You are here: HomeNewsRegional2024 01 23Article 1912669

Wontumi’s radio, TV station should be closed down till he appears before us – Ashanti chiefs

Read Comments Comments (47)

• Maha 4 months ago

When ampaw use the station to insult mahama you were clapping for him

• Osei Tutu 4 months ago

The Talibans has spoken, Ashanti region is more than Afghanistan, Osei tutu the dictator needs to be tamed before he causes disturbances in this Nation, he dont hv power than the laws of Ghana, It's time truth must be clear

• MV Ben Coke go4 him head 4 months ago

What happened to all that MV benjamin coke that was taken to the royal palace. Did he snort it all? wow. too much. No wonder him dey saman or summon everyone and sacking this chief here, that chief there, Odike the politician ...

• The Truth 4 months ago

Hmmm

• James 4 months ago

MAURICE AND INFANTILE WUNTUMI HAVE BEEN INSULTING PEOPLE AND ARE ALWAYS PRAISED. THEY FEEL THEY ARE UNTOUCHABLE. LET'S WAIT AND SEE WHAT HAPPENS. LIES AND APOLOGIES WILL END IT? HMMMMM

• Esi 4 months ago

Asem no ay3 kritical.....

• Coujo 4 months ago

Maurice Ampaw is not stupid. He knows the chiefs who are in bed Chairman Wontumi and hence not talking in a vacuum. This hype is much to do about nothing. The Ashantihene is not above reproach and should be told in no uncerta ...

• Nana+Boakye+of+USA,+praises+Apostle+K+Safo+Kantanka 4 months ago

You don't know what you are talking about..ok.
    And possibly go the National Library and read more of Otumfuo, Asantehene and the Powerful Asante Kingdom

• kk 4 months ago

Thanks Nananom but apply the same method to the galamsyers they are killing the unborn as well.

• smh 4 months ago

who in his right senses will make such an advocacy in Republic.

• Isaac Kusi 4 months ago

In Ashanti parlance, they say some people are growing horns. Nobody in the Ghana can close down a radio station, not even the people who invented the radio transmitters. Only the NCA can authorize closure of a radio station i ...

• Konfanko 4 months ago

Maybe they will close down the radio frequency and cut off the wave!!!! Funny!!! They are going to tear down the building? Can't the business just relocate to another region and beam at Kumasi? These chiefs paaaaa.

• JOE REINDORF 4 months ago

NPP we are heading towards opposition because of wontumi, the same way he insulted HON. Kennedy Agyapong during the presidential primaries. Again used his TV and Radio stations for other individuals to also insult Hon. Kenned ...

• A. Abransamadu 4 months ago

We live in a Republic country not a Kingdom. The laws of the state are above any Chieftancy law! These chiefs should know their limits and not be shamed by the courts!

• Sul 4 months ago

WE HAVE BEEN ADVISING YOU SINCE TO STOP FOOLING BUT BECAUSE YOU WERE DOING IT TO MAHAMA NO SENSIBLE PERSON WITHIN YOUR PARTY ADVICE YOU TO STOP...YOU ARE NOW RUNNING AWAY

• Donatus 4 months ago

How about boycotting and not listening to his station or not attending npp rallies?

• Boye/California 4 months ago

Please give him Showdown let's him know that there is a power pass power,he can't disrespect our Kingdom Ashanti Kingdom, Our King Otumfuo is very powerful than Nana Addo Kwasito Government

• Boye/California 4 months ago

Close his Radio station down let's him learn a lesson after insulting Otumfuo

• Osei Tutu 4 months ago

Nobody can close his station down, because he speak his mind, Afghanistan style of ruling dont have a place in Ghana

• CORNEY 4 months ago

Great point.
    It’s lawlessness, nobody should support that regardless of party affiliation.
    We can’t allow the few to have their own laws within the republic.

• Alhaj Baakome 4 months ago

Chiefs cannot close down a radio station. We are in a democracy.

• Dwarf 4 months ago

This issue of Wontumi’s disrespect to Otumfuo will be swept under the carpet. Nothing will happen to him.

• Kumasi is not a country fools 4 months ago

You can ban him from the chief or kingsplace not kumasi
    Kumasi belongs to Ghana is not a country by it self.
    The laws will not allow that.
    The Ashanti Royal must be respecteded at all time.
    But is not a country
    Why do ...

• YESYOUCAN. 4 months ago

Two wrongs don't make anything right, remember there are workers at the station that pay taxes the radio station must be allowed to continue it's operation with restrictions until the case is resolve.
    The government needs th ...

• Kweku Tsin 4 months ago

He does NOT have the power to ban or regulate radio stations.. Even US presidents get a middle finger from time to time. Kwaku Duah ain't shit. But these nkurasifuor clowns are in denial.

• Konfanko 4 months ago

Tell them! Even Joe Biden gets insult every minute. What if the man relocates his business to central region and beams his broadcasting at Kumasi? What are they going to do? Do those chiefs regulate radio frequencies?

• KBrown 4 months ago

This is bogus since Ghana does not belongs to the Asanteman. We are equal.

• the truth hurts Omanbapa 4 months ago

Lol, are you the communications agency to shut down a radio station??? primitive antics in 2024....why dont u go to his house and arrest him instead???

• the truth hurts Omanbapa 4 months ago

if the laws in ghana really works, I beleive the kumasihene should be in supreme court right now answering questions on why he's causing uneasiness in the bono region and why he said he's above any court in ghana??? is he th ...

• True talk 4 months ago

Why should the station be closed? Look people should get serious, we are in democratic nation not kingdom, if someone one has said something you don’t like, respectfully deal with the person democratically, what at all is g ...

• Twerp 4 months ago

Yes and forever, including all Npp affiliate stations!!

• Water Yam 4 months ago

He is suffering because he supported Bawumia. You can see the Ashanti people wanted Alan but most of them could not come openly to say it.

• Esem pii 4 months ago

Well y

• Abena Adepa 4 months ago

Wontumi Amanehunu chaii

• Mighty 4 months ago

They should get away .. Asantehene is powerless...You guys hate the truth!

• Mighty 4 months ago

If you have power, stop galamsey on your land.... Asantehene is powerless!

• Kwame Nyame 4 months ago

Nkwasea keka ara kwa. Agyimifo ahenfo momu dodoo sen na abue adwuma? Nsemfo ara kwa.

• Ben B 4 months ago

The world spoiled. In the past Maurice Ampaw would pay dearly for this. Common man insulting Nananom? He would have been despatched.

• CORNEY 4 months ago

They should stop that nonsense, that lawlessness.
    Who are they when even the president cannot order a closure of a radio station?
    They should stop promoting lawlessness in the country.
    If they have any issue with him based ...

• The Truth 4 months ago

Hmmm.

• Kojois 4 months ago

Is not a stupid move to close the station. Did you give him the license to operate. Instead of using your energy to fight galamsy no. You reather behave as if you own the world power. Sad to live in Africa. That is while they ...

• Esem pii 4 months ago

Responsible leadership do not dabbling on gossipy nonsense to lead his/her/non gender, people. And that’s what Kwaku Dua is doing. Someone needs to say to that Kumasi Land-guard alias Kwaku Dua that Ghana not like Afghanist ...

• Joachim Amanor 4 months ago

Ghana is a republic not an absolute monarchy, speaking of which there are only few left in the world. Closing businesses at the behest of a local chief is usurping the laws of the republic. Chieftaincy is not a tier of govern ...

• Yaw 4 months ago

Who is Otumfour to shut down Wontumi's station.
    He shd dare try.
    Don't we have constitution.
    Otumfour is under the constitution

• jiedkf 4 months ago

Hmm! Lets be very careful the way we are going. These Ashantis vandalised and closed a radio station not quite long ago but am asking , do they have the power to do so? Can the Ga Mantse also close down radio stations in Accr ...

• Yoo 4 months ago

Gyimie.
    Under which law?

• Didi 4 months ago

The King of Asante has injuncted the case