You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2017 01 12Article 500299

Four new regions to be created starting 2018 – Nana Addo

Read Comments Comments (97)

• ... 7 years ago

Nana pls this will further create tension.

• tuy 7 years ago

Akuffo Ado is failing from the onset. If he really believes in decentralization, then the best way go is allow every region to elect its leader. In addition, every city must have an elected mayor. Why is the mayor of Accra no ...

• Will Smith 7 years ago

This is the beginning of Tribal conflicts. Nana is making a big mistake wehn it cimes to some regions. Ghana as we know it, is finished.

• Mahamoud 7 years ago

The people of Bole heckled Mahama to express their disappointment when he went there to seek refuge after the painful and humiliating defeat. The guy promised his own people a region to be curved out of the Northern Region si ...

• $AINT GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 7 years ago

NEW REGIONS TO BE CREATED:
    PRES. DONT DO ANYTHING IN FAVOR OF TRIBES/ETHNICITIES. I KNOW U WANT TO CREATE NEW REGIONS TO 1. CREATE A REGIONNORTH WESTERN REGION TO SATISFY UR OWN SELFSIH INTEREST AND 2. TO DEVOLUTE TRIBAL CON ...

• CITIZEN ONE 7 years ago

Why are you simple minded savages whining? He told you exactly what he was gonna do, you knew his character and much of the rumors surrounding his personality and morality. YOU ALL VOTED FOR HIM, suddenly you acting like un-c ...

• Cool 7 years ago

I think we need a coup in this country to save it from the ethnic balkanization.
    All we need is strong and functional district assemblies. The cost of new regions is huge and the basis for fragmentation is wrong
    Separating ...

• Nana Yahyah 7 years ago

Creating Ahafo region is a great idea and long overdue. It will help speed up development in this important part of Ghana. Thank Mr. President

• Zoobie-Zoobie 7 years ago

TRIBALIZATION OF GHANA!!!!!!!!!

Akufo and his tribal gang

Akufo and his tribal change

tribalism at work

• amoako 7 years ago

yes i have always wish ahafo be separated, you know from atebubu or nkronza to sunyani is far.so as for this one, i support nana

• WHO BE YOU 7 years ago

If care is not taken, there will be serious divisions in the country. I hope Nana will know where to touch and where not to. Busia's promise to make Agyemang Premepeh the sole of Ghana is still working and that will creat ser ...

• kobooh 7 years ago

Nana, for all our economic and social woes, should this be one of our priorities? This is sheer waste of time and resources and would generate unnecessary tension. Please think again!

• Asempa 7 years ago

Can somebody speak some sense into this man? There's no sense doing this at all. Do we have another Mahama?

• Serwa 7 years ago

Asempa, this is actually very intelligent and would speed up developmet. Imagine, we have 10 regional ministers but for a place like western region, before that one minister travels all the way to tarkwa, to go inspect a proj ...

• Asempa 7 years ago

Northern Region needs to be broken up then by this seasoning of distance Minister has to travel. There's should be consideration to match development projects to population. The effort of a minister traveling longer to inspec ...

• AHA 7 years ago

Will creating new REGIONS activate a SWITCH that developes the country? All it will do is create more corrupt CIVIL SERVICE officials.

• Cool 7 years ago

Please stop comparing Mahama with Nana

• $martphonesSupportBiz 7 years ago

January is almost gone. Are you yet to start something? Still confused about what investment options to choose for the year to maintain steady cash flow? Think about it -everyday, both the employed and the idle are hooked to ...

• Ampofo, Jasikan 7 years ago

Volta Region is not a big region, is just long and a good road is all that is needed. when we have good roads, accessibility to the regional capital wouldn't be a problem. I don't support this idea

• ... 7 years ago

Why would you divide my region Brong Ahafo? The tribal war will start soon, I m very disappointed in Nana

Zoobie- Zoobie , BB, Aponkye, Socrates, BBC news, #######, DEAR, Will Smith, tuy and many other names are been used by this stupid NDC man. He keeps changing names to make comments on one article. Mr idiot,stop using differen ...

• PPA 7 years ago

Idiot start from Eastern region first. I thought this dwarf will have sense to reduce the number of minister, now look.

• Micosbi. 7 years ago

Look WO PAPA KWASEA S3 BRATOR DO YOU KNOW WHAT IS IT. WHEN A LADY TEENAGER HAVE HER FIRST PERIOD IN AKAN THE PREPARE SON SOMETHING CALLED 3TOR WITH TOO MUCH RED OIL FOR HER AND THAT IS HOW YOU FATHER STUPIDITY IS LIKE AND G ...

THE CHALLENGES IN GH ARE SO MUCH ECONOMICALLY, INFRA STRUCTURALLY ETC CREATING EXTRA REGIONS IN MY OPINION IS UNCALLED FOR AND A WASTE OF CASH. IM LOOKING AT THE MAP OF GH AND IF ANY REGIONS NEED DEMARCATION. IT HAS TO BE THE ...

• Sumanguru 7 years ago

Some of us are die hard NPP supporters but it will be a grievous mistake on Nana's part if he tries to take the so called eastern corridor in the northern region to create the new region. We Gonjas will fight tooth and nail t ...

• Abdul 7 years ago

stupid is all people from the northern region gonjas, do you know how happy i am that we are going to separate us

• Expert 7 years ago

Abdul you speaking non sense :the eastern corridor region will not work, take a look at the map of Northern region you will realize that the there is the need for Savanna Region Damongo to be regional capital! How can T ...

This is not going to be easy, not necessarily logistic wise, but due to our tribal configuration it is going to create a lot of tensions especially when it comes to citing of administrative capitals.

change but dumb change

• Jacktolonto 7 years ago

This ugly beast think he is still in opposition, talking like he has no common sense .Hope he will not soon see the reality and start flip flopping like he done in the ex President accommodation saga
    Me ugly dwarf talk is c ...

Please start reducing waste by reducing the size of government, not increase it. That is what most newly elected leaders all over the world are doing.

• Adu Phillips (Toronto) 7 years ago

Nana and the Npp will dig their own grave with no one will force them in. This is a very bad idea and no one should support it. Building 4 regions with which money or just the names and forget about their infrastructure devel ...

THE TRIBAL GROUP IS IN CHARGE

• Diddy 7 years ago

Please president nana. The sizeable regions in Ghana I believe are northern, volta, Ashanti and Brong Ahafo. So I'll trust this move of creating move regions as genuine if you could start with your NPP stronghold Ashanti regi ...

• GUTTER JOURNALISM 7 years ago

Reaganomics promised to slash government spending and taxes while Addonomics has promised to do the reverse.

• sam 7 years ago

Finishe 1 dam 1 factories before nana ..
    Why r u bringing tension...

• GhanaBoy 7 years ago

It is a means to steal money without being caught. Create 10 more regions, built more factories even if they manufacture nothing but political propaganda items only!!!

• ChrisC 7 years ago

NDC nkwaseafuo flooding this site to display their ignorance and pure nonsense, Onaapo loser party.

• Nii Joromi 7 years ago

Has Nana been smoking lately? This idea is so stupid and uncalled for. Is this the change we all welcomed? Crazy and weird ideas?

• USA 7 years ago

Look at this .IS THIS OUR PROBLEMS? ????????

• GEORGE 7 years ago

Decentralization is always a wonderful idea.

• NO YAWA 7 years ago

Don't see the creation of any four regions in the manifesto except the campaign platform promise of a region in the Western region.
    Now if these four regions idea were to happen, what does that mean for the consolidated fund ...

• Hassan Rasta 7 years ago

If you this small man nans add said too many ministers is waste of money why creating new regions? STOP THIS DWARF before he divide Ghana into peace. The Bonus are going to regret for the rest of their lives for voting ...

• Lordson 7 years ago

Why not Ashanti region?Because is the biggest region n biggest population in Gh.One of the smallest region is Volta n still u want to divide them?Pls don't come to B/A oooo,we are humble loving people!!!

• Baah 7 years ago

Stop fooling we need ahafo region urgently for development, wasn't we part of Ashanti region when Nkrumah divided us

• APOROTO 7 years ago

How can the creation of new regions hasten development ?.
    All REGIONS WITH TRIBE NAMES SHOULD BE CHANGED.

• BABY 7 years ago

EVIL NANA AND NPP SHAME ON YOU

• MAN 7 years ago

JOB FOR THE BOYS.

• Just saying! 7 years ago

Western North region?! That means the Western part of Northern region. Has Eugene been typing again..? It should be North Western region.

• oboy sika 7 years ago

It is still the same Ghana so why do we have to creat New regions before we can develop this small country?more regions more ministers

• BERNARD 7 years ago

INCREASE YOUR LIBIDO WHILES ENHANCING YOUR SEXUAL PERFORMANCE WITH MORE ENERGY AND STAMINA. USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA ( save your marriage ).0572174551
    *1. Multi-Maca + VITAL 5 have a special property which enhances energy ...

• Fred 7 years ago

If it is about size, the volta region is too smaller than the Ashanti Region. Why not divide the Ashanti Region instead.

• Ga mants3 7 years ago

Masa when is d free SHS coming??????........av missed Mahama

• Hello 7 years ago

Why not Ashanti nd Eastern? Nana u have started. Change indeed.

• JOHN 7 years ago

THEN START FROM ASHANTI REGION

• master 7 years ago

Ashanti is big but the regional capital is at the centre of it. So is Eastern. But have a look at the Volta how long people from certain areas have to travel to get to Ho. But, here again people like you don't care.

Calli ...

• NO-NONSENSE. 7 years ago

They took long to travel to Ho, so what? Try to divide Ewes and Ghana will go up in flames.

• Bugli 7 years ago

May Allah protect Ghana

• Komla 7 years ago

If you have any sense you will wait and vote against the division of your region during the referendum. Insulting Nana is not the answer. You have insulted him since 2008 but that has only helped him to retire your tall, yout ...

• Ghana Boy 7 years ago

This initiative will bring development

• E. K. Weah 7 years ago

The time has come to carve Jaman Central from Jaman North and South Districts. I believe that, Oseadieyo Nana Addo Dankwa Akufu Addo will look at District restructuring after the regional restructure.

• Agoli 7 years ago

Nana is confused. He needs help. If he starts war he will be the first person to die

• zebilla 7 years ago

Ghana politics what are going to be the regional capitals names

• Odikr 7 years ago

The 4 new regions to be created is not really a bad idea geographically. There are several areas in B/A and western region which find it convenient in using Kumasi personally as their administrative capital instead of Sunyani ...

• Aj akoto 7 years ago

His Excellency like seriously? This whole thing is just going to bring division. It seems you have started on a wrong note already.creation on more things will just consume tax payers money and this will leave the country dry ...

• asem bi 7 years ago

Nanacof what's wrong with you. Have you forgotten the Ashanti region. Oh God save Ghana from these elements. These quack politicians wants to create big confusion as they did in Dagbon which has left that area for past year ...

• tweaaaaaa!!! 7 years ago

Good for us, Nana

• Sumanguru 7 years ago

Some of us are die hard NPP supporters but it will be a grievous mistake on Nana's part if he tries to take the so called eastern corridor in the northern region to create the new region. We Gonjas will fight tooth and nail t ...

• Mahamoud 7 years ago

The people of Bole heckled Mahama to express their disappointment in him when he went there to seek refuge after the painful and humiliating defeat. The guy was so corrupt and incompetent that he promised his own people a reg ...

• naa 7 years ago

Nana go and split Ashanti and Eastern regions and not Volta region. We the people of the Volta region do not need your region. We will resist any attempt to divide us.

• Torgbuga 7 years ago

this is bad idea, what criteria will be used, it it size or what, we always think of destroying our history but not working to protect the history we have.when we were in opposition, we complained that the constituencies are ...

• fred. 7 years ago

Ashanti Region deserves one too

• fred. 7 years ago

create 1 from Ashanti,3 from Northern,Brong Ahafo 1,western 1,volta 1,and my own eastern 1. I believe in in.

• naa 7 years ago

Togbui you have to speak against this move by Nana because we do not need his new region in Volta. Nana cannot look into Asantehene's face and tell him that he Nana will create another region out of the Ashanti region. Togbui ...

• master 7 years ago

In Ghana, regions are just for administrative purposes. There are Ashantis in both Central and BA regions and Asantehene does care a hoot where his subject are located.

This is a new dispensation and you better get on wit ...

• Nunya 7 years ago

Master, we just dont need any region in the volta region.......

• Cool 7 years ago

Ghana does not belong to NPP alone

• kojo 7 years ago

Ashanti is bigger, he should try that one first... if the Ashanti's agree with it then he continue with the others

• xxxxxxxxxx 7 years ago

indiano244908520 spiritualist in ghana called for all spiritual help black magic powers protection healing others

• G. K. Berko 7 years ago

The new Regions Ghana's new President wants to create seem to be a deliberate attempt to separate sub-tribal groups from one another.

It may have the unintended consequence of devaluing diversification, and encouraging a ...

• Alberto 7 years ago

Nana you have only 4yrs. Don't waste your time on this

POWER NO AFA NE TRI MU..INSIDE...HE IS NOW OVER THINKING AND SOON HIS HEAD WILL POP LIKE BALLOON! I HOPE HE READS OUR COMMENTS ON GHWEB, ESP MINE. IT WILL HELP HIM JUST LIKE THE BUCKLEYS I RECOMMEND TO HIM TO HELP HIS GHUSHIA ...

• Paa Joe 7 years ago

INSTEAD OF THINKING ON HOW HE WILL FINANCE A FACTORY AND A DAM AT EACH DISRICT AND FREE SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL EDUCATION IN GHANA,THE MANY MINSTERIAL APPOINTMENTS AND THE CREATION OF FOUR NEW REGIONS WITH LESS THAN FOUR MILLION ...

• Rayo 7 years ago

To Odikro, you are as stupid as as your President Nana Addo.Why not dividing Ashanti region and Takoradi be regional Capital? Think twice before you open your mouth. Nana will face men if he tries to be stupid.

• Hannas 7 years ago

And his monkeys bigotry mind could not help it self

• Figo 7 years ago

Do we really need more regions in small nation like Ghana to spread up development? My answer to this is a BIG NO. Creating of these regions
    Will not add Up to anything significant but Will rather stoke up unnecessary triba ...

• Abdul jalil 7 years ago

Plz gentlemen have a small sense of humor to His Excellency and have a little patience I'm sure nana have good news for all of us it shall be well it's too early to bad mouth the president

• Nii Joromi 7 years ago

I thought Nana was wise. This will end badly.

• Casper (USA) 7 years ago

The creation of 4 New Regions that's being proposed is actually called in political parlance, "Gerrymandering". Gerrymandering is a practice intended to establish a political advantage for a particular party or group by manip ...

• KK 7 years ago

NANA ASHANTI IS THE REGION WITH THE LARGEST SEAT IN PARLIAMENT GO AND DIVIDE THAT REGION

• JOE ATISO 7 years ago

THOSE YOU WHO ARE BABIES OR IGNORANT OF HISTORY, ASHANTI REGION HAS BEEN DIVIDED BEFORE AND THAT'S WHY WE HAVE BRONG AHAFO REGION. BRONG AHAFO REGION WAS ONCE PART OF ASHANTI REGION.. KWAME NKRUMAH DIVIDED OR CARVED BRONG AHA ...

• oppong london 7 years ago

very good decision, brong /ahafo is too big and ahafo is underdeveloped in the light of this ahafo region needs to be created no tension whatsoever will arise.tension from where?ahafos have been cheated for long in terms of d ...

• JOE ATISO 7 years ago

AHAFOS BEING ASANTES WHO WERE LUMPED WITH BONOS BY KWAME NKRUMAH FOR POLITICAL EXPEDIENCY AND TO WEAKEN ASANTE POWER NEEDS TO BE SEPERATED FROM BRONG AHAFO REGION. UNPLEASANT AND UGLY SKIRMISHES AT TUABODOM, SANKORE AND GOASO ...

• Arnie 7 years ago

The whole land mass of Ghana is about the size of the state of Victoria in Australia -similar to a Region in Ghana.
    It does not matter how many regions the country is split into, if power is not given to the various local c ...