You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2017 01 16Article 501462

Nurses allowance to be restored in March – Bawumia

Read Comments Comments (108)

• ..AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

There are over 75,000 ghost names on Government of Ghana Payroll. In addition, there are over 10,000 names of people on payroll who are not qualified qualified to receive monthly salaries since majority of them are over 60 ye ...

• GHANA IS RICH 7 years ago

President Nana Akufo-Addo delivered a speech of hope as he took the oath of office ---- Here are 11 powerful quotes from that speech. ******** ********* ****** ****** 1. I will protect the public purse. We will provide vision ...

• Hohoho, montreal 7 years ago

Nana didn't say all that good speech. The speech was writing by someone. He was just reading for the ceremony. He had no clue what's he's saying.

• Omama 7 years ago

Konka Konka. Today oooooo today

• Nana Akufool Addict black zoo Dwarf 7 years ago

“Effective leadership is not about making speeches or being liked; leadership is defined by results not attributes” We want action not constant speeches here and there.

• Nun 7 years ago

Even in the developed countries which have good economies, teachers don't get allowance during training. What a miserable economic policy. How do you pay for this? Despite the propaganda, Mahama has left a healthy economy, do ...

• Kwaa 7 years ago

You mean,a Hundred and twelve billion Cedi debt is a healthy economy?A 70+GDP debt is healthy?
    Wow.

• Nana Bawuah 7 years ago

What countries are these, where people are not getting paid allowances?

• Cassius 7 years ago

Which developed world are you talking about or have you lived in? Here in the UK trainee teachers get bursaries to support them during their training, especially those specialising in the STEM subjects. So don't generalise or ...

• philip 7 years ago

Pls would u save ur intelligent head on those clueless and liveless idiots who just say anything

• steward 7 years ago

masa don't say what u don't know, even children are been paid in the developed country free.
    what kind of stupid propaganda is that.
    you will be in opposition forever and ever

• Asappo 7 years ago

I hoped you understood what developed and developing countries are

• OBRONI IN TOWN 7 years ago

TRULLY NUN WHAT A WASTE, IT MEANS SINCE GOVERNMENT CAN PAY SO MUCH FOR A CERTAIN NUMBER OF TEACHER TRAINEES THEN A LOT MORE WHO QUALIFY MAY HAVE TO ENTER THE COLLEGES AS FEE PAYING OR CAN'T ENTER AT ALL, IT WILL CUT DOWN THE ...

• A proud Ghanaian 7 years ago

You're sick from you head to toe. My second born is in his first year at college in UK and receives 3,000 pounds as learning bonus. Though is 3 years programme you will be giving the bulk amount as soon as u enter college. M ...

• terry 7 years ago

I THINK YOUR KIDS ARE EXAGGERATING THEIR EDUCATION BENEFIT ENTITLEMENT TO YOU. I STUDIED UP TO PhD in UK and there isn't a lot there!

• Asappo 7 years ago

I hope your is able to tell shear is not the same as shear

• jd 7 years ago

You said in developed nation.

• OBRONI IN TOWN 7 years ago

AGBESI KWESI IF WHAT YOU ARE SAYING IS TRUE, WHY DON'T YOU GO STRAIGHT TO FLAGSTAFF HOUSE AN TELL NANA ADDO? THE RETIRING AGE FOR GES AND TEACHERS IS 60 YEARS, IT IS NOT TRUE THAT THERE ARE OVER AGED PERSONNELS THERE, UNLESS ...

• They Say They Say 7 years ago

Mahama in all his incompetence cleaned up a lot of ghost names in the system and we expect Nana to do more.

• Yebopower 7 years ago

Please keep Allah out of the equation and start fixing whatever is broken. Allah has nothing to do with Ghana,s economy.

• James 7 years ago

What are you doing to help farmers.
    Their crops always getting spoiled in the farms.

• Honourable big kay 7 years ago

Did u really understand what he said????

• Nana Esi, Ottawa 7 years ago

Eii what a nation. Free everything.

• Kwesi 7 years ago

Please help the Ghanaian Farmer.
    We work hard but the crops spoil on the farms. No transportation or buyers

• suley 7 years ago

kwasia girl he didn't say everything is free go and read again

• Kwabena Hannover 7 years ago

Thank ur star to be in Canada.Where you are .don't the poor enjoy Social welfare assistance?Relocate to Ghana if possible with your Kids and you will understand the word free well well.

• Tsikata. sogakope 7 years ago

we voted well. we will vote for NANA again

• KWEKU JK 7 years ago

so all along you people never knew it wasn't that easy that is why you campaigned on and wit it?.

Restored in March and payment are two different things. Tell them when the actual allowance will be in their pocket.

• ASH 7 years ago

How much. Is it sustainable? Will it suffice and cushion any future inflation? We wait and see.

• Selie 7 years ago

We have looked into the case, it is not easy

• mr amin 7 years ago

We looked in to the case, it not easy, the ndc ballooned the national debt from 9.8 billion cedis to 109 billion cedis, block the ndc in opposition.

• Jd 7 years ago

Bcos your have decided to damagedo the economy

• SIR KWAME TINS 7 years ago

Eiiiii de allowance is coming back???? Den NDC will be in opposition for 90 solid years

• Zargon 7 years ago

U have so many things to do.. reatoration of allowance to nurses is going to keep u in power... listen to what bawumia said in terms of how hard it is to restore this thing

• The punisher 7 years ago

All politician are the same today they this,tomorrow that

• Hello 7 years ago

The amount also is important not the restoring only.

• mr amin 7 years ago

the value of the cedi is what matters n not the amount. let the govt work to improve the purchasing power of the cedi.

• Isaac 7 years ago

Stupid vic what dose Allah got to do with your so many promises tell them the day you will pay them and stop fooling idiot you know is not going tobe easy but yet you promise them

• mlãs 7 years ago

Ma man take it easy. Never frgt dat u wl die oneday okk!!
    mind ur speech, u wl die n politics wl stl continue. Think far!!

• Abdulai Mahamadu 7 years ago

Look,look, thing is teacher and nurses trainees allowance and not only nurses. Besides we not expect the government to reduce intake of trainees to prevent a situation where students have to bribe between three thousand and ...

• figo 7 years ago

I thinks things gesture will cause further financial burden to the state henceforth we need a total overhaul of this scheme,I don't understand why they should pay someone whose job is guarateed after completion of his course ...

• Naa Nana 7 years ago

Pay them the allowances and after completion you offer them Job and postings in your living rooms wai. Misplaced priority for political gains. Why social interventions when the basic infrastructure cannot support it. God have ...

• Patrick 7 years ago

Eiii, NPP,Dr.Bawumia get vim papapaaa. Hahahahaha

• Koffi Sarpong 7 years ago

Another big fool

• truth 7 years ago

JUST AN ANNOUNCEMENT OF THE FULFILLMENT OF ONE OF THEIR PROMISES HAS ALREADY CAUSED AN EARTHQUAKE IN NDC HOLES AND THEY ARE OUT IN THEIR NUMBERS TO WATER DOWN THE JOY. NDC 'KONONGO KAYA' THESE PEOPLE ARE VERY, VERY PATHETIC!! ...

• S. K. A 7 years ago

Now you know is not an easy one. This means Mahama is right. Pls for fill all your promises. We are waiting for one District one Factory, one district one Dam, free SHS, free NHIS, one million dollar for each constituency, Ut ...

• GENERAL DeGAULE 7 years ago

Restored from March or backdated ?

• Sir. Garth oppong Kwakye 7 years ago

Inshiallahu the restoration of teachers and nurses allowances will surely come to pass. Before the NDC can realize the nation will be moving forward.

• PATRIOT 7 years ago

Mahama's government took a very wise decision which was in the interest of the nation.For political reasons the NPP government is reversing it.Even in rich countries there is nothing like free nurses and teachers allowances.T ...

• DB 7 years ago

My friend don't talk about what you don't know, in the UK if you are a trainee teacher in some subjects you get a bursary. You can't compare the rich countries to Ghana. A lot more support is needed for teachers and nurses in ...

• patriot 7 years ago

Thank you only in some key sujects like maths,languages and science.It is not a blanket payment of allowances to all teachers.

• kojo 7 years ago

thank you Dr. Bawumia and NPP for the restoration of the allowance. Don't mind the nation reckless

• Aimful 7 years ago

Good move by the new government

• ASH 7 years ago

Since you claim to have all the solutions of our economy, do not start by saying it is difficult to offer promises made to Ghanaians.

• KM, Kumasi. 7 years ago

Nana and Bawumia, must begin to arrest all NDC corrupt official as soon as possible to restore all the stolen monies into the state coffers. Now excuses for them. The monies are with them Please Nana and Bawumia, just go for ...

• Adams Hillia. 7 years ago

Isaac stupid, idiotic ,oxymoron, so shouldn't Bawumia's called Allah name ? He knows his creator , pls learn how to respect elders.

• JIM 7 years ago

WHAT SEND MANY NPP'S TO EXILE IN THOSE YEARS OF BY ELSE WHERE AFRC AND PNDC MILITARY RULES CORRUPTION AND GHOST NAMES

• HALID IBRAHIM from Northern region ZA 7 years ago

God bless my president and vices for their wonderful think. By the great of Almighty Allah NPP would be in power government for 24 years. All corrupt ministers and officials should arrest and face the law of Ghana.

• figo 7 years ago

I think this whole concept of paying allowances to the teaching and nursing students has outlived its usefulness and is a high time the policians call a spade a spade than resorting to all kind of rhetoric.Aside this being a ...

• NK 7 years ago

“We have looked at the situation; it is not an easy one. It is a very difficult one but by the grace of Allah, we intend to keep all promises we made to the people of Ghana,”
    HAHAHAHAHAH....masre saaaa
    This years numb ...

• patriotic Ghanaian 7 years ago

hypocrisy at its highest order.
    why is it difficult to be reintroduced? never give excuse for any promise made. we as responsible and wise citizens of the Ghana would hold you accountable for lies, deceit and hypocrisy can ...

• truth 7 years ago

It is difficult for the NPP because they have inherited a difficult economy left behind by the NDC who could have continued with this programme but for the corruption. Mr. 'Responsible and wise citizens of the Ghana' listen, ...

• hohoho, montreal 7 years ago

LIAR.ALL POLITICIANS ARE THE SAME

• Kojo 7 years ago

March bcoz the first quarter bugdet has been put together by Ndc and so the next bugdet starts from March.

• AKAPELA 7 years ago

We thank God. This what Ghanaians want.

• Appiah 7 years ago

You bastard of an economist. Promised heaven and earth just for power

• ORKORDIE 7 years ago

Burgers who returned from Europe woo our girlfriends by seducing them with tantalizing and deceptive sugar-coated romantic words. I have benz car, I will take you to Paris London and Germaine only to find that these guys are ...

• Sarpong 7 years ago

Ghana has a future

• Nii 7 years ago

Thank God Mahama took the bitter but prudent decision to scrape this allowance. It doesn't make economic sense at all. Why shd u be fed 3x daily, free accommodation and then get allowance again to study for a job that is read ...

• kwabena ohemeng,london 7 years ago

It appears as if african leaders are incapable of taking the right decisions which will solve their countries economic problems.They are only interested in power and how to hold onto it for years.The reintroduction of the all ...

• Mansa 7 years ago

That's good. I pray they lift the embargo on posting of private nurses. Well done our president...

• mr amin 7 years ago

take guide of the cedi depreciation fall in the value of the cedi could bring your govt down.

• GPS 7 years ago

The government is going to do only what he promised to Ghanaians

• Isaac kwofie 7 years ago

please Bawumia Eeiii you need Ashtion. now to restored nurses allowance u saying that have compinte men, s do work so waiting for us know squad's beaaaaa teachers are waiting ooooooh

• A manan 7 years ago

Nkrumah introduced these allowances at the time there was urgent need for teachers n nurses.this is not

• Montesquieu 7 years ago

Very, very stupid mad man!! are you still campaigning or what?

• King 7 years ago

Bless you DR

• Rayo 7 years ago

They are fools. Ghana is a messed up nation in just a year to come. In a country like ours, you give free allowances, free health care, free school s one district one , and dam 36 Ministers plus their deputies, how will the ...

• Misty frm canada 7 years ago

Yebopower u are very stupid

• Koofie 7 years ago

“We have looked at the situation; it is not an easy one. It is very a difficult one but by the grace of Allah, we intend to keep all promises we made to the people of Ghana,” he said.

Allah in economic decision making? ...

• Goest 7 years ago

Y3y3

• AAziz Issahaku 7 years ago

Bawumia it has been restored by former president Mahama before he left office ways back October 2016

• Jo Alaa 7 years ago

Now sense has begun creeping into the gaddem head of Bawumia. He is now talking about "difficulty". I thought he was going to put his so called economic super brain to work and wind his magic hands to fulfill his easier said ...

• steward 7 years ago

masa don't say what you don't know wae even children are been paid in the developed country free.
    what stupid propaganda is that
    u will be in opposition forever and ever ...

• kofi dee 7 years ago

Look at this he goat and stupid intellectual vice president decieving the public. You would wreck the nation with your stupid ideology.

• Adams nj 7 years ago

Fual price increases by 10% somebody should tell the medias may be they don't know it...

• asem bi 7 years ago

Poly and varsity are all classified as tertiary students and should they take loans to finance their education and same tertiary students on the other side are being fed, take allowance and more so free accommodation. What so ...

• Gbana ba 7 years ago

Time to start paying university students too I guess.. misplaced priority

• don diggy 7 years ago

Kwasi Pratt don't go to radio Gold again Else you will die you can choose to take it or leave it

• Comfort Owereba 7 years ago

Say it again

• pocket lawyer 7 years ago

Dr.Bawumia said the economy is in difficulties so how is he going to manage to restore nurses allowances?

• Nath Obeng 7 years ago

This is needless, just make loans available and easy for them, so as to get available money for the intake number to increase or for the existing number of intake to be maintained, Mahama's idea was the best let's be frank a ...

• Patrick Osei 7 years ago

masa increase teachers salary to 15 million a month n stop that allowance

• Naniama 2 7 years ago

It was already restored. Why this fuss again?

• Naniama 2 7 years ago

I have questions about Bawumiah's lack for fiscal discipline.

Mahama explained that there far more nurses to fill existing hospitals. So, a temporary embargo was put in place while he(Mahama) focused on speeding up the co ...

• Baah jephter jerry julius ephraim 7 years ago

yes! das Ghana as a

• concerned observer 7 years ago

when is coming!

• Kanawu 7 years ago

Why do you do it if it's going to be difficult.you must seek to the interest of all ghanains not special interest groups.
    I

• Kobby 7 years ago

How do you restore the allowances if NDC left nothing?

• Georgina Serwaa Boateng 7 years ago

What are you talking? Public students in America don't pay schools fees through out high school and parents gets tax returns on their behalf at the end of the year also ride on school buses for free, just shut up

• Georgina Serwaa Boateng 7 years ago

All those living outside the country who are selfish and talking rubbish should move their family down here or stop your nonsense talk. You enjoy welfare and so many benefits what's your worries fuck you all

• joe,london 7 years ago

You are true african donkey with little brains.Who is enjoying welfare and benefits?Iam not enjoying any benefits here in london and at the end of the month i pay not less than 400 pounds as taxes.You sit in Ghana lazy and in ...

• AJ 7 years ago

Eeeeiiiii so that so called vice president didn't know is a difficult one and they promised they were gonna do it, fix the problem n stop that mery go around lies

• AJ 7 years ago

Fix it as you told Late President Mills in 2009 and stop the complains

• Apostle Peter 7 years ago

May God help you people to rule Ghana in the name of Jesus Christ

• Flabby 7 years ago

let's hope so.
    I know you can do it,Bawumia.
    Hard Up nPp

• Gambo,Sangani( Tamale) 7 years ago

What a contradiction! "The nurses training allowance will be restored in March this year"
    In another breathe " The teacher and nurses training allowances will be restored after the first budget in March". foresee promise an ...