba. Come out and hold a Press conference if you think you are brave enough. UGLY PIGS.

• Odjame 11 months ago

Kwasia you are not brave then anybody okay ! The stupidity must stop

Then come out physically and do something about it. Sheeje yoli, binkping

• Abdul-Karim 11 months ago

Let's not blame the overlords so much.Tribal bigots are leveraging on his inadequacies to perpetuate a wicked agenda.This sense of ethnic entitlement by some people in his area is a looming danger.Other tribes SHOULD NOT HEA ...

• Odjame 11 months ago

This is nonsense . The college is government institution with council appointed by government. What kraaa is wrong with this northners?

• Akarima 11 months ago

Your father is wrong with us. Sheeje

• JB 11 months ago

This is nonsense. Th Dagbonwura should go and ran the college. No need for a board. This chieftaincy nonsense is creating a problem for the country

• Rashid 11 months ago

There is no Dagbanwura, We have Yaa Naa, they either cooperate or leave that’s solid

• Zenabu 11 months ago

What has appointing a principal of a government funded college got to do with a king or chief?

• Esi 11 months ago

Pure lawlessness. Sickening feeling.

Just imagining La Mantse closing University of Ghana because he wants a Ga to be made Vice Chancellor, but it goes to another person from outside Accra.

• Baga 11 months ago

I think the Yaa Naa Dagbon people should establish their own private schools.

You can engage in media insults, but take note from now that your discrimination against Dagombas on their own land will NEVER AGAIN BE TOLERATE. NOT ONLY IN YENDI BUT ANYWHERE IN NORTHERN REGION

You can relocate the collage outside yendi

• Yaro 11 months ago

I blame the school. why put up the church school school over there?? There are Christians districts around Yendi

• The Devil’s 11 months ago

For quite a while Ghana has been digging a hole for herself. Successive governments notably the NPP have been nurturing these anachronistic institutions for political gain despite the obvious fact that they are incompatible w ...

Senseless comment! Kwaisapanyin

Chieftaincy institutions is the reason why your stupid, fucking Ghana hasn’t disintegrated!

Ofui MY PROMAX!

Look around west Africa and see how French countries has disintegrated al ...

Ofui, the first institution your JM has met is chieftaincy institution becasue he knows how they are crucial to national development!

The British knew the importance of traditional institutions too and rule through them!

• YEN 11 months ago

This is the reason why the Northern and North- Eastern regions of Ghana are at the bottom of every measure of life in Ghana.What has the chief got to do with the running of an independent institution?. Stop the tribal nonsens ...

• Jake 11 months ago

The Dagombas must know that first and foremost, the co[[ge is a faith-based institution establish on the believes and tenets of Catholicism. You cannot have a Muslim Principal. They can establish an Islamic college of educati ...

Then they should to a Christian land and establish it. They either obey the Yaa Naa or they leave we don’t want arrogant bastards in our land

Yaa Na, I support u 100!

I have to show these people that, u are the KING and your ancestors fought for that land

Let them come and pacify u with GOATS and after that, show them your power

YA NAA, my KING I BOW D ...

• Nana Kofi Frimpong 11 months ago

Somebody told us Dagombas are the most useless and aimless people in Northern Ghana. Now we see why.

How can a local illiterate chief appoint a principal for a whole teaching college simply because the collage is situate ...

Do that and let’s see. Sheeje yoli binkping. You think we care about what you think? Tell me what your tribe has done useful. Bin kobgu

• Mark 11 months ago

But why is the Catholic church obsessed with investing in communities that are not Christians or hostile towards the church when there are so many Christian communities or non hostile places to invest in? I have noticed that ...

Foolish comment

Do u know how many Dagombas are Christians?

U so stupid to say that, the Catholic Church builds institutions in communities hostile to churches?

Which community in Ghana is hostile to churches?

Na ...

• DAGOMBA nni 11 months ago

Thank you selfmade and u have won my respect today! U one fair dude wow

• Akarima 11 months ago

This Ghana web are you serious at all? Since when is the overload of Dagbon is addressed with “wura” ? Stop that behavior and learn properly. What kind of ill behavior is that. Nonsense.

There are a lot of people here ranting about this issue. But Yaa Naa is the King of the whole territory, either you obey him or you leave the land. We don’t want you in our land if you won’t obey our king. If you are angr ...

Never use the term Dagbonwura for the king again. His title is Naa Gbewaa or Yaa Naa. We are not gonjas we Dagbamba

• Is Yaa-Naa selective and not for all in Dagban Land? 11 months ago

Yaa-Naa is for all in Dagban land including Chinese. To close down a school because the Choice of Yaa-Naa was not selected is sending Dagbon Backward. Is the School for the Yaa-Naa? Must selection of Principal based on qualif ...