You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2017 02 08Article 508058

Huge cost of Veep’s residence indefensible – Allotey Jacobs

Read Comments Comments (130)

• Concerned Citizen 7 years ago

Oyiwaa. This is very sad indeed

• xyz 7 years ago

create, loot and share. This is what they have been perpetuating on us all this while.

• AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

NDC HAS MILKED GHANA DRY: NDC guys are crooks. The other time Dr Apaak, a presidential staffer under Mahama, came out to claim that an amount of $5.9M was rather the cost of the new Veep Mansion. Then NDC Deputy Minority lead ...

• Kosi Emeka 7 years ago

Yes, "NDC HAS MILKED GHANA DRY" and they are crooks, just as NPP did when they were in power. Indeed, NPP did worse and everyone knows how they turned Ghana into a cocaine hub in the West African sub-region. So, you so-called ...

• Robert 7 years ago

The NDC as party should not be dragged into the looting that happened the past 8years. The blame should be on John Mahama and his looting brigade. John mahama, Dr. opuni, Afriyie Ankrah, Asiedu nketiah were all a huge part of ...

• Derrick 7 years ago

Its sad that none oh Hon Allotey's comrades have come out in support.
    It is a sad day for Ghana!
    God save us from any thieving folks or rambaging and rude gang!

• insight to the bone 7 years ago

Its not only the plunder of Akan wealth that these pepeni/ayigbe criminals practiced but also the undeclared warfare against Akans. Soon the eyes of the deliberately blind will be forced open and recognize never again can we ...

Author:- ...AGBESI KWESI .....
    IS THERE ANY CREDIBILITY LEFT IN THE NDC
    NDC HAS MILKED GHANA DRY: NDC guys are crooks. The other time Dr Apaak, a presidential staffer under Mahama, came out to claim that an amount of $5.9M ...

• Smart Frempah, UK 7 years ago

When are these stupid comparisons going to end? Are we going to move on or not? Who says two wrongs make a right Kosi Emeka? Shocking that people in this day and age still defend blatant thievery. Unbelievable!!!

Author:- KWAA .....
    I will never understand how some Africans reason.
    With all the poverty blowing over the Continent,we still have people who will support some leaders,who prefer to live like a Prince of Arabia.
    How can ...

• Kwasi Asante RI USA 7 years ago

Kosi Emeka,
    I never defend any political party or any individual in Ghana based on mine personal experience with Ghanaians in Ghana and abroad.
    Please never compare the level of corruption of NPP to NDC. Never. There was ob ...

• aikins (mission accomplished) 7 years ago

Those corrupt thieves will be punished by the Almighty God for their corrupt practices.

• Tundele 7 years ago

J.J started all this nonsense. If only he had refused the Ridge residence!

• Nyameke 7 years ago

Well done to all NDC sympathisers who boycotted the party in the recent election.
    Never regret what you did for indeed you did right. Until NDC purge itself of the thieves may the party remain in opposition. NPP we are watch ...

• Andrews Melbourne. 7 years ago

Do you understand why Ghanaians voted against you guys. NDC supporters nkwasiafo nkurasefo Akwasiapafo3 Mmoa nkoaa.

• Richman 7 years ago

Yeaman more fire

• bogass 7 years ago

IF IT IS POSSIBLE TO STOP THE CONSTRUCTION, PLEASE DO SO IMMEDIATELY AND SAVE THE TAX PAYERS MONEY. CAN SOMEBODY TELL ME SOMETHING. NDC LOOTERS. THE PROJECT MUST BE STOPPED NOW.......WHY ARE WE BUILDING A HOUSE FOR A VP ANYW ...

• Alhaji Tunde 7 years ago

Just don't understand NDC

• SKIPER 7 years ago

REVOKE CONSTRUCTION OF THIS STUPID BUILDING.

• Judas 7 years ago

How can we get the $8m approved by Julius Debrah, already paid to them back?

• Kwaa 7 years ago

This is only the tip of the Iceberg.
    Ghanaians will be shocked to the bones,after the forensic investigation of the dealings of the former government.
    I am glad any allegations this government puts out,is backed by document ...

• Jon Anderson 7 years ago

You write with a holier-than-thou attitude, as if the NPP was clean while the NDC is corrupt to the core. Yes, the NDC may be corrupt, just as the overwhelming majority of Ghanaians are, but do not forget all the corrupt and ...

• sandra Agyapong 7 years ago

my friend when will. you stop defending the indefensible,are you a thief or a beneficial of the thievery? stop this lies and be a gentle man for once, just listen to yourself, bla bla bla,it was all lies that's why they could ...

• Lori 7 years ago

Kill them.

• Crying heart 7 years ago

Including your father would be killed

• Lori 7 years ago

I am the intelligent one.

• Nii Sakaman 7 years ago

Eat your grass dog hehe

We will make you suffer and curse why you were born hahaaaa

• Salassie Ibrahim 7 years ago

MAY GOD PUNISH YOU AND ALL THE NDC THIEVES - YOU PEOPLE ARE EXTREMELY WICKED! SEE HOW ORDINARY PEOPLE ARE SUFFERING IN GHANA YET YOU DO THIS? I PRAY THAT YOU ALL DIE EXCRUCIATING DEATHS!

• Crying heart 7 years ago

Saassie
    May God kill you and your family

• Mawutor 7 years ago

With all this huge corruptions in the system,it semis the NPP needs time to put things in place take Ghana works again. It doesn't matter how long so far as we have hope in NPP. God bless H.E.Nana Addo and God bless Ghana!

• TUTUGYAGU 7 years ago

so what is the next course of action?

Where do we go from here? Will this be be termed, "witch hunting" ?

• #recover and jail them as example 7 years ago

We hunt them, recover and jail them. The work of the IP is cut out

• Abena 7 years ago

Since there are witches ,we will hunt them down.Mahama should enjoy as it last but we will get him after3yrs.Wicked and evil.people.

• m jackson 7 years ago

stupid asiedu nketia talk now with the document out. THIEVES!

• KOJO 7 years ago

Some of these so called northern scholars are disgraced to their people,they're too petty and partisan.Shame on him.

• Nana ba 7 years ago

I am npp man full time and a notherner. The fact that ndc has done wrong does not mean you have that stupid mouth to say bad things about northerners ok.is bawumia from kumasi or kyebi.? The cheek of it

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

Is because NDC members are not patriotic citizens but spectators and thieves.Even it is said that disgrace president John Dramani Mahama has stolen all presidential cars use state money to procure.Am not surprise that he is a ...

• Citizen 7 years ago

NDC and lies from top to bottom. Shame! the truth about these thieves will surely come out. Oh NDC, God forgive them and let them repent and confess

Mahmudu Bawumia and NPP want to dash Consor 8.1 Million Cedis.

• TUTUGYAGU 7 years ago

Ok. Now there have been lots of revelations of misappropriation and blatant thievery. When does the new government or special prosecution start the investigation, prosecution and jail time ? Too much bla bla bla. No action. ...

• Lori 7 years ago

Get a gun.

• John Kool 7 years ago

I just can't wait for the 2020 elections. This NDC seats in Parliament would be watered further down.
    As at now we know five hundred vehicles are missing from the government pool at the presidency, coupled with this VP resid ...

• Nii 7 years ago

Evidence of chop chop under Mahama. What a disgrace. NDC should be in opposition for 20 years. Theives. Where is that irresponsible brat called Anyidoho.

• Aristotle 7 years ago

Once again prophet Dr. Bawumia is right!!!!!!!

• AMA TX USA 7 years ago

Ooh education fisherman you have said the truth this shows you have nation at heart this is what makes mahama nd his ndc government wicked ppl we have important things that this money can do

• ishaku ali 7 years ago

they will say it themselves.bbawumia has been vindicated

ALLOTEY BE HAPPY IN YOUR GRAVE. NOBODY ASK YOU A QUESTION. THE BUILDING IS NOT IN THE CENTRAL REGION IT IS IN ACCRA SO LEAVE IT FOR ADE COKER

• Charles Higgins 7 years ago

Kofi, are you serious?

• MICHEL 7 years ago

Why NDC Government,why this unprecedented corruption in government.It is the strategy of NDC to immediately hold press conference to counter any accusations against them.The government should take immediate steps to prosecute ...

• PRONTO 7 years ago

The thief Mahama said it was being constructed when he was asked to leave the Cantonments residence.
    Ask him for how much? Asiedu Nketia said 3.5m, Apaak said $5.9million dollars, so what figure does thief Mahama have for th ...

• TD 7 years ago

Oyiwa! Aben be bo mu! Ebobo ba ! Mahama and NDC will be exposed big time. How can Otiko be wrong?Mahama is completely Evil !

• Ghana must work 7 years ago

Where is that looter Pratt? Come and defend JM.
    Shame on Mosquito.

• THE CRUSADER 7 years ago

You are once honest on this ,Allotey ,Ghana first and GOD WILL BLESS US all.

• Pain 7 years ago

If people name ndc with children with sharp ......? Can you finish it for me this tells you people are right to put to them

• CASCARA 7 years ago

They go talk true, themselves! Naniama!

And when they are chastised as wicked and evil, they still muster the shamelessness to say they take strong exceptions to those utterances! By which wickedness of the heart can they ...

• King of powers 7 years ago

This is a man who can bring back your life about all your spiritual problems spiritual diseases spiritual attacks problems madness child Barrens or you want to get quick riche search for positions and many more call for all h ...

• odensi 7 years ago

Where are those who have been trying to prove BAWUMIA wrong. Asiedu we now want to hear from you and your 3.9 m on the VP house.

• hor 7 years ago

Just asking: where's the Ford car gifted by the burkinabe contractor?

• BAM 7 years ago

THIEF MAHAMAH HAS STOLEN IT.ALL THOSE WHO FOLLOW THIS CURSED PARTY ARE ALL FOOLS.NDC IS A PARTY FOR NKWASEAFOUR AND LAZY PEOPLE WHO ARE THIEVES.MAHAMAH IS NOT A PERSON TO BE TRUSTED BECAUSE HE WAS BORNED AS A THIEF,A VERY DIS ...

• Emperor 7 years ago

Scandalous. The most useless VP ever. House costs more than Peduase lodge. Shame on you GHana politicians. U r all guilty.

Here we go again!! Poor Ghanaians.

• Mr.Man 7 years ago

Indeed the said amount is too much,what of the over $50 million used in building the Flagstar house during NPP government?

• Paa Nii 7 years ago

Complete nonsense how do you compare a residense with a whole presidential palace with several ministers and secretaries with the office of both the president and the vice-president including the residence of the president.

• Nimo 7 years ago

So mr.Asiedu Nketia why shpuld you tell Ghanians lies about the cost of the vice President's house.You have taken Ghanians as fools.Shame to all those who insulred Dr,Alhaji Bawumia for telling Ghanians the truth.

• TRUE PATRIOT 7 years ago

Indeed Ghana went to de dogs. Just look at how wicked and corrupt pple can be. Some of us will not forgive dis gov't if it fails to punish all those who were involved in this criminal deal

So at long last,we're seeing some decency in the rank of NDC members and this is coming from new other person than Allotey Jacobs.Am i dreaming?

• Concern Ghana 7 years ago

There are numerous of contracts like that I suppose.

• Religious 7 years ago

Aaawwwww. Aaawwwww, awwww aaoooooo!!!!!!!!!!??????????

• Kwam 7 years ago

This are some of the serious lapses in the former President Mahamas government, he allowed people to do their own thing. supervision and monitoring of projects was very very poor.

• Tsatsebi 7 years ago

It is the contractor that was cheating. What is he using to build the house that justifies that amount. Let other genuine contractors estimate how much it would cost to build the house. The contractor is the CHEATER. Get them ...

• Nana Nti 7 years ago

N NDC with all their wisdom n knowledge accepted and signed the contract. Did the contractor force the then government

• THE SEVEN SEALS 7 years ago

Jeremiah 17:9
    9 The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it?

10 I the Lord search the heart, I try the reins, even to give every man according to his ways, and according to the fruit o ...

• Srade3 7 years ago

Because Allotey did not get his share, hr cannot defend the cost. Thank you Mr Jacobs.

• Nana Ben 7 years ago

Dr Apaak and Asiedu Nketsiah are disgrace and do not deserve any public appointments in this country. The former a stooge to Mahama and the latter a rougue and a cleptomaniac

• Pastor Ofori. 7 years ago

ALLOTEY, thank you very much for speaking the truth. Your NDC,s are fooling the nation with their indefensible matters as they have stolen from every department.

• Mawuli in Ho 7 years ago

1 million dollars is over GHC 40 billion old CEDIs.
    So 40billion * 14= ????
    Ghana will find it difficult to resurrect.

• K. Anim 7 years ago

What a convenient grand pretense on the part of Allotey Jacobs, a member of the "create loot and share" booted out NDC corrupt government. For once is Allotey coming clean now? When his NDC was in power, ...

• Julius 7 years ago

Just asking the whereabouts of humongous Dele Momodu,Michael "Kweku" Ola,Charlotte Ama Alata Osei,Adekunle Coker and Kwesi Massa Sierra Leone Pratt? The Nija loud mouths who ran Ghana down

• Yom 7 years ago

Crazy Africa

• Senior cizizen, BS Germany.. 7 years ago

Oyiwa,finally,the Company on the ground of the construction site of the vice presidents villa has confirmed the cost of the villa as 13,9 million dollers as previously mentioned by the vice president as simply correct withou ...

• ATYCO #ONE THE CITIZEN! 7 years ago

If Allotey Jacobs has claim the cost of the VP house is indefensible, the Ghanaians should know that NDC have lied to us all these years and will lie to us forever. They shouldn't speak for us to take them serious again. What ...

• TAWIA 7 years ago

First time I've heard Allotey Jacobs say something sensible.This is surely because NDC is caught pants down.

• Kesh 7 years ago

This very sad..Ghaname has spent $34Mollion dollars between Kuffour and Mamaha on housing and building offices for the president. We need a military intervention

• Truth 7 years ago

The amount of monies these fucking NDC has looted can solve a lot of problems most Ghanaian are facing. But still the unwise NDC ones will challenge wrong doings. God knows this is evil to mass suffering Ghanaians and NDC CUL ...

When we say you were thieves, you didn't believe us. Here you are with some proof. All the costs of your projects are vastly inflated. We need to put some of you behind bars to teach others a lesson.

• Newkay 7 years ago

Is the great Kwasi Pratt listening?

• Kaakie 7 years ago

Wiseman. Not blinded by politics. Whn the ppl involve are saying 13.9. He indeed has nothing to say. After all, he wsnt there whn the contract ws signed. Besides, why will he allow politics to fool him at the expense of the n ...

• GHOST 7 years ago

Allotey I give you a thumbs up. You have spoken like a true fante.

• Elilawal 7 years ago

Stupid man......
    Where did Consar publicly declared that as e cost?

• Old Commando 7 years ago

So many things went on at the blind side of the former president. The government of the day should find out the role these ten questionable characters playedcwhen the Veep' s building was springing up. I don't trust those two ...

• Agyaba 7 years ago

Asiedu Nketia should be arrested for lying to the nation about the cost of the said project.

• More 7 years ago

God.said.u.will no the.trueth and the truth shall.set u.free.Allote.God.bless you

• Bretuoba Kofi Frimpong Boateng 7 years ago

This should be the end of NDC in our political domain.Are they really human?Cant say anymore.I am really sad.

• Dabo 7 years ago

Where is the elephant in the room John Mahama? This happened on his watch but he has been conveniently quiet. Ghanaians will soon be hearing worse! God save us!

• kokuvi 7 years ago

Nokofio stop de foolish talk. Do u think dat any document thrown out der is authentic. Do ur own research b4 u jump on to de frail

• Rude Bwoy 7 years ago

Otiko Djaba is 100% right !!!!!!.
    Ex president Mahama and his comerades are wicked,crooks, evils,and corrupt greedy bastards.
    Soon come we shall chase this thieves out of our townsb.we shall bankrupt this evil party ones an ...

• gomda 7 years ago

Hahahaha!!!!!!!! what a pity. So you knew all along that you where lying. indeeed National Drama Congress ( NDC ).

• american muslim 7 years ago

Shock and don't know what to say ,how sad that the person we were building for him at that time has his wife telling a particular school authorities that she will never give them common chalk today or tomorrow hmmm... its sad ...

• Lincoln, US. 7 years ago

Am really surprised that Asiedu Nketia and Dr. Apaak jumped onDr. Bawumia and denied that the cost of the house is 3.5 million dollars. Where are the partisans who started insulting Nana Addo and Dr. Bawumia? It's sad that s ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

THE TOILETS WILL BE MADE OF GOLD,GATES GOLD,BATH TUB DIAMONDS,KITCHEN GOLD,
    EVERYTHING WILL HAVE THE MIDAS TOUCH WITH AN ALI BABA.
    I COULD BUILD THAT HOUSE FOR A MILLION DOLLARS.

Mahama is thief, wicked, stupid, foolish, President l have ever seen in Ghana

• Nye Bro. 7 years ago

This is the first time I have heard you speak like a patriotic Ghanaian and I hope it will not be the last.

• Truth 7 years ago

Prosterity will surely judge NDC nation money looters. 60 years of Ghana, a lot of school children across the country are in dilapidated buildings up to date, but stealing of Ghana wealth was NDC agenda in power.

• Mike 7 years ago

NPP must prosecute whoever is responsible for this huge inflated cost to our dear nation

• Mike 7 years ago

Prosecute whoever is responsible for this inflated cost to our dear nation.

• Tadi man 7 years ago

One of the many reasons NDC lost is Allotey. He is an oportunistic politician. NPP dont live any corrupt stone unturned. He is covering up something with these sayings. The repentance of a hypocrate is hypocracy. Nana toaso

• Sense 7 years ago

Where is Kofi Wayo, and why is he so silent hmm?
    Asem ooo

• Amponsem 7 years ago

Do the vice president need a residence?. Even if he or she needs one, then one of the old government should be renovated for the vice president as the flag-House was renovated for the president. There is no need for a newly b ...

• Desiree' 7 years ago

Stop complaining and get the job done!!

• apuuuu 7 years ago

It will be better for Ndc appointment committee sore losers cry wolf's babies with sharp teeth should stop defending dead goat John Ford Drama Mahama incompetence administration which they are part of it they ste ...

• Aseda-U.S. 7 years ago

NDC officials czn never stop lies ooo God have mercy on those people ooo! Soo sad

• BUILD MORE PRISONS 7 years ago

BUILD MORE PRISONS

• Kwaku Kyeretwie 7 years ago

Yes it's not going to be strahge that Rawlings after killing some innocent people like the late Col.Felli and Comdr. Amedume can defend the hooping cost of money for such a building.School children learning under trees, no c ...

• Ziga 7 years ago

Why is the NDC always twisting the truth from Dr Bawumiah?

• Wiseacre 7 years ago

Tell Asiedu-Nketia to challenge his own NDC Central Region Chairman who accepts that the cost of building the vice President's villa is 13.9million US Dollars.

Should people like Asiedu-Nketia be allowed to be a in any le ...

• Alfa 7 years ago

Mahama should be prosecuted and denied completely of his entitlements as a former president. It is a shame. With all this loot, he is to enjoy the goodies that goes with a former president.

• GHANA FIRST 7 years ago

They're looking for excuses to under perform and witch hunt the opposition. The NPP are behaving like angles but they forget that they reaped this country off in 2000 and if not for the benevolence of Attah Mills most of the ...

• Abdul Razak 7 years ago

God has saved mother ghana from from dis corruptable individual ndc is a shamless party to mother ghana

• JAIL THEM ALL !!! 7 years ago

Since the most corrupt government in our history assumed office under Mills and Mahama, more so under the latter, it has been one looting case after another, all dragging GHANA and Ghanaians deeper and deeper into poverty and ...

• Gandalf 7 years ago

I AM HUMBLY SUBMITTING HERE AND NOW THAT THE NANA ADDO GOVT SHOULD CREATE AN OFFICE OF CONTRACTS AND A REGISTRAR OF CONTRACTS WHERE ALL ACTIVITIES LEADING TO THE SIGNING OF GOVET CONTRACTS AND DOCUMENTS RELATING TO GOVT CONTR ...

• Ghanaba® 7 years ago

that Lori guy and the other guys, making the most noise. You see where the truth lies now?

• bravoooo prof bawumia 7 years ago

Where kwasi pratt he should come again and differ it Oldman with sharp teeth .bawumia knows what he was talking about shameful journalism paani Mr pratt

• ghud 7 years ago

veep Dr Bawumia had alwys stood 4 de truth.
    May almighty God im

• CO2 7 years ago

We told you this NDC people's are criminals, why allotey is now seeing eye with the truth he's selfish and he should SHUT UP. Because of this criminal behaviours they insult anybody who comes their way. Ghanaians why worry ju ...

• MAAN 7 years ago

BAWUMEA WITH NPP BECAUSE HE STOOL 50 GAHANA CIDES NOTES FOR NPP DURING KU4 TIME.

• Jay 7 years ago

You are a disgrace to NDC and I want you out. The huge complex that you have built on your way to kakum is what is indefensible as someone who was just a board member. Foolish ugly uneducated fool.

• Yakagbomo 7 years ago

Its good NDC was voted out. Another 4yrs would have been a disaster for our economy. I am disappointment in Ex -President Mahama.

• Komfo kesi3 7 years ago

What is there now for that shameless 'Dr Apaak' to tell Ghanaians on this senseless spend on this needless veep residence? This Apaak guy is surely one of the political armed robbers of NDC who came into government to steal, ...

• Geo 7 years ago

If governance is continues then Jacob should know better rather then believed the contractor to settled the issue

• Ekwow 7 years ago

Where is the thievery or inflated/over invoiced cost here? Consar's credibility is at stake here. They have come to settle the matter. So after all Mahama did not loot as we were made to believe.
    JM made the modest choice of ...